Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What I log about when I log about running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

I think you race really well E, so it's really crap that you've had a few rough experiences recently, with the nausea and the rest. But reading your reports I'm always impressed by how hard you race even when everything isn't going as planned.
    You were really unlucky yesterday with the stitch so early on AND the nausea. I have no useful suggestions about feeling sick but I do think that if you manage to get a break from it during a race soon, things are bound to come good given the super solid training over the long haul (I know you say you missed a bit in the last few months but over the last two years it has been ridiculously consistent).
    Oh and Strava gives you the sub 27.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

God that’s tough - fair play for keeping going with the nausea. I don’t think I would. Could it be nerves? Do you suffer with it at any other times besides running races?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

On the nausea thing I'm sorry but I have nothing to add...it has never happened me so I never looked into it.

The comment you made about never racing again struck a chord. I think this is normal when really racing hard. Only in the Bob Heffernan and DCM last year did I actually enjoy it from beginning to end. In every other race over the last 15 months I wanted to stop or slow to a jog. I felt I had nothing left to give and too far to go to the finish. The pleasure is in knowing you have overcome this. Races, in the moment, will be horrible. The strong you overcoming the weak you is the achievement every time. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

eyrie wrote: »

Oh and Strava gives you the sub 27.

Strava lies. I thought I was near enough my target the entire way around, but the GPS was way off probably because of the location. Feeling close to target helped push me on. No doubt you suffered too - it wouldn't be a race without some suffering!
    Kellygirl wrote: »
    God that’s tough - fair play for keeping going with the nausea. I don’t think I would. Could it be nerves? Do you suffer with it at any other times besides running races?

No, it's just down to a lack of fitness and practice.
    skyblue46 wrote: »
    On the nausea thing I'm sorry but I have nothing to add...it has never happened me so I never looked into it.

The comment you made about never racing again struck a chord. I think this is normal when really racing hard. Only in the Bob Heffernan and DCM last year did I actually enjoy it from beginning to end. In every other race over the last 15 months I wanted to stop or slow to a jog. I felt I had nothing left to give and too far to go to the finish. The pleasure is in knowing you have overcome this. Races, in the moment, will be horrible. The strong you overcoming the weak you is the achievement every time. Well done!

Yep - I usually want to stop pretty early on, then find my groove, then want to stop again. All standard racing. Would like to be able to hit the effort levels that you, aquinn and Eyrie did. I need to toughen up!

Do you know your max HR? Because it looks to me like your effort was high, sustained and kept increasing progressively throughout. So unless you think it should have been significantly higher throughout the graph looks spot on to me?

Yep - 196. Just basing it on the zones given by Strava, that may or may not be hokey. My effort was nearly all in the LT zone. You all spent a significant portion of the race in the anaerobic zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Normally a test is to do a 5km and then the max effort at the finish is your max HR. What does Monday's say?

aquinn wrote: »
    Normally a test is to do a 5km and then the max effort at the finish is your max HR. What does Monday's say?

I didn't get near my max on Monday, so I was wondering why I felt so pukey. Anyway, it was kind of an off-the-cuff remark as I still think the nausea was just down to lack of fitness.

Have you gotten close to your max in races before? I don't know enough about how this stuff works, to be honest, so probably don't have anything useful to contribute! But if you have experienced working far harder previously and didn't get there this time despite feeling it was '5k-tough' anyway, maybe there was something else physical going on (tiredness, lingering or oncoming illness, etc) that contributed? Like I said I don't know much, so feel free to disregard all my comments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Strawberry Swan

That's a great time even though it's not the one you want. It sounds like you tried your absolute best to fight through the race to just make it to the end. If I was feeling as pukey as you described, I don't know if I would have continued. It's a very valid excuse for dropping out, but you didn't. It might be worth looking into why you are feeling so unwell in recent races. I don't think it's something you should be experiencing at all really, outside of eating too close to the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

Huzzah well done on toughing it out, running in the wind takes more out of you esp when you running at race pace and it will slow you down and increase the effort on your body. you did very well considering how you were feeling and that wind! I was out on my bike on Monday and it was scary at times the gusts were very strong

On feeling sick I have felt that as well sometimes at the end of a race when I am going all out! but it fades quickly or once or twice when I finish. after my Half I felt sick but I think that was dehydration once I got plenty of water into me and had something to eat I felt great.

You probably do already but make sure you have eaten well before race start, I think the recommendation is 90 minutes if you always have porridge may be trying toast and a banana with peanut butter see if a change will help at all

It could be as you think though running hard because that can cause it as well. hopefully, it sorts itself out and you can concentrate on running :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

I was going to say the same as this but i understand you feel it was significantly lower overall than it should have been. How does it compare to your last 5k effort or to Raheny 5m where you got a PB i think?
    Huzzah! wrote: »
    Yep - 196. Just basing it on the zones given by Strava, that may or may not be hokey. My effort was nearly all in the LT zone. You all spent a significant portion of the race in the anaerobic zone.

I did an LT test recently and gotten a fairly comprehensive report with my various HR zones. Out of interest to see how they compare to what Strava would define for me i subscribed to the 1 month free trial they've been pushing on me. Strava gave me an LT HR zone which tops out 10 bpm higher than my LT HR zone defined by the blood test. Now, it's only a sample of 1 which really isn't much of a study at all but i'm willing to guess that you spent a lot more of that race above your LT HR zone than you give yourself credit for.
    I didn't get near my max on Monday, so I was wondering why I felt so pukey. Anyway, it was kind of an off-the-cuff remark as I still think the nausea was just down to lack of fitness.

I think you're being very hard on yourself but i get where you are coming from completely. But let's reframe things a little bit! So perhaps you have lost a little bit of fitness which means that your HR zones/max HR are a bit lower than they previously were, so this means that you were working harder than the stats give you credit for and than you give you credit for because you were working closer to your max HR or at least above your LT HR zone based on your slightly lowered fitness levels! The overall take-home message is that if look at like that the effort was even greater and the result is more impressive off lowered (slightly :p) fitness levels!

Maybe that makes no sense but in my weird brain it is logical and gives you a lot to work from. Roll on the next 5k :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

You made a comment on my log about having the same race as a benchmark, and I think it is something that could help you. If you do the parkrun this weekend, perhaps come back in two or three weeks time and race it again, knowing the course and how you approached it first time, and what you paced right/wrong etc. I could just be talking nonsense of course, but I definitely think you'd benefit from regular racing for a bit and dialing into the appropriate effort level.

I'm semi mortified now :o I appreciate everyone taking the time. It's grand. I know that I need to run a lot more than I have been lately. I'll get back into a groove and get some consistent training done. Gonna enjoy being off plan this week, though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

I'm semi mortified now :o I appreciate everyone taking the time. It's grand. I know that I need to run a lot more than I have been lately. I'll get back into a groove and get some consistent training done. Gonna enjoy being off plan this week, though!

Haha...I was starting to feel for you alright. The amount of analysis you got is normally reserved for AMK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Catching up on the logs, I'll just say well done for sticking it out during the race and that this...
    I’d lost my watch but sang bits of Frozen sporadically to ensure the pace was in the recovery zone.

...made me laugh. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Not sure this is going to be any help among the other comments but I don't think your mileage is low. It's not what you were doing for the marathon, but of course it wouldn't be. We have roughly the same miles/time-on-feet for 2019 and I'm feeling some cumulative fatigue already :rolleyes:.

You now have another of those nearly-PB 5ks in the bag, so you have extra race experience and will pick up the fitness gains from the racing too. I'd say if you give it another few weeks, taper a bit, and target a nice flat parkrun, you'll have that PB. For 5ks I do think you need a bit of racing practice to get the effort level right.

Not sure this is going to be any help among the other comments but I don't think your mileage is low. It's not what you were doing for the marathon, but of course it wouldn't be. We have roughly the same miles/time-on-feet for 2019 and I'm feeling some cumulative fatigue already :rolleyes:.

You now have another of those nearly-PB 5ks in the bag, so you have extra race experience and will pick up the fitness gains from the racing too. I'd say if you give it another few weeks, taper a bit, and target a nice flat parkrun, you'll have that PB. For 5ks I do think you need a bit of racing practice to get the effort level right.

Oh, I’m well off my PB. Was just hoping to hit the time my Jan 5 mile time predicted and maybe show a bit of improvement from December. You’re certainly correct that some match practice is also required 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Noticing you haven't logged in a while...

ReeReeG wrote: »
    Noticing you haven't logged in a while...

Got bored of listening to myself whingeing and not much worth logging at the moment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Got bored of listening to myself whingeing and not much worth logging at the moment :)

That’s why we have logs, to whinge to fellow runners, as “normal” people just don’t understand us!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

OOnegative wrote:
    That’s why we have logs, to whinge to fellow runners, as “normal†people just don’t understand us!!

Exactly! And it's nice to know others have whingey days too, solidarity in numbers :)

Ahem, *slinks in*

Things will, hopefully,* be more settled now April is over, so I thought I'd get back to logging, even if it is boring base miles :)

Monday, 6 May
    Plan: 8k@easy pace Actual: 8k@7:18min/km HR: 143(164) Back a day from the US and expected to feel jet lagged and awful but felt surprisingly good.

Tuesday, 7 May
    Plan: 10k@easy pace Actual: 10k@7:01min/km First day back at work and first runmute and first run in a while with a bit of elevation. Watch died after a mile so used Strava. Didn’t keep an eye on pace/effort and it was far too fast and not very comfortable as a result.

Wednesday, 8 May
    Plan: 10k Actual: 10k@7:27min/km HR: 155(173) First runmute in a while with a backpack and, combined with yesterday’s too quick run, I felt this one! Probably carrying some extra weight myself as well.

Thursday, 9 May
    Plan: 8k Actual: 8k@7:20min/km HR: 144(152) Kept it to the flat and kept the effort in the recovery zone. Can’t really remember much else.

Saturday, 11 May
    Plan: 12k@easy Actual: 12k@7:09min/km HR: 144(162) Kept it easy for the first half and more LR pace for the second. All flat and felt great. Really enjoyable.

Sunday, 12 May
    Plan: 8k easy Actual: 8k@7:29min/km HR: 141(161) I was determined to keep this as a super-easy recovery. It felt very slow at the beginning but I enjoyed it once I tuned into pace.

Congrats to all racing over the weekend. Looking forward to the reports.

*hope I haven't jinxed myself.

good to see you back logging :)

Monday, 13 May

Plan: 8k@easy pace Actual: 8k@7:32min/km HR: 151(180) Not as easy as I’d have liked. The steady climb from work to home is taking a bit of getting used to.

Tuesday, 14 May

Plan: 10k@easy pace Actual: 10k@7:25min/km HR: 150(171) Was tired all day and was anticipating another tough run but it was alright in the end.

Wednesday, 15 May

Plan: 10k@easy Actual: 10k@7:33min/km HR: 147(172)
    Ran this on the seafront, so it was nice’n’flat. Felt a bit sorry for myself when I finally got home, showered and had eaten as it was time for bed. Wondered if I really wanted another summer of this. Poor D has the patience of a saint having to listen to me.

Friday, 17 May

Plan: 8k@easy Actual: 5k@7:48min/km Hit the treadmill at lunch for this as I’d plans after work. Got the sweaty palms type of hunger about halfway through. Only had time for 5k anyway.

Saturday, 18 May

Plan: 12k@easy Actual: 12k@7:12min/km HR: 148(172) Had planned on trying to get back into the routine of getting these over and done with early in the day but a late night on Friday put paid to that. Had a busy day of appointments and this run nearly didn’t get done. Forced myself out the door and enjoyed it well enough. Maintained pace on the hills rather than decreasing effort and did it at the slightly faster LR pace, so was surprised at the low relative effort.

Sunday, 19 May

Plan: 8k easy Actual: 8k@7:19min/km HR: 141(160) In contrast to yesterday, after a day of chores, I bounced out the door to get this run done. Possibly should’ve slowed down but the effort was bang on.

Looking ahead…

More of the same next week with a slight increase in mileage. Introducing some speed work the week after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Are you ramping up for DCM training or what is your plan for this year?

Kellygirl wrote: »
    Are you ramping up for DCM training or what is your plan for this year?

Yep. Away for two weeks in June and training has been hit and miss over the past few months/since the start of the year, so don’t have any other option than to build a base now and start into a plan when I’m back.

Doing well Huzzah I can not believe it so close to the start of training for DCM again good luck helping out with the new novices this year :)

Monday, 20 May
    Plan: 10k@easy pace Actual: 10k@7:29min/km HR: 147(168)
    Enjoyable plod around the ‘hood.

Tuesday, 21 May
    Plan: 10k@easy pace Actual: 10k@7:34min/km HR: 156(182) This was so hard and I don’t know if it was just down to the backpack or a combination of backpack and being slightly off.

Wednesday, 22 May
    Plan: 10k@easy Actual: 3k@7:38min/km Fully off today and canned it after 3k.

Thursday, 23 May
    Plan: 10k@easy Actual: 10k@7:30/km HR: 150(168)
    Canned the backpack and it felt much better.

Friday, 24 May
    Plan: 10k Actual: 14k@7:12min/km HR: 148(170)
    Moved Saturday’s long run to after work. Got to do a run I’ve wanted to do for a long time: down to Poolbeg lighthouse and back. Fairly poor surface out to the lighthouse ensured I picked up my feet properly. Tired at the end.

Sunday, 26 May
    Plan: 10k easy Actual: 10k@7:26min/km HR: 152(174)
    Tired and dreaming of a fizzy drink for all of this. Delighted that my mum had a can of coke in the fridge for me when I got home :P

Tuesday, 28 May
    Plan: 10x1minute Fartlek w/equal recovery Actual: 4, 3, 2, 1 minutes @”;speed” pace HR: 168(182) I haven’t had to set up a workout for a while on Garmin Connect and the planned session wouldn’t send to my watch no matter what I tried, so I found a similar enough session and did that instead. Delighted with my ingenuity. Not so delighted with the slight doms I had after this session. So. Un. Fit.

Wednesday, 29 May
    Plan: 10k@easy Actual: 10k@7:25min/km HR 144(162) Feeling a bit domsy after yesterday, so not the most enjoyable.

Thursday, 30 May
    Plan: 10k@easy Actual: 10k@7:11/km
    Decided to run to work instead so that it would be downhill and super easy, There is nothing I enjoy less than running straight from the pit but it worked well in terms of recovery.

Friday, 31 May
    Plan: 18k progression Actual: 18k@7:12min/km HR: 148(170)

I couldn’t get my HR monitor to pair after a hard reset of my watch. Headed out on my long run after work as wouldn’t have time again on the Saturday. This was supposed to be progressive and it was in terms of effort, but less so in terms of pace. Enjoyed this and felt quite strong at the end, which surprised me given how long it’s been since I’ve run this far.

Saturday, 1 June
    Plan: 10k@easy Actual: 10k@7:26/km HR: 139(150)

Running has been a bit of a stressor rather than a form of stress relief for a while now, so I was delighted when the only thing I wanted to do after a stressful enough day was head out for a run. It had the desired effect and I felt all the better for it.

Sunday, 2 June
    Plan: 10k easy Actual: hiked instead.