Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Cienciano wrote: »
    One thing needs to be said, fair play to John Treacy and Sport Ireland for not putting up with this shít. The way soccer is run is a joke and they're not putting up with it

and they just realised this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Since cognitive dissonance is too much of a stretch for most of you. I’ll use a different word.

Stay dumb boys, stay dumb. Never look at things like investment cuts or EU averages of sports investment. Never think to look deeper. Then 20 years from now with Delaney probably in the grave, we’ll still have embarrassingly **** sporting infrastructure and most likely be at the same level of international sports competition.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Since cognitive dissonance is too much of a stretch for most of you. I’ll use a different word.

Stay dumb boys, stay dumb. Never look at things like investment cuts or EU averages of sports investment. Never think to look deeper. Then 20 years from now with Delaney probably in the grave, we’ll still have embarrassingly **** sporting infrastructure and most likely be at the same level of international sports competition.

What’s that to do with how bad FAI is run and them not informing SI of financial issues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

What’s that to do with how bad FAI is run and them not informing SI of financial issues?

Or the topic of the thread for that matter.

If you have a curious intelligent mind you would like to know why certain things might happen like the FAI having cash flow problems in the first place. Their support from the public finance going from 4 million in 2008 to 2.565 million currently would be something for an intelligent mind to muse on.

Are the government here investing in sport or are they simply determine to take money out of sport through VAT and income tax and give the sector screw all in return?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭liam7831

I think John is alright does a lot of work to raise money for the club's attending events etc, some people just begrudge him his success such as his Uefa job, I say fair play to him

liam7831 wrote: »
    I think John is alright does a lot of work to raise money for the club's attending events etc, some people just begrudge him his success such as his Uefa job, I say fair play to him

You’ve only just arrived here I see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Another Troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭liam7831

Another Troll.

Attack the post not the poster

liam7831 wrote: »
    Attack the post not the poster

Ha, ha. You’ve really only just arrived here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Liam Brady looking for change in the FAI. Making the point that Brian Kerr needs to be working in the youth setup. Kerr said before he had no contact with the FAI since he was sacked. The fact that he isn't working in the youth setup is criminal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Think about it lads.....this time tomorrow we may have reason to celebrate....

1. JD is no longer in office and the FAI promise a new start.....

2. The EU kick out our neighbour with a hard Brexit and put an end to all the muck of the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,586 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Think about it lads.....this time tomorrow we may have reason to celebrate....

1. JD is no longer in office and the FAI promise a new start.....

2. The EU kick out our neighbour with a hard Brexit and put an end to all the muck of the last few weeks.

I can't wait to see him squirm. I've waited years for him to be questioned but ol' JD doesn't like being asked so sidesteps any interview request.

I just hope they ask the tough questions this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

And that’s that? End of story?

Forget that the government chronically underfunds the FAI to such an extent that the chairman of Sports Ireland openly admits it.

I would respectfully suggest you need to take your head out of your arse and see the realpolitik of the context of this situation.

Well yeah pretty much. You can't simultaneously play poor and be wasting money on paying wages well over market value it just doesn't add up.

If you're the government you're going to take one look at the ceos wages and go well if they can afford that they're grand let's put it elsewhere.

Oh it's very much removed from my arse thanks for your concern it seems a few on this thread have the condition, I'll leave you to guess who.

So to recap...

1. Delaney tries to stop a story breaking by applying for an injunction, and fails
    2. The story reveals a loan, Delaney steps aside as CEO
    3. Sport Ireland repeatedly ask the reason for the loan, Delaney and the FAI do not provide an explanation
    4. The FAI President distances himself from FAI statements and apologises to Sport Ireland
    5. Sport Ireland suspend all funding
    6. Dots and Chancer are just reduced to abuse and telling other posters they are stupid and something about the realpolitik of the context of the reality of the situation (Dots line)

It's all so wonderfully entertaining!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Amuses me that this thread is going on a few weeks and certain posters were running around the whole time shouting 'Nothing to see here, its grand.'

Suddenly when decisive action is taken their narrative shifts to blaming 'the gubberment'

For those crying about it now you also need to consider this:

There was a certain economic crisis that took place in 2008 that meant funding was cut, in fact 'the gubberment' are still paying for that year on year.

It's not 'the gubberment's' fault that the FAI wasted 350k+ bonuses per annum on a useless CEO who was never fit for purpose.

It's not 'the gubberment's' fault some LOI clubs went to the wall while said CEO spent his bloated salary on pints with the lads at the Euros.

It's not 'the gubberment's' fault that the FAI breached specific rules regarding funding from Sporting Ireland.

That's all on the FAI, the whole rotten lot of them sitting on the board, extending their stays beyond basic corporate governance times and running an old boys club, creating new roles so certain CEOs on bloated salaries can still ride the gravy train when they have proven for years to not be fit for purpose.

I for one look forward to them being routed out like the rats they are.

D14Rugby wrote: »
    Well yeah pretty much. You can't simultaneously play poor and be wasting money on paying wages well over market value it just doesn't add up.

If you're the government you're going to take one look at the ceos wages and go well if they can afford that they're grand let's put it elsewhere.

Oh it's very much removed from my arse thanks for your concern it seems a few on this thread have the condition, I'll leave you to guess who.

So what happens if the next CEO is on much the same financial package?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭Quandary

As long as the next CEO is appointed based on merit and not because his father ultimately got him into the gig it'll be a start at the very least.

Quandary wrote: »
    As long as the next CEO is appointed based on merit and not because his father ultimately got him into the gig it'll be a start at the very least.

The next CEO will be appointed the same way Delaney was i’d imagine.

The argument from posters here is the government shouldn’t invest in irish football until the CEO earns a lower salary. So we shall see if irish football can ever be invested in on the basis...which is a terrible basis..but anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

The next CEO will be appointed the same way Delaney was i’d imagine.

The argument from posters here is the government shouldn’t invest in irish football until the CEO earns a lower salary. So we shall see if irish football can ever be invested in on the basis...which is a terrible basis..but anyway.

Yeah if that's what you want to take it as you do that. Slán

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Dots1982 wrote:

Dont forget those pesky rules that the FAI dont think apply to them. You'd expect a CEO on that sort of money to know those...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,360 ✭✭✭✭listermint

So what happens if the next CEO is on much the same financial package?

They shouldn't be.

And the new board should re-evaluate their pay structure for execs

Because as you've pointed to beautifully in the last page.

They don't have the money they're funding was reduced.

Cut the cloth..tighten the belts and all that.

The money on offer in no way matches the going rate for such an organisation. Therefore the money shouldn't be on offer. I'd expect a qualified board to know and understand that.

In the interests of Irish football of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,819 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

You’re totally missing the point so I will really spell it out; there are reasons for why the FAI have cash flow problems and need bridging loans and as Sport Ireland says it themselves it is because they are “underfunded”.
    That's an absurd simplification. In the quote you posted, nowhere did Mulvey say that bridging loans were necessary because the FAI were underfunded. Nowhere.

You can make the argument that the FAI are underfunded, but unless the funding was abruptly cut without notice, it is a completely separate issue. In fact Mulvey said that funding for the FAI has been relatively stable for the last 10 years. The FAI know how much they will get and should manage their finances accordingly.

It's a financial management issue, not a funding issue. You might have a case if the FAI was running everything on a shoestring and still couldn't make ends meet. But that obviously isn't the case here.

What shocks me is that from a total of 2.565 million in funding, they pay their CEO more than 10% of that in wages. And then they pay his rent on top of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,707 ✭✭✭irishgeo

We aren't going to get answers tomorrow. With 6 different investigations going the fai will hide behind them.

osarusan wrote: »
    That's an absurd simplification. In the quote you posted, nowhere did Mulvey say that bridging loans were necessary because the FAI were underfunded. Nowhere.

You can make the argument that the FAI are underfunded, but unless the funding was abruptly cut without notice, it is a completely separate issue. In fact Mulvey said that funding for the FAI has been relatively stable for the last 10 years. The FAI know how much they will get and should manage their finances accordingly.

It's a financial management issue, not a funding issue. You might have a case if the FAI was running everything on a shoestring and still couldn't make ends meet. But that obviously isn't the case here.

What shocks me is that from a total of 2.565 million in funding, they pay their CEO more than 10% of that in wages. And then they pay his rent on top of that.

Fair enough. The FAI may find it hard to budget though since ticket sales are a huge part of their income and they are variable depending on the team’s performance and the general economic climate. But you are right it is still a financial governance issue. A short term loan from the CEO sorted it out. I don’t see it in isolation as a big issue.

But what is strange is:

1- why were they in financial hardship in 2017. 2018 when we had a terrible list of matches and terrible results and performances in friendlies or glorified friendlies would have made more sense.

2- the delay and PR own goals in trying to explain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I agrer its a pr disaster in explaining finances.

I dont see it as corruption or worthy of him losing his role in theFAI however.

SI will put back in the funding after the mazers report and everyone will potter on their way.

The 100k loan is STILL the big stick to beat him with. He gave 100k received 100k. Gained nada.

Neither borrower nor lender be.
    Earen bread is soon forgotten

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

I agrer its a pr disaster in explaining finances.

I dont see it as corruption or worthy of him losing his role in theFAI however.

SI will put back in the funding after the mazers report and everyone will potter on their way.

The 100k loan is STILL the big stick to beat him with. He gave 100k received 100k. Gained nada.

Neither borrower nor lender be.
    Earen bread is soon forgotten

What about his promise the FAI would be debt free by 2020?

His Mismanagement of tickets giving to mates instead of fans for Scotland, LOI?

Just an answer on them 2 questions will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

sorry now i'm a bit slow. why is John Delaney entitled to a job in FAI for life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Getting a funny feeling that JD may get the sack before tomorrow morning or get delivered into hospital over night.....

Surely his mates in the FAI will be trying to protect him and themselves at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

What about his promise the FAI would be debt free by 2020?

His Mismanagement of tickets giving to mates instead of fans for Scotland, LOI?

Just an answer on them 2 questions will do

Debt free - fai has made a profit the last 10 years in a row.

No idea what you're on about for no.2 what does scotland/loi mean?