Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Surely that is him done now.

It will give me great satisfaction next year when we're hosting Euro2020 and thinking of John Delaney scrambling for a ticket from the old boys club. He'll be arriving at the stadium, with the missus in tow and suddenly realising he is not Billy Big Bollocks anymore.

This is Ireland though, they will roll out the red carpet for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Surely that is him done now.

Not a chance. He’ll be onto his mates in UEFA and FIFA and they’ll throw the strong-arm about ‘government interference’ in the football association.

Wouldn't be surprised if we get threatened with having Ireland banned from competitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭KBurke85

Here we go - Sport Ireland have suspended all funding to the FAI.

Not much of a punishment. They have already got 1/2 of the funding for 2019 so far. Next payment wouldn't be until July probably anyway

KBurke85 wrote: »
    Not much of a punishment. They have already got 1/2 of the funding for 2019 so far. Next payment wouldn't be until July probably anyway

But I presume the most serious punishment they can impose, to stop all funding going forward.

All the previous protests by a handful here, that it was a minor issue, the FAI had explained it away, the FAI had survived all the audits by Sport Ireland so there was nothing to see, that there was no proof of anything dodgy...all rendered pretty hollow. It's a damning indictment, that the FAI has mismanaged the sport here to the point where grants are being withheld.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭overpronator

Cant cry government interference if the FAI contravened the terms and conditions of a grant arrangement they entered into freely and said grant aid is subsequently withdrawn on that basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Still entertaining Chancer I see! I have to hand it to him, he is getting what he wants! Jesus lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

SI have said its suspended til we see the outcome of the fai reports. And theyll review the suspension at their next meeting.

Money wasnt due for a few months amyways. So basicaly its a hardball tactic by SI to ensure the FAI dont drag their ass with their reports.

Its fair enough. Id have done the same.

If the reports back are decent, then theyll reinstate the cash.

This isnt any proof of wrongdoing or corruption. They just dont want to give any more cash til theyve double checked everything

• Here we go - Sport Ireland have suspended all funding to the FAI.

Super news. The heat is on now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Here’s a exchange from the Sport Ireland hearing last week that may give those with an open mind an insight into what actually has gone on with government investment in sport in this country over the last 10 years. Remember when reading this that Ireland’s investment in sport was not generous compared to the investment from private individuals in 2008 when looked at and compared to other EU countries.

Ruth Coppinger: just on levels of funding that you give to the FAI and the other sports groups; in a decade it was 35 million and it was just under 3 million in 2017, it sounds like a lot but it is only 5%..why is it lower than it would have been in 2008?

John Treacy: Because our funding was reduced in 2008 by about 25 / 27%.

RC: Because when you actually look at the FAI in terms of actual popularity in society, in your own monitor, soccer would be higher than the GAA, yet they get less money than the GAA. And I’m just wondering could the FAI also argue that they have been hit with austerity

Kieran Mulvey: after 2008; my first year, as the chairman of Sport Ireland..Irish Sports Council at the time. I had to meet with the heads of the three field sports and cut their budget in one year by 30% of all three. It has never been restored to 2008 levels. The FAI at that time were in receipt of approximately 4 plus million. It’s now at 2.565. So now, in a sense over the last 10 years, they’ve been at a steady state. The first year we got an increase in our budget was actually this year...the FAI would have a very strong argument, with us, that we are underfunding soccer in ireland at that level and I would have to agree with them. And they make good use, irrespective of the corporate issues that we’ve discussed today; the FAI make extraordinary use of the monies we give to them. And they put a lot of matching funding above and beyond; 3 or 4 times the funding we put into the programme. So I will have to say that in their defence as an organization.

They just dont want to give any more cash til theyve double checked everything

But...ummmmmm...you said they had triple checked everything and it was all fine...
    SI are in charhe of making sure the money they give the fai is spent properly. Theyve triple audited the fai and are very pleased that this is the case

You're kinda just throwing words at a page to keep batting it back, aren't you?

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Here’s a exchange from the Sport Ireland hearing last week that may give those with an open mind an insight into what actually has gone on with government investment in sport in this country over the last 10 years...

Well, thanks to the FAI's management and governance, right now Government investment has gone to €00.00. And it will stay there until Delaney and the FAI start explaining why a loan of 100k was needed, and not trying to hide behind third parties like Grant Thornton or Mazars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

But...ummmmmm...you said they had triple checked everything and it was all fine...

John Delaney could literally be sitting in prison and this eejit would claim it means nothing sure the FAI use prison as their makeshift offices during investigations.

Well, thanks to the FAI's management and governance, right now Government investment has gone to €00.00. And it will stay there until Delaney and the FAI start explaining why a loan of 100k was needed, and not trying to hide behind third parties like Grant Thornton or Mazars.

You’re totally missing the point so I will really spell it out; there are reasons for why the FAI have cash flow problems and need bridging loans and as Sport Ireland says it themselves it is because they are “underfunded”.

It’s just a bit of a pity the government are getting a free ride on this from the media and from the people who post here who ultimately take their opinions from what they read online and in the media.

Some of us do our own research and inform ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

You’re totally missing the point so I will really spell it out; there are reasons for why the FAI have cash flow problems and need bridging loans and as Sport Ireland says it themselves it is because they are “underfunded”.

It’s just a bit of a pity the government are getting a free ride on this from the media and from the people who post here who ultimately take their opinions from what they read online and in the media.

Some of us do our own research and inform ourselves.

If your organisation is underfunded then maybe its not good business to be paying your CEO multiples of the going rate

D14Rugby wrote: »
    If your organisation is underfunded then maybe its not good business to be paying your CEO multiples of the going rate

And that’s that? End of story?

Forget that the government chronically underfunds the FAI to such an extent that the chairman of Sports Ireland openly admits it.

I would respectfully suggest you need to take your head out of your arse and see the realpolitik of the context of this situation.

You’re totally missing the point so I will really spell it out; there are reasons for why the FAI have cash flow problems and need bridging loans and as Sport Ireland says it themselves it is because they are “underfunded”...

Ah.

So John Delaney went for an injunction to save the Government from the embarrassment of the well informed, like yourself, spotting the real issue?

So what extra research do you do that makes you miss the elephants in the room, like why the need for an injunction at all if the blame lies with the Government and funding?

Ah.

So John Delaney went for an injunction to save the Government from the embarrassment of the well informed, like yourself, spotting the real issue?

So what extra research do you do that makes you miss the elephants in the room, like why the need for an injunction at all if the blame lies with the Government and funding?

Why the injunction was taken out is clear to you and me. It’s bollocks to construe my argument as saying JD took it out to save the government’s face. It just shows your own cognitive dissonance to even attempt to make my argument about that.

What i am saying is the media totally ignores the story of sport and particularly soccer being underfunded. No one here knew it or mentioned it apart from me. They don’t because it’s not in the media and everyone here takes their opinions on this issue from the media and what they read online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I would respectfully suggest you need to take your head out of your arse

The irony of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Great news that Sport Ireland have put the screw on the FAI. Seems like a few tennis balls were all it took to focus half of the EU on the FAI and there methods. At the same time a few people in power for whatever reason seem to be asking the right questions and ruffeling feathers.

Long live the LOI and a clean transparent FAI

Look, i’ve taken the time to show you all what Sport Ireland (the body responsible for public investment in sport in this county) say about investment in soccer in this country. “It’s underfunded”.

If you want to bury your head so far up your arse that you give politicians a completely free ride for how they’ve spent your money then that is completely your right. But don’t say you haven’t been told.

SI and FAI already confirmed theyve been triple audited previously.

SI statement refers to them wanting to check again (double check) that all recent monies has been spent properly.

Not sure where you got lost. I can use ms paint to draw a diagram if thatd help ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

One thing needs to be said, fair play to John Treacy and Sport Ireland for not putting up with this shít. The way soccer is run is a joke and they're not putting up with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Look, i’ve taken the time to show you all what Sport Ireland (the body responsible for public investment in sport in this county) say about investment in soccer in this country. “It’s underfunded”.

If you want to bury your head so far up your arse that you give politicians a completely free ride for how they’ve spent your money then that is completely your right. But don’t say you haven’t been told.

If they're so underfunded, perhaps the CEO shouldn't have been taking such a high salary.. or you know, having his rent paid for. Good chance they wouldn't have needed a 'loan' in the first place.

We're not giving JD a free ride because HE is the one who has actually spent the money. Weak attempt at diversion to be honest.

Why the injunction was taken out is clear to you and me. It’s bollocks to construe my argument as saying JD took it out to save the government’s face. It just shows your own cognitive dissonance to even attempt to make my argument about that.

What i am saying is the media totally ignores the story of sport and particularly soccer being underfunded. No one here knew it or mentioned it apart from me.

I guess everyone's out of step with you railing about others..what is it..."cognitive dissonance" and the "realpolitik of the context of the situation" (I must say, I enjoyed that line).

Anyway, John Delaney seems to be labouring under the mistaken assumption that he is at the centre of the issue. You could have saved him a fortune by saying that he wasn't, it's all about funding, and try and sell that line to all of the media outlets that miss your point.

Not sure where you got lost. I can use ms paint to draw a diagram if thatd help ?

Dots and you seem to be a little upset this evening, lots of digs like the above or references to "heads stuck up arses", how no one else can see things as clearly as yet etc.

It's almost as if you read a little wound up by developments.

I have to say, I think it's adds to the general enjoyment all round.

Ignorance is bliss.

Not surprised youre enjoying the evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

The state withdrawing funding is a simple method to force change. Lets be honest...an organisation paying its CEO the salary he was getting should never have needed funding in the first place. The simple fact that politicians got involved shows that it was becoming blatently obvious that something was not right.

But you will probably say my head is probably up my arse and I just dont understand how the world works.

SI and FAI already confirmed theyve been triple audited previously.

SI statement refers to them wanting to check again (double check) that all recent monies has been spent properly.

I told you weeks ago....the auditors can only audit what they are given. Every company gives the auditors what they want and forget something along the way or give it a fancy name to hide it. Added to that I would ask the question....have the auditors ever sat in the FAI lounge in the Aviva or have they every received any presents from the FAI before, during or after their professional cooperation??? Maybe to oversee something.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,038 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I'd like to see this please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Zico !

he should resign now guys a dead man walking id get rid of the whole board aswell and start from scratch every one of them is useless -also take ruud dokter out of their useless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

sugarman wrote: »
    Wishful thinking, these lads always lad on their feet. Look at Delaneys predecessor Bernard O'Byrne, walked into a cushy number as Basketball Irelands CEO and was nominated to take over as President of OCI last year despite his FAI scandal.

Of course John Delaney will get a cushy role after this. But he won't get his dream gig at UEFA/FIFA and he won't be "The Man", during the Euros. That will hurt him more than anything.