Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

sugarman wrote: »
    Leaked letters between Sports Ireland & the FAI.

Someones throwing Delaney under the bus :D
    Jesus dots and chancer have gone fierce quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The FAI are actually worse than I expected. Holy fúck, imagine dealing with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

It is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

**** me those FAI letters were a difficult read knowing these are the people in charge of football in this country.

givyjoe wrote: »
    Jesus dots and chancer have gone fierce quiet.

What is remarkable in recent weeks is how quiet Delaney has gone.

His MO used to be to come out swinging, dismissing all criticism, he loved being on the front foot.

His appearance before the Oireachtas will be essential viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

A few questions in addition to those raised already.
    How much are/were:
    The Grant Thornton Review.
    The Mazaars Review.
    The legal action intended to stop reporting on this in the first instance.

What are the terms of reference of both reviews?
    Who authorised and was aware of the legal action?
    Why was the legal action undertaken?
    Why did the association not seek the 100k elsewhere?

Who authorised the establishment and funding for a new post within the FAI?
    Were standard hiring procedures followed for filling of this post?
    When did the board authorise this new post?
    What is the acticipated renumeration set at for the new chairman?
    Why was a rental payment, undisclosed until recently, part of renumeration for the CEO.
    Do other staff members receive payments outside of standard salary?

What is remarkable in recent weeks is how quiet Delaney has gone.

His MO used to be to come out swinging, dismissing all criticism, he loved being on the front foot.

His appearance before the Oireachtas will be essential viewing.

He was probably hoping to brazen it out by keeping quiet, instead having his minnions some out copied and pasted statements in his support.

He's dead in the water now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Annd9

Has a read through the letters , struggling to see where Delaney get thrown under the bus ? It's early so maybe I am slow on the uptake .

Annd9 wrote: »
    Has a read through the letters , struggling to see where Delaney get thrown under the bus ? It's early so maybe I am slow on the uptake .

They don't throw any individual under a bus. They just contain a very obvious fudge, the FAI pleading with Sport Ireland to bear with them and whining about not meaning any disrespect with SI getting more and more impatient at the failure to answer the question.

The significance is Conway questioning the accuracy of statements from his own organisation, and the whole pleading and grovelling...it's such a marked difference from the bullish and dismissive tone that they took for years when Delaney was calling the play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I don't understand the Delaney defenders in this thread. You point out the various things Delaney has done to benefit the game in the country... but THAT'S HIS JOB. It's what he's paid to do.

The person who replaces Delaney will do everything Delaney did, and more, and hopefully operate in a more transparent manner.

It's time for Delaney to go.

I'm not necessarily defending Delaney (personally I'm not interested or involved enough in soccer to care who runs it) it's just that there is a narrative here that is that everything that is wrong is Delaney's fault and everything that is right has nothing to do with him.

And I don't agree with that narrative.

I posted a few weeks back about how I can understand that Delaney gets support from the grassroots.

If you are involved with a club in some part of the country and if you have experienced that the FAI are helpful in getting things done like facilities upgrades, coaching support etc etc then you are going to be happy with the FAI under Delaney.

You don't care about the LOI prize money, you don't care about ticket allocation in Andorra, you care about your club.

I'm not necessarily defending Delaney (personally I'm not interested or involved enough in soccer to care who runs it) it's just that there is a narrative here that is that everything that is wrong is Delaney's fault and everything that is right has nothing to do with him.

That's because Delaney has made it so the FAI is him, and he is the FAI.

Until Conway raised his head in recent days, can we think of any story since the mid 2000s involving the FAI where Delaney hasn't inserted himself in the middle?

If it's been mostly of the they're wrong and it's his fault variety, well that's because they've been poor overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Been waiting to see any new developments.

Just re hashing old news.

Nothing new or worthwhile developing.

Sorry we didnt notify spots ireland about needing 100k for 6 weeks. Wont do it again. We'll let ye know next time.

Ok so. Byyyyyeeeeeeee

it's just that there is a narrative here that is that everything that is wrong is Delaney's fault and everything that is right has nothing to do with him.

And I don't agree with that narrative.

Nail. Head.

Welcome to my world.

Its like animal farm around here. All together now BAD STUFF DELANEY. GOOD STUFF SOMEBODY ELSE

Sorry we didnt notify spots ireland about needing 100k for 6 weeks. Wont do it again. We'll let ye know next time.

Ok so. Byyyyyeeeeeeee

You are tailor made for a PR Job in the FAI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Ok so. Byyyyyeeeeeeee

Thats not entirely true. The letters admit that the FAI lied in a press release about the board being fully aware about the loan.
    They also show that the FAI are dodging Sports Irelands questions about the loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

The entire FAI board need to go. Using Sports Ireland grant money to repay loans and not informing SI about cash flow issues is more than enough to get rid of Delaney and anyone else involved in the cover up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Christ lads, is it that hard to not reply to obvious trolls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

bohsman wrote: »
    The entire FAI board need to go. Using Sports Ireland grant money to repay loans and not informing SI about cash flow issues is more than enough to get rid of Delaney and anyone else involved in the cover up.

They didn't use SI cash to repay loans?

Cienciano wrote: »
    Christ lads, is it that hard to not reply to obvious trolls?

A troll usually just stirs up random **** they don't actually believe. I bet this guy does believe what he's saying because he/his club or whoever, have benefited somehow from Delaney over the years, e.g an Astro for their club, some funding, access to tickets etc. The same reason you see the jokers from Waterford and Limerick coming out in support of Delaney.

- Trolling.

- Works for the fai.

- Is john delaney.

- Must have received something as gratuity.

The arguments of the moronic.

- Trolling.

- Works for the fai.

- Is john delaney.

I seriously hope that one isn't a response to my post, id worry for your reading comprehension if it is.

Out of interest, if none of the above apply to you. Why are you here so regularly defending the great leader and his actions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

- Trolling.

- Works for the fai.

- Is john delaney.

My nephews soccer club got a new clubhouse and Astro (partially funded by FAI) Delaney came to open the pitch etc..... Fair play to them and him for that but as has been said that is their job!

The FAI have obvs done some good for football, nobody is disputing that.

It’s the fact all the bad things (letting LOI clubs go to wall when he’s out pissing away FAI money in pubs in Poland for example) far outweigh the good things.

You have completely ignored the letters released last night, it’s plain to see from them the FAI have serious problems and are trying to brush it off/cover it up.

Nothing in the letters is new. I was aware of everything in them already.

As far as LOI , honestly i agree with eamon dunphy when he said giving 2m to each club, you might as well burn it. It wouldn't improve feck all.

IMO the interest isnt there, the quality isnt there and 90% of the good young players go to england anyways. So you'll always be left with players not good enough or english rejects. Neither of which attracts joe public when the premiership is a 40 minute flight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

As far as LOI , honestly i agree with eamon dunphy when he said giving 2m to each club, you might as well burn it. It wouldn't improve feck all.

IMO the interest isnt there, the quality isnt there and 90% of the good young players go to england anyways. So you'll always be left with players not good enough or english rejects. Neither of which attracts joe public when the premiership is a 40 minute flight away.

The fact that so many young players go across the water is one of the FAI’s biggest failings.

Using that as a reason for poor quality in the LOI actually just further highlights the poor job the FAI are doing.

No it doesnt. Not in the slightest

Prem is the richest league in the world. Biggest and best academies. Biggest leagues at every level. Even if our facilities and coaching was the exact same level, the opportunities to play with first teams at such a high level and against such high level opponents every week wouldn't compare.

No country in the world can compete with them. 100% not a failing on the FAI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Please don't humour this obvious T. His narrative is clearly attention seeking. I doubt he believes any thing he is spouting. You are wasting your time

Yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

amcalester wrote: »
    The fact that so many young players go across the water is one of the FAI’s biggest failings.

Using that as a reason for poor quality in the LOI actually just further highlights the poor job the FAI are doing.

That's been going on long before Delaney's time.

According to RTE, FAI are set to admit tomorrow about not informing sport Ireland of money issues around time of loan, which is totally against the rules and regulations of receiving state funds.

They also admit in the letters, they lied in previous statements and by all board knew what was going on.

That’s enough to get them lol sacked.

As for your Prem and LOI comment, we shoulda be looking at comparing LOI to Scottish (a similar sized nation) teams/stadiums etc who get unbelievable crowds for a nation of their size (even taking out the big 2 in Glasgow)... Rovers, Dundalk and Cork would all be on Par with your average SPL side, European results recently prove that.

amcalester wrote: »

That's been going on long before Delaney's time.

It’s still an FAI failure, and in his role he didn’t improve it one bit so it’s right hes called out on it. The problem child of Irish football as he called it