Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What practice/beliefs make you instantly lose respect for someone?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Idiots who think they are American.

No its not "day care". Your Irish and live in Ireland.... its a creche.
    No its not a "shopping kart". Your Irish and live in Ireland... its a shopping trolley.
    No its not "Fall". Your Irish and live in Ireland... its Autumn.
    No its not "the trunk". Your Irish and live in Ireland... its the boot.
    No your not a "jerk". Your Irish and live in Ireland...your a bollix.

I agree . The douchebags.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

People who post pics of tree stumps then ****e on about 5g

• Registered Users Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭auspicious

Nothing. Ideology reigns.
    Why do we know our 'first language'?
    We all need to look beyond our conditioning.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Name or position droppers

"My sister is working in Dublin, she's going out with a lad from Wexford , he's an accountant. He's family have land.

My other sister is going out with a lad from Foxrock, he's a solicitor."

When you ask about sister number 3 you are told

Oh yeah Mary she's in Dublin, going out with a man.

Or maybe just

Mary? She's grand, in a hetrosexual relationship.

Good luck finding out what he works at or where he's from. It'll be something like Finglas or Tallaght and he's a van driver.

They drive me nuts. I lose respect for that type.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,285 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Irish language Taliban of any sort.

This. Bunch of twats who can't accept the whole nation doesn't want to indulge them in their hobby at vast taxpayer expense

branie2 wrote: »
    people who call priests men in dresses

Grand, I'll stick to calling them kiddy fiddlers then!

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Climate change denial.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,509 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

No its not a "shopping kart". Your Irish and live in Ireland... its a shopping trolley.

MOM is that you

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Really religious people, the conservative sort -- instant walk away mode.

People obsessed with conspiracies.

Health freaks, more so the recent converts... and they act all condescending "Oh that's bad for you!" -- feck off!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Really religious people, the conservative sort -- instant walk away mode.

People obsessed with conspiracies.

Health freaks, more so the recent converts... and they act all condescending "Oh that's bad for you!" -- feck off!

I have friends who are religious. Well they believe in a god and go to whatever services etc for that particular religion. Then there's people I grew up with who joined youth defense. The difference between the two groups is amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Completely agree with your post but there's so many "your" instead of "you're" that I can't thank it, sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,606 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

The term “Fall” for Autumn didn’t originate in America, it went over to there on the Mayflower and while it fell out of common usage on this side of the Atlantic it stayed in it over there.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭RCK1

There's actually a list

Flat earthers,
    Anti vaxxers,
    9-11 Truthers,
    Obama is a Muslim,
    George soros is trying to enslave us,
    Elitists (hate that word) are trying to enslave us,
    People who put blackcurrent in Guinness.

All of the above along with
    -Trump supporters
    -Brexit voters
    -Alt right
    -Sinn Fein/IRA(and DUP for that matter)voters.
    -Any type of racism or discrimination particularly -"I'm noy racist but...."still racism
    -Overly in your face religious people or over the top atheists both equally annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,742 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Stoner wrote: »
    Name or position droppers

"My sister is working in Dublin, she's going out with a lad from Wexford , he's an accountant. He's family have land.

My other sister is going out with a lad from Foxrock, he's a solicitor."

When you ask about sister number 3 you are told

Oh yeah Mary she's in Dublin, going out with a man.

Or maybe just

Mary? She's grand, in a hetrosexual relationship.

Good luck finding out what he works at or where he's from. It'll be something like Finglas or Tallaght and he's a van driver.

They drive me nuts. I lose respect for that type.

Who in the name that is all good and holy says grand in a heterosexual relationship

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

MOM is that you

Definitely not!
    jiltloop wrote: »
    Completely agree with your post but there's so many "your" instead of "you're" that I can't thank it, sorry.

That's ok too, I didn't think it was a spelling test!

The term “Fall” for Autumn didn’t originate in America, it went over to there on the Mayflower and while it fell out of common usage on this side of the Atlantic it stayed in it over there.

I have heard a few people this side of the Atlantic using it too, not too often mind. Predominantly used in the US/ Canada I would think. Far from the worst one on the list and if I think more I can come up with far more annoying words/ expressions.

Creche is French

• Registered Users Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Mayo instead of mayonnaise.

'slaw instead of coleslaw.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

chelsea supporter

bubblypop wrote: »
    Creche is French

Yes and commonly used word in everyday language in the British Isles along with Boutique, Souvenir, Fiancé, Brunette, Depot, Petite etc etc.

Creche is also in the Collins English dictionary.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,606 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Mayo instead of mayonnaise.

“Za” instead of pizza. Outside of Scrabble it’s wholly unacceptable.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Can't stand that. You always get it in hipsterish BBQ joints.

"Hey Broseph, you want slaw with that?" - as if they just got in from Baton Rouge, Louisiana with this new invention we'd never heard of and everyone in Ireland hasn't been munching culchie caviar since time began.

Yes and commonly used word in everyday language in the British Isles along with Boutique, Souvenir, Fiancé, Brunette, Depot, Petite etc etc.

Creche is also in the Collins English dictionary.

If we were any good we would bring the kids to naíolann.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

People who are into GAA and/or Rugby.

Liverpool supporters. It just never ends well with this lot.

People who don't like cats.

People who are cruel to animals. They can get ass-raped by the devil for all eternity.

People who are overly into politics, especially Irish politics.

People who act like their religious beliefs are the only way. You've chosen a fantasy to believe, and that's fine, but don't come at me aggressively with your bullsh*t.

Anybody who works in the Irish media.

People who make a big deal about having/raising kids, especially whiny mothers and whipped daddies. Nobody asked you to have them, so shut the f*ck up!

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Can't stand that. You always get it in hipsterish BBQ joints.

"Hey Broseph, you want slaw with that?" - as if they just got in from Baton Rouge, Louisiana with this new invention we'd never heard of and everyone in Ireland hasn't been munching culchie caviar since time began.

I thought culchie caviar was potato salad???

If we were any good we would bring the kids to naíolann.

Possibly but then again a lot of people might be thinking you are putting them through some form of torture if you tell them that and for most English is our primary and only language.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There have been people saying "people who are into politics, religion, football and loads of stuff.

I think the thing is when they try and make their interest into your interest. If they're the kind of person who can't have a conversation without mentioning football, politics etc. If they're the kind of person who can turn any topic into a discussion about their topic. That's where it gets annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,298 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

“Za” instead of pizza. Outside of Scrabble it’s wholly unacceptable.

never heard one single person say that

• Registered Users Posts: 24,298 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Grayson wrote: »
    There have been people saying "people who are into politics, religion, football and loads of stuff.

I think the thing is when they try and make their interest into your interest. If they're the kind of person who can't have a conversation without mentioning football, politics etc. If they're the kind of person who can turn any topic into a discussion about their topic. That's where it gets annoying.

yeah but still - religion!?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

People who are into GAA and/or Rugby.

Liverpool supporters. It just never ends well with this lot.

People who don't like cats.

People who are cruel to animals. They can get ass-raped by the devil for all eternity.

People who are overly into politics, especially Irish politics.

People who act like their religious beliefs are the only way. You've chosen a fantasy to believe, and that's fine, but don't come at me aggressively with your bullsh*t.

Anybody who works in the Irish media.

People who make a big deal about having/raising kids, especially whiny mothers and whipped daddies. Nobody asked you to have them, so shut the f*ck up!

You don't like the GAA, people who are 'overly' in to Irish politics or anyone working in the Irish media?

I rally hope you don't live in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

People who hate the Irish language and call those who want to preserve it a “Taliban”. Not a speaker myself by the way.

People who dislike other people for liking sports they don’t like or supporters of clubs they don’t like. All childish.