Gardaí contact Louth family after Irish woman is detained in Syria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Perifect wrote: »
    I'm just pointing out the hypocrisy, the obvious double standards. You should be against all of it or none of it.

I lived in Britain for two years. In those two years not once did the British government threaten to kill me if I didn’t live the Protestant life.

Maybe it was because I was adept at passing as a Protestant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Perifect

mad muffin wrote: »
    I lived in Britain for two years. In those two years not once did the British government threaten to kill me if I didn’t live the Protestant life.

Maybe it was because I was adept at passing as a Protestant?

We're not talking about where you lived. We're talking about banning someone from returning to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

isis are pure evil, no sympathies here at all. Either call for all murderous armies to be banned or call for none of them to be banned. Show some consistency.

What other murderous groups are you looking to ban coming back to Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭gw80

We're not talking about where you lived. We're talking about banning someone from returning to Ireland.

We are not talking about the Brits either

So rather then welcoming Martin McGuinness at Windsor Castle, the Queen should have had him hung, drawn and quartered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Aegir wrote: »
    So rather then welcoming Martin McGuinness at Windsor Castle, the Queen should have hid hung drawn and quartered?

Why did the queen hide in the drawing room?:confused:

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Because prince Philip was chasing her with an axe?

Fat fingers and autocorrect really don’t go well together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Diceicle wrote: »
    If she's committed a crime in a particular country she should be tried in that Country.

yes, if that country decides so. however if the country decides not to and decides to deport them back to their country of origin then it has a right to do that also. syria has absolutely no obligation to take on our terrorists. if it decides it wants to try them great. if it doesn't then we don't get to force them to do so. especially as the major western powers tried to over-throw it's government who owe us absolutely nothing.
    Its highly unlikely that anything can be proven about crimes that happened in a country / warzone thousands of miles away who don't have a functioning government.

we probably have way way more of a chance of getting sufficient evidence to prove the crimes then the syrians currently do as they have no functioning systems. it will take them years, decades, to rebuild.
    ISIS should be listed as a proscribed organisation and anyone found to have joined it should be tried as would someone accused of IRA membership.

i believe isis is a proscribed organisation in ireland. i would be surprised if it isn't.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I'm not a fan of the "She's our citizen." thing.. They created their own new country, which is about to disappear.

Imo, let her be a refugee. It's like playing life with cheat codes to go try set up a brutal caliphate, with a country like Ireland as your respawn point.

they created no country. they took over territory belonging to other countries. isis is not a state, not a country, not anything other then a terrorist group.
    letting her be a refugee puts the whole world at potential serious risk because ultimately nobody is 100% responsible for such people and they can end up in any country and can even sneak back in to their country of origin without that country knowing. even the best border controls wouldn't guarantee against such happening.
    i do not believe we should let her back into the country. her primary objective joining isis is to hurt others. she is a terrorist. her human rights went out the window when she chose of her own free will to join a terrorist organisation. I don't want my taxes wasted on housing a terrorist for the sake of "compassion". my security and safety should be before hers

her human rights didn't go out the window as thankfully that isn't possible. the safety and security of the syrian people are just as important as yours. whether you want your taxes spent on her or not isn't really relevant i'm afraid as taxes and the tax payer are not a valid argument against her return. she is a terrorist absolutely but she is an irish terrorist and she belongs back in ireland as that is her country of origin. ireland has a duty to take responsibility for it's citizens.
    She's their problem now. Put her in prison there and let her rot

nope. it doesn't work like that. she's not their problem unless they decide she is .
    she might blow herself up on it too though. that's the worry

not if she is locked up she won't. something she has more chance of happening to her in ireland then she does in syria. if she wants to blow herself up then chances are she will find it way way easier to do it in syria then she ever could in ireland. so again, what about the human rights of the syrians and their safety and security?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 SaifUllah

Gatling wrote: »
    "THE Irishwoman detained in Syria on suspicion of Isis membership will be allowed to return because it is the “compassionate thing” to do, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has said.

Mr Varadkar has moved to assure the public that a full security assessment will take place before Lisa Smith is allowed back into the country.

But he said as an Irish citizen, she will not be left to fend for herself in one of the world’s most war torn regions.

Independent.ie broke the extraordinary story of Ms Smith last Friday, revealing how she was a member of the Irish Defence Forces before converting to Islam and emigrating to Syria."

Going to Syria or going to live in what was called Islamic State is not in itself an offence or a crime. So we will need to carry out an investigation.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/the-compassionate-thing-to-do-isil-suspect-lisa-smith-will-be-allowed-return-home-taoiseach-confirms-37899943.htm

lt's fine lads she only Emigrated to Syria

Fantastic news.
    Well done Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

SaifUllah wrote: »
    Fantastic news.
    Well done Leo.

Are you Shia or Sunni ?

Fantastic news.
    Well done Leo.

Strange for you to be praising Leo.
    I thought your kind hated everything that Leo is about.

Strange for you to be praising Leo.
    I thought your kind hated everything that Leo is about.

useful idiot

mad muffin wrote: »
    The British?! THE BRITISH?! Who gives a flying fook about the fooking British.

Today. Right now. Isis wants to kill you. Would kill you.

I know not of any fooking British government want to kill me as of this typing.

I know not of any Irish citizens who want to go over tho Britain to kill people who are not Sunni.

So give it a rest about the fooking British. And if you must, open a thread about British atrocities over the centuries.

What's wrong with ISIS though ?
    Let's not forget for example - the rape and murder of those Yazhidi women was justified - they were the property of the jihadist fighters.

If you go through what they did, the prophet Mohammed (PBUH) didn't do anything ISIS didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭jmreire

QUOTE :
    it might be enough for you but it's not enough generally. not even near it. she abandoned the irish value system? her problem but is ultimately irrelevant.
    what is relevant is world security. leaving her where she is puts world security at risk. it puts syria at continued risk of isis re-grouping. those 2 issues are what matter because they can effect us all.[/QUOTE]

And this is the nub of it. What to do with all the captured members of isis, be they militant jihadi's or supporters. If their natural Countries refuse to take them back, and they are released...then the world may be faced with having to deal with them again in the future. We can argue about the morality of it or justice element of it all day long...but to quote a line from Mario Puso's "The Godfather " when he was handing over the reins of power to his son Micheal. " Keep your friends close,,,,but your enemies closer" And that's how I would view this situation with Lisa, but any other "dual passport" holders resident here in Ireland, but now ex-isis, should be returned to their Country of origin

jmreire wrote: »
    QUOTE :
    it might be enough for you but it's not enough generally. not even near it. she abandoned the irish value system? her problem but is ultimately irrelevant.
    what is relevant is world security. leaving her where she is puts world security at risk. it puts syria at continued risk of isis re-grouping. those 2 issues are what matter because they can effect us all.
    And this is the nub of it. What to do with all the captured members of isis, be they militant jihadi's or supporters. If their natural Countries refuse to take them back, and they are released...then the world may be faced with having to deal with them again in the future. We can argue about the morality of it or justice element of it all day long...but to quote a line from Mario Puso's "The Godfather " when he was handing over the reins of power to his son Micheal. " Keep your friends close,,,,but your enemies closer" And that's how I would view this situation with Lisa, but any other "dual passport" holders resident here in Ireland, but now ex-isis, should be returned to their Country of origin

simple solution, the world needs to convert to Islam !!

Simple, the world will be a peaceful place finally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

What's wrong with ISIS though ?
    Let's not forget for example - the rape and murder of those Yazhidi women was justified - they were the property of the jihadist fighters.

If you go through what they did, the prophet Mohammed (PBUH) didn't do anything ISIS didn't.

**** off

Those Yazidis are peaceful loving people, who's only difference is they worship a peacock....

Rape and murder isn't justified, now piss off

H
    useful idiot

I sure cannot argue with you about that statement. Totally agree. Leo sure is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

Except for when the different factions fight among themselves.

F*ck this .

This has all been a test, I can't believe this account is still up.

Shame shame shame shame on boards.ie for letting a user spread vile pro ISIS poison on here with no so much as a card!!!

closing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭jmreire

Nope, it wont..Mohammad was barely cold in the ground when the succession wars began....Shia V Sunni... and they are still going on the present day..so even if the whole world converted to islam....the final battle would be between Shia and Sunni. Unless of course, we wait and see which side will win, and decide ???
    :D:D:D:D

What other murderous groups are you looking to ban coming back to Ireland

Them all. Consistent.

gw80 wrote: »
    We are not talking about the Brits either

We're talking about someone who joined a murderous foreign army being banned from returning to Ireland.

Aegir wrote: »
    So rather then welcoming Martin McGuinness at Windsor Castle, the Queen should have had him hung, drawn and quartered?

Other way round. The British queen shouldn't have been allowed to come to Ireland without a sincere apology.

Them all. Consistent.
    Have you any names on them all.
    The ones trying to get a government who they would gladly slaughter in the blink of an eye, to go and help them get back.
    Name a few apart from ISIS.

Have you any names on them all.
    The ones trying to get a government who they would gladly slaughter in the blink of an eye, to go and help them get back.
    Name a few apart from ISIS.

That second sentence doesn't make sense.
    Any mass murdering army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Auntie Semite

Anyone who advocates for the return of this Woman (without any criminal sanction or accountability for her crimes) is essentially an enabler of ISIS.

ISIS attempted to enact genocide of population groups.
    ISIS used girls as young as 7 years old as sex slaves.
    ISIS when finished with these girls, locked them in cages, doused them in petrol and burned them alive.
    ISIS beheaded many, many innocent people.
    ISIS had open air slave markets where humans were bought and sold.
    ISIS raped Women en masse and claimed it was totally justifiable.
    ISIS murdered Homosexuals wherever they found them.

If you feel 'Compassion' for this Woman then I put it to you that your morals are very much askew.

That second sentence doesn't make sense.
    Any mass murdering army.

Go and have a think about it. But I wont hold my breath

Think about what? You're not making sense, holding your breath won't help.