Gardaí say they are aware of a female member of the Defence Forces who became radicalised and travelled to Syria but there has been no contact with her since. Lisa Smyth served as a private in the Defence Forces before transferring to the Air Corps
Perifect wrote: » I'm just pointing out the hypocrisy, the obvious double standards. You should be against all of it or none of it.
mad muffin wrote: » I lived in Britain for two years. In those two years not once did the British government threaten to kill me if I didn’t live the Protestant life. Maybe it was because I was adept at passing as a Protestant?
Perifect wrote: » isis are pure evil, no sympathies here at all. Either call for all murderous armies to be banned or call for none of them to be banned. Show some consistency.
Perifect wrote: » We're not talking about where you lived. We're talking about banning someone from returning to Ireland.
Aegir wrote: » So rather then welcoming Martin McGuinness at Windsor Castle, the Queen should have hid hung drawn and quartered?
MonkieSocks wrote: » Why did the queen hide in the drawing room?
Diceicle wrote: » If she's committed a crime in a particular country she should be tried in that Country.
Diceicle wrote: » Its highly unlikely that anything can be proven about crimes that happened in a country / warzone thousands of miles away who don't have a functioning government.
Diceicle wrote: » ISIS should be listed as a proscribed organisation and anyone found to have joined it should be tried as would someone accused of IRA membership.
Deleted User wrote: » I'm not a fan of the "She's our citizen." thing.. They created their own new country, which is about to disappear. Imo, let her be a refugee. It's like playing life with cheat codes to go try set up a brutal caliphate, with a country like Ireland as your respawn point.
smartyfarts wrote: » i do not believe we should let her back into the country. her primary objective joining isis is to hurt others. she is a terrorist. her human rights went out the window when she chose of her own free will to join a terrorist organisation. I don't want my taxes wasted on housing a terrorist for the sake of "compassion". my security and safety should be before hers
smartyfarts wrote: » She's their problem now. Put her in prison there and let her rot
smartyfarts wrote: » she might blow herself up on it too though. that's the worry
Gatling wrote: » "THE Irishwoman detained in Syria on suspicion of Isis membership will be allowed to return because it is the “compassionate thing” to do, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has said. Mr Varadkar has moved to assure the public that a full security assessment will take place before Lisa Smith is allowed back into the country. But he said as an Irish citizen, she will not be left to fend for herself in one of the world’s most war torn regions. Independent.ie broke the extraordinary story of Ms Smith last Friday, revealing how she was a member of the Irish Defence Forces before converting to Islam and emigrating to Syria." Going to Syria or going to live in what was called Islamic State is not in itself an offence or a crime. So we will need to carry out an investigation.https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/the-compassionate-thing-to-do-isil-suspect-lisa-smith-will-be-allowed-return-home-taoiseach-confirms-37899943.htm lt's fine lads she only Emigrated to Syria
SaifUllah wrote: » Fantastic news. Well done Leo.
malinheader wrote: » Strange for you to be praising Leo. I thought your kind hated everything that Leo is about.
mad muffin wrote: » The British?! THE BRITISH?! Who gives a flying fook about the fooking British. Today. Right now. Isis wants to kill you. Would kill you. I know not of any fooking British government want to kill me as of this typing. I know not of any Irish citizens who want to go over tho Britain to kill people who are not Sunni. So give it a rest about the fooking British. And if you must, open a thread about British atrocities over the centuries.
jmreire wrote: » QUOTE : it might be enough for you but it's not enough generally. not even near it. she abandoned the irish value system? her problem but is ultimately irrelevant. what is relevant is world security. leaving her where she is puts world security at risk. it puts syria at continued risk of isis re-grouping. those 2 issues are what matter because they can effect us all.
And this is the nub of it. What to do with all the captured members of isis, be they militant jihadi's or supporters. If their natural Countries refuse to take them back, and they are released...then the world may be faced with having to deal with them again in the future. We can argue about the morality of it or justice element of it all day long...but to quote a line from Mario Puso's "The Godfather " when he was handing over the reins of power to his son Micheal. " Keep your friends close,,,,but your enemies closer" And that's how I would view this situation with Lisa, but any other "dual passport" holders resident here in Ireland, but now ex-isis, should be returned to their Country of origin
SaifUllah wrote: » What's wrong with ISIS though ? Let's not forget for example - the rape and murder of those Yazhidi women was justified - they were the property of the jihadist fighters. If you go through what they did, the prophet Mohammed (PBUH) didn't do anything ISIS didn't.
SaifUllah wrote: » useful idiot
SaifUllah wrote: » simple solution, the world needs to convert to Islam !! Simple, the world will be a peaceful place finally.
malinheader wrote: » What other murderous groups are you looking to ban coming back to Ireland
gw80 wrote: » We are not talking about the Brits either
Aegir wrote: » So rather then welcoming Martin McGuinness at Windsor Castle, the Queen should have had him hung, drawn and quartered?
Perifect wrote: » Them all. Consistent.
malinheader wrote: » Have you any names on them all. The ones trying to get a government who they would gladly slaughter in the blink of an eye, to go and help them get back. Name a few apart from ISIS.
Perifect wrote: » That second sentence doesn't make sense. Any mass murdering army.
malinheader wrote: » Go and have a think about it. But I wont hold my breath