Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Tyre pressure varies depending on ambient temperature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Gents, any of you bought tyres online recently? Where is cheapest out of openeo, tyre leader etc lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It really depends on the brand your looking at. They seem to watch each other's prices but sometimes one can be slightly cheaper than the other.

TPMS in the sorento alarmed a few weeks ago in a small cold spell, pumped all tyres up to 33psi following day when they were cold.

Previously they'd been set in the summer I think.

30psi at 20degC will be 26.9psi at 0degC :) (cold tyres)

So if you have TPMS and it's hunly dorey in the summer at the recommended pressure the likelhood is you'll need to pump them up when it gets cold :)

OSI wrote: »
    20k on the Tiguan and the front tyres are down below 3mm already. Feck sake.

Wow ............. that's 20k miles presumably?

I've 32k kms on the Sorento now and the fronts are a tad lower than the rears but I think there's still 4mm + on the centre 75% anyway. The AWD definitely helps to share the wear I think. I do lots of motorway runs though, maybe 50 to 75% of my driving is at just shy of 120kph on the motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Nah. KM. Nearly as bad as the GTI, and that had softer tyres and rarely saw the lower half of the rev counter.

One of the hidden costs of a big diesel lump. There is nearly the weight of a gti over the front axle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Presume it's a diesel?
    Probably the added weight over the front increases tire wear.

I've got 80k+ km out of a set of fronts on a Nissan Leaf (as I'm a cheapskate) but 20k is very low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Nah. KM. Nearly as bad as the GTI, and that had softer tyres and rarely saw the lower half of the rev counter.

Heavy! Got 36k kms from a front set on the Avensis. They were Landfill tyres that actually performed very well throughout their lifespan with me (compared to the rubbish I had in a past life) Goodness knows what I'll get from the Michelins on the front of the 607, time will tell. They've covered 4k miles so far

Oh how times have changed. The irony as this started to happen towards the end of life of the tyres...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

2fwRUynl.jpg

Past 170 mile mark on the focus today. Not a bother on it touch wood. Had it since 130 miles as a tmeporary thing... The most mileage i've put up on any car :).

Interslice wrote: »
    One of the hidden costs of a big diesel lump. There is nearly the weight of a gti over the front axle
    ELM327 wrote: »
    Presume it's a diesel?
    Probably the added weight over the front increases tire wear.

I've got 80k+ km out of a set of fronts on a Nissan Leaf (as I'm a cheapskate) but 20k is very low.

Most of the cars on the road are diesel still I reckon, 12k miles and down to 3mm thread is a rarity on a car I would have thought.

This thread is hilarious reading lads. :)

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057961786

Some of those over in the EV forum have truly gone full vegan now. :D

bazz26 wrote: »

Absolutely ridiculous sh1te being spouted in there and in the forum in general.
    I remarked I needed a Sorento sized yoke for load lugging and someone said they could carry a dismantled bed in their i3 with the seats down or something.

Free set of blinkers with every EV sold it seems.

And in 10 years time if and when most new cars are EV they won't be the overpriced, woeful, crates of sh1t folk are buying now.

bazz26 wrote: »

What's funny?
    I'm an ex EV owner, and I am most certainly not vegan, but I don't see what's funny.

Augeo wrote: »
    Absolutely ridiculous sh1te being spouted in there and in the forum in general.
    I remarked I needed a Sorento sized yoke for load lugging and someone said they could carry a dismantled bed in their i3 with the seats down or something.

Free set of blinkers with every EV sold it seems.

And in 10 years time if and when most new cars are EV they won't be the overpriced, woeful, crates of sh1t folk are buying now.

If you can't afford a Tesla/ipace/etron, and dont want an Outlander PHEV, there is no current EV that can meet that requirement (ie sorento sized)

If you post on or read that forum for 1 week you'll quickly see who spouts nonsense and who is realistic. I like to think I#'m the latter, at times anyway. :P (and I've sold my EV and am going back to diesel!)

If you can't afford a Tesla/ipace/etron, and dont want an Outlander PHEV, there is no current EV that can meet that requirement (ie sorento sized)

If you post on or read that forum for 1 week you'll quickly see who spouts nonsense and who is realistic. I like to think I#'m the latter, at times anyway. :P (and I've sold my EV and am going back to diesel!)

Any time I've peaked in there it's mostly blinkered non sense I'm seeing.
    And the thread Bazz linked to is absolutely full of it.
    Lads with the chests puffed out as they're driving the modern equivalent of a mark 3 escort and saving €20/week on petrol or diesel.

There's a few blinded people in there alright.
    The savings are there to be had but there is not a full suite of EV right now and lots of people >100km, >150km etc there is no suitable car other than supermini sized Kona and Zoe.

The longer range ones are too expensive and the cheaper ones are old and have 100km of range. Pathetic.

I'm going back to bangernomics for the time being, I sold my Ioniq (which was a 526/mo payment) and will buy a cheap diesel on co2 tax and pay 300/mo max on diesel. If I can't save money on 50-60k per year mileage, with an EV, then who can?

Indeed, I see your point.

Just an FYI . Over 21k kms it's cost me €2200 at 38mpg............ I dunno what diesel you think will do 4000/5000 km / month for €300 to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Just an FYI . Over 21k kms it's cost me €2200 at 38mpg............ I dunno what diesel you think will do 4000/5000 km / month for €300 to be honest.

Most of them - that's somewhere in the region of 55 MPG.

Perhaps I was a bit green in my calculations and it's going to be €350. But sure look it's still well less than 526!

And 55mpg would be achievable in most motorway drives (which my commute is). Looking at a Volvo S40 later, 1.6 PSA lump (aware of the previous history)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Perhaps I was a bit green in my calculations and it's going to be €350. But sure look it's still well less than 526!

And 55mpg would be achievable in most motorway drives (which my commute is). Looking at a Volvo S40 later, 1.6 PSA lump (aware of the previous history)

I have that engine in a Mk. II Focus - it'll do 60 MPG all day and all night on a motorway. Drove a 2009 Volvo V50 with the same engine while I was looking at cars just after Christmas, nice estate too but this one had heavy mileage at 151,000. Good luck, Chief.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I have that engine in a Mk. II Focus - it'll do 60 MPG all day and all night on a motorway.............

Apologies, when someone mentions 50/60k kms a year I don't think of Focus sized stuff & diesel at €1.30/litre likely won't last too long more, IMO.

What's funny?
    I'm an ex EV owner, and I am most certainly not vegan, but I don't see what's funny.

In fairness, I did say some over there carry on like vegans.

And I still it funny, a rant about how everyone else is in denial just because they don't conform to their way of thinking. It just sounds like some throwing their toys out of the pram because nobody else agrees with them.

Apologies, when someone mentions 50/60k kms a year I don't think of Focus sized stuff & diesel at €1.30/litre likely won't last too long more, IMO.
    I've done it in mark 4 fiestas, e61 tourings and even a rolls royce silver spur

However the deal for the moment is bangernomics and an S40 1.6 diesel is right up the street, until I figure out what's next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

..I remarked I needed a Sorento sized yoke for load lugging and someone said they could carry a dismantled bed in their i3 with the seats down or something..

I don't know why I find this so funny :pac:

It's so ridiculous it is funny.
    Considering that with the seats down, you could probably fit an i3 in the back of a Sorento... to compare the two is delusional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭selectamatic

What's funny?

The "progressive urban people" was my favourite line.

I'd like to think it was A level trolling but unfortunately I'm not so sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

The "progressive urban people" was my favourite line.

I'd like to think it was A level trolling but unfortunately I'm not so sure.

Were they using their i3 to bring their broken up bed to an ex monk who runs and up cycling business inside an old derelict warehouse (which ironically was originally built to make combustion engines ) who doesn't accept money as payment but likes to be paid in hugs, karma and bespoke craft beer and refuses to wear socks as a two finger salute against conformity and the man ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

GLE, X5 or Cayenne would be the right size but maybe 50% more than the Sorrento. Cheaper than Tesla, I pace etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Seen a couple of new transit vans the LED DRLs that go the whole way around the headlamp actually look really nice as vans go freshens it up a lot. Think they are only on the 182-191 models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

CIP4 wrote: »
    Seen a couple of new transit vans the LED DRLs that go the whole way around the headlamp actually look really nice as vans go freshens it up a lot. Think they are only on the 182-191 models.

I believe they are heaps of sh1te in this generation.