Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

sydthebeat wrote: »
    youre COMPLETELY missing the point !!!!!!!!

im not debating the issue, im calling her out on her disgraceful treatment of a caller, in which should could do nothing to counter his argument but treat him in a completely contemptful manner.

He is a contemptful guy in favour of penalizing pregnant women who smoke. He was going to call Gardai on them.

there is no judgement here, other than the womans judgement of herself (if she chooses to hide it, she must be ashamed of it)

its purely a clinical matter in order to diagnose the proper clinical pathway to put her on.... why would a woman not want that for herself?

If she did want she would tell them she is smoking after they explained why they need the information.

Should we attach monitors on men while their partner is pregnant. Just in case if they are abusive to their partner and could damage the baby? It's purely clinical.

goochy wrote: »
    ciara at her feminazi best today , as usual had no time for the guy who is pro abortion( and contributes regularly on it ) and was supporting the smoking testing .
    yes, yes, nazis were always notorious for their Liberal approach to human choices - they definitely never tried to constrain individual choice by imposing their own, distinctively male, standards on the rest of the population.

Honestly, that term feninazi has just become a parody of itself.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,265 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

meeeeh wrote: »
    If she did want she would tell them she is smoking after they explained why they need the information.

Should we attach monitors on men while their partner is pregnant. Just in case if they are abusive to their partner and could damage the baby? It's purely clinical.

you can keep your strawman for you own amusement.

again, im not debating the issue here, its has pros and cons, but her treatment of that caller.... even if he is extremely conservative in his views... was embarrassingly contemptful and highly unprofessional... though i suppose thats to be expected as shes not really a professional radio host, but more so someone learning on the job.

Would you let me know what is a criteria for being professional radio host. Is there a list?

basic manners would be a minimum for most professions

you must have no time at all for Hook and Yates

not particularly, though ive yet to ever hear either go off on one like ciara does.
    Moncrieff sometimes does but he has the intelligence behind him to be able to goad his interviewee to show their true selves, whereas Ciara just shouts down the phoneline and repeating herself over and over.

Obviously id put someone like Pat Kenny right up there as a professional broadcaster, buts hes been at it for years and on a much wider scale.

i guess at the end of the day the show is an opinion piece like youd see in a tabloid newspaper ... as in "ask Ciara" ... so shes quite correct to give her opinions on matters as thats what the show is .. simply an opinion piece.
    Her callers are, in the vast majority, simply listeners with opinions rather than professionals in the field being discussed.... quite similar to Liveline actually.

For actual news and debate on issues of the day, you get better educated and informed debate on the Kenny show, newstalk breakfast to a degree (although extremely left leaning) and on the hard shoulder, where yates actually has pertinent professional interviewees to discuss and debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

.... or Niall Boylan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

yes, yes, nazis were always notorious for their Liberal approach to human choices - they definitely never tried to constrain individual choice by imposing their own, distinctively male, standards on the rest of the population.

Honestly, that term feninazi has just become a parody of itself.

Funnily enough the Nazis also imposed a public smoking ban in Germany. They even tried to enforce an outright ban on all those serving in the military but this was roundly ignored by officers and enlisted men alike.

Anyone phoning the guards on a pregnant woman smoking needs to be charged with wasting police time.

Ciara Kelly is After Hours of this forum, although there are some experts on. I don't rely on Lunchtime for news but I don't need to because it's on top of The Times, IT, Guardian, Rte news occasionally, Sky News and parts of Breakfast, Kenny and Yates. So when people start implying we get what we think is expert opinion from 'Liveline light' then speak for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,089 ✭✭✭goochy

boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

Ciara Kelly is After Hours of this forum, although there are some experts on. I don't rely on Lunchtime for news but I don't need to because it's on top of The Times, IT, Guardian, Rte news occasionally, Sky News and parts of Breakfast, Kenny and Yates. So when people start implying we get what we think is expert opinion from 'Liveline light' then speak for yourself.

I have no idea what this means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭terryduff12

Does the fact that if a woman is pregnant and the fact that your smoking it will harm the baby. I thought a doctor would know this. I have heard this for a long time, she was saying that there needs to more communication with middle class women so they can understand that you shouldn't smoke. So are middle class women so simple and thick that need to be baby feed information about these simple facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Ya simply can't be tellin Jacinta and Wacker's mot that they need to put away the Johnny Blues for 9 months.

How else will they fill the void in between going to the bookies and the bingo hall ?

Of course,Hazel and Neasa will take up smoking avocado skins and seaweed infused hemp.

There,am i doing this right........is that cliche enough ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Just what exactly is a professional radio host? I would have thought someone working as and getting paid as a radio host would count as being professional.

I suspect you are talking about someone "trained" as a radio host.... Ciara is not alone in her path to the airwaves, for similar see Pat Kenny, Sean Moncrieff, Tom Dunne, Marian Finucane, Gay Byrne, Matt Cooper, Sean O'Rourke, Ryan Turbidy, Ivan Yates, David McCullough, Miriam O'Callaghan etc, etc, etc.

Is that it, some are resentful that high profile spots going to someone who did not train in media studies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

Is that it, some are resentful that high profile spots going to someone who did not train in media studies?

I'd say it's more to do with the fact people would like a few more options for well presented radio shows.

Why does there have to be some sort of agenda.

Why can't it be as simple as she's not very good at it....

limnam wrote: »
    I'd say it's more to do with the fact people would like a few more options for well presented radio shows.

Why does there have to be some sort of agenda.

Why can't it be as simple as she's not very good at it....

Options for well presented radio shows? How many do you need?

From national, local, international and podcasts, there is no shortage of things to listen to.

The fact that people still listen to this, and complain incessantly about an entirely subjective take on something is ball breaking to read day after day after day. And this about a show which has increased listening figures and seems to have a very healthy audience engagement daily. (unless you prescribe to the "the producers make up all the texts and fake the listener call ins" theory.")

And no, to save you asking the question, I don't work for Newstalk, don't know any of them and I don't give a sh*t if people don't like it, I just get annoyed with the qty of complaints on this thread given the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

Options for well presented radio shows? How many do you need?

From national, local, international and podcasts, there is no shortage of things to listen to.

The fact that people still listen to this, and complain incessantly about an entirely subjective take on something is ball breaking to read day after day after day. And this about a show which has increased listening figures and seems to have a very healthy audience engagement daily. (unless you prescribe to the "the producers make up all the texts and fake the listener call ins" theory.")

And no, to save you asking the question, I don't work for Newstalk, don't know any of them and I don't give a sh*t if people don't like it, I just get annoyed with the qty of complaints on this thread given the above.

So your complaining about people listening to a radio show and complaining about it in a thread you don't seem to enjoy reading, but read it and post about the complaining in it anyway

We're as stuck for good radio as we're threads to read it seems...

So your complaining about people listening to a radio show and complaining about it in a thread you don't seem to enjoy reading, but read it and post about the complaining in it anyway

We're as stuck for good radio as we're threads to read it seems...

Check my posts on this, I try to post about the topics of the show as much as I can but it's hard to have a conversation in that way amidst the persistent negativity.

Not trying to speak for TellMeHow, they are able to do that very well themselves, but I didn't read it as saying 'Stop listening if you don't like it' (that's against the rules, btw), but more that people are looking in the wrong place for shows that already exist, and complaining that they can't find it.

Not only are there plenty of conservatively-minded broadcasters on mainstream national radio, but on local and international radio too.

To emphasise, I'm not saying either that you shouldn't listen if you don't like it. I'm not keen on Joe Duffy as a broadcaster. And I listen regularly.

But I don't complain when Joe doesn't discuss the finer points of macroeconomics or finance because that would be ridiculous. There are other places for that

Slightly disagreed with Ciara there when she suggested that concern about long-term impact of radio waves is a tinfoil hat theory.

Can see why she said that, because conspiracy theorists will inevitably jump on any bandwagon for which there is no long term research. But in fact there are no longitudinal studies, to my knowledge, on the impact of radio waves on populations.

I first got interested in this when it was raised (in passing, mainly as a piece of trivia, it should be said) by a Consultant Radiologist at some event a few years ago. We know that there are no immediate effects, and so we should of course we should stay on our current track, building infrastructure and masts.

But as to whether there are long term effects, that's not yet capable of being answered.

Given that nothing alarming has shown up yet, there's probably nothing at all to be worried about. But that's a very vague inference, quite below the standards required of scientific certainty.

Hope that didn't come across as a CT
    /adjusts tinfoil hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Slightly disagreed with Ciara there when she suggested that concern about long-term impact of radio waves is a tinfoil hat theory.

Can see why she said that, because conspiracy theorists will inevitably jump on any bandwagon for which there is no long term research. But in fact there are no longitudinal studies, to my knowledge, on the impact of radio waves on populations.

I first got interested in this when it was raised (in passing, mainly as a piece of trivia, it should be said) by a Consultant Radiologist at some event a few years ago. We know that there are no immediate effects, and so we should of course we should stay on our current track, building infrastructure and masts.

But as to whether there are long term effects, that's not yet capable of being answered.

Given that nothing alarming has shown up yet, there's probably nothing at all to be worried about. But that's a very vague inference, quite below the standards required of scientific certainty.

Hope that didn't come across as a CT
    /adjusts tinfoil hat

I heard the remarks of the man worried about radio waves. I think that issue has been discussed in this country over that last 20 years or so in disputes about radio masts. I cannot recall any credible scientific basis to support claims of harmful effects.
    When the Rural Electrification Scheme was in progress in the West in the 1950s there were some objections voiced re possible harmful effects of electricity. There may still be people about who never "took the electric", but haven't heard of them.
    I think Ciara's Tin Foil Hat remark was reasonable, and that she was right to move swiftly to something else.

nuac wrote: »
    I heard the remarks of the man worried about radio waves. I think that issue has been discussed in this country over that last 20 years or so in disputes about radio masts. I cannot recall any credible scientific basis to support claims of harmful effects.
    When the Rural Electrification Scheme was in progress in the West in the 1950s there were some objections voiced re possible harmful effects of electricity. There may still be people about who never "took the electric", but haven't heard of them.
    I think Ciara's Tin Foil Hat remark was reasonable, and that she was right to move swiftly to something else.
    Certainly, and I'm not saying there is credible evidence to support any belief in long term harm caused by telecommunications masts, but evidence is quite different to there being some plausible scientific basis as to how there might be.
    We simply haven't had the technology for long enough to say definitively that radiation emanating from it, at current levels, is harmess.

It certainly doesn't appear to be in the short term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Can they modify the masts to give people a tan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Problem gambling is the untold story.

Has she never listened to Ray Darcy or read Declan Lynch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,084 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

sligojoek wrote: »
    Problem gambling is the untold story.

Has she never listened to Ray Darcy or read Declan Lynch?

I doubt she listens to anybody but herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Oh do continue, please carry on ........

Tell us all about your lovely mother on this caller driven show today Ciara.

Foreign doctors. Great bunch of lads.

Where's all this "madness" we were promised?