Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I met him about 5 years later, he was having his wedding party at the local hotel on his 16th birthday.

Were they handing these out on the way in. :D

u7L.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭babi-hrse

I had a traveller lad in my primary school he was a quiet enough lad in 6 class principals from different schools came round to talk about their school and why we should go there and handed out flyers.
    This was every other day a different principal a different school.
    The class had pretty much been split on 2 schools so these were pretty much pointless one principal came in from a school I can't remember and asked for a show of hands who is thinking about coming. No one put their hand up the traveller lad in front of me looked around slowly then raised his hand slowly.
    It only dawned on me later in life that he was having a tough time dealing with the question of which school you going to as his parents had no intention of sending him to any.
    This was his way to escape the questions when he saw that noone was going he could lie and say he was going there and noone would notice him not showing up.
    I saw him in years later on swimming in a river while I was in it during the summer everyone I was with shied away and walked i had literally just gotten in so I just decided to stay put and we had a conversation he was actually genuinely a nice lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,123 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

babi-hrse wrote:
    I had a traveller lad in my primary school he was a quiet enough lad in 6 class principals from different schools came round to talk about their school and why we should go there and handed out flyers. This was every other day a different principal a different school. The class had pretty much been split on 2 schools so these were pretty much pointless one principal came in from a school I can't remember and asked for a show of hands who is thinking about coming. No one put their hand up the traveller lad in front of me looked around slowly then raised his hand slowly. It only dawned on me later in life that he was having a tough time dealing with the question of which school you going to as his parents had no intention of sending him to any. This was his way to escape the questions when he saw that noone was going he could lie and say he was going there and noone would notice him not showing up. I saw him in years later on swimming in a river while I was in it during the summer everyone I was with shied away and walked i had literally just gotten in so I just decided to stay put and we had a conversation he was actually genuinely a nice lad.

A lot of shame in the travelling community over continuing education, it's hard to know how to approach it, you will find the odd approachable one as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Icsics

NIMAN wrote: »
    Is there pressure within traveller families to keep their kids away from education?

This is one of the major things which could change their lot in life. Surely some parents out there really want their kids to get an education and better themselves? There must be some.

It depends on how strong the mother is. You get the odd one with a bit of cop on & they fight to keep their children in school. But more often than not the father calls the shots & 'heritage' wins out.

So far Travellers have been compared to African Americans, The Amish, Maori and Aboriginal people. Just waiting for Hasidic Jews, Inuit Eskimos and Buddhist Monks now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Omackeral wrote: »
    So far Travellers have been compared to African Americans, The Amish, Maori and Aboriginal people. Just waiting for Hasidic Jews, Inuit Eskimos and Buddhist Monks now...

Don't forget saints and angles too.... Yes angles any degree you can think of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

Andy Lee is not typical Irish Traveller. He is more from the English gypsy culture which is a bit different. They haven't been given the handouts to the same extent as Irish Travellers. Good lad Andy. I've plenty of time for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I see Bernard is writing a book called......Travision!
    Lets hope he can raise the €500 he needs.

So he has had two go fund me's that have failed for the podcast/TV show
    And now he is trying again but in book format.

Who is this Bernard that you're taking such a keen interest in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,897 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

He's a traveller.
    He's ran in the general election.
    He has very liberal views regarding gay rights and abortion
    He campaigns for traveller rights and has a YouTube channel discussing thing with people.(I think it's mainly aimed at traveller.

https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100007227857780&ref=content_filter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,176 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

There was a segment on RTE1 at one o'clock about Travellers.

I just refused to listen. No one seems to realise that this small element of our society has caused mayhem to those who actually pay for their lifestyles.

For the record I am talking about the majority of them. There are some who are possibly ok. But they do not seem to berate their tribe either. Fear of reprisals maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,275 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

1. He's a victim mentality Traveller who thinks the world is against him. he seems to hate all settled people.

2. He stands up for traveller rights but most travellers hate him because of his liberal views on abortion and gay marriage.

3. He talks Sh1te all the time and says that Maggie Cash is the Irish equivalent to Rosa Parks. He seems infatuated with her and is possibly riding her.

4. Despite his self professed incredible intelligence, he is on the scratcher and constantly begging for money for his media projects/books. He doesn't get any money because of point 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

1. He's a victim mentality Traveller who thinks the world is against him. he seems to hate all settled people.

2. He stands up for traveller rights but most travellers hate him because of his liberal views on abortion and gay marriage.

3. He talks Sh1te all the time and says that Maggie Cash is the Irish equivalent to Rosa Parks. He seems infatuated with her and is possibly riding her.

4. Despite his self professed incredible intelligence, he is on the scratcher and constantly begging for money for his media projects/books. He doesn't get any money because of point 2.

I would pay him to go fcuk off.

Yeah when he said that the settled people in Ireland nowadays are no different to the English in Ireland during the penal law/famine days he kinda lost any respect I had for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,459 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He's a traveller.
    He's ran in the general election.
    He has very liberal views regarding gay rights and abortion
    He campaigns for traveller rights and has a YouTube channel discussing thing with people.(I think it's mainly aimed at traveller.

https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100007227857780&ref=content_filter

I’ll listen to him when he talks about Travellers crime and it’s affect on victims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

I’ll listen to him when he talks about Travellers crime and it’s affect on victims.

Just ask him about Traveller education. Education is key. He has benefited from education and is one of the travellers who is not involved in criminality or feuding. If all Travellers achieved at least leaving cert education most problems disappear.

If he's so busy with media projects/books etc. does that mean that he's not available for work, one of the requirements of being on the scratcher. :eek::eek::eek:

Dante7 wrote: »
    Just ask him about Traveller education. Education is key. He has benefited from education and is one of the travellers who is not involved in criminality or feuding. If all Travellers achieved at least leaving cert education most problems disappear.

I'm not fcukin sure about that? Have you seen some of his posts. :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,459 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I’ve heard it said that Travellers don’t want their children receiving a full education because an educated Travellers might turn their back on their culture.
    Their daughters are usually married by 16 too. Hardly going to do a Leaving Cert exam then. They still insist on arranged marriages in many instances too. Women are held back and forbidden to mix with settled girls. I’ve seen a lot of this myself.

Backward culture.

Not sure about that, while I am not 100% certain, this very much sounds like him.

Can anyone see behind the paywall?

https://www.longfordleader.ie/news/home/338303/longford-district-court-cashed-cheque-but-it-bounced.html

This is almost certainly him.
    It says on his Facebook Bio that he repairs PCs

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligochampion/news/computer-repair-man-had-a-stolen-laptop-27585323.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

He might be trying to move on from past criminality. Can't blame him for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

What age was the child who wrote the bio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

This is almost certainly him.
    It says on his Facebook Bio that he repairs PCs

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligochampion/news/computer-repair-man-had-a-stolen-laptop-27585323.html

Fine was excessive. 3.3% of stock was stolen.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

This is a truly amazing thread.

It just shows how much of an impact travellers have on the community despite their relatively small size as a percentage of the population.

Unfortunately much of that impact is negative, and people quite understandably feel quite upset about it.

There's also an overwhelmingly negative sentiment towards Margaret Cash and others who choose to sponge off society (the rest of us).

It has to be acknowledged that despite all this not all Travellers are bad eggs. It seems that quite a few are however, that they cause a lot of friction, crime and upset wherever they go, and that the good ones don't bother to reign in the bad.

I suspect the thread will go on and on..........unless Peter Casey wins an election of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I’ve heard it said that Travellers don’t want their children receiving a full education because an educated Travellers might turn their back on their culture.
    Their daughters are usually married by 16 too. Hardly going to do a Leaving Cert exam then. They still insist on arranged marriages in many instances too. Women are held back and forbidden to mix with settled girls. I’ve seen a lot of this myself.

Backward culture.

Doesn't matter how backward, homophobic, mysogonist etc, your culture is, if you are an official minority, the left will defend what you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Neither is John Connors but both are professional grievance mongers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

NIMAN wrote: »
    Is there pressure within traveller families to keep their kids away from education?

This is one of the major things which could change their lot in life. Surely some parents out there really want their kids to get an education and better themselves? There must be some.

I posted a story about one way back somewhere in a conversation with gormdubhgorm about one I knew many years ago from the local boxing club. After posting it, gormdubhgorm somehow went on to make out the whole thing was somehow my fault but anyway it goes something like this.

One day this "traveller" joins the boxing club. He was maybe 2-3 years older than me at the time. Came across a decent enough guy and certainly not the worst boxer I'd seen either.

As it turned out he'd actually been in the jail for breaking into and robbing a house. He'd been out with a while at that stage. The jail must have had some sort of an impact on him, and he decided he needed to do something about his life.

He'd started going to school to do an applied leaving cert. So between that and the boxing in the evenings his days were fairly full. The boxing also meant something to do most weekends with sparring/fighting etc.

All was going well until one day on his way back from college his own brothers no less, decided they didn't approve. The attacked him but he was well able for him and fended them off. His very own brothers.

Later that evening some gardaí called to his flat and told him they needed him for questioning. His own brothers reported him for assault. The gardaí who arrested him knew exactly what was going on and told him that he needed to be very careful.

By the time he'd gotten home his flat had been broken into and his books burned.

This was the early 00's. These days I still see him around town occasionally. Usually drunk. Travellers don't want to know him nor does anyone else. Disowned. Really really sad story. I've tried saying hello to him a few times but I don't think he recognises me anymore.

So anyway. That's my own personal experience of what happens when one wants to better themselves.

And people like gormdubhgorm and tranny named matilda will tell you that it's all the fault of settled people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,457 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I used to work with a guy a long time ago who was a settled traveller.
    Lovely bloke, he moved to Boston worked in bars etc (mainly to keep himself out of trouble in Ireland) and then came back to Dublin and married a non traveller, he pretty much had to cut contact off with his entire family they couldn't accept the fact he wanted to settle in a house as well as marry a non traveller, you could see it had a tough enough impact on him still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Backward culture.

Arranged marriages-while not ideal-are definitely better than that sinister/rapey "grabbing" ritual they've been known to engage in.