Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

There were plenty of other photos. But I am only vaguely remembering.
    IIRC, the CCTV footage allegedly showed the getaway cars, which gave the Byrnes some people to target (as if they needed it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,592 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Cheers lads

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

When they came out of the hotel, did they not run the wrong way and then have to turn and run the other way to the getaway van....and then the van drove the wrong way.
    So I'm sure by-standers where wondering what the f*ck was going on.

The case obvisously fell apart on legal technicalities. But I imagine that there is also something about removing the Garda presence from the hotel before the event has something to do with it. If the journo's knew about it, the Gardaí certainly did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Why is the opinion of Gardai on the id of a man in the photo of such importance? Surely photographic evidence should stand by itself - let the jury or judge as applicable look at the photo and look at the defendant in front of them and make a decision. I don't see why the opinion of any Garda adds to the confirmation of identity in such a scenario. I understand there's more to the collapse of the trial than just this element but I've never understood why it was ever relevant at all.

Because there is an identification process. This process is done on an individual basis. The defence had already put forward a case that the ID process did not follow this process and was sullied, tainted and inadmissable.

Emails were then released to the court that brought the whole trial to a halt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭spider baby 172

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    When they came out of the hotel, did they not run the wrong way and then have to turn and run the other way to the getaway van....and then the van drove the wrong way.
    So I'm sure by-standers where wondering what the f*ck was going on.

The case obvisously fell apart on legal technicalities. But I imagine that there is also something about removing the Garda presence from the hotel before the event has something to do with it. If the journo's knew about it, the Gardaí certainly did.

Well the plan was to use the exit through the gated apartment complex at the opposite end of the car park, rather than out onto the main road. Thats why I cant understand why they are running towards the main road and towards the bedlam.
    If it comes out that a Garda presence was purposefully removed beforehand, that is HUGE.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Well the plan was to use the exit through the gated apartment complex at the opposite end of the car park, rather than out onto the main road. Thats why I cant understand why they are running towards the main road and towards the bedlam.
    If it comes out that a Garda presence was purposefully removed beforehand, that is HUGE.

That's just a recollection of mine around the time it happened , I've no idea if it's true or not.

It makes sense though. There would hardly be an under 12 GAA game without some Garda presence these days. Not to mention there was an attempt made at the Red Cow only months beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I can think of at least 3 pubs in town that I will be giving a miss for the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

I can think of at least 3 pubs in town that I will be giving a miss for the next few days.

which ones? might head in for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,768 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

SeaFields wrote: »
    I see a tribunal coming....

Not a hope, all we are going to see is the State proverbially sweeping this entire matter under the carpet never to be spoken of again. It is an embarrassment for policing and justice in this country
    I've assumed for a while that it was an Ian Bailey esque thing - "We don't know who it is, but we all hate Patrick Hutch and he's likely to have wanted to do it, so let's all agree privately to say we recognise him in this photo even though we haven't actually got a clue".

I can't think of anything else which would have caused a case of this magnitude to fall apart.

That sounds pretty close to what went on. Gardai seemed to have pre-ordained Patrick Hutch as the lead suspect.

I can't recall any story coming out that the Gardai were due to attend the boxing weigh in and then an order came for them not to attend, if that was the case it opens up even more questions. I thought the story was Gardai got caught massively on the hop over the whole event- there was huge chatter on Twitter by the Byrnes & Kinahans in the days leading up to the weigh in and every crime journo knew of it and knew who was due to show up whereas the Gardai didn't seem to take it seriously,they came out and said they had no intelligence that an attack was inniment and they went on to blame it on a lack of overtime.
    The Garda cannot be everywhere and even hapless criminals will sometimes be lucky. It is also easy to be wise after the fact. However, a number of newspapers who monitor events – mostly for their photographic archive – where they know serious criminals will be present were in attendance at the Regency.

And the journalists – not to mention the murder gang – knew key drug dealer Daniel Kinahan would be present.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/regency-hotel-shooting-cutbacks-saw-garda%C3%AD-miss-a-big-target-1.2527414

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Edgware wrote: »
    Dead man walking.
    League of Ireland team trying to take out Champions League Team. Could ever only be one result.

Like just over 2 years ago when Dundalk beat Champions League regulars BATE from few years before 3-1 over 2 legs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Drumorig

Sounds like the hutches were rats, and fox knew about the regency before it happened.
    It ties in with the ****e Williams and co come out with how everything is the cartels fault and hutches are victims.

That's why the trial collapsed and we will never hear that come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

With all the advances in facial recognition technology, could they not identify whether Hutch was indeed dressed up as a woman?

Drumorig wrote: »
    Sounds like the hutches were rats, and fox knew about the regency before it happened.
    It ties in with the ****e Williams and co come out with how everything is the cartels fault and hutches are victims.

Emmm.... Where have you been the last 3 years, have you seen all the killings that have been committed. Paul Williams is indeed full of it but to my knowledge he was always condemned the Regency shooting. And also, how many people have the "cartel" killed now? How many of them were in the regency that day. Answer = none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Criminal informer

That's one of the theories going around but it's doubtful, another is that "someone" gave the Byrne's the 12 names allegedly involved and it's was on one of the devices.

How could a criminal outfit be as big a without having a few detectives and guards on your books, and now he has been aquitted it raises even more questions about all the detectives involved.
    With all the advances in facial recognition technology, could they not identify whether Hutch was indeed dressed up as a woman?

"the accuracy of facial recognition system as a biometric technology is lower than iris recognition and fingerprint recognition"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

That's one of the theories going around but it's doubtful, another is that "someone" gave the Byrne's the 12 names allegedly involved and it's was on one of the devices.

How could a criminal outfit be as big a without having a few detectives and guards on your books, and now he has been aquitted it raises even more questions about all the detectives involved.

"the accuracy of facial recognition system as a biometric technology is lower than iris recognition and fingerprint recognition"

Wasn’t one gard sacked last year for passing on info to the cartel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Criminal informer

I dont know about passing to "the cartel" but other Garda's have been caught passing info to smaller gangs.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    This photo seems mad to me. I have silly questions on it (that people who follow this stuff even vaguely would obviously know):

- who is the other guy? Is he alive / charged?
    - who took this photo of lads running with guns towards them?
    - why are their people in the background who do not seem to be running away or focussing on the gunmen?

It almost doesn't look like a real photo if I'm honest.

It is bizarre. I thought it was a reconstruction scene tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭KM792

Lee Byrne(Liams son)posted on his insta"I remain to stay silent but remember!!Every dog has their day.Karma is real."

I can't imagine they're too upset over an acquittal surely they prefer to dispense justice their own way.

What happened to David's other brother James,did he emigrate to the UK as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Clytus

I mentioned this about 100 pages back in this thread...and again, Ill qualify it with its something I heard through a few Twitter accounts; but the story goes that Det Fox gave Jaws Byrne a full list of the suspects involved in the Regency attack. It then appears that Patsy Hutch got wind and evidence of this and started blackmailing Fox. Whether that is fully true or not is open to debate, but for a trial like this to collapse in the manner it has is virtually another GUBU moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Drumorig

Emmm.... Where have you been the last 3 years, have you seen all the killings that have been committed. Paul Williams is indeed full of it but to my knowledge he was always condemned the Regency shooting. And also, how many people have the "cartel" killed now? How many of them were in the regency that day. Answer = none.
    Of course he will condemn it, I'm listening to Williams now on newstalk, 1 sided ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

This Patrick Hutch character must be a walking dead man, he'd be a lot safer if he had got locked up for it. Crazy stuff.

Of course he will condemn it, I'm listening to Williams now on newstalk, 1 sided ****e.

He defo only talks ****e for sure, but like I said, he always has his own agenda. Probably another book. But I never took him to be biased towards the Hutches. I have heard him speak badly numerous times about Gerry Hutch.

What I think is sometimes missed in this is that the Hutch gang get mixed up with the Hutch family. As far as I know only a handfull of family members associate with the gang. It was the gang that shot up the regency, but the entire family and extended family are getting terrorised. And because the family is so spread out a whole community is paying the price. Thats not one sided, thats just the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

In fairness, Gemma O’Doherty gets an awful lot of stick and she does post a lot of crazy **** however she has been going on about corruption in this case for a while now, there’s a broadsheet article she wrote talking about this case about year ago and she was getting abused in the comments for being nuts yet she was on the money, only thing that’s surprising/odd is that she didn’t post anything today after the trial collapsed yet she’s been posting all day about other mad stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

You keep not saying what you believe.

Not true. Check my posts. I said that the identification evidence was admitted but that when it came to consideration by the Judges after hearing all the evidence they wouldnt accept the identification evidence as being beyond reasonable doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Calltocall wrote: »
    In fairness, Gemma O’Doherty gets an awful lot of stick and she does post a lot of crazy **** however she has been going on about corruption in this case for a while now, there’s a broadsheet article she wrote talking about this case about year ago and she was getting abused in the comments for being nuts yet she was on the money, only thing that’s surprising/odd is that she didn’t post anything today after the trial collapsed yet she’s been posting all day about other mad stuff!
    Shes too busy in Dallas checking out the grassy knoll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Shes too busy in Dallas checking out the grassy knoll

She predicted exactly what happened today a long time ago and she also gave the reasons why.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

do you mean this ?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/garda-admits-passing-information-to-criminals-known-as-the-child-and-the-pharmacy-36960048.html

if so then no , not really jut some small time criminals in sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

So I'm sure by-standers where wondering what the f*ck was going on..

Reports printed in newspapers at the time quoted "Garda sources" as saying that the shooters entered the Regency Hotel through a back door, not covered by CCTV, and left the same way. The other suspect in the picture allegedly stayed as a guest at the Regency the previous night.

There's a fairly crude synopsis here of the early stages of evidence given at the trial, by the manager of the Regency, an Indo Journalist and a photographer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Not true. Check my posts. I said that the identification evidence was admitted but that when it came to consideration by the Judges after hearing all the evidence they wouldnt accept the identification evidence as being beyond reasonable doubt

Eh?

The trial was abandoned by the government.

And how come there were no other witnesses. Intimidation?