Major Great Cellist wrote: » Why is the opinion of Gardai on the id of a man in the photo of such importance? Surely photographic evidence should stand by itself - let the jury or judge as applicable look at the photo and look at the defendant in front of them and make a decision. I don't see why the opinion of any Garda adds to the confirmation of identity in such a scenario. I understand there's more to the collapse of the trial than just this element but I've never understood why it was ever relevant at all.
Boom_Bap wrote: » When they came out of the hotel, did they not run the wrong way and then have to turn and run the other way to the getaway van....and then the van drove the wrong way. So I'm sure by-standers where wondering what the f*ck was going on. The case obvisously fell apart on legal technicalities. But I imagine that there is also something about removing the Garda presence from the hotel before the event has something to do with it. If the journo's knew about it, the Gardaí certainly did.
spider baby 172 wrote: » Well the plan was to use the exit through the gated apartment complex at the opposite end of the car park, rather than out onto the main road. Thats why I cant understand why they are running towards the main road and towards the bedlam.If it comes out that a Garda presence was purposefully removed beforehand, that is HUGE.
Boom_Bap wrote: » That's just a recollection of mine around the time it happened , I've no idea if it's true or not.
realdanbreen wrote: » I can think of at least 3 pubs in town that I will be giving a miss for the next few days.
SeaFields wrote: » I see a tribunal coming....
hatrickpatrick wrote: » I've assumed for a while that it was an Ian Bailey esque thing - "We don't know who it is, but we all hate Patrick Hutch and he's likely to have wanted to do it, so let's all agree privately to say we recognise him in this photo even though we haven't actually got a clue". I can't think of anything else which would have caused a case of this magnitude to fall apart.
The Garda cannot be everywhere and even hapless criminals will sometimes be lucky. It is also easy to be wise after the fact. However, a number of newspapers who monitor events – mostly for their photographic archive – where they know serious criminals will be present were in attendance at the Regency. And the journalists – not to mention the murder gang – knew key drug dealer Daniel Kinahan would be present.
Edgware wrote: » Dead man walking. League of Ireland team trying to take out Champions League Team. Could ever only be one result.
Drumorig wrote: » Sounds like the hutches were rats, and fox knew about the regency before it happened. It ties in with the ****e Williams and co come out with how everything is the cartels fault and hutches are victims. That's why the trial collapsed and we will never hear that come out.
mirwillbeback wrote: » With all the advances in facial recognition technology, could they not identify whether Hutch was indeed dressed up as a woman?
Criminal informer wrote: » That's one of the theories going around but it's doubtful, another is that "someone" gave the Byrne's the 12 names allegedly involved and it's was on one of the devices. How could a criminal outfit be as big a without having a few detectives and guards on your books, and now he has been aquitted it raises even more questions about all the detectives involved. "the accuracy of facial recognition system as a biometric technology is lower than iris recognition and fingerprint recognition"
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » Wasn’t one gard sacked last year for passing on info to the cartel?
LuckyLloyd wrote: » This photo seems mad to me. I have silly questions on it (that people who follow this stuff even vaguely would obviously know): - who is the other guy? Is he alive / charged? - who took this photo of lads running with guns towards them? - why are their people in the background who do not seem to be running away or focussing on the gunmen? It almost doesn't look like a real photo if I'm honest.
spider baby 172 wrote: » Emmm.... Where have you been the last 3 years, have you seen all the killings that have been committed. Paul Williams is indeed full of it but to my knowledge he was always condemned the Regency shooting. And also, how many people have the "cartel" killed now? How many of them were in the regency that day. Answer = none.
Drumorig wrote: » Of course he will condemn it, I'm listening to Williams now on newstalk, 1 sided ****e.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » You keep not saying what you believe.
Calltocall wrote: » In fairness, Gemma O’Doherty gets an awful lot of stick and she does post a lot of crazy **** however she has been going on about corruption in this case for a while now, there’s a broadsheet article she wrote talking about this case about year ago and she was getting abused in the comments for being nuts yet she was on the money, only thing that’s surprising/odd is that she didn’t post anything today after the trial collapsed yet she’s been posting all day about other mad stuff!
Edgware wrote: » Shes too busy in Dallas checking out the grassy knoll
Boom_Bap wrote: » When they came out of the hotel, did they not run the wrong way and then have to turn and run the other way to the getaway van....and then the van drove the wrong way. So I'm sure by-standers where wondering what the f*ck was going on..
Edgware wrote: » Not true. Check my posts. I said that the identification evidence was admitted but that when it came to consideration by the Judges after hearing all the evidence they wouldnt accept the identification evidence as being beyond reasonable doubt