Irish winner in Euromillions 175 million..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bfa1509

I heard they're putting the whole lot into Prize Bonds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Living in the area for two generations

Pfft, bloody blow-ins :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,846 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Everyone in the Naul knows who they are so they are guaranteed not to live their life in peace with people looking for money off them. Ordinary life is over for them now. A guy I worked with said he knew someone who won a million, went the pub and looked after everyone for the night. Everyone was calling him a stingy bastard for not giving them money. You can't win. If he gave them all a few grand he'd still be stingy for only giving a few grand after winning a million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Jet Black wrote: »
    Everyone in the Naul knows who they are so they are guaranteed not to live their life in peace with people looking for money off them. Ordinary life is over for them now. A guy I worked with said he knew someone who won a million, went the pub and looked after everyone for the night. Everyone was calling him a stingy bastard for not giving them money. You can't win. If he gave them all a few grand he'd still be stingy for only giving a few grand after winning a million.

If he gave everyone money he’d be accused of showing off. Loke you said, can’t win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,527 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Someone off the phone with a family member, Duleek Syndicate 19m each.

Also this:
    https://m.facebook.com/DuleekDistrictNews/posts/2160229914057579

That’s if it a true syndicate. When you win you always need to say it a syndicate. It does r need to be evenly split.

Otherwise if you take the money and give some to family they need to pay tax. Being a “syndicate “ avoids this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,836 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Jet Black wrote: »

I am not going to go looking for money off them, nor are you. Or anyone else on the thread?

What people are going to be looking for money off them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Better them than me. If I won that sort of mess I'd be dead within 2 months.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

What people are going to be looking for money off them?

It's normal for big lottery winners to get begging letters, in extreme cases (maybe moreso abroa) kidnapping can be a problem too.

Virgin media TV news are camped outside the shop in hope the winner will turn up, if it was me that would be the last place of be going right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

If I won that amount of money, the first thing I'd do is hire 2 private investigators and get them to follow each other around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,836 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's normal for big lottery winners to get begging letters, in extreme cases (maybe moreso abroa) kidnapping can be a problem too.

Virgin media TV news are camped outside the shop in hope the winner will turn up, if it was me that would be the last place of be going right now.

It's normal for people to say that. But is there any proof? Thousands of big winners over the years, and I hear very little about any of them good or bad, after a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,591 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

It's good that it's going to several people, and jackpot will be diluted even more with sons and daughters and grand kids so on.
    It's not going to one stingy bastard, would hate it if it was some low life who won it all. It's a great outcome and a nice story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It's normal for people to say that. But is there any proof? Thousands of big winners over the years, and I hear very little about any of them good or bad, after a few weeks.

Well the Irish ones probably just move to a huge gaff in D4 Embassy Belt and will blend in very quickly with all the existing multi millionaires there, who don’t get any hassle or begging letters either!

It would be an awful thing to keep it a secret, and only be revealed when you die. If you told even one other person it would surely leak out. Or they would be burdened with the secret as well. Far better to go public and the whole hue and cry will be over in a short time.

I'd say begging letters are a definite - always people around who think they are owed something by someone.

There are plenty of people with a lot more than €175 mill. It can't be that hard to manage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,376 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I always thought a sum of money this large could ruin a family for generations.

Imagine if a couple with teenage kids won that.

Kids might switch off, forget about education and ever working.

And with the amount, their kids could do same and so on.

There are plenty of people with a lot more than €175 mill. It can't be that hard to manage.

Never said it was hard to manage - more a pain and people should have a bit of self respect and not beg just because someone came into a bit of money.

Nobody here is going to do that. I just wonder how people find out about the begging letters?

I dont know everybody here so cant comment on that!

Fair enough. If anyone on Boards is going to send them a begging letter, they can let us know. Do you know anyone who sent begging letters to other winners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,040 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

That documentary on lottery winners last year really was an eye opener. The guy who won a nice bit of money and I think he both two pubs in the same small village. He was competing against himself for jaysus sake. I mean he made a balls of it and I think his brothers were rolling in money or certainly very well off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    That documentary on lottery winners last year really was an eye opener. The guy who won a nice bit of money and I think he both two pubs in the same small village. He was competing against himself for jaysus sake. I mean he made a balls of it and I think his brothers were rolling in money or certainly very well off.

I remember he read out one letter, it was from a pensioner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

buried wrote: »
    Better them than me. If I won that sort of mess I'd be dead within 2 months.

So you'd be dead AND 'buried'?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And the vast majority are either born to it, or they made the money themselves DX. That's a huge difference between those people and lotto winners. If you had it by fluke of birth, then you've grown up with it, in a family and life structure that understands what it is and how to manage it and how to keep hassle at a distance. If you made it yourself, it wasn't overnight, so you had time to grow into it at every level from "wow, I have extra money" through to "money makes money" through to "money personally has no real impact beyond managing it"(another huge aspect) and how to keep hassle at a distance.

In either case it wasn't overnight and though they have beggars around them and self made folks usually have huge entourages, they've grown into managing all that. Lotto winners of this magnitude simply don't have that. At this level money is not just something you've lots of to spend.

One good thing seems to be emerging. It's a family syndicate and it'll be broken down into more manageable, less crazy shares. It'll almost certainly cause familial problems, but not nearly as big a burden as a lone winner with a load of family and friends.

I remember reading the tales of a solicitor cum financial advisor(in the UK IIRC) who had advised lotto winners for many years. He had all sorts of stories, many of which involved stress and friends and family fallout. Divorce was extremely common. He was asked if he'd like to win big on the lotto. His reply was he would love to win around the 1-10 millions level, but of the 40-50-100 millions level, no way. He said of such a win, he would love the first six months after the initial hubbub died down, but before the crazy leaked in.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Divorce is very common in the UK for people who never won the Lotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

TomSweeney wrote: »
    If it ever happened to me , I don't think I would tell anyone - just wife and siblings and parents, but no one else ... not even close friends or inlaws.

I knew an accountant that dealt with a lot of lottery winners, he told me it was the kiss of death.
    I like to think I'd have the maturity and common sense not to let it ruin my life - but who knows ?

This same accountant told me another story of a woman that won the lottery and didn't tell her family, it was the irish lottery so nothing on the Euromillions scale, but she was terrified it would destroy the family so she was sitting on a few million in the bank.
    Husband out working his ass off and none the wiser, years passed and she was then terrified to tell him cos she thought he'd ****ing lose it after realising she was sitting on it all these years.
    Crazy story.

Accountants used to be the soul of discretion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,191 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

This is my local shop, I'll let you all know who has gold rims on their tractor by the end of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭keano25

Talk about lucky... Turns out one of them has won £600,000 (punt) in the lotto before...