Jet Black wrote: » Everyone in the Naul knows who they are so they are guaranteed not to live their life in peace with people looking for money off them. Ordinary life is over for them now. A guy I worked with said he knew someone who won a million, went the pub and looked after everyone for the night. Everyone was calling him a stingy bastard for not giving them money. You can't win. If he gave them all a few grand he'd still be stingy for only giving a few grand after winning a million.
Emely Round Sash wrote: » Someone off the phone with a family member, Duleek Syndicate 19m each. Also this:https://m.facebook.com/DuleekDistrictNews/posts/2160229914057579
dxhound2005 wrote: » What people are going to be looking for money off them?
Sheep Shagger wrote: » It's normal for big lottery winners to get begging letters, in extreme cases (maybe moreso abroa) kidnapping can be a problem too. Virgin media TV news are camped outside the shop in hope the winner will turn up, if it was me that would be the last place of be going right now.
dxhound2005 wrote: » It's normal for people to say that. But is there any proof? Thousands of big winners over the years, and I hear very little about any of them good or bad, after a few weeks.
Sheep Shagger wrote: » I'd say begging letters are a definite - always people around who think they are owed something by someone.
dxhound2005 wrote: » There are plenty of people with a lot more than €175 mill. It can't be that hard to manage.
Sheep Shagger wrote: » Never said it was hard to manage - more a pain and people should have a bit of self respect and not beg just because someone came into a bit of money.
dxhound2005 wrote: » Nobody here is going to do that. I just wonder how people find out about the begging letters?
Sheep Shagger wrote: » I dont know everybody here so cant comment on that!
Itssoeasy wrote: » That documentary on lottery winners last year really was an eye opener. The guy who won a nice bit of money and I think he both two pubs in the same small village. He was competing against himself for jaysus sake. I mean he made a balls of it and I think his brothers were rolling in money or certainly very well off.
buried wrote: » Better them than me. If I won that sort of mess I'd be dead within 2 months.
TomSweeney wrote: » If it ever happened to me , I don't think I would tell anyone - just wife and siblings and parents, but no one else ... not even close friends or inlaws. I knew an accountant that dealt with a lot of lottery winners, he told me it was the kiss of death. I like to think I'd have the maturity and common sense not to let it ruin my life - but who knows ?