The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Was around town with the missus looking for somewhere to eat and wandered over to Quinlans Seafood restaurant to check the menu. They did have a menu outside, but no prices. Ridiculous. Why would a restaurant do that? I just walked away. I was up for a bit of seafood too but just didn't bother on principle.

Seems a bit bizarre alright!

Found a menu here: https://www.kerryfish.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/cork-menu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭Harika

siblers wrote: »
    Any suggestions of somewhere to try for burger fest that isn't Son Of a Bun, Gourmet Burger or West Cork Burger?

Holy smoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,036 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Was around town with the missus looking for somewhere to eat and wandered over to Quinlans Seafood restaurant to check the menu. They did have a menu outside, but no prices. Ridiculous. Why would a restaurant do that? I just walked away. I was up for a bit of seafood too but just didn't bother on principle.

To be honest, you didn't miss much,in my opinion. My only time there I found it fairly meh and not great value for the quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Harika wrote: »
    Holy smoke

Jeez... it was just a question... ;)

But being serious.... since the person asking didn't specify the city centre - I'd recommend 12 Tables in Douglas. My favourite burger in the city - the Micko burger (no cheese though). Don't know what the secret sauce is, but it's like my crack-cocaine. Cant get enough of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭Harika

who_me wrote: »
    Jeez... it was just a question... ;)

But being serious.... since the person asking didn't specify the city centre - I'd recommend 12 Tables in Douglas. My favourite burger in the city - the Micko burger (no cheese though). Don't know what the secret sauce is, but it's like my crack-cocaine. Cant get enough of it.

Burger Shack comes in my mind too. Or for a challenge the oliver plunckett :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,980 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Wasn't impressed with Holy Smoke, might try Oliver Plunkett though. 12 tables burger is nice but didn't really fill me, who does the Micko burger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Burger Shack is savage. They only do burgers but they do a damn good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Not Cork City but two course evening meals in Kinsale during 'Restaurant Week' for €20 (18th to 24th Feb 2019). Might be worth a trip!

see https://www.kinsale.ie/event/2019-kinsale-restaurant-week

What are the opinions like for food at The River Lee hotel? How is it?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Beef kofte flatbread in Orso earlier.

The kofte were delicious and juicy, but I did not like the flatbread. Hard and dense, more like a bad pizza base rather than a wrap style. And burnt too. I love Orso and hate to give a negative review.

Anyone else find this? Is that what it's supposed to be like??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭JackieChang

Seems a bit bizarre alright!

Found a menu here: https://www.kerryfish.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/cork-menu.jpg

They're still hiding the menu even if it's available online. Could even be different prices when I walk in. I'll just stay clear of them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

I'm mildly confused as to why people wont just walk in and ask to see a menu if they want to see the choices/prices before committing to the place. :confused:
    siblers wrote: »
    Any suggestions of somewhere to try for burger fest that isn't Son Of a Bun, Gourmet Burger or West Cork Burger?

Couple friends of mine went to the Raven and thought the food there was really good, so that might be a slightly more unusual option for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

nerwen wrote: »
    I'm mildly confused as to why people wont just walk in and ask to see a menu if they want to see the choices/prices before committing to the place. :confused:

Couple friends of mine went to the Raven and thought the food there was really good, so that might be a slightly more unusual option for you.

Because, when you walk in the door, you are committed to the place. It is more difficult to walk out.
    People are looking at you as you stand there and mull over the menu. Bollocks to that.
    Put the menu and price list outside the door. If you don’t, you will not get my custom and from what i read here, others also.

cadaliac wrote: »
    Because, when you walk in the door, you are committed to the place. It is more difficult to walk out.
    People are looking at you as you stand there and mull over the menu. Bollocks to that.
    Put the menu and price list outside the door. If you don’t, you will not get my custom and from what i read here, others also.

This.
    I just don't want to engage with a staff member just to see the menu,so I don't, I move on.

Sometimes, I'm not even looking to eat, I'm just curious about what they serve for future reference.

Yes, I know I can go in and ask. Yes, I can probably find the menu online but I really can't be arsed doing either when I just want to read the menu from outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

if the menu is not on display i have no problem with going in, asking for it and having a look - whether i plan to eat at that time or not.. whats the problem with doing so? they are only restaurant staff - its not a crime and if they give you attitude then so be it - have some confidence - get the info you need..

there are much more important things to worry about..

i am not being smart but it seems be me that some folk here feel insecure by asking to look at a menu if it is not displayed.. there is nothing to be scared of in doing so

sporina wrote: »
    if the menu is not on display i have no problem with going in, asking for it and having a look - whether i plan to eat at that time or not.. whats the problem with doing so? they are only restaurant staff - its not a crime and if they give you attitude then so be it - have some confidence - get the info you need..

i am not being smart but it seems be me that some folk here feel insecure by asking to look at a menu if it is not displayed.. there is nothing to be scared of in doing so

In my case, your hypothesis is nonsense.
    I simply can't be arsed engaging with a staff member in this circumstance. Not afraid, just can't be bothered.
    If a restaurant can't be bothered putting up a menu outside, like the vast majority of restraints in the world, I can't be arsed dealing with them.

If you enjoy doing this, good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭JackieChang

It's not that I feel insecure. It's just such an annoying way to operate that I couldn't be bothered my hole with them. Same as the beer revolu above. They're just making things very inconvenient for somebody looking for somewhere to eat. It's annoying so I just walked away.

I contacted them on FB out of curiosity and they told me they're just in the process of getting new menus for the window displays so that's why they don't have prices displayed.

In my case, your hypothesis is nonsense.
    I simply can't be arsed engaging with a staff member in this circumstance. Not afraid, just can't be bothered.
    If a restaurant can't be bothered putting up a menu outside, like the vast majority of restraints in the world, I can't be arsed dealing with them.

If you enjoy doing this, good for you.
    It's not that I feel insecure. It's just such an annoying way to operate that I couldn't be bothered my hole with them. Same as the beer revolu above. They're just making things very inconvenient for somebody looking for somewhere to eat. It's annoying so I just walked away.

so ye won't spend 1 min to ask to look at the menu yet, even though ye have an interest in eating there,,, yet ye will come on line and moan about such for much longer than a min.. emmm.. sounds dubious to me..

man up and just ask for a fecking menu.. 30 secs sconce - done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Italix

so ye won't spend 1 min to ask to look at the menu yet, even though ye have an interest in eating there,,, yet ye will come on line and moan about such for much longer than a min.. emmm.. sounds dubious to me..

In fairness I don't think it's too much to ask for.
    Not a hope in hell I'd be bothered to go in and ask either, just walk on to the next spot with a menu outside.

I had an unbelievably good bacon sandwich at the Eden cafe in Dwyers on Forge Hill.
    It was a toasted ciabatta with maple glazed bacon, excellent coffee as well.
    Well worth a try if you're in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

For whoever asked about the river lee earlier, I have only had brekkie there, but it was very good.

Italix wrote: »
    In fairness I don't think it's too much to ask for.
    Not a hope in hell I'd be bothered to go in and ask either, just walk on to the next spot with a menu outside.

I had an unbelievably good bacon sandwich at the Eden cafe in Dwyers on Forge Hill.
    It was a toasted ciabatta with maple glazed bacon, excellent coffee as well.
    Well worth a try if you're in the area.

but you are willing to spend the energy to come on here an post about it,.. emm... sure what ever your comfortable with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭richiepurgas

I thought that, under some consumer protection laws, restaurants were obliged to have menus with prices on display where they can be seen from the outside.

Oak Fire pizza got it for take away tonight absolutely brilliant pizza. Like nothing else in the city

rob316 wrote: »
    Oak Fire pizza got it for take away tonight absolutely brilliant pizza. Like nothing else in the city

how was it better than others? say Novecento? Pompeii?

Oh, you're right.
    I've completely changed my attitude and will enter the next restaurant I see with no menu.

Or

Would you for the love of Jaysus let it go.
    Lots of people here have a problem with restaurants not displaying menus. You obviously don't have a problem with this. Get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

HI all... am looking for a restaurant for a party of 4, just a chill-out place - somewhere that has really good food - 'Les Gourmandises', was suggested, - but I find it so stuffy there.
    There will be 4 of us, like food (one's a chef), atmosphere and a pint!
    Thank you!

how was it better than others? say Novecento? Pompeii?

I don't think it was better but it was just different to those. It was closer to palmento I thought but firmer and more toppings. Got baby potatoes with pesto mayo on the side, very nice.

HI all... am looking for a restaurant for a party of 4, just a chill-out place - somewhere that has really good food - 'Les Gourmandises', was suggested, - but I find it so stuffy there.
    Thank you!

Market lane it's always my number 1 to recommend. Great house brews too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Thank you!

Market Lane ticks all the boxes and the Market Lane Lager is delicious.