If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Well she posted this earlier

gr8-ppl-gr8-thoughts-my-life-my-choices-my-problems-26045292.png

Also a few stories about the homeless sleeping out in the cold

I'm not sure the meeting with the Council Monday went well

"Well gud nite and God bless fb plz keep me and my kids wrapped in ur prayers. god bless use all"

When u moving in?

Did you get your house hun xxx

Radio silence from Mags

This is the best,like she has a fooking clue what goes on in the government other than what morons whisper in her ear to get her to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Gravelly

The dramatics. ‘Shut down’ and ‘shout down’ have to be the most overused phrases on boards.ie. Some delicate questioning by two users and suddenly we want the thread closed down? I’ve no doubt it will keep rumbling on and I have very little power in getting threads closed nor would it be something I’d bother to seek very often. Another user and I are just wondering what more could be said at this stage. Very mild criticism. Very mild.

I have to say, I often find the deployment of the terms ‘shut down’ and ‘shout down’ to be a sly silencing tactic in itself.

You were going so well until the bolded bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

The dramatics. ‘Shut down’ and ‘shout down’ have to be the most overused phrases on boards.ie. Some delicate questioning by two users and suddenly we want the thread closed down? I’ve no doubt it will keep rumbling on and I have very little power in getting threads closed nor would it be something I’d bother to seek very often. Another user and I are just wondering what more could be said at this stage. Very mild criticism. Very mild.

I have to say, I often find the deployment of the terms ‘shut down’ and ‘shout down’ to be a sly silencing tactic in itself.

Maybe your are different and that's fine

Plenty of examples are people who did want the thread shut down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Gravelly wrote: »
    You were going so well until the bolded bit.

It’s something I haven’t sought as of yet. Note I said “not something I’d” as in “not something I would”. I added ‘very often’ because I can’t say I would never think a thread should be closed (can anyone?). Probably if the subject matter was completely moronic.

I certainly don’t want this thread closed, I’m just amazed it has gone on as long as it has.

And much like I can ignore this thread, so too can people ignore my posts.
    KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Maybe your are different and that's fine

Plenty of examples are people who did want the thread shut down

Well, don’t make assumptions. Wondering how the thread still has legs doesn’t mean I want it closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Two beauts from her FB.

For someone concerned about the "Carrickmines Murders" she has no problem with this crowd

51364619_547902419026373_2141664143407579136_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=761130d109d71daaff8ff541a749d84a&oe=5CEF0825

Oh the ironing.

51014154_586279671842993_4638171282150522880_n.jpg?_nc_cat=107&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=2463b7a4b0b01090b7c33481fdea7116&oe=5CFF8808

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I think the same thing every day when I see this thread bumped. You’d think everything that can possibly be said on the subject has been said by now but I guess not?

I think the thread's longevity is because it presents a microcosm of a number of serious national issues that are rarely presented in such a clear fashion and are ignored, or even silenced, within mainstream media. These issues include:

- An entitlement culture that hijacks the welfare state and prevents it from helping people as it should.
    - A grievance culture that hijacks serious national issues for personal gain at the expense of others.
    - A media and poverty industry that unquestionably champions criminal scroungers, defames any critics and wilfully avoids any proper scrutiny of the people or issues involved.

- The difficulty of solving serious national issues like housing as long the above is not faced up to.

- A culture of criminality within parts of Irish society that is ignored by the establishment.

The fact that the subject of the thread posts objectionable social media updates of wild variety on a daily basis may be another reason for the thread's longevity but for me at least it's the former.

While it's fair to ask about the thread's longevity you have to be well aware that this is a well-worn tactic of those who wish to shut down debate on any topic. "Oh great another dole/public sector/whatever bashing thread" they intone, rather than engaing on the topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

sligojoek wrote: »
    Two beauts from her FB.

For someone concerned about the "Carrickmines Murders" she has no problem with this crowd

51364619_547902419026373_2141664143407579136_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=761130d109d71daaff8ff541a749d84a&oe=5CEF0825

Oh the ironing.

51014154_586279671842993_4638171282150522880_n.jpg?_nc_cat=107&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=2463b7a4b0b01090b7c33481fdea7116&oe=5CFF8808

Wonder when the paramilitary punishment will be given

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I think the thread's longevity is because it presents a microcosm of a number of serious national issues that are rarely presented in such a clear fashion and are ignored, or even silenced, within mainstream media. These issues include:

- An entitlement culture that hijacks the welfare state and prevents it from helping people as it should.
    - A grievance culture that hijacks serious national issues for personal gain at the expense of others.
    - A media and poverty industry that unquestionably champions criminal scroungers, defames any critics and wilfully avoids any proper scrutiny of the people or issues involved.

- The difficulty of solving serious national issues like housing as long the above is not faced up to.

- A culture of criminality within parts of Irish society that is ignored by the establishment.

The fact that the subject of the thread posts objectionable social media updates of wild variety on a daily basis may be another reason for the thread's longevity but for me at least it's the former.

While it's fair to ask about the thread's longevity you have to be well aware that this is a well-worn tactic of those who wish to shut down debate on any topic. "Oh great another dole/public sector/whatever bashing thread" they intone, rather than engaing on the topic.

Accusing others of attempting to shut down debate (or accusing them of shouting you down) is another well-worn silencing tactic that is, IMO, much more sly. Flies under the radar more and is as much an attempt to quell opposing viewpoints. The reactions to tatranska’s post and mine were OTT and touchy. Ever consider that we genuinely might just be curious about what else there is to discuss on this topic? I mean, there is no way the thread would be closed on the strength of our posts. Why would it? No mod is going to look at our posts and close a long-running thread because of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Fair enough. I can't speak for others on the thread but I tried to answer your question. I think if you read the thread you'll see that it has broadened into a wide-ranging debate that for example in the last few days has discussed the Carrickmines Fire, the inquest, the subsequent PR actions to spin it in favour of a vested interest (with a national paper batting on that interest's behalf) and the dubious validity of comparisons with the Stardust Tragedy. I think broad-ranging debates are one of the things Boards does well.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Fair enough. I can't speak for others on the thread but I tried to answer your question. I think if you read the thread you'll see that it has broadened into a wide-ranging debate that for example in the last few days has discussed the Carrickmines Fire, the inquest, the subsequent PR actions to spin it in favour of a vested interest (with a national paper batting on that interest's behalf) and the dubious validity of comparisons with the Stardust Tragedy. I think broad-ranging debates are one of the things Boards does well.

Yes, at least you answered our questions instead of slinging mud our way or (un)helpfully suggesting that we can ignore the thread. (Give anyone who made that latter suggestion a job at the Department of the Bleeding Obvious)

I genuinely appreciate that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

BBFAN wrote: »
    It is a fair point though, did anyone try to place blame on the Stardust victims for being drunk which they most probably were given they were in a nightclub?
    A fair comparison would be - if a drunk driver crashes and everyone who was in the car, who were also drunk and not wearing seat belts, dies, is the RSA guilty of murder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Irony here is a lot of provo types are the ones who form vigilante groups against people like her husband and how they keep mixing up which IRA they “support”. Drug dealing travellers in the midlands/Roscrea/Portlaoise areas are linked to unionists paramilitaries.

David Doran Thurles who demanded those houses in Thurles be given to other people was no doubt forced out of Sinn Féin like Seamie Morris was. Go look at the meetings and minutes for any urban council and you’ll see it’s Sinn Féin councillors calling for evictions/enforcement against travellers and scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Irony here is a lot of provo types are the ones who form vigilante groups against people like her husband and how they keep mixing up which IRA they “support”. Drug dealing travellers in the midlands/Roscrea/Portlaoise areas are linked to unionists paramilitaries.

Hang on. Travellers who by definition are Catholic are linked to unionist paramilitaries??? :confused:

I suppose anything is possible but it's a stretch for me to be able to wrap my mind around that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,305 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

More of your moralising and hypocracy.

This summer, coming to theatres across the country.

A struggling single mother, Margaret Cash has always protected her family, her people, herself.

One bad decision later and that job is about to get much harder. Kicked onto the streets of South Dublin, Cash is faced with a stark choice...pull off a daring heist at Penny's, or be crushed.

Cash just wants her 4eva home. But Niall Boylan, the gubbernerment, Peter Casey, a mob of violent ethno fascists who post on boards.ie and corrupt politicians stand in her way. Most if not all of Ireland seems to be standing in her way. Her only answer is to fight back and take over the city herself.

A star studded cast featuring Pat Shortt as Margaret, Goldengirl as John "frog" Ward in 2019s hit motion picture "Cash".

Never mentioned Cash or ever talked about her ..that is you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,142 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Hang on. Travellers who by definition are Catholic are linked to unionist paramilitaries??? :confused:

I suppose anything is possible but it's a stretch for me to be able to wrap my mind around that one.

their Catholicism is overstated. Particularly when it comes to some of the commandments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

BattleCorp wrote: »

This has me intrigued too. Where would I need to go to read up on it. My google searches have not revealed anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,305 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Is the implication so that someone trained in firesafety should have been living in this halting site?

So what like, exactly have you in mind? Should there be a live in fireman or something? Or should there have been one of the people living on the site trained and designated the 'fire safety guy' for the site?

Scenario 1 is ridiculous but not out of the realms of the warped mind of your typical Lefty/Liberal/commie type who post on here in her defense.

There might be some merit in training one of them, and them being designated site fire officer or something. Thing is it won't be much use if they're putting on chip pans pissed drunk

Again, this is what the inquest jury recommended, because obviously scenario 2 , as you put it , does have some merit and in time they would accept being told what they should do from someone with a traveller background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

their Catholicism is overstated. Particularly when it comes to some of the commandments.

That is very well understood, but still. I would have expected drug dealing paramilitaries to have standards. :D:D:D

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    What you have never explained on this thread is HOW the council could've prevented this tragedy. The travellers put in the extra caravan. That's not on the council. The adult travellers were all found to be drunk. That is not on the council. A Traveller left a chip pan on the heat, that is not the fault of the council.

If this was a case of faulty wiring causing the accident, then I'd agree that the council are to blame. In this incidence, unfortunately it was adults with too much to drink making silly decisions which lead to loss of life.

Please tell us all how fire regulations would have helped adults who were passed out with drink?????

If this happened in a council house with settled people it would still be a tragedy but it wouldn't be the fault of the council.

I never said that it was the council's fault, I said they have a responsibility to ensure adequate fire safety compliance on their sites, housing or halting. God forbid a tragedy like that occurred in a council estate without adequate fire stops etc there would be an outcry.
    This by the way is said by the inquest jury in their recommendations .I have said this over and over again. Trouble with this thread is posters picking out a phrase or sentence in bold print and replying as if they have read what the original post said in its entirety, while really on,y taking it out of context to suit their own argument. This is happening on Boards more and more and is not being checked or moderated.
    This thread is ignorant , racist, reactionist trash at it's worst ... Now put that in bold type and attack it/ me as some others have done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Goldengirl wrote:
    I never said that it was the council's fault, I said they have a responsibility to ensure adequate fire safety compliance on their sites, housing or halting. God forbid a tragedy like that occurred in a council estate without adequate fire stops etc there would be an outcry. This by the way is said by the inquest jury in their recommendations .I have said this over and over again. Trouble with this thread is posters picking out a phrase or sentence in bold print and replying as if they have read what the original post said in its entirety, while really on,y taking it out of context to suit their own argument. This is happening on Boards more and more and is not being checked or moderated. This thread is ignorant , racist, reactionist trash at it's worst ... Now put that in bold type and attack it/ me as some others have done.

Can you explain please how the thread is RACIST?

hawkelady wrote: »
    What are you on about. He is right. If a newspaper said they are travellers , joe Duffy would be roaring crying about the racist comment. Unless a traveller has been convicted of a crime
    , you won’t hear any news outlet use the word traveller , even though we all bloody know it’s them that’s committing crimes

Plenty of crime committed in North Dublin city, and it's not traveller related.

Can you explain please how the thread is RACIST?

Anyone can see that this thread uses M.Cash to rant and rail against travellers , who are a distinct ethnic group , whether ye choose to accept that or not, and that is racism. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I can't believe this thread is still going on 4 months after it started. Do people have nothing better to do than worry themselves about Margaret Nash?

It's handy to have a scapegoat. She's a chancer for sure. We can take everything we don't like in society and point at the likes of her. No wonder FG/FF are looking after her so well they owe her for taking the pressure off them.

Any Cash news.....

Seriously, just follow her FB page. You're on every other day saying the same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I never said that it was the council's fault, I said they have a responsibility to ensure adequate fire safety compliance on their sites, housing or halting. God forbid a tragedy like that occurred in a council estate without adequate fire stops etc there would be an outcry.
    This by the way is said by the inquest jury in their recommendations .I have said this over and over again. Trouble with this thread is posters picking out a phrase or sentence in bold print and replying as if they have read what the original post said in its entirety, while really on,y taking it out of context to suit their own argument. This is happening on Boards more and more and is not being checked or moderated.
    This thread is ignorant , racist, reactionist trash at it's worst ... Now put that in bold type and attack it/ me as some others have done.

Two weeks ago I posted the comment below. If the council have set things up right in the first place (whether that be in an estate, a terrace of houses, or a halting site), how do you propose they account for the foolish actions of individuals afterwards? As in my scenario below, if you and I do something that jeopardises the safety of our council provided homes, how do you suggest the council police that? Let's say money was no object and the council could afford thousands of inspectors - would you be happy to let an inspector into your house every night to make sure you hadn't done anything that could lead to a fire during the night?
    Thoie wrote: »
    It's not OK for a halting site, and the council didn't say it was - invariably the council sets things up right, and the residents make changes afterwards. This is the equivalent of the council building a pair of semi-d's, meeting all current regulations. Then you and I move in next door to each other, and decide that we'll knock down the fire barrier between the attics, and build on our own wooden lean-to's across the back of both houses. We'd like electricity in these, so we'll tap into the street light outside, and run cables taped together with sellotape through a few puddles. Then, if something happens, we'll claim that the houses provided by the council didn't meet proper standards.

However, if someone from the council drops in every week to examine the place, and to insist that we get the attic barriers repaired and knock down the dangerous wooden extensions, we'll claim we're being victimised, have no privacy and that the council should pay to bring things back to regulation standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Goldengirl wrote:
    Anyone can see that this thread uses M.Cash to rant and rail against travellers , who are a distinct ethnic group , whether ye choose to accept that or not, and that is racism. .

So you can't point out what is RACIST about the thread so, just your opinion. Grand so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

So you can't point out what is RACIST about the thread so, just your opinion. Grand so.
    A distinct ethnic group? So the Connors family who live in caravans are ethnically different from a family of Connors who live in a house. Why FFS?

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    You need to understand the basic point that for liberals, once you have a minority profile, you are a sacred cow, everything else flows from this base point in terns of discussion, on matt Coopers dreadful radio show a fortnight ago, a panel discussion on the weeks events moved to the tinkers who caused havoc in new Zealand, one of the PC bot number 2 on the panel took off and managed to turn the marauding travellers into victims of prejudice on the part of the kiwi press and society, this despite the blatantly obvious glaring fact that new Zealand doesn't have a traveller community and the new Zealanders just naturally reacted to the lawless savages in their midst

A narative surrounding travellers exists in the PC Liberal Bible and the media practitioners adhere to the faith fullsomely

The Maoris are New Zealand 's ethnic group. Do they have a history of oppressing a minority. How do you not know this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I'm not attacking you, I'm saying in this instance (which has been said over and over again), all the fire safety regulations in the world wouldn't have saved those people. They were drunk and left a chip pan on heat, which caused the fire. They put the extra caravan in place, not the council. If this happened in an estate, it still wouldn't be anyone else's fault, apart from the people who got drunk and made a stupid mistake.

I don't think a history and current culture of consanguineous marriages makes a group ethnically distinct to be very honest. It's just inbreeding. That's all it is. That's why loads of Travellers have a distinct look and a shallow pool of surnames. I don't recall anybody being polled on whether they should or should not be an ethnic group either. Just bestowed on them really. Anyway, it's the behaviour people question anyway, not the race.... even though the race is white Irish but whatever.