Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Born again Christians preaching on our streets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

They're fairly harmless, certainly compared to the junkies, aggressive beggars, chuggers and take your eye out sign holders on the street. Loudspeakers are a step too far and I think fall foul of DCC byelaws but otherwise I say let them at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I notice in several cities of late these preacher types with microphones and a bible mixing typical Jesus loves you/be saved from sin with political and social issues. Typically, they would condemn the Irish government, Donald Trump, the Catholic Church and mix it up with Christ. Sometimes, they do busking as well as preaching. Who are they?

Don't know who they are but whoever they are they should be crucified.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 FBWT

Dunno about those fellas but Mormon "missionaries" are a real nuisance. Always pestering people outside the main library here in Cork. I can't stand them, all yank young fellas with a smarmy vibe off them.

They're the most annoying little ****s! There's usually a gang of them on Patrick Street too either outside BT/Vodafone or at the start of Opera Lane. They're easy enough to spot and avoid tho. Those crisp white shirts, black ties and name tags!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

The lad waving that sign around at GAA matches?

He's just a lad waving a sign!

Some interesting definitions. Typical stereotyping but this is AH.

Keep up the good work lads...spouting on about things you know nothing about..where would boards be without it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭corner of hells

He's just a lad waving a sign!

Some interesting definitions. Typical stereotyping but this is AH.

Keep up the good work lads...spouting on about things you know nothing about..where would boards be without it :)

Crucify him .....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭randd1

There's a Nigerian lady who walks around the square in Waterford with a battery powered megaphone and bible in her hand shouting bible passages and how we need to turn away from modern technology and return to working with our hands, as poverty brings us closer to God.

One Saturday down there with the young lads, she was at it again, and a lad shouted out "then put down the fu*king megaphone" to more than a few guffaws. She started losing it completely, spouting about how Satan would drag his soul to hell, and that God would smite those who refuse to listen to his message, crap like that, which made it even funnier to be honest.

Afterwards it struck me how quickly she lost control and got angry, and it got me thinking that maybe she was not the full shilling. And that got me thinking, religious groups in America are known for targeting and indoctrinating people with mental health issues as they're more susceptible to being manipulated, so maybe this was just some poor woman not completely in control of herself being used as a tool for someone else's ideology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

On a lighter note , I work with a born again Christian who gets prophetic dreams that she draws out the following morning with crayons.

Used to work with one years ago and I got one really well with her. Every morning she'd arrive into work and sing her songs about God being 'awesome'. She was the happiest person I've ever met. I used to play drums in one of their churches for a bit of practice. Nice people. The healing stuff was OTT though.
    What's a born again Christian?

To be brief. Everyone is born in a corrupted state as a result of the original sin committed in the garden by Adam in Genesis, i.e. the beginning of the Bible. Our souls need to be reborn as a result of that. These people have accepted that and are reborn.
    mikemac2 wrote: »
    Lived lives full of excess, crime, drink and drugs and turn it around and start judging people

You know that ex smoker who smoked for 20 years, quit and now criticizes other smokers? Think along those lines

Nope, the ones I met and dealt with were born into that faith. The people who converted were people who were struggling to find some meaning in life; quite often.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,214 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Nah he works in a Creash.

In D4?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I suppose that as far as devoutly religious people go, these people don't really do much harm. They certainly aren't going to kill you if you don't accept their beliefs.

In some ways, I can understand why they are so keen on getting their message out. If they genuinely believe that those who are not "born again" will spend an eternity in hell fire, then they are (in their eyes) doing us the greatest service possible - saving our souls from an eternity of pain and torment.

I'm a life long atheist, so I view all religions as the same (it's only the violent extremists of any religion that I'd have a problem with). I find it quite interesting to have a conversation with them if I have time and occasionally have done. Once they realise that I'm absolutely not going to change my views, they generally move onto their next target.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Nah he works in a Creash.

Creash? Is this one of those 'Freedom Fries' things?

I think I'll stick with crèche. I don't hate the French.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 Well First Off...

I remember I once nearly had a car accident on a narrow road. The car I nearly collided with drove off. I had got quite a fright so as the car was stopped along came another car (that was behind the first car) who had witnessed what nearly happened. She handed me some magazine about God and drove off.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭Stephen Gawking

Each to their own when it comes to matters of religion. I always remember sitting in a coffee shop with my wife one morning when i noticed a beautiful young woman staring at me from several tables across. She & her companion (another stunning woman) began staring at me. The first girl gets up from her seat & walks over to our table & sits down.

At this point I'm sweating in case she's someone from my past. Then she says 'i was just sitting over there with my friend when i noticed you, i came over because Jesus wants you to know he loves you & that theres still time for you to repent & save your soul.' This went on for several minutes & she was quite serious. We ended up just leaving because despite asking politely to leave me alone. They followed us to the car. Quite surreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Each to their own when it comes to matters of religion. I always remember sitting in a coffee shop with my wife one morning when i noticed a beautiful young woman staring at me from several tables across. She & her companion (another stunning woman) began staring at me. The first girl gets up from her seat & walks over to our table & sits down.

At this point I'm sweating in case she's someone from my past. Then she says 'i was just sitting over there with my friend when i noticed you, i came over because Jesus wants you to know he loves you & that theres still time for you to repent & save your soul.' This went on for several minutes & she was quite serious. We ended up just leaving because despite asking politely to leave me alone. They followed us to the car. Quite surreal.

Thinly veiled "hot women fancy me" post :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I've a close friend who used to be a bit of a disaster when it came to life choices (drink, drugs, messed-up women etc.), but had a bit of a personal disaster nearly 20 years ago, and shortly afterwards became a born again christian. We all thought it was a phase that would quickly pass, but it has stuck and he is REALLY into it. I'd normally be very skeptical of these things, but he seems a far happier (if slightly more annoying) person since, so whatever works for you I guess. He has a habit of randomly sending me texts telling me he is praying for me, which always makes me slightly paranoid about what he knows :p

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

What's a born again Christian?

The worst kind.

Gravelly wrote: »
    He has a habit of randomly sending me texts telling me he is praying for me, which always makes me slightly paranoid about what he knows :p

There was a study some years ago measuring the effect of prayer on people recovering from a particular operation.

The study was split into 4 groups. People prayed for who were told they were being prayed for. People prayed for who were not told. People not prayed for who were not told. And people not prayed for who were told they _were_ being prayed for.

It seems from the results that the only people affected by prayer or the lack of it was the people who were told they were being prayed for. And actually they fared worse.

So you could legitimately tell your friend that his informing you of praying for you is actually an attack on your health and well being and hence not at all Christian of him if he is indeed wishing the best for you in life.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,501 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There was a lad some months back who would agressively shout in to a loudspeaker at the bottom of Grafton Street, I think he had some mental health issues by the tone and stuff he was coming out with. It should be illegal to interupt someone's day with this rubbish and it should be interpretted as a hate crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Feisar

Lived lives full of excess, crime, drink and drugs and turn it around and start judging people

You know that ex smoker who smoked for 20 years, quit and now criticizes other smokers? Think along those lines

There aere none so pure are a reformed hure!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Feisar

There are none so pure are a reformed hure!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

There was a study some years ago measuring the effect of prayer on people recovering from a particular operation.

The study was split into 4 groups. People prayed for who were told they were being prayed for. People prayed for who were not told. People not prayed for who were not told. And people not prayed for who were told they _were_ being prayed for.

It seems from the results that the only people affected by prayer or the lack of it was the people who were told they were being prayed for. And actually they fared worse.

So you could legitimately tell your friend that his informing you of praying for you is actually an attack on your health and well being and hence not at all Christian of him if he is indeed wishing the best for you in life.

I actually remember reading about that a while back - I fear that telling him that might just make him pray harder!

Gravelly wrote: »
    I actually remember reading about that a while back - I fear that telling him that might just make him pray harder!

Which is fine! So long as he stops telling you about it :) Let the fekkor build a shrine to your eternal well being in his basement for all you care - once he keeps his gob shut about it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

This is fairly common in Dublin. If it's not the Muslims, Athiest Ireland and JW outside the GPO it's a bloke with a microphone across the street talking about Christianity. I don't have a problem with it, it's nice to live in a place where different groups can advertise. They are respectful and don't harass anyone.

^ I just hope that whether it is Atheist Ireland, a Busker, or a Christian with a portable speaker - they have all applied for the proper public license to be there and the Guards are not turning a blind eye to any of them if they have not.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I've seen one of their stands in Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There was a fella in Limerick once who seriously riled me.

Certain sects of Protestantism are super weird. This creeper didn't regard Catholics as Christians. The cheek of the creature to proclaim that on the streets of an Irish city.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Did ye ever get Chick tracts from them?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Was there a first?

Unlikely. Even less likely was the second.

But, if he did exist 2000 years ago, he's definitely dead now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

God bless their little hearts I say.

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭aziz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭QuintusFabius

Great !
    A thread where we can make fun out of Christians! Good thing it's not Muslim preachers on the streets, otherwise we would have to say how great and diverse it is and how anyone critical is a racist!