Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calls for Graham Linehan to be removed from Prime Debate on transgender issues!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,892 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

So, is anybody watching this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,336 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Yeah. Theres some one on who doesn't identify as a man or a woman. ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This is off the wall stuff try and help fix their minds first before they mess with their bodies permanently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,220 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Youse can stop 'calling'...too late.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Autism, there ya go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Trying to explain all this to the parents is most amusing.

“And what the feck is a non-binary?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Yes, the fact https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tavistock_Institute

Was mentioned will kick off conspiracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

That's neither here nor there. That person is an adult. The key word being ADULT. Free to do as they wish and the best of luck to them.

My issue is kids having gender reassignment.
    That's just absolutely crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,892 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I might have misunderstood the mother from Wexford but she said something along the lines of she asked her kid was he gay around the end of primary school because he was a little different.
    I was a little different and had lots of different likes/interests at that age compared to my peers but my mother never asked me was I gay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭Sonic Youth

Never thought I'd be cheering on Graham Linehan. 'Enemy of my enemy' and all that I suppose.

VeryTerry wrote: »
    Niall boylan is one of the few in the media who isn't terrified of the pcbrigade.

Of course he's not. He makes his living riling up the slow lads in class.
    Not frightened to speak his mind. Unusual in Ireland these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Miriam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,416 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Why do we not let someone vote until they are 18 yet are facilitating these life changing decisions by those under 18?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Uncharted wrote: »
    That's neither here nor there. That person is an adult. The key word being ADULT. Free to do as they wish and the best of luck to them.

They are free to do whatever they want as long I don’t ( tax payer ) have to pay for it.

Someone ( adult ) wants to transition, good. Pay for it yourself.

GDY151

statesaver wrote: »

And also have them pay for any additional infrastructure they want like 3rd, 4th, 5th toilet designations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I think it's logical that a miniscule number of people genuinely need a sex change and its not like its an entirely new phenomenon, it's become such a trendy cause however these days that it's not a stretch to imagine many make the leap from typical teen confusion to the all out decision to switch genders, when you add in the PC loons who relish mass gender identity confusion, your left with a lot of disastrous decisions by young vulnerable people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

Not frightened to speak his mind. Unusual in Ireland these days.

Is it? There's far more educated people with better thought out opinions alright.

Same old. Same old. Put Graham back on.

GDY151

This finishes at 10.15, could be an ad break after this segment, Graham might get about 5 minutes worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Why do we not let someone vote until they are 18 yet are facilitating these life changing decisions by those under 18?

You can make medical decisions from age 16..

statesaver wrote: »
    They are free to do whatever they want as long I don’t ( tax payer ) have to pay for it.

100% agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the ones speaking sense in this show are really shining through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Hmm. What a difficult topic.

I'm all for self determination, but as shown in the Louis Theroux documentary it can be very difficult to determine whose will is behind the desire for change where children are involved.
    Oftentimes you'll see a parent behind the push, acting with themselves in mind.

Then again, I can understand many of the reasons presented by those who have made the transition, as to why it would have been better to start the process sooner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

Linehan speaking a lot of sense about trans 'women' in sport having major advantages.

batgoat wrote: »

Indeed, but I dont want to be sitting here in a decade or two with a primetime special on, with women / men asking why was I allowed remove my perfectly healthy reproductive organs? and Im now on medicine for life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Marengo wrote: »
    Linehan speaking a lot of sense about trans 'women' in sport having major advantages.

No idea how that’s allowed given men’s inherent physical advantages. And some of these are contact sports.

Heather making very good point about the changing rooms. Kinda scary actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

This James Caspian lad can't be trusted anyway. He just let his dog **** on the beach and pegged it on national TV.

batgoat wrote: »

It's more complex than an ingrown toenail or freezing off a wart though.

Monumental implications for a lifetime,decided upon by a teenager?????

An utter recipe for disaster.