Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Were the lotto winners mad to go so public?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

mad muffin wrote: »
    Of course.

I wouldn’t have gone public. FÜCK that.

In the USA you don't get the full amount if you want to remain anonymous. Does that happen in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,645 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The money should be seized off them and be given to me because they are naive fools.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 lotsobear

Anyone who thinks that the staff in your local bank wouldn't notice a sudden change in your finances and gossip is has green. You have to lodge it somewhere and even if you "paid" yourself €1500 pw and cleared your mortgage it would definitely be spotted. Confidentially is non existent in Ireland from my experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

They said money don't buy happiness but they are already happy , and also said that they are distributing the lot between 50 close family relations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Honestly, has anyone ever heard tell of any Lotto winner since Dolores?

Irish people have a way of letting people get on with it I think. And many very rural areas have had winners too.

I think people are too hysterical.

Anyway this was a UK/Euromillions. So who cares?

You know why we haven’t? They kept quiet. Delores was tabloid fodder for years.

lotsobear wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks that the staff in your local bank wouldn't notice a sudden change in your finances and gossip is has green. You have to lodge it somewhere and even if you "paid" yourself €1500 pw and cleared your mortgage it would definitely be spotted. Confidentially is non existent in Ireland from my experience.

I’m sure they don’t just walk into the bank with the big lotto check.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,895 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Deal with a manager in a private meeting in a bank out of town, not Bridget the bank assistant from the village who can't keep her yap shut.

Regarding myself, I have to be honest and admit that I’d like the power I could wield with that money, the mostly benevolent power in my case. I would indeed like to win a fair chunk to be able to wave my fantasy wand and achieve things for both myself and others. I kinda think most of us would be like that.

The power of hidden benevolence. Well we can take your word for it I suppose. I’d give about 10% to charity and 10% to family.

Would continue charity donations but wouldn’t run anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Under His Eye

Credit transfer is how it is done. The massive cheque is just for show.

Deal with a manager in a private meeting in a bank out of town, not Bridget the bank assistant from the village who can't keep her yap shut.

Yeh.
    There are private banks for the mega rich.

I worked in a Cork City Centre shop a few years ago and one morning a rumour went around that my boss at the time had won €3m the night before. It was incredible. His son rang him at about 9:15 (from Dublin) to tell him that he had heard about his luck and all day long people were coming in 'for a chat' and 'wishing him well'. Friends, Nuns, Charity workers, you name it. It was funny that morning but by the evening the joke had worn fairly thin. By that time he had easily gotten 200 visitors, with about half of them being blunt enough to ask him straight out to help out with some charity / cause / personal difficulty. As I say, it was incredible to watch.

Can't understand that with that kind of money. Generally people will invest while they're working to create a nest egg for later in life. They might, say, want to have 50k or 100k for their retirement.
    Investing north of 100m for any ordinary Joe Soap is pretty pointless IMO. Spend what you want, on what you want, look after people as you want and just enjoy it. Investing that kind of money just so some great grandchild can piss it all against a wall wouldn't appeal to me at all. Nor would the fact that your investment only serves to make some wealthy lawyers, bankers and 'advisors' even wealthier than they already are.

Rich people try to gain income from their capital without necessarily eating into the capital. You can’t keep 130M under the bed. If it’s in a bank it’s invested but you probably wouldn’t have it all in one current account in mallow aib. One or many financial advisors will put the money to work. Remember Aonghus - that was his job.

So if you earned a fairly crap 3% on the 130M you’d be earning ~4M a year. Be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

If you're staying in the same town, then yeah. If you're willing to move to a different country for a few years then it's not really a big deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 lotsobear

But "Bridget" the bank assistant see's your accounts and lodgements. If you pay yourself a weekly or monthly was from your lump sum it will be spotted

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭heretothere

I'd try to keep it quiet but there is no way it would be kept quiet where I live! I would feel I had to sort out my family and that's a lot of people, so suddenly the whole extended family is pretty well off..... fairly sus!

With regards to someones question about tax, most of your family (unless you put them into the syndicate) would have to pay tax. The threshold for siblings/ nieces etc isn't that high so if you wanted them to get €500k into their hand give them €750k, to cover their CGT, jes that's some money to be handing to the tax man!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,317 ✭✭✭AllForIt

True.

I've made my plan for when I win big.

Disappear.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Hoboo

What I've learned is don't go to a bank with any employees named Bridget. Sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭TommyGun2017

Can’t for the life of me why this couple went public with such a huge amount. There’s no clear advantage to doing so imo except being able to say fook you to the people ya don’t like. I imagine Camelot were delighted with all the publicity. If I remember correctly Dolores O Riordan hadn’t much choice in going public. She checked her ticket on Teletext in a pub in Limerick and the madness began

• Registered Users Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

AllForIt wrote: »
    True.

I've made my plan for when I win big.

Disappear.

We all have plans for you to disappear if you win.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Can’t for the life of me why this couple went public with such a huge amount. There’s no clear advantage to doing so imo except being able to say fook you to the people ya don’t like. I imagine Camelot were delighted with all the publicity. If I remember correctly Dolores O Riordan hadn’t much choice in going public. She checked her ticket on Teletext in a pub in Limerick and the madness began

The other option is to keep it secret. So the benefit is that yiou don't have to keep it secret and worry about it getting out.

Personally i wouldn't tell that soon. I'd give myself a few weeks to get my life sorted and then go public.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭TommyGun2017

Grayson wrote: »
    The other option is to keep it secret. So the benefit is that yiou don't have to keep it secret and worry about it getting out.

Personally i wouldn't tell that soon. I'd give myself a few weeks to get my life sorted and then go public.

See what you’re saying but there’s a difference between telling those close to you in person(so it’s less of a burden) and having your name, face and where you live splashed across every news bulletin and newspaper

• Registered Users Posts: 8,317 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Grayson wrote: »
    We all have plans for you to disappear if you win.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

A friend of mine won a decent rollover a while back. He kept it private from papers and TV and he kept it quiet for about 3 months till all the town knew. Carried on as normal.

Just before he won the money, Visa were looking for some money back. He let them stew for a while till the collectors came calling. He let them into the flat saying, "Take what ye want lads. The most valuable things here are my TV (Before flatscreen) and my porn collection." . He made the "lads" hang around all day and paid them cash at 7 in the evening. He reckoned It kept the c**s away from someone else for a day.

THe crack about giving away money to other people gets tricky when the taxman gets involved. These people should get advice before they go giving wads out to people. When they die the taxman will get another chunck out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,866 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Precisely. These folks have gone public and said theyve a list of 50 odd people close to them they want to help. Not a thought for the millions in gift tax and CGT that would be lost to the taxman if they started paying off a dose of mortgages. They were mad to go public, they needed to sit down very privately with some excellent advisors and consider their options for themselves, their family and the causes they support.

I'd like to think I'd keep it quiet, but I'd probably be going around like Hud Hastings.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭baldbear

On the news they gave out the name of the area they live. So I've wrote a poormouth letter already .

They shud have there kids names on the ticket if they don't want to pay tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭baldbear

On the news they gave out the name of the area they live. So I've wrote a poormouth letter already .

They shud have there kids names on the ticket if they don't want to pay tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,178 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Has Slab Murphy been mentioned on the thread yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Wouldn't it be better to have it transferred to an account in Switzerland? They have long experience of minding money discretely even if the whole world collapses around them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

I wouldnt go public, the under powers lay in waiting to target you. There is a security risk going public with such a vast amount of cash in your bank account. I'd be anonymous about it. Of course I'd leave the state and buy some nice property, a house or two in Ireland. I wouldnt buy a new Ferrari and drive around Dublin though, your a sitting duck doing that. You'll be known and followed by God knows who to your doorstep. Your mansion in Dublin 4 will be stalked by every shady character looking to take a piece of your rich ass.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,233 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Mental cases. If I won big money I'd tell my best friend and my wife. That's it.

My plan to retire secretly is..... A secret.

Ps imagine being number 51 on these eejit's top 50 list? You'd be gutted!