Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starbucks in Tallaght Hospital

• 03-01-2019 3:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11,723 ✭✭✭✭

Is there really a Starbucks or starbucks like coffee shop in Tallaght Hospital???

do me a favour!

you go to them type bloody places when your out on a day out shopping and you are used to paying out for food/drink but not when your visiting patients in a bleeding hospital for gods sakes.

yep I understand the other cafe is a volunteer run one and that it closes about 3 or 4pm and fair enough there most probably was a need for a commercial cafe so it could open later ... but are you saying a non-chain (which some would say have high rip-off charges) cafe with reasonable prices couldn't have run it instead?

So along with high price for parking and now a high priced place for a bite to eat in the hospital out of the volunteer run cafe I presume it costs ye an arm and a leg now to go visit someone in Tallaght Hospital these days? - mind you if you come over feeling ill after paying 15euro for a sandwich and a coffee at least your in the right place!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭highdef

I don't think the purchase of coffee is mandatory when visiting someone in hospital. I've never bought a coffee in a hospital. Have brought stuff in with me alright but never felt compelled to use the facilities within any hospital campus.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

In America some States have allowed a McDonald's to open in their hospitals:

http://www.trueactivist.com/these-states-serve-mcdonalds-in-their-hospitals-infographic/

I'm assuming it's so medics can bring patients down to explain what kind of food has led them to end up there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

See if they sell full-stops, capital letters and the odd coma.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

One in the mater hospital too

• Registered Users Posts: 6,192 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

If you don't like it you can of course not use it. Personally it's nice to have a bit of a pick me up when visiting long hours. Hospitals aren't a nice place to be. Hospitals are a business at the end of the day.

In saying that, the staff at that Starbucks don't know their árseholes from their elbows and can't make a coffee at all.

I think the pricing is disgraceful though, whether you're getting a sandwich from the cafe or even a coke from the shop the prices are just too high.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If you want to eat properly go down to the canteen

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Starbucks are no more expensive and are on par price wise with Costa, Café Nero, Gloria Jeans etc.
    All the major brands charge roughly the same.
    I imagine an independent ran venture wouldn't have the start up funds needed to set up in a hospital, which explains why a company like Starbucks ended up in there. Not many could afford that level of initial investment.
    Pretty sure there's one in CUH as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

If you want a rant, rant about the prices in the little shop across from it -

€4feckin50 for a shyte muffin that's about the same size as a feckin caffreys snowball

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

One in the coombe years too,

Terrible coffee

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Chinasea wrote: »

As lucrative as it would be I don't think a hospital should be encouraged to sell comas.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Do you think they have enough people in comas that they're actually selling them now? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    One in the mater hospital too

Isn't that a costa, however the brand isn't really relevant.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Where else would ya buy a coma sure? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

I've heard they do them all-right

Edit. Beaten to it. by THREE other posters

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Where's the canteen?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,915 ✭✭✭✭GBX

There are 3 places to get coffee in Tallaght Hospital if you want it. You are not restricted to just using Starbucks. There's a volunteers coffee shop across from Starbucks. There is also the main canteen but its a bit of a walk down corridors well signed to find it.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

• Registered Users Posts: 11,723 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

why do Starbucks have Grammar Nazis working for them now? :D

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Is there really a Starbucks or starbucks like coffee shop in Tallaght Hospital???

do me a favour!

you go to them type bloody places when your out on a day out shopping and you are used to paying out for food/drink but not when your visiting patients in a bleeding hospital for gods sakes.

yep I understand the other cafe is a volunteer run one and that it closes about 3 or 4pm and fair enough there most probably was a need for a commercial cafe so it could open later ... but are you saying a non-chain (which some would say have high rip-off charges) cafe with reasonable prices couldn't have run it instead?

So along with high price for parking and now a high priced place for a bite to eat in the hospital out of the volunteer run cafe I presume it costs ye an arm and a leg now to go visit someone in Tallaght Hospital these days? - mind you if you come over feeling ill after paying 15euro for a sandwich and a coffee at least your in the right place!
    Holy f*ck! Talk about snowflake syndrome.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,915 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Where's the canteen?

It's on this as "dining room"

http://www.tuh.ie/Adult-Services/Hospital-Map-Leaflet.pdf

when its open - think it finishes at 3 or 4pm doesnt it?

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭banana_bear

DaveyDave wrote: »
    In saying that, the staff at that Starbucks don't know their árseholes from their elbows and can't make a coffee at all.

I think the pricing is disgraceful though, whether you're getting a sandwich from the cafe or even a coke from the shop the prices are just too high.

That sounds like any of the starbucks I've ever been to (which was once for the novelty, and then only due to a lack of options).

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Starbucks are no more expensive and are on par price wise with Costa, Café Nero, Gloria Jeans etc.
    All the major brands charge roughly the same.
    I imagine an independent ran venture wouldn't have the start up funds needed to set up in a hospital, which explains why a company like Starbucks ended up in there. Not many could afford that level of initial investment.
    Pretty sure there's one in CUH as well.

if a volunteer ran one can start up and run i am almost pretty sure an independent commercially run one could function - nothing fancy , no fancy food just the basic sandwiches, cookies and twix bars etc and cups of tea rather than buckets of tea and coffee

• Registered Users Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

There's a Supermacs in UHG.

If you want a rant, rant about the prices in the little shop across from it -

€4feckin50 for a shyte muffin that's about the same size as a feckin caffreys snowball

is it really - madness!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,889 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

GBX wrote: »
    There are 3 places to get coffee in Tallaght Hospital if you want it. You are not restricted to just using Starbucks. There's a volunteers coffee shop across from Starbucks. There is also the main canteen but its a bit of a walk down corridors well signed to find it.

And if you walk a few minutes you have The Square and all the cafes and restaurants around it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

if a volunteer ran one can start up and run i am almost pretty sure an independent commercially run one could function - nothing fancy , no fancy food just the basic sandwiches, cookies and twix bars etc and cups of tea rather than buckets of tea and coffee

Sounds like you have all the knowledge and expertise, maybe you're the man for the job?

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Holy f*ck! Talk about snowflake syndrome.

says someone who most probably earns a decent wage and dont have to conserve their money and make it stretch in life :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

do me a favour!

You talk some amount of shite.

GBX wrote: »

thats a good map - thanks for posting