Shane Ross new speeding bill approved

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭pablo39er

does Shane Ross do anything other than bring in ever more legislation, instead of actually properly enforcing the reams of existing legislation that is already there ? I suppose that would require actual work instead of endless sound bites and press releases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ross is out of control now

What a lot of bollocks. Nothing to increase penalties for causing death by dangerous driving, nothing to increase penalties for phone use.

Yeah but forget to renew your license - which is just them making sure you pay up - nothing about safety. It would be different if you were required to be retested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Just enforce the current laws

Put gardai out on the job and away from the desks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Next you will need another disc on the windscreen with your driving licence on it.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    If they’re so worried about deaths on the road, why don’t they set up checkpoints around pub car parks.

Why breathalise at a dangerous checkpoint with drunk drivers around when you can do it from the safety of the office? Far more efficient.

You can also hit your targets for summons` by issuing them to people who have already produced their documents at a garda station anyway. This way you get to strike the case out in court because they produced the documents and claim overtime. Seen as a win win by the Gardai, a massive problem. Amazed at the journalist who sit in the district courts day in day out and fail to spot this.

Any journo out there who wants to know more PM me (i`ve made this offer before on various forums and never had a PM). If you know a journalist put them onto me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭pablo39er

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Just enforce the current laws

Put gardai out on the job and away from the desks

Enforcement, what's that ?

That's not going to get Minister Ross any media exposure or excuse to spin up another "launch event" though.

I'd say Minister Ross is going to get a nice little xmas present from the car insurance cartel in Ireland though, as now ordinary people with even the most minor speeding offence will be paying extortionate premiums for years.

Faugheen wrote: »
    The speeding penalties I've no issue with really. However the no licence one is absolutely ridiculous. I have mine in my wallet and, on occasion, I've left my house without my wallet for whatever reason.

80 Euro fine and 2 penalty points for not producing your licence is bollocks. If you fail to produce it within 10 days then apply the fine and points.

But why do you need the points at all? Points are supposed to be to knock someone who is continually careless/dangerous off the roads. Not someone who forgot to pay a fee.

Again it would be different if you required retesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

31 over in a 30 zone, maybe a 50 zone - fair game. Instaban or the 7 points, no problem with that. 31 over on a motorway is NOT the same crime and should not have the same punishment.
    The fines and points should be percentage based. As with anything, enforcement is key, and the problem with speeding is it's the most enforced infraction becuase it's the easiest to measure, even despite the fact that other things are far more dangerous and may shortly incur LESS points (e.g. running a red light, undertaking, poor lane discipline)

To those that say people of this opinion want to speed with impunity, just no. Simply the punishment must fit the crime.
    If you want to run the gauntlet with 3 points as things are, grand. Eventually you'll be off the road if you offend consistently which is fair.
    This, instead, puts first time offenders on their last chance immediately.

This is nothing but the latest in a long line of stunts which prove Shane Ross to be utterly delirious and on a different planet to the rest of us mere mortals. An insufferable, unfathomable, Grade-A moron.

Perhaps the EU could make a regulation about this instead, seeing as they like to regulate everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Next you will need another disc on the windscreen with your driving licence on it.

Next everybody in the country is going to have to sit the driving test again every five years.

This will be mooted by this hoor real soon, or something like it, I bet you a tenner!

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Squatter wrote: »
    The Cabinet were humouring the buffoon in order to ensure that he wouldn't walk out of government. The Oireachtas sub-committee will rip the hole of out of his latest bout of nonsense long before it comes to a D vote.
    Sir, from your lips to god's fcuking ears.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

2. a contributory factor: So where Car A is travelling on the N1 in a 100km zone at 120kmh and a drunk driver ploughs into the side of him because he came out of a side road without stopping. Drunkeness and speed are both seen as contributory factor but the drunkenness is obviously the cause as the drunk driver was unable to stop so the accident was going to happen at 100kph / 80kph / 40kph.
    If the driver wasn't speeding, they wouldn't have reached the junction at the time the drunk river was entering the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Victor wrote: »
    If the driver wasn't speeding, they wouldn't have reached the junction at the time the drunk river was entering the road.

But if they were speeding some more, they would missed him too. :D

• Site Banned Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Victor wrote: »
    Sure. It happens to me about once every 5 years.

If it isn't noticeable, you might review your driving.

Driving at 150 km/h means your vehicle has 1.56 (144/225) times the energy of 120 km/h.

Speed (km/h) Energy relative to 10 km/h
    10 1
    20 4
    30 9
    40 16
    50 25
    60 36
    70 49
    80 64
    90 81
    100 100
    110 121
    120 144
    130 169
    140 196
    150 225
    160 256

You're engaging in whataboutery, but have you seen the size of the health budget?

Speeding fines cost most to implement than they bring in.

Have you a source for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

kneemos wrote: »
    Forgetting your license is hardly a crime
    No, but if there's a penalty you might make a better effort not to forget it.

This is not about punishing people for forgetting their licence. It's about catching those without.

If it's a "produce in ten days" matter, then your usual gowler with no licence will just give a fake name and not produce, and keep driving.

At least now the Gardai can do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,252 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

seamus wrote: »

This is not about punishing people for forgetting their licence.

but they will be punished ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

buried wrote: »
    Next everybody in the country is going to have to sit the driving test again every five years.

This will be mooted by this hoor real soon, or something like it, I bet you a tenner!
    That's ridiculous.

Ten years is enough. Doesn't make sense that you can pass a test at 17 and keep driving for another 50 or 60 years with no further assessment. It's insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Just leave your driving licence in the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

dusty207 wrote: »

And if your car is broken into/robbed?

Driving license could be a fairy valuable piece of identification to the right people.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

dusty207 wrote: »

What happens if you have 2 cars?

That's ridiculous.

Ten years is enough. Doesn't make sense that you can pass a test at 17 and keep driving for another 50 or 60 years with no further assessment. It's insane.

lol it will be insanity for any politician that even tries to bring something like that in, they'll be dragged to a guillotine the next morning. People in this country can't drive for $hit, including TD's. Didn't Mary Mitchell O'Connor drive down a fleet of steps outside Leinster House?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Amprodude wrote: »
    Have you a source for that?
    Kinetic energy is equal to half the mass multiplied by the velocity squared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭recyclebin

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Flol

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,728 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

seamus wrote:

How about regular driving assessments rather than a test, they can be very stressful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Long way to go for Shane Ross new speeding bill approved
    The fact such a far-fetched bill was proposed, drawn-up and got as far as it did is in to itself a cause for concern. It shows an absolute disconnect with reality.
    kneemos wrote: »
    Forgetting your license is hardly a crime
    By casting things like this as a crime, we're demeaning what the actual concept of a crime is. Not having your licenseis not a malicious crime, doesn't bring society into disrepute and unlike driving without insurance, is actually a totally victimless crime.
    Melodeon wrote: »
    No it's absolutely not a crime. Under the Road Traffic Act 1963, a Garda only needs to be able to positively identify the driver so that they can verify the driver's details (and the passengers' identity where a crime has been committed). The 1994 act is more concerned with having a license, rather than being able to produce immediately.
    Yet,he only "regrets" Irish Ferries decision to stop using Roslare port !!
    Totally mis-managed priorities on his part. He really has no grasp of how anything works outside of the M50. Rosslare is one of five Tier 1 and 2 ports in Ireland. Post-Brexit, its significance is about to increase exponentially and yet two of its major services (or 70% of non-UK traffic) from there are on the verge of cancellation. That's not regretful, it's downright worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

That's ridiculous.

I think you haven't a clue what you are talking about. I got my license at 18 and have been driving for 40 years without killing or injuring anyone. I'm actually in the age group that has the lowest rate of accidents. My parents likewise drove from their teens till their mid 80's without accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

recyclebin wrote: »

The driver should have been arrested for careless driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

And if your car is broken into/robbed?

Driving license could be a fairy valuable piece of identification to the right people.

Same as if your house was broken into or you lose your wallet, apply for a new one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Amprodude wrote: »
    What happens if you have 2 cars?
    Just get a duplicate. I have 3 actually.