Shane Ross new speeding bill approved

• 19-12-2018 03:44PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

https://www.thejournal.ie/ross-speeding-laws-4403232-Dec2018/

The proposed fixed charge amounts and penalty points are set out as follows:

Exceeding a speed limit by up to 10 km/h:
    Fixed Charge – €80
    Penalty Points on payment of fixed charge – 3
    Penalty Points on Conviction – 5
    Exceeding a speed limit by more than 10km/h

but not more than 20km/h:
    Fixed Charge – €150
    Penalty Points on payment of fixed charge – 4
    Penalty Points on Conviction – 6

By more than 20km/h but not more than 30km/h
    Fixed Charge – €200
    Penalty Points on payment of fixed charge – 7
    Penalty Points on Conviction – 7

No driving licence on you = €80 and 2 penalty points.

Hahahaha, who thought it wouldn't pass? I told you it will pass. Expect more severe penalties soon enough such as Switzerland. No licence = automatic ban.
    Until Shane Ross dies (he's 69 now) car drivers will face his full powers.
    Honesty I don't know how he passed the bill, he must have some insane powers to ignore everyone and go ahead anyway. Both FF and FG were outraged.
    Nothing will stop the might of Shane Ross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Feckin stupid idea, 10km/h over in a 50 is very different to 10km/h on a motorway, should have been % based.

I also think the penalty is a bit high in general but know others will disagree.

Also think it is a bit harsh on the licence, it can be easy enough to forget if drive multiple vehicles, maybe a fine with no penalty points if you produce in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

"The general scheme of the Bill was approved this afternoon, however, two of the main issues of concern to Fine Gael ministers were referred to a Cabinet sub-committee.

These include concerns over the severity of the numbers of points that can be issued for a single speeding offence and the removal of garda discretion if drivers are not in possession of their licence when stopped."

Long way to go for Shane Ross new speeding bill approved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

I still don't understand why they didn't go for a percentage scale. To my mind doing 40 in a 30 zone is worse than doing 110 in a 100 zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The license thing is a crock of ****. Why don't they have access the the data base at the roadside?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    "The general scheme of the Bill was approved this afternoon, however, two of the main issues of concern to Fine Gael ministers were referred to a Cabinet sub-committee.

These include concerns over the severity of the numbers of points that can be issued for a single speeding offence and the removal of garda discretion if drivers are not in possession of their licence when stopped."

Long way to go for Shane Ross new speeding bill approved

But does that really mean anything other than delaying the bill? I mean it seemed like everyone was outraged by the proposals but it passed anyway. Does Shane Ross have the power to single handedly introduce new bills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

New license rule is bullshít, the punishment in no way matches the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Seen this on a lads Facebook
    The picture says it all folks. Laughing at us all. This man and his government are so out of touch with reality it beggars belief.

He has now decided that road users should spend more time looking at their dash than the road.

Ordinary hard working people have enough to be dealing with. Getting up early to drop kids with minders and rushing home late to collect them in appalling traffic. No quality of life. No help with Creche fees, no help with anything

The people this man and his government want to penalise are getting out of their beds every morning to pay taxes and stealth taxes to pay this pompous over indulged politician.

He wants to remove a guards discretion to allow a driver produce a license within 10 days of being stopped. I have known people on a school run who have forgotten kids let alone their wallet/purse. Maybe me Ross would be better arming the guards so they could shoot anybody without a license on them

At least one senator and one politician I know of have gone to great lengths to reintroduce the night link 126 bus eireann route from Dublin to Naas. I’m delighted and amazed and how much time and effort could be put into getting drunk people home.

Why not put time and effort into extending the working hours of the men and machinery working on the M7. Very sad to see all the beautiful shiny machines parked up at 6 every evening and all weekend.

The people who sit for hours in their cars would appreciate this. After all they have paid their vrt, tax, fuel tax, insurance levy and so on.

I’m just wondering where is the breaking point of the always late, always worried about the next bill, always worrying about the future type of people.

Maybe we should all claim benefits and have free travel. This country is a benefit state but if you put us the working people off the road then your house of cards will fall me Ross. I personally would be delighted to see you do a day traveling with a truck or bus driver. You may get a grasp of reality. Then again, probably not

Please share if you like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Ireland could be world-leading - tachograph cards in cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

It will not get out of the sub-committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

It appears no-one has said it yet so here goes; Shane Ross is a cunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Let's be nice.
    Shane Ross is a self-indulgent, pompous, moron.

Kivaro wrote: »
    It will not get out of the sub-committee.

Does sub committee do anything other than advise? And why the outcome would be different? It seemed to pass very quickly and looks like Mr Shane is already drawing up legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

He does nothing for years then when he does finally step up its with this stinking pile of horse manure.

But sure he’ll be voted back in again next time because we get the politicians we deserve..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Thoie wrote: »
    I still don't understand why they didn't go for a percentage scale. To my mind doing 40 in a 30 zone is worse than doing 110 in a 100 zone.

It all depends on the road. I mean, 30kmh zone near a school at lunch time, yes. 30kph zone on an m50 junction outside rush hour, no.
    Same with 100 zones. Some roads are big, empty, very straight and no entrance or exit on them. 110 is ok there, they're almost motorways. But then some 100kph zones are bendy almost back roads. I guarantee I can tell you the sections the speed cameras will be. And it won't be the bendy narrow sections of national roads.

Rennaws wrote: »
    He does nothing for years then when he does finally step up its with this stinking pile of horse manure.

But sure he’ll be voted back in again next time because we get the politicians we deserve..

The funny thing is that he gets voted back in anyway wtf???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Thoie wrote: »
    you mean like in Germany where its a sliding scale of barely no fine for being a little over to proper fines for being WAY over

as an example, heres how it works for speeding in towns over there, and its fairly reasonable.

Speed limit exceeded by[kilometres per hour] Euros Points Disqualification[months]
    Up to 10 15 0 0
    11 to 15 25 0 0
    16 to 20 35 0 0
    21 to 25 80 1 0
    26 to 30 100 3 0
    31 to 40 160 3 1
    41 to 50 200 4 1
    51 to 60 280 4 2
    61 to 70 480 4 3
    Over 70 680 4 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

What a lot of bollocks. Nothing to increase penalties for causing death by dangerous driving, nothing to increase penalties for phone use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

you mean like in Germany where its a sliding scale of barely no fine for being a little over to proper fines for being WAY over

as an example, heres how it works for speeding in towns over there, and its fairly reasonable.

Speed limit exceeded by[kilometres per hour] Euros Points Disqualification[months]
    Up to 10 15 0 0
    11 to 15 25 0 0
    16 to 20 35 0 0
    21 to 25 80 1 0
    26 to 30 100 3 0
    31 to 40 160 3 1
    41 to 50 200 4 1
    51 to 60 280 4 2
    61 to 70 480 4 3
    Over 70 680 4 3

No, I meant that doing 60 in a 50 would get you the same fine as doing 120 in a 100 zone (both 20% over the limit, rather than 10kmph over the limit).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Appropriate penalties to reflect the fact that excessive speed is the principal cause of 3% of accidents. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

If they’re so worried about deaths on the road, why don’t they set up checkpoints around pub car parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭koheim

How can people oppose to this, I just do not get it. The current penalty is a joke, 80 euro no matter how fast you drive over the limit.
    All other european countries have some kind of scale for driving over the limit and rightly so.
    And of course the penalty for driving 10 km/h too fast in a 50 zone should be punished much more than 10km/h in a 120 zone..

For example in Norway:
    When the speed limit on the spot is 60 km/h or lower and the speed travelled is
    up to 5 km/h 80 Euro
    up to 10 km/h 200 Euro
    up to 15 km/h 400 Euro
    up to 20 km/h 550 Euro
    up to 25 km/h 850 Euro
    over 25 km/h 1000 Euro and loss of license for 2 years
    = less road deaths

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

The speeding penalties I've no issue with really. However the no licence one is absolutely ridiculous. I have mine in my wallet and, on occasion, I've left my house without my wallet for whatever reason.

80 Euro fine and 2 penalty points for not producing your licence is bollocks. If you fail to produce it within 10 days then apply the fine and points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Honestly Irish people just love to moan, if you dont break the law then you have nothing to worry about..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

kilns wrote: »
    Honestly Irish people just love to moan, if you dont break the law then you have nothing to worry about..

Forgetting your license is hardly a crime

If ya did noting wrong there ain't notin to warry about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

I propose we ban people who use double punctuation or who drop apostrophes from posting here on boards. Obviously, you can't complain about that being unreasonable. I mean, if you don't break the rule, you'll have nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Might as well stipulate that every driver must carry an ostrich wearing a green jumper as a passenger. The breech of existing legislation is not detected to any great extent, these will be no different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

cruizer101 wrote: »
    Also think it is a bit harsh on the licence, it can be easy enough to forget if drive multiple vehicles
    Put it in your wallet like everyone else.
    cnocbui wrote: »
    Appropriate penalties to reflect the fact that excessive speed is the principal cause of 3% of accidents. :rolleyes:
    I would need to check that percentage, but excessive speed has a huge effect on the outcome of an incident.
    cnocbui wrote: »
    accidents
    A large number of collisions are preventable and are not accidents. 'Accident' suggests no responsibility at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

what if you forget or misplace your wallet?

very easy to do for anybody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Varadkar is a constituency TD of mine, I'll be going to see his flunkeys.

How the hell did a road safety authority, a garda traffic division and a govt dept end up sending a proposal to cabinet that contained fixed speeds over the limit rather than a percentage system??

In central Dublin, 30 km/h over the limit = 100% over the limit and potentially lethal to any pedestrian or cyclist impacted by that vehicle. Yet on a quiet rural motorway, 30 km/h over the limit is 25% over and not that noticeable to passing traffic. Same penalty. Utter nonsense.