Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Feisar

Grayson wrote: »
    As a side note, to diffuse the tension, cal we all agree that strokestown is a funny name?

Was trying to come up with a good pun regarding pulling a stroke.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

gandalf wrote: »
    Right I'm 50 next year so I'll be heading to the Post Office to get my pension because I will then be elderly !!!!

Well you already go on like an oul wan so you could chance your arm now :p

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

stevielink wrote: »
    but what law says that you are allowed to assault someone in your front garden? Can i do that to the postman/the leaflet delivery person/utility sompany sales reps?

If they refuse to leave you're property no one is going to stop you picking them up and putting them outside the gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

So a man in his 50s and older siblings were repeatedly requested to vacate a property that had been given up as collateral for a loan -

Is this a fact? I am asking because I wonder is this the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

amcalester wrote: »
    Yup, I'm well aware of that.

Was just wondering if the level of fine/charges owed to Revenue by this guy were comparable to other settlements.

It gives an indication of his levels of cooperation when he owes money.

If he didnt engage with Revenue, then I doubt he was too forthcoming with KBC.

He owed €177,388.00
    with Interest of €74,725.00
    penalties of €177,388.00
    Giving a total of €429,501.00

It's clear from that he wasn't cooperating with the Revenue commissioners at all. If there is one crowd you don't dick around with, its the revenue!

Bambi wrote: »
    Well you already go on like an oul wan so you could chance your arm now :p

Ah Christ I am not going down the Brendan O'Carroll route to obtain my pension ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 25 stevielink

BattleCorp wrote: »
    But seriously though, if someone won't leave a property peacefully on foot of a court order, how on earth are you supposed to get them to leave if you can't force them out?

look, as i said earlier, if the eviction order was valid then tough sh*t on the homeowners.
    harsh but that's the law.

my point here is with physically assaulting/manhandling/touching people who don't want to be touched. The only people in the state allowed to do that as far as I know (and yes I'm open to being corrected on that), are the Gardai. If of course, the victim in this case started the assault, then by all means defend yourself, but if they are just standing their ground, I don't believe anyone other than the Gardai have a right to physically remove them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

He owed €177,388.00
    penalties of €177,388.00

It's clear from that he wasn't cooperating with the Revenue commissioners at all. If there is one crowd you don't dick around with, its the revenue!

Did the revenue hire our Northern brothers to do the eviction?

I didn't realise there was a court order telling the postman/the leaflet delivery person/utility company sales reps to vacate your property.

exactly, a court order. Given by the court.
    So who is allowed to enforce a court order? A private security firm? Really?

in the UK they have a baillif system who are allowed to do that. In Ireland we don't have a law that allows private security firms to do that. If you prove me wrong then i'll happily apologise and move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

He owed €177,388.00
    penalties of €177,388.00

Thats the point I was trying to tease out from his defenders, if he has form of not cooperating with Revenue then what chance have KBC got of getting their money back.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

It's good to see Charlie Flanagan organising a review of private security firms and the banks private armies.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

in the UK they have a baillif system who are allowed to do that. In Ireland we don't have a law that allows private security firms to do that. If you prove me wrong then i'll happily apologise and move on.

So, you have absolutely no problem with the eviction.

Apart from whodunit?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Is this a fact? I am asking because I wonder is this the case.

No idea, just fighting baseless arguments with equally baseless arguments.

The only facts I am sure of is the extremely large amount owed to Revenue (between €4 and €500k) and the debt of €18k to a local supplier.

I would be quite surprised though if KBC were sending lads in there chasing a non-existent loan!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Why didn't they just leave ?

They had already failed pathetically

Did the revenue hire our Northern brothers to do the eviction?

Nope it was KBC apparently he also owes them or whoever bought their loan a pile of cash as well. Given the heavy mob they employed it's probably not an insubstantial figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

No idea, just fighting baseless arguments with equally baseless arguments.

The only facts I am sure of is the extremely large amount owed to Revenue (between €4 and €500k) and the debt of €18k to a local supplier.

I would be quite surprised though if KBC were sending lads in there chasing a non-existent loan!

They were only doing it for a bit of craic sure. ;)

look, as i said earlier, if the eviction order was valid then tough sh*t on the homeowners.
    harsh but that's the law.

my point here is with physically assaulting/manhandling/touching people who don't want to be touched. The only people in the state allowed to do that as far as I know (and yes I'm open to being corrected on that), are the Gardai. If of course, the victim in this case started the assault, then by all means defend yourself, but if they are just standing their ground, I don't believe anyone other than the Gardai have a right to physically remove them.

I have literally carried people out of pubs when they were causing aggro and they most definitely did not want to be touched but they were acting the bollix so got removed.

Just because someone lays a hand on you doesnt mean you're a victim.

So, you have absolutely no problem with the eviction.

Apart from whodunit?

not everything is simply black and white.
    Yes if the eviction was valid then fine. Timing and manner was wrong but sure why be human about it

gctest50 wrote: »
    Why didn't they just leave ?

They had already failed pathetically

They should have but I suspect they had idiots advising them.

amcalester wrote: »
    I have literally carried people out of pubs when they were causing aggro and they most definitely did not want to be touched but they were acting the bollix so got removed.

Just because someone lays a hand on you doesnt mean you're a victim.

and i worked in retail as a student where I wouldnt dare to physically push people out of the shop. We called the Guards to do that. Of course they werent always around but should I have followed the law or just done what I wanted

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

sheriffs in ireland can appoint bailiffs too http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1924/act/20/enacted/en/print.html

• Registered Users Posts: 37,851 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

STB. wrote:
    Yes.
    No you are not. You are supposed to pick up the phone and call the Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Feisar

eagle eye wrote: »
    Again, and I've made this clear, I've no issue with Brits but understand that lots of people do.
    I have a problem with thugs being hired to carry out a high court order.

I'm interested in this to, why wasn't it the Gardaí doing the evicting?

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Simple_Simone

Fann Linn wrote: »
    It's good to see Charlie Flanagan organising a review of private security firms and the banks private armies.

He's only doing it to pander to the bleeding heart kneejerkers. Odds-on that the Review's report won't be published until shortly after the next General Election.

Incidentally, if any of Charlie's gofers are reading this thread, please note that I'd be delighted to serve on the review group if he's looking for a token woman.

and i worked in retail as a student where I wouldnt dare to physically push people out of the shop. We called the Guards to do that. Of course they werent always around but should I have followed the law or just done what I wanted

Show me the law that says it's illegal to physically remove someone from a premises.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

Im just glad there is huge support for the people that threw that security firm out, great to see people backing there own over money and scumbag banks. The right thing was done.

As for those that think its black and white and the banks were dead right... it speaks volumes about ye, that ye think its right to get security firms to come down 2 weeks before christmas and drag someone out of there home, theres right and wrong ways to do things and this was by far the dumbest thing ive seen done it got the reaction it deserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,153 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Have you got a link to where this is actually evaluated. I mean a proper explanation of the figures involve.

How come when there were very few repossessions in the past that the interest rates were still very high?

Like in 1970s, 1980s.
    No competition. Inflation. Recession.
    I think Irish consumers are suffering exorbitant bank charges and interest rates because the banks can get away.

AIB made in the first 6 months profits of 726 million, BOI 500 million in 2018, they are making money hand over fist.

The story that some how our interest are high because of repossession problems does not in my mind add up. It is just an excuse to gouge Irish people.

The Irish banks can now charge what they like because all foreign banks bar Ulster which has been here for centuries anyway and KBC have left the market.
    Competition is the key to competitive rates.
    Bank of Scotland's entrance had forced rates down.

Rabobank who had bought ACC tripped over themselves to get out.
    Bank of Scotland/Halifax pulled out.
    Danske/NIB pulled out.

They all saw losses, the very slow rate of repossessions and more importantly the lack of political will to enforce any.

And if this type of mullarkey continues KBC will be out too.

Do you think any foreign bank is going to want to set up in a tin pot shyte hole were bad debt recovery is near impossible ?
    FTA69 wrote: »
    So a group of elderly people in hoc to some vulture bank and were trying to repay the loan as best they can were forcibly evicted by a shower of Loyalist mercenaries and people ended up battering the hired thugs?

Good. Fair play to all involved. Hopefully opportunistic scumbags who bash old people on behalf of bankers will take note.

Ahh FFS FTA69 can you put your republican fantasies aside for a moment.

They were not elderly or maybe you are using famine era to now also describe peoples ages.
    You are one of the most vocal about socialism and governmental provided services, so how does that stack with you supporting a guy who welches on their statutory obligations on paying their taxes into the system?
    Don't ever dare come on again lecturing us about the state not providing proper services if you stand totally behind a tax cheat.

What about non payment of other debts and the affects that kind of behaviour has on local small businesses providing much needed employment.

caff wrote: »
    sheriffs in ireland can appoint bailiffs too

good to know. thanks.

not sure if this was applicable here. If it was, then according to that act they would have had to produce a warrant etc.
    the act also only refers to goods and animals.

no mention of how to get people off the land

• Registered Users Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Cupatae wrote: »
    Im just glad there is huge support for the people that threw that security firm out, great to see people backing there own over money and scumbag banks. The right thing was done.

As for those that think its black and white and the banks were dead right... it speaks volumes about ye, that ye think its right to get security firms to come down 2 weeks before christmas and drag someone out of there home, theres right and wrong ways to do things and this was by far the dumbest thing ive seen done it got the reaction it deserved.

KBC are a business. Businesses don't survive on appeals to emotion.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What law?

After admitting you're making up as you go along and saying you're open to correction you're now sure every bouncer and security guard in the country is breaking the law throwing people out of premises?