Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

It means that they will be ready the next time the locals try this.

If this is repeated, I could really see the violence escalating. Btw, the local Representatives reaction to this was disgraceful.

Ya I wonder how there escalation will work out, its not like people from the south would up the ante either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Boggles wrote: »
    I have no idea what he owes.

I'm merely suggesting owing 15k to a quarry does not make you a large developer.

It shows him for the scumbag he is

The loader isn't magically going to grow new tyres or fill itself with diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,570 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

gctest50 wrote: »
    It shows him for the scumbag he is

I never suggested he wasn't. :confused:

Seems to be more than a few people on here with comprehension difficulties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 stevielink

for whatever reason, the homeowners were evicted. If the eviction order was valid, then so be it. This is what happens when mortgages aren't paid. There has to be some form of comeback from the banks otherwise no one would pay their mortgage.

However,
    From what I could see, the eviction itself was a violent affair with at least one man getting a beating from several civilians whilst 2 Gardai stood idly be and said it was on private property so there was nothing they could do.
    Garda management need to clarify this. Does this also mean if a man is beating up his wife at home, or if a woman is beating up her husband, that there is nothing the Gardai can do because it on private property? Genuine question.
    Equally, if someone goes into a shop and smashes up several expensive TV's, the Guards can do nothing because it's on private property? Garda management need to come out with a statement on this.

Like I said, if the eviction order was lawful then the person needs to be evicted, however I think firstly it could have waited until after Christmas, and secondly sending in several burly men from outside the jurisdiction, some of whom I believe had paramilitary connections, is of course only going to enrage people, and rightly so.

Violence is never the asnwer and I equally condemn the people who took revenge on Saturday night/Sunday morning.

However this could and should have been handled by the Financial institution completely differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭goat2

What is the real story here, who owed the money, how much money,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

seamus wrote: »
    We actually do appear to have them: https://www.bailiffs.ie

I'm not sure why they were not used in this instance, maybe they can only be used in certain instances. It should probably be mandatory to use them rather than another private service.

were they approached? chickened out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

goat2 wrote: »

The farmer that was evicted owed 400k in tax. And owed thousands to local businesses. Nobody knows what the amount owing on the house was, on top of all the other money owed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,872 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

goat2 wrote: »

From here
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/taoiseach-condemns-highly-violent-attack-at-repossessed-house-as-garda-probe-dissident-links-37632029.html
    The farmer at the centre of the eviction is not suspected of any wrongdoing in relation to the violent incident at his former home.

He has financial difficulties which stretch back almost a decade and include a more than €400,000 settlement secured by the Revenue Commissioners against him in 2015 for the under-declaration of VAT.

Land Registry records for the Falsk property also show that more than €18,000 was secured in a judgment in December 2008, which was subsequently registered against his property. That judgment was obtained by a local company which operated a quarry at the time.

In 2015, Revenue secured a settlement totalling €429,501 against the evicted man as a tax defaulter for the under declaration of VAT. It included €177,000 in tax owed, almost €75,000 in interest, and more than €177,000 in penalties.

In January this year, a judgment mortgage was secured against the man in the Midland Circuit Court by Cabot Asset Purchases (Ireland).

In 2004, the farmer had secured a mortgage from IIB Homeloans, the Belgian-owned lender that rebranded as KBC in 2009. In 2017, it emerged KBC Bank Ireland sold a chunk of loans to credit-servicing and debt-collection firm Cabot Financial Ireland, a unit of the US-based Cabot group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭emo72

So if a crime is happening on private property the gards can't intervene. We all know that's bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Bringing in paramilitaries with a pathological hatred of zirudh Catholics was never going to be a good idea.

Roughing up old people was not going to go down well.

Danzy wrote: »
    Bringing in paramilitaries with a pathological hatred of zirudh Catholics was never going to be a good idea.

no evidence that they're paramilitaries? were go you get your info? an phoblacht?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

fryup wrote: »

no evidence that they're paramilitaries? were go you get your info? an phoblacht?

Ex UDR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,940 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

fryup wrote:
    Where did you get your info that they're not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

gctest50 wrote: »
    Co. Roscommon farmer Anthony McGann is the farmer with the largest figure on the tax defaulters list.

At one stage he might have been. Lets give this some relevance here shall we (we have many ex tax defaulters in the Dáil).

€456,784 was paid in a settlement this year by someone for under-declaration of VAT.

Who was it ? Clue it wasn't the chap in Strokestown.
    Roscommon County Council

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

stevielink wrote: »

However,
    From what I could see, the eviction itself was a violent affair with at least one man getting a beating from several civilians whilst 2 Gardai stood idly be and said it was on private property so there was nothing they could do.

Getting a beating or getting dragged out? Where's the beating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭h2005

Wonder how the quarry owner feels about this? Guy rips off him for 18k, the Irish taxpayer for 180k and is depicted as an elderly martyr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

STB. wrote: »
    At one stage he might have been. Lets give this some relevance here shall we.

€456,784 was paid in a settlement this year by someone for under-declaration of VAT.

Who was it ? Clue it wasn't the chap in Strokestown.
    Roscommon County Council

Is Roscommon County Council a farmer?

amcalester wrote: »
    Is Roscommon County Council a farmer?

No another tax defaulter.

for whatever reason, the homeowners were evicted. If the eviction order was valid, then so be it. This is what happens when mortgages aren't paid. There has to be some form of comeback from the banks otherwise no one would pay their mortgage.

However,
    Garda management need to clarify this. Does this also mean if a man is beating up his wife at home, or if a woman is beating up her husband, that there is nothing the Gardai can do because it on private property? Genuine question.
    Equally, if someone goes into a shop and smashes up several expensive TV's, the Guards can do nothing because it's on private property? Garda management need to come out with a statement on this.

Like I said, if the eviction order was lawful then the person needs to be evicted, however I think firstly it could have waited until after Christmas, and secondly sending in several burly men from outside the jurisdiction, some of whom I believe had paramilitary connections, is of course only going to enrage people, and rightly so.

Violence is never the asnwer and I equally condemn the people who took revenge on Saturday night/Sunday morning.

However this could and should have been handled by the Financial institution completely differently.
    Got a link to a video with times of the beating? From what I've seen it looked unpleasant but moving someone who doesn't want to be moved is generally not going to look nice.

Danzy wrote: »

Roughing up old people was not going to go down well.

And we circle all the way back to paramilitaries and old people.

Head out on the road there and ask a few lads in their 50s if they need help crossing the road. Make sure to explain to them they are old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭TJJP

Have we a new definition for 'old people' now? I think the official retirement age is now circa 67?

'in his 50s and his brother ... and sister ....., both in their 60s'

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/roscommon-eviction-falsk-strokestown-kbc-13742736

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

And we circle all the way back to paramilitaries and old people.

Head out on the road there and ask a few lads in their 50s if they need help crossing the road. Make sure to explain to them they are old.

should we just leave it at, he owed money to the banks and the banks were dead right to handle the situation the way that they did, with no moral or legal wrongs done.

Would that suit ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

STB. wrote: »
    No another tax defaulter.

Do you have a breakdown of the figure?

I’d be curious as to how much is the original underpayment and how much is interest/fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 stevielink

Got a link to a video with times of the beating? From what I've seen it looked unpleasant but moving someone who doesn't want to be moved is generally not going to look nice.

Regardless of whether it was a beating, an assault or roughly moving someone off a property, a complaint was made to the Gardai at the scene about an assault (the video shows a man on the ground with several men over him), and the Gardai didn't intervene. Why not?
    If a complaint is made to Gardai they must do something.

Regardless of whether it was a beating, an assault or roughly moving someone off a property, a complaint was made to the Gardai at the scene about an assault (the video shows a man on the ground with several men over him), and the Gardai didn't intervene. Why not?
    If a complaint is made to Gardai they must do something.

Bit of a sweeping statement. If the Garda is watching and in his opinion the law isn't being broken then how or why should he intervene? If someone is trespassing and are told to leave I don't think too many courts will convict someone for removing them without harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

You've gotta laugh at some people. If a businessman owed VAT of nearly €500K, was making no attempt to pay it and, in fact, wasn't paying his suppliers either, but was still continuing his business as if nothing was amiss, people would be up in arms saying close him down straight away. But throw in not paying his mortgage and being some class of farmer then round up the troops and protect him because, you know, the famine.

Anyone who sides with this guy should never complain about exhorbitant bank interest in this country again. Because of cases like this, no foreign bank will come into the market and the indigenous ones are free to add another 2% onto law-abiding people because that will compensate them for tulips like this guy. Also don't complain about banks not lending money if you think it is acceptable that the bank can never recover it's security in the event of a default. This case is one of the reasons why you can only get a loan in this country if you don't need it.

look at the people who are posting on Youtube...

...."RA man" "Republican SF" c'mon now...i take those videos with a pinch of salt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Maewyn Succat

Billcarson wrote: »
    Like the French were protesting just for the sake if it were they these last few weeks.?People in this country are sheep but I'm hopeful that will change .

Are you a sheep too or do you actually have any ideas on how things should change?

Cupatae wrote: »
    should we just leave it at, he owed money to the banks and the banks were dead right to handle the situation the way that they did, with no moral or legal wrongs done.

Would that suit ya?

The truth? Yeah. That's fine.

amcalester wrote: »
    Do you have a breakdown of the figure?

I’d be curious as to how much is the original underpayment and how much is interest/fines.

€101,111 of that total amount was penalties

https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2018/1204/1015086-tax-defaulters-list/