Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Is it racist or is it showing the ridiculous money kids are being paid before they even play 1 professional senior game?
    I would say the latter. Good for the kids if clubs pay them that money, it just reflects the money in the game. Maybe it’s kinda crazy, but that’s the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,967 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Aguerooooooooooo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,642 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

What yesterday showed is 3 things:

1. Salah is only now fully fit IMO. See the likes of Alli and Son for further evidence of World Cup hangovers being over. Also, don't belittle how tricky international football is generally, especially for someone like Salah. That's over now until March.

2. Liverpool aren't going anywhere in this race - win it or not. That was a tough schedule we just came through over 6 days.

3. City, as rich as they are, are not immune to the impact of injuries. KDB hasn't been felt due to Silva's form. Once he went off yesterday, City offered little threat at all. Also, Pep panicked. He took off Sané and all their width after 50 minutes. Very weird.

The only issue is not all teams will put it to City like Chelsea did. Their backline is suspect as fúck, but nobody gets to it as they're so good at the press and shutting down opportunities for direct balls at the backline. Chelsea scored the first time they got at it through a sublime Luiz diagonal.

In short, our defence - VVD and Allisson - can win us this League.

I can't wait too see where we're at come February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Still bussing from yesterday. It has been some week for us in fairness.

I can't wait for next Sunday vs United. I will be singing from the Kop and just hope we get the result.
    I have been there for 3 out of last 4 home matches vs United and they haven't been pretty.

March 15, when we lost 2-1 and Gerrard, gets sent off
    Jan 16 Rooney scores late on and we lose 1-0
    Oct 17 0-0

I just hope we can get at United from the start. I'm sure Jose will stick to his gameplan to squeeze the life out of the game and settle for 0-0 or snatch a 1-0 on the break (If Rashford, Martial etc start) or set piece.

We are due a win and hopefully, it's a nice comfortable win :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Not with creepy stalkers.

A few in the Liverpool thread would be dab hands at that.;)
    I'll leave it at that before I get called names and carded for the privilege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Is it racist or is it showing the ridiculous money kids are being paid before they even play 1 professional senior game?

Sterlings point was this
    Sterling wrote:
    By contrast, midfielder Foden, 18, "buys a £2m home for his mum" and is later described as having "set up a future".

"You have two young players starting out their careers - both play for the same team, both have done the right thing, which is buy a new house for their mothers who have put in a lot of time and love into helping them get where they are," Sterling said.

"But look at how the newspapers get their message across for the young black player and then for the young white player.

"I think this is unacceptable, both innocent, have not done a thing wrong but just by the way it has been worded, this young black kid is looked at in a bad light, which helps fuel racism and aggressive behaviour."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

A few in the Liverpool thread would be dab hands at that.;)
    Maybe just a case of it takes one to know one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Sterling condemning racism and you proclaim your love for a racist. Aahh so cute.

Marvellous insight, especially after you posted this gem in your superthread a few days ago:
    It's nice when an opposing fan comes in and doesn't act the bollix. There's quite a few that could learn from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Just looking at the games over Christmas and New Years till the FA Cup game I think we are pretty lucky that the furthest we have to travel is to Wolves twice which is two hours away.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Marvellous insight, especially after you posted this gem in your superthread a few days ago:

Did I actually act the bollix or call out hypocrisy?
    You are an expert on both so please enlighten me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

*Antonio Banderas gif*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Did I actually act the bollix or call out hypocrisy?
    You are an expert on both so please enlighten me.

Where is the hypocrisy though, I never mentioned sterling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,402 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Tbh I’d say it was a coincidence.

He spends 99% of his time on RAWK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

Didn't know there was a time limit on replying to posts?
    Did you never hear of the word "coincidence"?

And have you ever heard of the words “piss” and “off”?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Gotta admit I was wrong,was not enamored with it at the time,but James milner has been a collosal signing for lfc. A true leader.

If we had a pen to win the title I want millie on it.

What a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Gotta admit I was wrong,was not enamored with it at the time,but James milner has been a collosal signing for lfc. A true leader.

What a player.

I'm sure The Turd has it noted what posters were for and against that signing, but probably best for you to come clean before you're called out on it.

What a player.

Seemed very uninspiring at the time but has been brilliant.

Probably ‘The Rodgers’ best signing.

Edit: Think Owl might be on to something.

Our start to the season going down well

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Tbh I’d say it was a coincidence.

He spends 99% of his time on RAWK.

Ah, that's where I know you from. ;):)
    Taking a break from Twitter are we.

You couldn't find make it up. Unbelievable hypocrisy.

Game set and match. Well played.

RoboKlopp wrote: »

Could only be funnier if Mick thanked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,812 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Delighted with Milner in general but I actually thought he had an awful game for us yesterday.

RoboKlopp wrote: »

Ooh another expert. We've almost the whole gang here now. Not one of you can give me an answer when I mentioned one lad being a hypocrite. At least he's straight up about his views. You'd rather attack the person for mentioning it and thank whore. I'm surprised ye haven't ran to the help desk yet to try and use this as justification for previous actions.
    Next week is going to be some fun with you all,shall we be having cans?

Ooh another expert. We've almost the whole gang here now. Not one of you can give me an answer when I mentioned one lad being a hypocrite. At least he's straight up about his views. You'd rather attack the person for mentioning it and thank whore. I'm surprised ye haven't ran to the help desk yet to try and use this as justification for previous actions.
    Next week is going to be some fun with you all,shall we be having cans?

I'll ask again how am I a hypocrite.

niallo27 wrote: »
    I'll ask again how am I a hypocrite.

Let me see...A discussion on racism and you bring up the name of a certain player who was banned for it.
    Maybe you didn't mean it that way but it came across badly.
    The way some people got offended by my mentioning it you'd swear I'd posted a picture of me pissing on the Shankly gates.

Let me see...A discussion on racism and you bring up the name of a certain player who was banned for it.
    The way some people got offended by my mentioning it you'd swear I'd posted a picture of me pissing on the Shankly gates.

I actually didn't mean it that way, I posted nothing about the discussion with sterling. Your post did come across a bit knobish you must admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

The funniest part of all this is how a Liverpool poster is being vilified for mentioning the name of one of the club’s best ever forwards by a poster who named himself after a man that physically assaults match-going fans.

Couldn’t make it up. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,959 ✭✭✭eigrod

I actually didn't mean it that way, I posted nothing about the discussion with sterling. Your post did come across a bit knobish you must admit.

It’s laughable how they police your content on here. Remember when you simply said you were in Munich airport and they were all over it, coming over all offended and reporting it. And now this. Perhaps you should run every post by the self appointed Man Utd moderators before you post anything. Don’t want to offend the sensitive children.

I'm in a bad mood today. But I must admit I did get a bit of a giggle at how wound up a certain few got around here. It's as if they are waiting in the long grass to jump on anything that's not part of their agenda.
    At least you can come out and say what you think and expect to get the same back. We might be the opposite ends of the spectrum with team loyalty but you can give and take the banter and abuse unlike so many people who have taken the fun out of the entire forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Serious mental gymnastics.