Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 Part Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭VW 1

Drumpot wrote: »
    I think the Matic’s can be really under valued TBH. I think of him like carrick who was reliable and tidy. He may not have great stats but he’s a subtle influence on the team that’s difficult to quantify.

Carrick could pick out defence splitting passes and usually went backwards after looking up and seeing no options. Matic for me is ponderous and looks to offload to the CBs too regularly without checking options ahead of him.

Then again maybe Carrick benefited from playing alongside Scholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Ok Jose, a nice calming interview

giphy-tumblr.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

GSPfan wrote: »
    Who this?

Lukaku I'm sure but 2 stone is a gross exaggeration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

Lukaku I'm sure but 2 stone is a gross exaggeration.

It absolutely isn't.

Easily, easily 2 stone heavier now than when signed from Everton. He is fat by any footballing standard

He is a state.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Tonight was entertaining. Jose went for it, although it was out of necessity rather than desire but wtf hasn't he always done that? It be easier to swallow our league position if we got a cut and thrust game like that most weeks and not rigid sideways ball.

His subs killed it as a spectacle in the end. What must Fred be thinking.

It might have been fun in comparison to a lot of what Jose has overseen this season bit that was still a horrible game. Zero control and a bit of a mess. That is no game to hold up as an example of what United could be like every week, it would be as much of a farce as the season is to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Mokuba wrote: »
    It absolutely isn't.

Easily, easily 2 stone heavier now than when signed from Everton. He is fat by any footballing standard

He is a state.

Definitely bigger but not 2 stone bigger. He'd have a double chin and beer belly.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Everything Lukaku has gained is muscle, he has done too much though and is more of a bodybuilder than a footballer at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Ah come on the newcastle game was also great craic :)

I didn't enjoy that though as I watched it hoping it was the last game with Jose in charge, the result was secondary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

astradave wrote: »
    Everything Lukaku has gained is muscle, he has done too much though and is more of a bodybuilder than a footballer at the moment

Useless when he needs to be lean and fast, not bulky and slow.

What he should be able to do is control a ball. Failing that at least play as well as he did for Everton. Even his finishing at United has been erratic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,301 ✭✭✭DenMan

Evening lads

Arsenal fan here tonight and I thought yiz played very well in fairness. 2-2 was a fair result and both teams really went at it, despite the lapses in defense. It was like watching the Utd of old tonight with Fergie. It's amazing what happens once the shackles are off. Both clubs will strengthen in January I'd say. The top 2 are running away with it but I'd rather the teams below them be competitive as it'll make it a much stronger league. It's early days for Arsenal and we've made steady progress under Emery and Utd played for their manager tonight I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

It's nice when an opposing fan comes in and doesn't act the bollix. There's quite a few that could learn from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

It's nice when an opposing fan comes in and doesn't act the bollix. There's quite a few that could learn from that.

No way man! This is an online war! How else can I escape the crushing reality of my boring life other than to attach myself to something successful and create faux rivalries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It’s ridiculous really that Liverpool are having their best league start in the history of their club yet City are still ahead

We really are not equipped to compete with either of those teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭bassy

It’s ridiculous really that Liverpool are having their best league start in the history of their club yet City are still ahead

We really are not equipped to compete with either of those teams

it,s lovely really :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,667 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Found the game depressing tbh :(

8 points behind a CL spot and it might as well be 20 with the way we're playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Pot and kettle spring to mind !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭marvin80

cjmc wrote: »
    Pot and kettle spring to mind !!!

+1 on this

When United are going well there's plenty of ye in here lording it all over the place - but now things aren't quite as rosy and you've become all humble and modest - not having that at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

marvin80 wrote: »
    +1 on this

When United are going well there's plenty of ye in here lording it all over the place - but now things aren't quite as rosy and you've become all humble and modest - not having that at all

U ok hun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

marvin80 wrote: »
    +1 on this

Imagine lording it in your own teams thread.

Some fans are just obsessed with United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭damowill

Matic and Herrera were excellent. Lingard did ok. He makes intelligent runs, and sometimes is better running off the ball than on it. As mentioned by others, Pogba & Fellaini did kill it for us. Pogba was awful, fellaini at least tried. I thought the game was crying out for Mata but it never came.

Must mention Darmian. He was excellent. Finally we have someone who can play as a wing back. Young, Valencia & Shaw when asked to play that position, sit way too deep and play like normal fullbacks. maybe as an Italian he has that positional intelligence but he pushed high up the pitch when we had the ball & acted like a winger. Dalot on the other hand played exactly like a 19 year, and was exposed at times. Kolasinac got in behind him on numerous occasions & someone with better quality would have punished us.

Rashford again ran his socks off. At this stage he really owes Jose a goal for the faith he has put on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭damowill

So do we keep this formation going forward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

damowill wrote: »
    Matic and Herrera were excellent. Lingard did ok. He makes intelligent runs, and sometimes is better running off the ball than on it. As mentioned by others, Pogba & Fellaini did kill it for us. Pogba was awful, fellaini at least tried. I thought the game was crying out for Mata but it never came.

Lukaku killed it for us IMO and then Pogba added nothing.

Once Martial went off Arsenal attacked Dalot a lot more and it was then you realised the amount of support Martial gave him.

I just can't see a space for Pogba in that team anymore or Lukaku.

Was more positives than negatives for me.

Can you imagine if Pogba hadn’t cost 90 million and he was playing as he does, he would be going on loan to Sheffield Wednesday.

26 next year, I really hope he is sold next summer for as much as we can get. I’d imagine his value has taken a huge knock, you can’t be poor at club level for 3 seasons and expect to go for 100 million, we could have bluffed our way to a decent fee, like Juventus did, after the World Cup but next summer we could find it difficult to get our money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,072 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I'd still like to see him given another season under a more progressive manager that has us playing football that doesn't make all our attacking players look rubbish 99% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Can you imagine if Pogba hadn’t cost 90 million and he was playing as he does, he would be going on loan to Sheffield Wednesday.

26 next year, I really hope he is sold next summer for as much as we can get. I’d imagine his value has taken a huge knock, you can’t be poor at club level for 3 seasons and expect to go for 100 million, we could have bluffed our way to a decent fee, like Juventus did, after the World Cup but next summer we could find it difficult to get our money back.

It's telling of his quality shown at United that you could sell him tomorrow without a replacement, and the team wouldn't be any worse off whatsoever

I'd still like to see him given another season under a more progressive manager that has us playing football that doesn't make all our attacking players look rubbish 99% of the time.

And that had not fallen out with him to the level they obviously have. The fall out goes way back to last season based on him getting dropped in the key Feb/ March period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Up to a few weeks ago I would have agreed but he can’t even pass the ball 10 yards at the minute and he is in the way. There was noticeably more space without him there last night.

He is a supposed world class player and regardless of the manager should be able to grab a game by the scruff.

I’m not going to disagree with anyone’s predictions for the future, I just find it hard to believe the idea we’ve had 3 bad managers in a row and players are hiding behind this.

As pointed out previously Chelsea had 12 managers between 2004 and 2017. They won 5 of the 13 titles available in a period where United were dominant and City began spending their billions, they also won a champions league, a uefa cup, and 8 domestic trophies.

How did Chelsea get it so right with so many different managers yet we have basically written the last 6 years off? It’s almost as if if the players are good enough the “system” “style” “formation” is not a major factor.

We will find out soon enough anyhow.

AGC wrote: »
    Up to a few weeks ago I would have agreed but he can’t even pass the ball 10 yards at the minute and he is in the way. There was noticeably more space without him there last night.

He is a supposed world class player and regardless of the manager should be able to grab a game by the scruff.

The space was the United team:

Defenders

Attack

Missing was midfield

Pogba is so easy to mark and stop as if a player stands on front of him he has nobody to link with. United are flat out bad in team shape.