Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭ElTel

noodler wrote: »
    As an oft much criticised cheerleader for Glen Whelan, and hence priding myself on appreciating a DMF, I am still a bit meh on Fab.

I know he's tall and gets about but he seems unable to pass a ball more than ten yards, seems to give away alot of fouls and isn't as mobile as I'd expect.

Perfectly grand and all just maybe not seeing the price tag.

Keita on the other hand, genuinely excited watching him play.

I think how Fab receives a ball and makes space is many steps above the others and comparable with Keita. I think he'll nail down a midfield spot eventually.

I'd take a win (and qualification) on Tuesday if it means a loss Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭Talisman

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Napoli won 4-0 against a side I've never heard of. Wonder did they rest anyone?
    Ancelotti has them playing a fluid 4-4-2/4-3-3/4-5-1 hybrid system and the personnel are rotated for every game. Koulibaly is the only player that is ever present because he is the rock that anchors the team. Wingers are deployed as forwards to pull the central defenders out of position and central midfielders move to the wing in order to diagonally drive into the space that is vacated. Sarri's Chelsea used the same tactic to undo Man City yesterday.

Their team for Tuesday is likely to be the same back line as our last match against them and a combination of 3 midfielders and 3 wingers in the front 6 that gives them so much flexibility.

Ospina
    Maksimovic Koulibaly Albiol Rui
    Allan Hamsik Fabian
    Callejon Mertens Insigne

Rui at left back is the player to target - he's the most rash and likely to concede fouls and cards. In midfield mobility will be key and if Keita is ready to break out of his shell then we could play like we have 12 players on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭mosstin

Fair play to Sterling for coming out that and pointing the finger at the press for stoking racial tension. He's spot on.
    On a related note, isn't it about time he wasn't booed any more at Anfield? I know we pride ourselves on the, ahem, most knowledgeable fans thing, but if that were actually the case, we'd realise that he's made huge progress at City and we got a lot of money for him. The booing thing really bugs me. It's just sad at this stage - a jilted lover doorstepping an ex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭noodler

mosstin wrote: »
    Fair play to Sterling for coming out that and pointing the finger at the press for stoking racial tension. He's spot on.
    On a related note, isn't it about time he wasn't booed any more at Anfield? I know we pride ourselves on the, ahem, most knowledgeable fans thing, but if that were actually the case, we'd realise that he's made huge progress at City and we got a lot of money for him. The booing thing really bugs me. It's just sad at this stage - a jilted lover doorstepping an ex.

Personally, I just don't like 20 year old leaving Liverpool 18 months after they give him a chance.

I think he owed the club alot more time.

That being said, no, you cant deny how productive he has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

The reason he's booed is more to do with how his agent behaved at the time than him but he never seemed bothered by anything he said. He doesn't get booed cause of his skin colour. Can't think of many clubs who wouldn't boo ex players who leave in a troubled way,
    Benfica cheered Sanches a few months ago when they hosted Bayern and honestly it just made them look small time.
    As for the racial tension its always been there in England even if they try hide it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

noodler wrote: »
    Personally, I just don't like 20 year old leaving Liverpool 18 months after they give him a chance.

I think he owed the club alot more time.

That being said, no, you cant deny how productive he has become.

didn't we swipe him from QPR a few years before? We got good money for him at the time and he wanted out, I've no problem with him. I'm still trying to come to terms with Rush leaving in 87.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

I couldn't care less about the huge progress he's made at City but I wouldn't boo him. I thought it was bad form how he engineered the move but I dont blame him for wanting to move on, plus we got serious money at the time.

Fans boo ex players even when they dont deserve it, City fans with Milner for example. Its just the way it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Has he pointed it out? i.e. specially said which paper/writer? Otherwise he’s just painting everyone with the same brush, in an attempt to quiten any critism.

Any “supporter” yelling racial abuse should be banned for life.
    Any “reporter” writing racial abuse should be barred for any of the press outlets.

I’ve seen Rooney (and Beckham before him) get tons of abuse, digging into their personal lives, “stoking” hatred against them. It wasn’t due to their skin color, that’s just elements of the press in the UK. It shouldn’t happen, but if Sterling wants to use his skin color to dampen critism, then it only adds to the problem.

The booing of Sterling is something I always disliked. Suarez was sold, Sturridge was having injury issues; and we were not progressing. City was a massive carrot. Far more money, better players, and a real chance of Silverware. I didn’t blame him for leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

**** any player that doesn't play for Liverpool. I'd be bitter like that, except Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

niallo27 wrote: »
    **** any player that doesn't play for Liverpool. I'd be bitter like that, except Suarez.

Sterling condemning racism and you proclaim your love for a racist. Aahh so cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭garra

Agree with Sterling on this, non-white players are cast in the role of undeserving, shifty, Johnny Foreigner types who don't speak propa English and should keep away from your daughters. I'd be shocked if we don't see a racism tinged story on another non-white player before end of week, it's endemic in English journalism.

Booing of Sterling was borne of the tumultuous transfer saga, and perceived slight when he wanted to leave the club - which gave him a platform to start his inconsistent PL career - for more money. That would be the case regardless of his colour.

Sterling condemning racism and you proclaim your love for a racist. Aahh so cute.

Alleged racist. It was never proven in a court of law. If you could correct your post it would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,967 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I don't get the hate for Martin Tyler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Also, serious effort.

Jesus. Within a min you post that. Creepy stalking stuff.

Charlie19 wrote: »

Really, he mentioned the offside goal at least 8 times yesterday as if things would have been so different. It's pretty obvious he doesn't like Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭garra

He doesn't have orgasms when we score so needs replacing. Actually I enjoy hearing his strangulated whimpers of goal announcements when we are playing, I revel in the gut-wrenching disappointment of a Salah hat-trick as if I was watching the game with a United fan.

I actually don't mind him bringing it up. The whole thing was a **** show. Do people know that evra actually thought he called him the n word and this was his original complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,967 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

niallo27 wrote: »
    Really, he mentioned the offside goal at least 8 times yesterday as if things would have been so different. It's pretty obvious he doesn't like Liverpool.

I've read comments regarding his hate for Liverpool over the last few years but I just don't see it. He's basically a pundit and has to be biased but I don't feel he shows any love or hate for any particular club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

Oh Christ. Can we not go over this again? It always ends in a ****show with cards all over the place.

Owl. wrote: »
    Oh Christ. Can we not go over this again? It always ends in a ****show with cards all over the place.

Ya can we just agree Tyler is biased and get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

I've read comments regarding his hate for Liverpool over the last few years but I just don't see it. He's basically a pundit and has to be biased but I don't feel he shows any love or hate for any particular club.

If Paul Pogba had scored a goal like Salah's third yesterday Tyler would have to be hospitalised for pulling the flute off himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,864 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

He is not a pundit he is a commentater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,934 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Has he pointed it out? i.e. specially said which paper/writer? Otherwise he’s just painting everyone with the same brush, in an attempt to quiten any critism.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BrKYvF3gH9e/

Calls out the daily heil, he's spot on in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Jesus. Within a min you post that. Creepy stalking stuff.

Didn't know there was a time limit on replying to posts?
    Did you never hear of the word "coincidence"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I'm pretty sure if I was on £25k a week a bank would have no problem giving me a mortgage for a £2.5m house.

These lads are driving £100k + cars at 18 can you imagine the insurance on them.

Is it racist or is it showing the ridiculous money kids are being paid before they even play 1 professional senior game?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Didn't know there was a time limit on replying to posts?
    Did you never hear of the word "coincidence"?

Not with creepy stalkers.

retalivity wrote: »
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BrKYvF3gH9e/

Calls out the daily heil, he's spot on in fairness.
    One guy is well known, has played for City in the PL and expected to have a bright England future.
    Never heard of the other one.
    That’s the difference I see.
    The Mail is a rotten rag, and it’s a crap article. But it doesn’t equal stoking racism. Maybe it is, or maybe you need to be looking for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

that Martial commentary is proof enough for me "YEEEEEESSSSSS"