Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

That's genuinely hilarious. I had never thought of actually killing 2 birds when using or hearing that phrase before. Now it's exactly what I'm thinking of whenever I hear it. It's been used here before recently I think, but the South Park episode with the bikers springs to mind, where language evolves and the original (and sometimes literal) meaning of words or phrases is consigned to the bin. I mean, how many people have actually used the guinea pig phrase without ever carrying out or even condoning animal testing?

But I suppose seeing as it's becoming the done thing, I'd like to personally make a stand against the phrase "having your cake and eating it too". I mean for starters, who wants a cake without being able to eat it. That seems dumb. But most importantly, that's not even the original phrase. It's "eat your cake and have it too". Which makes far more sense. We need to do away with this anti-sense language once and for all.

Also, it's "at the end of the day" not "in the end of the day". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

molloyjh wrote: »
    We need to do away with this anti-sense language once and for all.

Also, it's "at the end of the day" not "in the end of the day". :D

We need to tell these people that if Mars becomes a realistic place to inhabit then they can feel free to head that way.

mfceiling wrote: »
    We need to tell these people that if Mars becomes a realistic place to inhabit then they can feel free to head that way.

19-things-you-didnt-know-about-total-recall.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

,But I suppose seeing as it's becoming the done thing, I'd like to personally make a stand against the phrase "having your cake and eating it too". I mean for starters, who wants a cake without being able to eat it. That seems dumb. But most importantly, that's not even the original phrase. It's "eat your cake and have it too". Which makes far more sense. We need to do away with this anti-sense language once and for all.

How does changing the order and tense clarify the impossible scenario of both eating and being in possession of cake? Having it and eating it is as impossible as it is to eat it and to have it....

Edit - my suggestion would be to move away from the verb "have" entirely, and use something like "store your cake and eat it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'll kill all of you.

*Just a metaphor, chillax!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Yeah but we're spending all our money on avocado instead of buying houses and diamonds apparently.

Although for .ak that probably is true.

You do know avocados are no longer PC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

stephen_n wrote: »
    You do know avocados are no longer PC?

Explain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Explain

To ripen avocados on a mass scale requires taking bees captive and using them to fertilize the avocado. Even though an animal isn't consumed in the process, the requirement of a captive animal in the process makes it not vegan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I've never actually eaten avocado.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I hadn't until about a 7 months ago. Now I have about 5 per week. They are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,494 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Not even guacamole?

Some life just isn't worth living...

Not even guacamole?

Some life just isn't worth living...

Nope, just never bothered trying it. Might splash out and pay the extra euro on my burrito Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Explain

Something about the amount of water it takes to produce them. The fact the Mexican drug cartels are enslaving the farmers to produce them and controlling the market. Something about air miles yada yada anyway they’re no longer pc or hipster ask Molloy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Best answer I saw to that PETA nonsense. I had a good chuckle...

https://twitter.com/curates_egg/status/1070237470552457217

8mka8bvl4h221.jpg

It's possible Peta are completely self aware about this and go over the top to get people talking. It appears to be working in this instance anyway!

Don't have a cow Venjur.

How does changing the order and tense clarify the impossible scenario of both eating and being in possession of cake? Having it and eating it is as impossible as it is to eat it and to have it....

Edit - my suggestion would be to move away from the verb "have" entirely, and use something like "store your cake and eat it"

You know when you’ve just finished eating one of your fav foods and wish you had more? Eating your cake and having it too means finishing that food and still having more to eat. Or in other words not paying the price for enjoying yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,494 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Nope, just never bothered trying it. Might splash out and pay the extra euro on my burrito Friday.

Nah, not in a burrito. Half a chopped red onion, chopped flesh of tomato or two, a mashed up avocado or two depending on size, juice of half a lime, salt, pepper, into a blender. Not too runny, not too chunky. Season/balance amount of ingredients to taste.

Get some Doritos or your crisp/chip of choice, and dunk. Nom nom.

Don't have a cow Venjur.

Now you're just splitting hares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

errlloyd wrote: »
    I hadn't until about a 7 months ago. Now I have about 5 per week. They are good.

THE BOOM IS ****IN BACK LADS! We’re all going to heaven!

I'm beginning to wonder if cannabis has been quietly legalised or is no being longer enforced against. Walking through town today it was incredibly prevelant on several occasions. Have noticed it in Stephens green before but this was a whole new level of overtness and there are plenty of Guards around with Christmas shopping in full swing.

No longer being enforced to the extent that the garda won't bother stopping anyone these days or searching if they catch a whiff of it. If you're openly caught rolling a joint or you're pulled over and there's a really strong smell coming from the car then they might search, but a lot of the time they're just letting people go. They'll still ream you if they don't like the look of you though.

I work in Dublin 1, and generally can't step foot outside the office without getting a bang of green, people openly smoking on the quays on my walk home constantly.

NB: Not my personal experience, just things I've been told. By friends.

I stopped in my local topaz this afternoon and the guy in front of me was stinking off it. He had filled up his van and held the door open for me as I followed him in. Probably not the best poison to be putting into your body when you're driving. And you're definitely right....the bang of it around town is unreal at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭thegreycity

Because it's possible to have a cake and then to eat, but it's not possible to eat a cake and then to still have it. The order of the words implies the chronological order of events.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You know when you’ve just finished eating one of your fav foods and wish you had more? Eating your cake and having it too means finishing that food and still having more to eat. Or in other words not paying the price for enjoying yourself.

That's... not what it means. Neil is right.
    There's no implied chronological order; it's a simultaneous state of being. Schroedinger's cake.

As opposed to Pavlov's pavlova

I stopped in my local topaz this afternoon and the guy in front of me was stinking off it. He had filled up his van and held the door open for me as I followed him in. Probably not the best poison to be putting into your body when you're driving. And you're definitely right....the bang of it around town is unreal at times.

That pisses me off. It's DUI, I don't see how people who smoke and drive find it acceptable.

No longer being enforced to the extent that the garda won't bother stopping anyone these days or searching if they catch a whiff of it. If you're openly caught rolling a joint or you're pulled over and there's a really strong smell coming from the car then they might search, but a lot of the time they're just letting people go. They'll still ream you if they don't like the look of you though.

I work in Dublin 1, and generally can't step foot outside the office without getting a bang of green, people openly smoking on the quays on my walk home constantly.

NB: Not my personal experience, just things I've been told. By friends.

I was really taken aback by how out in the open it was and it wasn't just groups of kids at central bank (is that still a thing) or Stephens green - there was an chap in his 50s who looked fairly respectable and the smell of what he was smoking was unmistakable.

I've no issue with it at all, part of me thinks though that like Alcohol it would be better not entirely out on the street. It's probably moving towards legal but you wouldn't want to see people falling around in public either.

That's no different to drink driving and needs to be considered as socially unacceptable if it isn't already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Because it's possible to have a cake and then to eat, but it's not possible to eat a cake and then to still have it. The order of the words implies the chronological order of events.

The saying is have your cake and eat it. Not have your cake then eat it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I believe you can have and eat as many cakes as you want because I am sound