Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Journalism and cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

Sorry to hear that.
    Were you not wearing your high-viz?

or a pelvic helmet :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Budawanny

Hurrache wrote: »
    Just flicked through the radio stations, the gob****e Flynn has been given airtime to talk his bollox. {BTW, is bollox less offensive than ****e?}

Was this lad left at the alter by a cyclist or something?

he's the lady Havisham of Cycling this eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

amcalester wrote: »
    I emailed the RSA and asked that question. Will update here with a response.

The RSA have confirmed that an employee did write the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,395 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Wow. Was it a random employee who just happened to answer emails that day and replied for the craic.

How irresponsible is an organisation like that for writing such crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,155 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

That's worse again. :eek:

Yeah I know, ridiculous article.

I’ve asked what the authors credentials are, and what it takes to be called an expert by the RSA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,155 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I’ve asked what the authors credentials are, and what it takes to be called an expert by the RSA.

And why their name and credentials wasn't included as part of the article?

Good point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

Probably because they were ashamed to have churned out that sh1te.

Must resist the urge to see what the commentary is like.... ah who am I kidding I read them and for the moment they are calling the RSA out on their nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Eh...misinformation like the below doesn't help 🙄
    "The RSA's recent advertisement asking motorists to give UP TO 1.5 metres of space to cyclists when passing has, by and large, yielded a positive response"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭Macy0161

The RSA have tweeted it the last hour
    Was also posted to Facebook by the RSA. It needs to be torn down and start again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

RSA Expert wrote:
    The RSA's recent advertisement asking motorists to give up to 1.5 metres of space to cyclists when passing has, by and large, yielded a positive response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

I'm actually pretty stunned that the RSA has posted this scutter on its facebook page.

Well done RSA, you have proved yourself to be, beyond a shadow of a doubt, unfit for purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Duckjob wrote: »

It's the fact that it says "up to" & not "at least" which astounds me.

"Don't give those cyclists any more than 1.5m lads, they'll only start playing bicycle polo with that kind of room"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I seen the thing on twitter where someone who wrote to the RSA about a road safety issue was told that Road Safety was not in their remit. I have no words.

It was the Communications Manager.

No information on his credentials though, or why these weren't included in the article.

It's a pretty wide ranging term, could be the person managing the Twitter and Facebook accounts, with no qualifications with regards to road safety or law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

It's a pretty wide ranging term, could be the person managing the Twitter and Facebook accounts, with no qualifications with regards to road safety or law.

a relation of mine was communications manager for the Revenue at one point. he knew f*ck all about tax law...

No information on his credentials though, or why these weren't included in the article.

The RSA Communications Manager is a member of the Institute of Advance Motorists and also hold an advance driving qualification. This, and their period of employment with the RSA is what qualifies them as an expert.

I also asked if the RSA would issue a statement clarifying this misleading section, specifically in relation to the up to 1.5m of space comment, but I've been told that this is factually correct.
    The RSA's recent advertisement asking motorists to give up to 1.5 metres of space to cyclists when passing has, by and large, yielded a positive response.

FYI - IAM membership is open to anyone who passes their advance test or qualifies by exemption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭TheChizler

I also asked if the RSA would issue a statement clarifying this misleading section, specifically in relation to the up to 1.5m of space comment, but I've been told that this is factually correct.
    I'd wonder what their response is if you point them to their own press release from last May...

http://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2018/Motorists-Urged-to-Give-Cyclists-the-Space-to-Ride-Safe/
    The RSA recommends that drivers allow at least one metre overtaking distance when passing cyclists in speed zones up to 50km/hour and at least 1.5 metres when passing at speeds above 50km/hour.

TheChizler wrote: »
    I'd wonder what their response is if you point them to their own press release from last May...

http://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2018/Motorists-Urged-to-Give-Cyclists-the-Space-to-Ride-Safe/

I've tried explaining the difference between "Up To 1.5M" and "At Least 1.5M" but the person I'm emailing doesn't seem to understand.

Although, that he is relying on the RSA being "factually correct" makes me think he knows well that it's a load on bull**** but just can't or won't admit that.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I've tried explaining the difference between "Up To 1.5M" and "At Least 1.5M" but the person I'm emailing doesn't seem to understand.
    Reminds me of the old Verizon call...

Clr Ossian Smyth getting a good response in. edit: just to add, he has a thread of such responses to the RSA tweet so it's worth a click through.
    https://twitter.com/smytho/status/1070651485829165056

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭flatface

Clr Ossian Smyth getting a good response in. edit: just to add, he has a thread of such responses to the RSA tweet so it's worth a click through.
    https://twitter.com/smytho/status/1070651485829165056

bookmarking that image for next time there is the thread on RLJ

Dtu0ascWsAARgnP.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Fian

that article is indeed rage inducing. How can a State agency think it is ok to publish a piece like that based on anecdote and personal opinion rather than research.

And the "busy bee cyclists" is so infantalising and patronising - what on earth is a government funded agency who are charged with promoting road safety for all users, including cyclists, using language like that for.

As a thought experiment imagine replacing the references to cyclists in that article with references to an ethnic minority, to generalise about all other members of that ethnic group, and consider whether the author would remain in their current employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,350 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I wonder if they could be persuaded to give evidence of the "positive response" and how they measured it. Perhaps they've had a nearmissometer out on the road in recent months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

The RSA Communications Manager is a member of the Institute of Advance Motorists and also hold an advance driving qualification. This, and their period of employment with the RSA is what qualifies them as an expert.

FYI - IAM membership is open to anyone who passes their advance test or qualifies by exemption.

I completed a Garda driving course in 1979. 25 years later, In 2004 I became a member of IAM on the strength of that course, without having to do any test.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    [/B]
    I completed a Garda driving course in 1979. 25 years later, In 2004 I became a member of IAM on the strength of that course, without having to do any test.

Boom you can now call yourself an RSA Expert.