If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Would you like to attend a housing protest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I know for a fact this is 100% true.

I know a girl whos parents have a 3 bed council house with 2 rooms unoccupied. She decided to stay with her child in the Regency instead and was given her own place

Absolute joke.

It’s not a homeless crisis but an entitlement crisis.

And people swallow it like mugs.

I never have and never will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

I know a girl whos parents have a 3 bed council house with 2 rooms unoccupied. She decided to stay with her child in the Regency instead and was given her own place

That's how you play the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

We, and the dogs in the streets know it's true.
    What's different here is that we have a politician actually saying it out loud ......... in public.

Think about it. Instead of spending €400 per week on rent, you can used that money on drink and drugs and get booked into the Regency or a B&B.
    No wonder they're coming in their droves from Romania and other eastern European countries and declaring themselves "homeless".

Kivaro wrote: »
    Think about it. Instead of spending €400 per week on rent, you can used that money on drink and drugs and get booked into the Regency or a B&B.

Regency has a really nice pool and decent gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

We, and the dogs in the streets know it's true.
    What's different here is that we have a politician actually saying it out loud ......... in public.

No wonder they're coming in their droves from Romania and other eastern European countries and declaring themselves "homeless".

And imagine when all these free houses are built.

The influx will be unsustainable.

The left and Sinn feins wet dream.

And then, surprise, surprise, daddy’s home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,677 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Absolute joke.

It’s not a homeless crisis but an entitlement crisis.

And people swallow it like mugs.

I never have and never will.

Those scum bags in power , have put housing even out of reach for lie to mid incomes.. I mean if literally all you have to do , is present as homeless for a while and then get your forever home, probably a free one million euro if you include loan interest, why wouldn’t people do it? The government allow it, but they are the ones making it an attractive option or the only option ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Very interesting that finally a politician with a backbone stands up and speaks the truth:

That man gets my vote.

Absolutely, while it’s not the main cause of the problem,it’s a very big influencer in the whole scenario

The left have copped onto this which is why they are so keen to keep plugging the figures.

The more they can encourage to go ‘homeless’ the better for them, and don’t tell me that’s not going on.

Middle Ireland won’t be conned here, no problem with genuine people but this situation is being gamed biggo.

Absolutely, while it’s not the main cause of the problem,it’s a very big influencer in the whole scenario

The left have copped onto this which is why they are so keen to keep plugging the figures.

The more they can encourage to go ‘homeless’ the better for them, and don’t tell me that’s not going on.

Middle Ireland won’t be conned here, no problem with genuine people but this situation is being gamed biggo.

Do middle ireland. Actually think fg ff are on their side ? Making housing totally unaffordable, rip off gp visits, child care. Marginal tax rates ? Lol! This explains why they can get away with this ****..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Do middle ireland. Actually think fg ff are on their side ? Making housing totally unaffordable, rip off gp visits, child care. Marginal tax rates ? Lol! This explains why they can get away with this ****..

What do you propose they do to fix the problems out of curiosity and how should the fund whatever changes you have for suggestion?

Yes housing is a major issue,but it can’t be fixed in a year or even two.

GP visits, yes under 6s get free ,which is better than previous

Promises of reduced tax rates.

Child care very expensive,yet care workers claim they are on poor wages.

Not doubt you have a solution for all this......what was it again......drum roll

TAX THE RICH.

Yes housing is a major issue,but it can’t be fixed in a year or even two.

GP visits, yes under 6s get free ,which is better than previous

Promises of reduced tax rates.

Child care very expensive,yet care workers claim they are on poor wages.

Not doubt you have a solution for all this......what was it again......drum roll

TAX THE RICH.
    tax the rich ? Lol. The ones already bring hammered? Or at least the high earners are on their incomes. Before I say what I would do. Which I have on multiple threads , I’m getting sick of stating the obviously frankly. Do you think that this kind of bull**** and appalling governance flies in other countries ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Touchee wrote: »
    It's really not that much for a CEO, it's actually quite low for a position at that level

It's also inaccurate. Nobody in PMVT is paid over 100k, all of their salaried staff are paid the government recomended salary scale appropriate to their positions, including the CEO.

Try find a qualified CEO to run a compnay with a turnover in excess of 20 million, with over 400 staff and multiple premises for less, you'd be laughed at by people who could actually do the job well if you tried to tell them they should be paid less.

There's this perverse idea amongst some bright sparks that people who work for charities and/or non-profits don't deserve to be paid a decent salary and that charities should just hire the cheapest option. It's total idiocy.

tax the rich ? Lol. The ones already bring hammered? Or at least the high earners are on their incomes. Before I say what I would do. Which I have on multiple threads , I’m getting sick of stating the obviously frankly. Do you think that this kind of bull**** and appalling governance flies in other countries ?

It’s better than most and not as good as some.

Appalling is not a word I personally would use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

No.

I scrimped and saved my ass off for a deposit and then bust my balls paying my mortgage. When I lost my job I used my redundancy and took a MUCH lower paid job while I also re-trained in order to get a better job. I never missed a payment. I still have 7 years left in my mortgage and it may happen again.

All the slogans and "Do your job" chants won't fix it.

Tax the higher earners/rich. I am on the higher tax band. Am reasonably paid currently. But I have paid my tax thank you very much. I pay more tax than those on the lower tax band. I receive less benefits of said tax. I STRONGLY believe in supporting the vulnerable. As much as it pains me financially I believe it is something that I must bear. But then hear people scream "Tax them more!!!!".

I do not believe everyone has the right to own their home.

There's this perverse idea amongst some bright sparks that people who work for charities and/or non-profits don't deserve to be paid a decent salary and that charities should just hire the cheapest option. It's total idiocy.

Are they running a charity or a business? If you want top class people, on top salaries, running these places like businesses, call them businesses and tax them accordingly.
    TAX THE RICH.

Consider it done. It hasn't solved the problem as you can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Berserker wrote: »
    Are they running a charity or a business? If you want top class people, on top salaries, running these places like businesses, call them businesses and tax them accordingly.

Consider it done. It hasn't solved the problem as you can see.

So.hire the cheapest people to do the worst job because it's a charity instead of hiring the best people you can to do the best job they can? Heaven forbid they hire qualified professionals with experience and skills and pay them accordingly.

Do you not see how stupid your position is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭ally1234

We as a country need to get out there a lot more and make our voices heard, whatever day, however a Saturday/Sunday would be more convenient to us ''working poor''. Im all for protest, look at the French. They are brilliant when it comes to taking a stand, however i dont condone the violence/looting element of some, but on the whole we could take a lot from following their example. We are becoming too soft and putting up with too much.

No.

I scrimped and saved my ass off for a deposit and then bust my balls paying my mortgage. When I lost my job I used my redundancy and took a MUCH lower paid job while I also re-trained in order to get a better job. I never missed a payment. I still have 7 years left in my mortgage and it may happen again.

All the slogans and "Do your job" chants won't fix it.

Tax the higher earners/rich. I am on the higher tax band. Am reasonably paid currently. But I have paid my tax thank you very much. I pay more tax than those on the lower tax band. I receive less benefits of said tax. I STRONGLY believe in supporting the vulnerable. As much as it pains me financially I believe it is something that I must bear. But then hear people scream "Tax them more!!!!".

I do not believe everyone has the right to own their home.

Fair play to you, but I will ask this question and it seems people are only on one side or the other. Why do people have to break their balls to afford a reasonable property, take on eye watering levels of debt and be w**res to employers and banks for decades?

Rip off property prices suit the government and their mates down to the ground. It benefits the older generations, many of whom vote. Christina Lagarde, the ex French president wrote an article on it a good few months back, there are so many articles on it, (the ridiculous flow of income from the young, to the older generations) I'm not here trying to convince anyone, people arent usually for changing positions, but this "well I broke my balls to pay for it, so let everyone else" I think we should start asking why are people having to break their balls, because that vermin that we elect, you actually think they represent you? LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,828 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Alright lads.
    I'll give my take on the protest.

So I arrived yesterday about half 1. At the top of o'connell street and around the ambassador there was the usual, various people handing out leaflets. Nothing extravagant. Mostly from each group that attended.

A couple of people selling socialist newspapers for €2

There was a good buzz around. The march kicked off, and you had all the main political parties heading the front. SF, Greens, Labour, Then you had SIPTU and a couple unions joining in.

At the front of the SF march was mary lou. Not going to lie lads, she's fairly intimidating looking in person.
    SF and some groups were giving speeches. Standard stuff, just talking about how leo is a coward and FG are failing the people of Ireland yada yada.

As much as I dislike SIPTU, I believe unions are important because they represent actual working people, so it was nice to see some representation from unions, and FORSA was there too.

So far the crowd around seemed fairly, middle class, people ranging from late 20's - 50's.

Then you had the various groups like, PBP, Communist part of Ireland and others I forget.
    PBP were a bit...ehh...OTT to say the least, young enough looking bunch.

Lots of student representation from this point on. Sorry I don't remember the group names. Mostly student unions and different colleges.

Then towards the rear of the protest you the Social Democrats and a couple other groups I forget. Mostly represented by average middle class looking people.

Then you had ROSA the social feminist movement. They looked like a groovy bunch. They were playing pretty awesome music, like, old 70's psychedelic rock.
    Last you had the Dublin Tenants Association. Small bunch.

I stayed at the back and watched as it went down from parnell square onto o'connel street. I have to say it was impressive seeing the whole street filled with people all the way down past the spire and onto o'connell bridge.

Myself and probably a couple hundred people not affiliated with any group trailed behind.

Gardai presence was minimal, saw maybe 10 guards in total and a couple of dublin bus inspectors. There was no trouble what so ever.

Down at City Hall, I missed the first few speeches but there was just a truck trailer with a couple of speakers. Each group kinda made generic speeches, shouting nonsense. One girl in particular, a student from waterford gave a good speech about student rent.
    Then some clown got on stage with a guitar and made a fool of himself.

After people kind of just stopped paying attention and the crowd dissipated within 30 minutes.

Oh, I should also mention some ****in eejit from DCC drove a street sweeper through the middle of the crowd. It was ridiculous.

I was surprised at the type of crowd throughout the entire protest. Most of the people there seemed fairly average joe/jane soap. student, or very hippy like, for lack of better word.
    The amount of rough Margaret Cash types was minimal. There was a few but honestly everyone there seemed fairly normal.

From the way the media were reporting all this TBTC stuff I thought it was going to be a much more agitated crowd. I thought there's be loads of scroungers. But it didn't seem that way.

I would have estimated maybe 5000 but they're saying 10'000. I'm not good at judging so i haven't a clue either way.

tl:dr - went to protest, mingled, was surprised at the kind of people attending, surprised by lack of scroungers and mgt cash types, no trouble, mostly ****e speeches though.

Some pictures for you.

https://i.imgur.com/IJU2FEw.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/2unCTnf.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/KmjOqXg.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/9x3d5pj.jpg
    https://i.imgur.com/VS8v9yd.jpg

"Actual working people " me hole... You mean a proportion of working people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,823 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Pressure to do what?

Pressure to force taxpayers pay more for social-housing when they can barely afford a house themselves obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Fair play to you, but I will ask this question and it seems people are only on one side or the other. Why do people have to break their balls to afford a reasonable property, take on eye watering levels of debt and be w**res to employers and banks for decades?

Rip off property prices suit the government and their mates down to the ground. It benefits the older generations, many of whom vote. Christina Lagarde, the ex French president wrote an article on it a good few months back, there are so many articles on it, (the ridiculous flow of income from the young, to the older generations) I'm not here trying to convince anyone, people arent usually for changing positions, but this "well I broke my balls to pay for it, so let everyone else" I think we should start asking why are people having to break their balls, because that vermin that we elect, you actually think they represent you? LOL!

Exactly - if I had a miserable time trying to get where I am then I'd like the guy or lady coming after me with similar objectives to have a better time an easier time then I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

USC was a good thing. No evasion or avoidance from it could happen no matter what your status.

I personally think that a contribution however small from everyone is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Rip off property prices suit the government and their mates down to the ground. It benefits the older generations, many of whom vote.

You see you don't need any proof for these beliefs. It is much easier to explain, incompetence! Time and time again the inefficiency of government no matter which party was in power has been proven. The problem with the thought the government pulled off a huge scam so effectively after never doing else right is just ridiculous.

Have a read of the thread below. The government did as the public wanted ignoring reports. Never forget the public laughed at an impending housing issue when the ERSI warned it would come.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=79006148

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Have a read of the thread below. The government did as the public wanted ignoring reports. Never forget the public laughed at an impending housing issue when the ERSI warned it would come.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=79006148

You seem to like looking back to the past and it's mistakes. What is your future solution to the housing crisis? (You know my Nordic solution but it was mocked! :rolleyes: )

klaaaz wrote: »
    You seem to like looking back to the past and it's mistakes. What is your future solution to the housing crisis? (You know my Nordic solution but it was mocked! :rolleyes: )

It wasn’t mocked, you were asked by a couple of people how it could be implemented here and what you thought would be the challenges to it at which point you stopped responding to the people that asked the question. It was pointed out that it would be difficult to implement a like for like model in Ireland. It was also pointed out that anyone earning over €34k per annum is already paying approx 50% through marginal income tax, USC & PRSI on those earnings.

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    It wasn’t mocked, you were asked by a couple of people how it could be implemented here and what you thought would be the challenges to it at which point you stopped responding to the people that asked the question. It was pointed out that it would be difficult to implement a like for like model in Ireland. It was also pointed out that anyone earning over €34k per annum is already paying approx 50% through marginal income tax, USC & PRSI on those earnings.

How they paying 50%? Thought it was mid 40's and your beloved leader Leo wants it lowered even further to like 40%? That is catastrophe for the vast majority of the populace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭mammajamma

The problem is too many people. The same problem growing all over the world.

We build more houses...more people arrive into the country to fill them. (or from country into Dublin)
    We invite more multinationals...more than necessary people arrive into the country to take the small percentage of jobs for irish people (or from country to Dublin)

All the talk of taxes and incentives and decentralisation is either ineffective, or pushing the issue down the road.

Remember the housing crisis during the recession? No, neither do I.

According to the strategy of our interchangeable governments, we have two choices

1) Have worse employment prospects but be able to get by with housing and costs = poor

2) Have better employment prospects but not be able to afford basic housing/costs = poor.

So, you have a choice of being poor, or poor.

Too many people. Simple as that.

klaaaz wrote: »
    How they paying 50%? Thought it was mid 40's and your beloved leader Leo wants it lowered even further to like 40%? That is catastrophe for the vast majority of the populace.

Because marginal tax at 40% + USC at 4.75% + PRSI at 4% = 48.75% on income over €34k. Overall it obviously isn’t 50% against total earnings but if you increase rates on income below €34k it will impact greater on people who may already be struggling. What is your suggestion on this? How would you implement the Nordic model in a way that would be acceptable to everyone whether they earn €20k or €100k?

Leo’s no beloved leader of mine btw, but I don’t think anyone would be able to repair the current system at the moment.

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    Because marginal tax at 40% + USC at 4.75% + PRSI at 4% = 48.75% on income over €34k. Overall it obviously isn’t 50% against total earnings but if you increase rates on income below €34k it will impact greater on people who may already be struggling. What is your suggestion on this? How would you implement the Nordic model in a way that would be acceptable to everyone whether they earn €20k or €100k?

Leo’s no beloved leader of mine btw, but I don’t think anyone would be able to repair the current system at the moment.

Higher it to 56% top marginal rate like in Sweden as Sweden and fellow Nordic countries are where there is proof that this taxation model actually works for all. We have over a million workers earning a pittance under the present capitalist system here, in Sweden their poorest workers under socialism actually have a higher standard of living and this is also true for middle and higher income earners.