Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you like to attend a housing protest?

#RaiseTheRoof recently held a housing protest in Dublin, about 10K attended.

It was held on a wednesday. I assume if that was on a saturday it could be well in excess of that number.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/up-to-10-000-attend-rally-demanding-end-to-housing-crisis-1.3650140%3fmode=amp

So would you attend another protest?
    Time to put the goverment under proper pressure.

Pressure to do what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

Pressure to do what?

The job their paid to do for start.

Try reading the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭mammajamma

The housing situation is fundamentally intractable. Too many competing factors to allow movement.

The only way this thing is going to change is by unintended, outside, fatal consequence.

Like Humpty Dumpty, Irish housing has a gigantic, fragile, and ultimately delicious noggin, soon to be smashed to smithereens and then dipped into by many, many international bread soldiers.

Try reading the link.

I want you to tell me.

The article just turns it into a feminist issue by bemoaning the fact women have better support networks, and then calls for more social housing provided by the government, which would just increase demand in the market driving prices up, for housing you'll never be eligible for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

I want you to tell me.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I have attended several, but in my view we need to figure out how to prevent the Eirgí breakaway f*ckers from blockading O'Connell bridge and causing city-wide traffic havoc before attempts at peaceful protest in the city centre will be taken seriously.

I've said it before and I'll say it ad nauseum - the Save Our Seafront protests in Dun Laoghaire were hugely successful and enjoyed popular support, in part because we explicitly chose routes and rally points which caused a bare minimum of disruption to the town. We'd march through the town which would lead to a temporary road closure of only a few minutes, and assemble for the rally on a public green away from traffic.

What the militant clowns in city centre protests do on O'Connell bridge would be the Dun Laoghaire equivalent of deciding to sit down on the junction between Marine Road and Crofton Road, thereby blockading the 46A bus route - the busiest route in the city - for the entire section of the city which it serves.

The headlines would not have been "10,000 march against seafront privatisation", the headlines would have been "students and workers caught up in commuter chaos as Dun Laoghaire protesters cause city-wide bus shutdown". We'd have lost our campaign, and we'd have deserved to lose it.

I don't actually know what the solution to the O'Connell Bridge problem is, but I do know enough about PR and journalism to know that no protest movement will be allowed to get any decent media coverage as long as the jucier story of city-wide traffic chaos from a handful of ignorant morons is available as a headline instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Is Margaret Cash attending?

That’s all I need to know about this nonsense.

Just get back to me when it’s free houses for all so I can stop paying my mortgage like a sucker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I want you to tell me.

Why?
    I'd say because you started the thread. Do you have any ideas of how the problem can be solved, or what the government should do? Protesting is all well and good, but it's not as if people don't know there's a problem. Solutions are needed.

And before you ask, I don't have any answers either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Why on a Wednesday?

The protest you mentioned OP was on a Wednesday, did the people who attended not have jobs to be in at the time.

Housing in general is causing issues in society at present, it is a problem, rental and purchase.

However, I don't want government to build vast estates, they inculcate dependency.

HAP is having a distorting effect on the market.
    It is a bad scheme.

Even when local government has engaged in 'rapid build' the houses have not been as described, i.e. rapid.
    The price of them has been unbelievable. That model is no answer.

I don't want local government or housing associations buying in my area as it could depress the price even though they could be leading to price inflation.

Some of the people housed by housing associations have been through local government housing and been kicked out by them.

Some experience all sorts of social, mental health issues.

What is the answer?

It ain't easy, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

If it was organised with the sole focus of highlighting the plight of young working people paying a fortune in rent, wanting to buy apartment or house, then yes.
    If it was organised by the "I'm entitled to" brigade, no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭optogirl

It was held on a wednesday. I assume if that was on a saturday it could be well in excess of that number.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/up-to-10-000-attend-rally-demanding-end-to-housing-crisis-1.3650140%3fmode=amp

There's one happening on Saturday 1st December

If it was organised with the sole focus of highlighting the plight of young working people paying a fortune in rent, wanting to buy apartment or house, then yes.
    If it was organised by the "I'm entitled to" brigade, no thanks.

Here here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Too busy working to pay for that nonsense, thanks.

what would you be paying for?

Anerso10 wrote: »
    Why you call it nonsense ?

If it walks like nonsense and quacks like nonsense....

On my way to work at the end of the first 2 hour plus commute of the day I pass graffiti by the Four Courts - "Take Back The City".

From whom ? It's that kind of sub "Occupy Wall Street" chip on their shoulder, entitled **** that puts normal people off.

Last protest I had the misfortune to have to travel on the LUAS with some of the "protestors". I decided to play "entitled" bingo of sorted. 7 stop journey ? 12 "but we're/I'm ENTITLED to .....".

Nonsense pure and simple. You want a house ? Rent You can't afford rent ? Get a job.

You need short term assistance to help pay for it ? We'll help.

You've never worked, pop our kids like Pez for us to feed and think you're entitled ? Second word for you is "off".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Try reading the link.

Your link goes to a paywall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,558 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

no

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

A protest to increase the numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    A protest to increase the numbers?

Of student accommodation. That article sure sends out some mixed messages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

To do what exactly?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'm having a protest by the canal with a bag of cans because of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

I want you to tell me.

Why?

You start a thread encouraging people to attend a protest that you're too lazy to bother summarising the details and concrete aims of? Good luck with that.

Just get back to me when it’s free houses for all so I can stop paying my mortgage like a sucker.

"dis gubbermint dus nuttin fur nobodeee"

well except for tens of thousands in children's allowance, free medical care, back to school allowances, free housing supports, one parent supports, fuel allowances, christmas lolly etc etc etc

MOH wrote: »
    You start a thread encouraging people to attend a protest that you're too lazy to bother summarising the details and concrete aims of? Good luck with that.

It aims to disguise itself as a protest, but really it just wants to block off all the routes that have the sweetest Pokémon.

This protest is sponsored by Pokémon Go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Try reading the link.
    I read the link. The link says that there'll be protests until the problem is fixed. No solutions are mentioned. Just that the problem must get fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

Sinn Fein will probably be there with their banners an all in anywayiz, a week after Christy Burke was objecting to the development of an apartment development in Smithfield.

Ha now there's a party who are trying to be in touch with everybody and nobody at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

the_syco wrote: »
    I read the link. The link says that there'll be protests until the problem is fixed. No solutions are mentioned. Just that the problem must get fixed.

"What do we want?"....."NOW"

"When do we want it?......"NOW!"

"Whats the solution?"......."NOW"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

#

Bput dem undr bpressure, ole ole ole ole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

Slagging Margaret cash is a cheap shot. She hasn't the sense to articulate what she wants, and she's silly to be claiming the government does nothing, when it's obviously helping her loads. As a tax payer who supports her and I get relatively nothing in return, I don't begrudge her. It's the price of society that we live in.

We need more houses and we need the government to do more.

If it walks like nonsense and quacks like nonsense....

On my way to work at the end of the first 2 hour plus commute of the day I pass graffiti by the Four Courts - "Take Back The City".

From whom ? It's that kind of sub "Occupy Wall Street" chip on their shoulder, entitled **** that puts normal people off.

Last protest I had the misfortune to have to travel on the LUAS with some of the "protestors". I decided to play "entitled" bingo of sorted. 7 stop journey ? 12 "but we're/I'm ENTITLED to .....".

Nonsense pure and simple. You want a house ? Rent You can't afford rent ? Get a job.

You need short term assistance to help pay for it ? We'll help.

You've never worked, pop our kids like Pez for us to feed and think you're entitled ? Second word for you is "off".

Oh please - you honestly think that the only people concerned about housing in this country are those that aren't working? As long as you have a job housing isn't an issue? I wish to f*** that was true

VinLieger wrote: »

I see the op getting asked what are you protesting for, shouts a slogan smiles smugly. Ok so what are your solutions, curls up in a ball on the ground rocking back and forth mumbling slogan.

Step back people this person is having a brain aneurysm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’d rather be fired into space than attend a protest with Paul Murphy roaring through a megaphone about revolution.

I'd definitely go to a protest if there was a chance of joining the Guards on a baton charge, crack some lower class peoples heads open.

I say, that protester was frightfully rude getting blood splatter on my monocle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭McGrath5

I suspect once these people get their free house, they go away quietly into the night ie Erica Fleming.

As previous posters said, if it highlighted the plight of working people paying stupid rent, I think it would be worthwhile but somehow I suspect this is not what any protest will be about.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Try reading the link.

You clearly have no solutions to offer. Could you not just answer the poster's question of what exactly you're protesting for the government to do? Do you have any idea what the protest will be supporting or are you just going to block bridges for a fun day out?

McGrath5 wrote: »
    I suspect once these people get their free house, they go away quietly into the night ie Erica Fleming.

As previous posters said, if it highlighted the plight of working people paying stupid rent, I think it would be worthwhile but somehow I suspect this is not what any protest will be about.

What makes you think she went away quietly ? She's there, stirring **** online.

When she wants a new kitchen or the kid is 300 points short of getting in to college - we'll hear from her publicly again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

emo72 wrote: »
    Slagging Margaret cash is a cheap shot. She hasn't the sense to articulate what she wants, and she's silly to be claiming the government does nothing, when it's obviously helping her loads. As a tax payer who supports her and I get relatively nothing in return, I don't begrudge her. It's the price of society that we live in.

Problem is it’s not just her. Wasn’t the other poster girl of the “homeless” living in terrible situations exposed to have turned down housing because it wasn’t to her liking.

This is the problem, these people are choosing to be “homeless”, it’s the modern day “pop out a few sprogs” amd get bumped up the housing list.

I know lads who are contracted in to do maintenance on social houses and it’s a joke the way essentially free houses are abused and destroyed. We hear calls for councils to make vacant houses available, if the degenerates would stop destroying them they would be available for use.

I’m Not saying there are no homeless, but it’s not at the scale that’s been reported, people are abusing the situation and that has to stop. People who are building their lifestyle about being intentionally unemployed need to lower their expectations regarding their standards of living. Tax payers are fed up with this **** !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I sat in my gp Surgury one day waiting to be seen having taken two hours off work and pay my €60 for the experience.

Woman talking to a friend openly across the waiting room in front of about 12 people.

How’s things going?
    Great, we’re just back from a week in Spain it was lovely. We try to go twice a year if we can because the weather is so bad here.
    Is himself working ?
    No, we’d loose too many benefits, he does a few days for cash on the side.
    Are you still living in xxx?
    Yea, €12/week wed be mad to ever move, we’re there 10 years now it’s great.
    Are you waiting long?
    About 45mimutes, if it wasn’t for the free under 6’s I wouldn’t wait about so long, it’s a disgrace.

This was an open conversation for everyone to hear, this is what is wrong with the country.

well that's all well, good and fairminded

but she's held up as some working class hero and has been emboldened to freely spout ignorant graceless shoite from some lofty parapet..

she and her ilk can do one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

On matters housing, Dublin city council have passed a motion to allow families to build log cabins in back garden.

Typical elitist attitude. :D

From whom?

A representative from the movement stopped me a few weeks ago looking for support. Spoke to the lady for a few minutes and don't understand what their plan of action is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Going to start my own protest outside Bank of Ireland. Fcuk this mortgage paying sh1te. I want a free house too. Oh, and a paid day off work for my weekday protest.

Anyone with me?

lawred2 wrote: »
    well that's all well, good and fairminded

but she's held up as some working class hero and has been emboldened to freely spout ignorant graceless shoite from some lofty parapet..

she and her ilk can do one

Yes. She is. But I'm not fooled by her. Are you? Let her shout away. What harm, it's only idiots that would get exercised by her. I don't wish her any malice, tough job being a traveler with 5? Kids and dodgy husband. She's enough going on. Maybe it's a distraction from her ****ty personal life, and being a poster girl for homelessness is nice.

We still need more houses though. And lots of them.

BuboBubo wrote: »
    Going to start my own protest outside Bank of Ireland. Fcuk this mortgage paying sh1te. I want a free house too. Oh, and a paid day off work for my weekday protest.

Anyone with me?

Where are all these free houses so many posters seem to think are being handed out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

optogirl wrote: »
    Where are all these free houses so many posters seem to think are being handed out?

Maybe you should ask Erica "The free windows in my free home in my preferred Dublin location are drafty" Fleming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

VinLieger wrote: »

What do we want to pay for ........ "NOWT"

Yes. She is. But I'm not fooled by her. Are you? Let her shout away. What harm, it's only idiots that would get exercised by her. I don't wish her any malice, tough job being a traveler with 5? Kids and dodgy husband. She's enough going on. Maybe it's a distraction from her ****ty personal life, and being a poster girl for homelessness is nice.

We still need more houses though. And lots of them.

well actually her and her ilk's loud megaphone shouting tends to result in government policy leaning towards their demands...

so while you might not be fooled - government policy seems to heed their bullsh!t

lawred2 wrote: »
    well actually her and her ilk's loud megaphone shouting tends to result in government policy leaning towards their demands...

so while you might not be fooled - government policy seems to heed their bullsh!t

We need more houses anyway. Whatever concentrates the governments mind doesn't really matter. The houses are needed. Whether it's informed debate or megaphone protests that get them to that realisation, does it really matter? Anyway I'm sure you're like me, a job to do! Enjoy the day mate!

Yeah we need more money to do everything we want.

Doesn’t really work that way.

BuboBubo wrote: »

Anyone with me?

I'm starting a protest against timber companies because they are not making splinter free picket sticks.

Want to join up?