Why Irish cities are tiny except for Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

timthumbni wrote: »
    Is that a bad thing though? Big is not necessarily better.

It's not but the problems it has are the same as international city such as massive housing prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭yew_tree

Is that a bad thing though? Big is not necessarily better.

Dublin has its good points and has a great energy for a city it’s size but public transport leaves a lot to be desired. Also a huge opportunity was missed to build up in the docklands.

Also is this thread about population trends? Of course more does not mean better...Galway has a better nightlife than most UK towns bigger than it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Pretzeluck wrote: »
    It's not but the problems it has are the same as international city such as massive housing prices

Dublin is middling on that front :

https://checkinprice.com/europe-square-meter-prices/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Because Ireland is a very under industrialised country with vast tracts (relative to its size) suited to agriculture.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I wouldn’t call Belfast tiny in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

yew_tree wrote: »
    Dublin has its good points and has a great energy for a city it’s size but public transport leaves a lot to be desired. Also a huge opportunity was missed to build up in the docklands.

Also is this thread about population trends? Of course more does not mean better...Galway has a better nightlife than most UK towns bigger than it.

It used to have. Just priced itself too far these days though and doesn't have the upkeep to go with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Always a problem in a capital city that is doing ok. I would hate to live in Dublin. I would hate to live in London. But others love it.

You are some boy.....
    I disagree strongly with Pat's choice of language but that person being referred to is an annoying wind-up artist who just says things to provoke. Ireland didn't have the population for an industrial revolution so their comment was idiotic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭Frunchy

Dublin is a sh;thole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Dublin urban population 1.17mil
    Cork urban population: 200k

If you look at any other country, you will see that the capital and top 5 cities do not have such a massive gap in size and population. For example let's take Netherlands

Amsterdam, Netherlands. 1.3mil
    Rotterdam, Netherlands 1mil
    The Hague, Netherlands 657k

Netherlands has a larger population but even their capital has less people than Dublin and if we compare populations is 4.4mil vs 17mil.
    Is this the result of poor management making Ireland a city-state?

The Hague is the real capital of The Netherlands, just like Cork is the real capital of Ireland.

Always a problem in a capital city that is doing ok. I would hate to live in Dublin. I would hate to live in London. But others love it.

Same

cournioni wrote: »

Northern Ireland is a different country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,495 ✭✭✭✭ted1

The Hague is the real capital of The Netherlands, just like Cork is the real capital of Ireland.

It’s our third or possibly 4th city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Not really. When you hive what was clearly established as the second city out of the equation, for an already small country, then it should not surprise that the remaining cities see relatively small.

Take Denmark as a similarly sized country, where the difference is even more marked than Ireland:

1 Copenhagen , Capital Region 1,153,615
    2 Aarhus 237,551
    3 Odense 145,931
    4 Aalborg 122,219

Its already a big decrease to Aarhus. Cut it out, and the jump to Odense makes the drop even more dramatic.

cournioni wrote: »

Certainly not to its face. Boom boom... Belfast isn’t tiny but relative to world cities such as London, Paris, New York etc then it is. All relative of course but I could walk around Belfast city centre in under an hour. That’s not a bad thing btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,495 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Not really. When you hive what was clearly established as the second city out of the equation, for an already small country, then it should not surprise that the remaining cities see relatively small.

Take Denmark as a similarly sized country, where the difference is even more marked than Ireland:

1 Copenhagen , Capital Region 1,153,615
    2 Aarhus 237,551
    3 Odense 145,931
    4 Aalborg 122,219

Its already a big decrease to Aarhus. Cut it out, and the jump to Odense makes the drop even more dramatic.
    Geographically speaking where do they sit?

Dublin come to the Uk
    Belfast close to the Uk
    Limerick on the Shannon mid way
    Cork tip of Europe.

Are numbers 2,3 and 4 in Denmark isolated or in the back arse if no Where

I disagree strongly with Pat's choice of language but that person being referred to is an annoying wind-up artist who just says things to provoke. Ireland didn't have the population for an industrial revolution so their comment was idiotic.

I have no idea who the other poster is. But pats choice of words is not excused by that other post. Pretty disgusting actually. No wonder the words United and Ireland seem so far apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

yew_tree wrote: »

Don't get me started on the Docklands, we could have had high quality, high rise buildings designed by some of the world's top architects, including a modern skyline to rival other world cities.

Instead we got stumpy and unimaginative boxes all of the way down the Liffey and Grand Canal basin. And even where we got some height...... Capital Dock is an absolute eyesore. Cheap and tacky materials and overall has the appearance of a public housing block in Brooklyn

Dublin Corporation are an absolute joke. The Docklands should have been left in the hands of people who knew what the hell they were doing............not some muppets in Dublin Corporation who think anything over 6 stories will result in the Manhattanisation of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭kravmaga

DS86DS wrote: »
    We never had an industrial revolution. The pre-industrial populations of all urban areas bar a few like Paris, London and Beijing were tiny.

Even New York at the time of the American Revolution only had a population of about 20,000

yes we did, Belfast was a very industrial city way more so than Dublin, Ship building, Linen mills etc etc

I have no idea who the other poster is. But pats choice of words is not excused by that other post. Pretty disgusting actually. No wonder the words United and Ireland seem so far apart.
    Because of one guy? Probably a lot more to it than that. I don't wish for a united Ireland myself though.

But anyway, yeah I know his language is very bigoted - was just saying why I think he was annoyed.

Don't get me started on the Docklands, we could have had high quality, high rise buildings designed by some of the world's top architects, including a modern skyline to rival other world cities.

Instead we got stumpy and unimaginative boxes all of the way down the Liffey and Grand Canal basin. And even where we got some height...... Capital Dock is an absolute eyesore. Cheap and tacky materials and overall has the appearance of a public housing block in Brooklyn

Dublin Corporation are an absolute joke. The Docklands should have been left in the hands of people who knew what the hell they were doing............not some muppets in Dublin Corporation who think anything over 6 stories will result in the Manhattanisation of Dublin.

But then it would spoil the view!!! How dare they spoil the view in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,072 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

We under-spend on infrastructure in Ireland, and put it all into people's wages and welfare instead (when better infrastructure would improve everyone's quality of life). When we do decide to build something, we make it as painful as possible by giving in to every NIMBY and BANANA, and archaic planning laws meaning projects take 4-5 times as long to deliver as another country (bar maybe England which we seem intent on copying in these matters).

The underspend on infrastructure also hobbles urban growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Its just because Dublin is great AND all the Culchies want to live here.
    The Vikings knew what they were at when they settled here. Mountains cradling it protecting it,Sea there for a quick escape route to Britain if the Culchies become too much to bear.(Coppers on a Friday night, Offaly Gaa tops moaning about Dem Dubs and what an awful place they find themselves in etc)
    Even recent storms etc, the West and South of Ireland wiped out, thousands dead, electricity and water supplies cut off for months.....Dublin, Sky Box fluttered for a few minutes and I missed the start of the match.
    Simple really

This man speaketh the truth .
    OP, you speak with forked tongue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Lots of other countries have the same issue

Hungary - Budapest
    Peru - Lima
    Austria - Vienna
    Azerbaijan - Baku
    Phnom Penh - Cambodia
    Havana - cuba
    prague - cz
    Addis Ababa
    Paris
    Guatemala City
    Accra - Ghana
    Baghdad
    Abidjan - ivory coast
    Nairobi
    Pyongyang
    Seoul
    Mexico City
    Rangoon
    Managua
    Lagos
    Dar es Salaam, tanz.
    Bucharest
    Bangkok
    Tashkent, uzb.
    Lusaka , zam
    Sanaa, yemen

all #1 cities that are much, much bigger than the second cities

How has no one mentioned the term 'primate city' yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Northern Ireland is a different country

Must try harder

There are about 206 sovereign countries in the world, 193 of which are members of the United Nations. Northern Ireland is not among these internationally-accepted countries and is instead considered as a province of the United Kingdom. Not to be confused with being the province of Ulster, its 3 counties light for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

Frunchy wrote: »
    Dublin is a sh;thole.
    Oh no its not

Dublin is too big relative to every other urban centre on this island. We need to spread the population of this tiny country more evenly, for all the obvious reasons starting and ending with property prices, regional balance, economic balance, better distribution of populations, regeneration of rural communities and thus rural traditions and cultural diversity, hugely ameliorating the homelessness crisis, allowing more working families to have one parent staying at home (as the mortgage will not be as penal), etc etc. The benefits would be enormous.

We need a proper decentralisation scheme, that is decided with the same impartiality that the electoral commission decide constituency boundaries. Just because politicians have tarnished the concept doesn't mean decentralisation is not something society should aspire to. If decentralisation is done without that gombeen clientalism that symbolised Fianna Fáil's "decentralisation" schemes, all of society will benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Well if you count belfast then the countries population is relatively well spread. But Irish urban areas have historically been very poorly planned and its hindered development today

It is just crazy that a city as small as galway already has so much urban sprawl

Oh no its not

It's been ruined by urban sprawl and a refusal to build upwards.