Syrian boy bullied in Huddersfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

DS86DS wrote: »
    [...] Where was all the outrage when German students, only children themselves where been viciously bullied by the children of Syrian immigrants?

Perhaps because it's not convenient for people with a certain political agenda to do so or highlight such an issue?

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/news/world/742584/Muslims-bullying-Christians-refugee-children-Germany/amp

That link mentions immigrant muslims bullying immigrant christians, not “existing german students” like you’re trying to portray it as.

It isn’t nationality based but rather religion based, as both the victims and the bullies are migrants who have come from the same countries.

A clue - the first ****ing sentence even says “Christian migrants who have travelled to Germany from Syria, Afghanistan or Iraq are being bullied and viciously assaulted by Muslim migrants of the same age”.

Did you even read your own link?

I do agree it is equally deplorable, but maybe you should start a new thread about that instead of hijacking this one. The link is definitely not what you were presenting it as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

yoke wrote: »
    That link mentions immigrant muslims bullying immigrant christians, not “existing german students” like you’re trying to portray it as.
    it isn’t nationality based but rather religion based, as both the victims and the bullies are migrants who have come from the same countries.
    A clue - the first ****ing sentence even says “Christian migrants who have travelled to Germany from Syria, Afghanistan or Iraq are being bullied and viciously assaulted by Muslim migrants of the same age”.

I do agree it is equally deplorable, but maybe you should start a new thread about that instead of hijacking this one. The link is definitely not what you were presenting it as.

Admittedly, I had assumed that I had the correct article and posted it. But one does not have to dig deep to find stories of women and children been terrorised around Europe.

https://voiceofeurope.com/2018/04/migrants-bully-and-beat-up-german-boy-for-eating-pork-an-ambulance-was-needed/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

Admittedly, I had assumed that I had the correct article and posted it. But one does not have to dig deep to find stories of women and children been terrorised around Europe.

https://voiceofeurope.com/2018/04/migrants-bully-and-beat-up-german-boy-for-eating-pork-an-ambulance-was-needed/

Very poorly reported article from a website which says “Uncensored news...” on its logo, which makes me automatically distrust them, like I would automatically distrust anyone who introduced themselves as “Honest John” or “Salt of the earth Jim”.

In this case due to how the article is written, I do trust them, so I’ll ignore my first impressions above, for now.

So they’re reporting what’s been written in a letter by an anonymous person describing their son’s ordeal - however we aren’t given enough details to be properly outraged about. We don’t even know if what’s being reported is a case of racism (if the victim was an ethnic German, then it’s probably racism) or religious extremism (if the victim was not an ethnic German but a migrant German, then it’s probably religious extremism, which is what I suspect based on the fact that they say it’s a migrant neighborhood, they say they are vegetarians, and they say they have a motley band of friends but never mention family, which would be more expected if they were ethnic Germans - but of course I can’t be sure because they never mentioned it).

So I’m outraged, because religion-based victimisation is just as bad as racism I guess, but I don’t have a video to look at, and not enough details to be properly outraged about.
    If that article was better researched and gave more details it would evoke a more lasting outrage, fewer details will always result in a shorter and less intense outrage. That website could get much higher levels of outrage out of me if they did their bleedin homework.

Faugheen, you are without a doubt the weakest debater on this entire site. It's not the first time I've seen you like this.

The caricature you build up in your head of the person you're arguing is not real. It's not based on reality. More than anyone this site, you clearly are fighting this thing in your mind rather than the actual poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Seeing any kid getting bullied annoys the hell out of me no matter what race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,097 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It angers me cause I remember a older kid picking on me too when I was in school. Something like what happened to that kid.

While this thing happens everyday and maybe worse it's still great to see it highlighted and may make few bullies think twice this morning

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

The basis of that article appears to be unverified reports. So I'm inclined to say there is not a Europe wide plot by Muslim children to bully other children for eating pork... Shocking I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Funny how you don't hear about the kids in German schools been attacked on a continual basis by the children of Syrian immigrants.

Selective outrage from the Whitey-is-evil brigade as usual.

Source for that? I doubt Syrians are a majority in any German school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,143 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

While this thing happens everyday and maybe worse it's still great to see it highlighted and may make few bullies think twice this morning

It won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,097 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Larbre34 wrote: »
    It won't.

You be surprised. Now it ain't going stop bullying. I saw far worse bullying, but it does not make it right.

If it raises awareness of bullying and even makes a few think twice then it will maybe help some kids have easier life this morning. To be honest it's awful seeing kids being bullied end of.

I know what you are saying too. It's not like this is the only time a kid has been bullied. It's in every school

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Horrible, I can hardly bear to look at it. One of mine was badly bullied as a teenager for a short while until he turned on his bully. It makes me feel cold murderous rage even to think of bullying. I would not be safe to be let near that boy who held that lad by the throat, though of course anything I could do would be ineffectual - it just makes me so mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

What's the point of this? He keeps saying "say it now then". Seems fairly obvious one guy said something about the other and he caught up with him after school. Seen it happen many a time in my school. People got on with their lives after and nobody was worse off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Funny how you don't hear about the kids in German schools been attacked on a continual basis by the children of Syrian immigrants.

Selective outrage from the Whitey-is-evil brigade as usual.

Spot on, don't get me wrong, it's awful what happened, but the outrage will be very select on these cases.

As said, no one gives a **** about the german kids being battered by Syrian kids in German schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What's the deal with the instant gofundme pages as soon as anything happens? Yes, he got bullied and now everyone knows who the guy is that did it. He'll get in trouble etc. But why does this kid get 20 or 30 grand?

Edit. Beaten too it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The whataboutery is ridiculous.
    There have been numerous bullying videos posted that went viral, the two latest ones being a girl beaten up by another bunch of girls and the lads that threw eggs and flour on a lady with special needs. They all lead to outrage and media coverage.

This is your bog standard bully, acting tough in front of his friends picking on an incapacitated (there are reports he'd already had his arm broken in an altercation with them) lad thats half his size.

His IG has been found already, the Syrian kid already reported it to police already who are looking into it.

I'm really uncomfortable with GoFundMe's though, how can you verify they're legit, how can you be sure all the cash is handed over?
    Its like people throw a tenner and think the issue is resolved as they donated.

The local MP is in touch with the family and seems to be running things past the family with regard to gestures. Huddersfield Town already offered VIP for the next home game, BT are offering all expenses paid to a Premier League game of his choosing etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

razorblunt wrote: »
    The whataboutery is ridiculous.
    There have been numerous bullying videos posted that went viral, the two latest ones being a girl beaten up by another bunch of girls and the lads that threw eggs and flour on a lady with special needs. They all lead to outrage and media coverage.

This is your bog standard bully, acting tough in front of his friends picking on an incapacitated (there are reports he'd already had his arm broken in an altercation with them) lad thats half his size.

His IG has been found already, the Syrian kid already reported it to police already who are looking into it.

I'm really uncomfortable with GoFundMe's though, how can you verify they're legit, how can you be sure all the cash is handed over?
    Its like people throw a tenner and think the issue is resolved as they donated.

The local MP is in touch with the family and seems to be running things past the family with regard to gestures. Huddersfield Town already offered VIP for the next home game, BT are offering all expenses paid to a Premier League game of his choosing etc.

It's not really ''bog standard'' bullying though, is it, if he had his arm actually broken by the same bullies already.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 217 ✭✭Cockford Ollie

Some people must get a right horn from shouting the word racist all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Funny how you always see people with a 'join date' from the last month or two piling into these threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,246 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

emo72 wrote: »
    Kids are horrible to each other. It's nothing to do with nationality.

well it probably has in this case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Zorya wrote: »
    It's not really ''bog standard'' bullying though, is it, if he had his arm actually broken by the same bullies already.

That's alleged for now, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It's a 30 odd second video. Yes it wasn't nice, but the first thing the English kids says is "What are you saying now", who knows if the Syrian was running his mouth before or what he had been saying previously?? We have no idea what happened before.

I know it shouldn't lead to violence, but he hardly assaulted him, he tripped him up and poured some water on his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Just heard on the news the attacker is to be charged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Very distressing to watch, very sad to see someone just minding their own business be attacked like that with no provocation.
    What a brave boy, picking on a lad with a broken arm.

The race of both boys is irrelevant, but I hope this is a lesson to the bully that if you grab someone by the throat & slam them on the ground, people are going to think you are an assh*le, and rightly so.
    Its just nasty.

Faugheen wrote: »
    He was choked and the water was aimed at his mouth.

That absolutely is a waterboarding.

What video did you watch?

The point of a choke is to block the airway.

The point of waterboarding is that water gets into the airway.

You can't have it both ways. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

The point of a choke is to block the airway.

The point of waterboarding is that water gets into the airway.

You can't have it both ways. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

ah ffs - seriously? This is the point you want to make?

Just heard on the news the attacker is to be charged.

oh well - sometimes in life you get what you deserve

lawred2 wrote: »
    ah ffs - seriously? This is the point you want to make?

It was in reply who was claiming that the incident "absolutely is a waterboarding" but continue with the faux outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,320 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Getting charged now.

Quick work. On top of all those bullying incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,492 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Faugheen wrote: »
    It's not an English kid. It's a Syrian kid being bullied by an English kid.

The **** was the point of this post?

I think i made my point fairly clear. Thousands of younglads and girls put up with this type of shyte daily.

I wonder how many of them had go fund mes with 24k in after 4 hours.

Selective outrage.
    How many of themy have fled from: Barrel bombs, gas attacks, government forces, rebel forces, Russian bombardment, cross fire and, oh yeah, nearly forgot, ISIS?

Sardonicat wrote: »
    How many of themy have fled from: Barrel bombs, gas attacks, government forces, rebel forces, Russian bombardment, cross fire and, oh yeah, nearly forgot, ISIS?

You know this kid and his back story personally??