If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ruth Coppinger holds up thong in Dail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Cleopatra, I'm so so sorry to hear of the assault you went through. I'm so glad you stopped blaming yourself and I hope you find some peace after what you went through <3

The posters in this thread who belittle sexual assault by using phrases such as 'copped a feel' should be ashamed of themselves.
    I hope you never have to go through such a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    There is nothing reported about him that shows he has any cop on at all. 27 years of age I was four years into my first mortgage, self employed and, married with two children.

Having no cop-on is not a crime, thankfully, or else half the country would be in jail.

The jury were also not asked to pass judgment on his maturity, good sense, or whether he had a mortgage, wife, or children. They were asked to decide whether he committed a rape.

By the way, the average age of an Irish groom is now 36, so an unmarried 27-year-old is hardly remarkable. And a 17-year-old in Ireland is over the age of consent, so there's no offense there, either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

We do not live in a world where getting so drunk that one can not control their actions and would pass out and not even notice someone haveing sex with them is safe
    It should be
    It could be
    But it isn’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

nullzero wrote: »
    If you felt what happened was sexual assault (and its sounds like you may well be correct to say that) you should have gone to the Gardai.

Easier said than done sometimes.

Can we be absolutely sure there's not some "activist" who is going to release his details ?

There are several posters here who would happily release personal information and sit back and watch the fallout.

One has just used the phrase "rape of a minor" - that is the very definition of libellous comment.

Unfortunately we can not be sure. Some idiot could post a link to his Facebook account or worse still identify the minor in this case. Both deserve privacy. Sadly we live in a world where our privacy can't be protected 100 percent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

neonsofa wrote: »
    Easier said than done sometimes.

That's down to the individual.

Having no cop-on is not a crime, thankfully, or else half the country would be in jail.

The jury were also not asked to pass judgment on his maturity, good sense, or whether he had a mortgage, wife, or children. They were asked to decide whether he committed a rape.

By the way, the average age of an Irish groom is now 36, so an unmarried 27-year-old is hardly remarkable. And a 17-year-old in Ireland is over the age of consent, so there's no offense there, either.

I believe he is married as it's been posted that he was cheating on his wife & children.

He was found not guilty & yes he is a very lucky man that the court wasn't judging him on stupidity

I don't know why everyone feels the need to point out that 17 is above the age to consent. We all know this but that doen't change the fact that she is a minor in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Cleopatra_ wrote: »
    I have the courage to say now that I was raped, I was too drunk to consent and that would have been obvious to anyone who saw me. I can't even remember how I got home, nothing, it's all a blank.

I'm sorry to hear about what happened to you..

The guy sounds like a complete scumbag however the bit in bold above is not always true.

People can be in the middle of a black out and appear drunk but otherwise relatively normal as in able to walk and speak etc..

I know because I was like that myself. People would often tell me that I seemed grand while on a night out but I wouldn't remember speaking to them.

I recall this coming up in a rape case in the UK where the accuser said they couldn't remember anything yet CCTV showed them walking into the hotel unaided and looking relatively sober.

That's down to the individual.

Yeah exactly. So no point saying what anybody should have done. In theory that's obviously the right course of action but it's not always easy to do and shoulda woulda coulda is all great in hindsight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

I believe he is married as it's been posted that he was cheating on his wife & children.

He was found not guilty & yes he is a very lucky man that the court wasn't judging him on stupidity

I don't know why everyone feels the need to point out that 17 is above the age to consent. We all know this but that doen't change the fact that she is a minor in this case.

Sex with a minor is sex with someone under the age of 17 in this country
    So how was she a minor

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

It's being pointed out because some posters are stressing "minor" to try and sully the waters and imply that instead of an innocent man who may have cheated on his partner (her concern, not ours) he's actually some kind of paedophile who got lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Yeah exactly. So no point saying what anybody should have done. In theory that's obviously the right course of action but it's not always easy to do and shoulda woulda coulda is all great in hindsight.

Hang on a minute, where the hell do you get off jumping down my neck like that?
    Rape should be reported, that isn't in theory because rapists are a danger to other members of society.
    Get down off of your soap box and while you're at it have a rummage for your manners, I think you dropped them somewhere.

• Site Banned Posts: 75 ✭✭Lillybloom

Everyones vows include being faithful. It does not matter what religion or lack of religion. Its what marriage is.

It never ceases to amaze me how posters on boards will thy to defend the indefensible.

Yes and some married couples agree to have an open marriage or become swingers. Are such people worthy really of your contempt?

Jack Moore wrote: »
    Sex with a minor is sex with someone under the age of 17 in this country
    So how was she a minor

You do know that everyone under the age of 18 is a minor. Don't confuse this fact with the age of consent. A minor means someone under the age of 18. It has nothing to do with sex. You are a minor under 18 & become an adult when you turn 18.

This girl was a minor. Not under the age of consent but a minor all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

It's being pointed out because some posters are stressing "minor" to try and sully the waters and imply that instead of an innocent man who may have cheated on his partner (her concern, not ours) he's actually some kind of paedophile who got lucky.

If i was the defendant in that case and my name was ever released, I’d be taking a civil case against a number of posters on this thread.

You do know that everyone under the age of 18 is a minor. Don't confuse this fact with the age of consent. A minor means someone under the age of 18. It has nothing to do with sex. You are a minor under 18 & become an adult when you turn 18.

So two people had legal consenting sex, get over it.

Why do you feel the need to point out she's a minor then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

Jack Moore wrote: »
    We do not live in a world where getting so drunk that one can not control their actions and would pass out and not even notice someone haveing sex with them is safe
    It should be
    It could be
    But it isn’t

Nullzero, this attitude above is part of the reason why I didn't report.

At first I didn't know what to think, I felt guilt and shame and blamed myself thinking I'd encouraged him and it was my fault for getting so drunk. Hindsight really is 20/20

Cleopatra, I'm so so sorry to hear of the assault you went through. I'm so glad you stopped blaming yourself and I hope you find some peace after what you went through <3

The posters in this thread who belittle sexual assault by using phrases such as 'copped a feel' should be ashamed of themselves.
    I hope you never have to go through such a thing.

Thank you very much for your kinds words, it means a lot.

Rennaws wrote: »
    I'm sorry to hear about what happened to you..

The guy sounds like a complete scumbag however the bit in bold above is not always true.

People can be in the middle of a black out and appear drunk but otherwise relatively normal as in able to walk and speak etc..

I know because I was like that myself. People would often tell me that I seemed grand while on a night out but I wouldn't remember speaking to them.

I recall this coming up in a rape case in the UK where the accuser said they couldn't remember anything yet CCTV showed them walking into the hotel unaided and looking relatively sober.

I have some mental health problems so I do occasionally get black out drunk and that is my issue, I take responsibility for that, my friends and family who have seen me in this condition in the past know that it's very obvious that I'm in a state of black out drunk. I don't make any sense, I talk rubbish, sometimes I can be a bit upset or aggressive, I have trouble walking.

Candie wrote: »
    Cleopatra, I'm so sorry that happened to you. You didn't do anything to deserve that, it's the sole fault of the person who decided to hurt you when you couldn't defend yourself. I hope you get some help to deal with this, its a huge deal and a burden you don't have to bear alone.

I still feel guilt at times and find it difficult to call it an assault or rape and think it was my fault, I think I'll always struggle with that. But I've gotten to the stage where there are times when I can call it rape and I didn't feel comfortable saying that before as I felt I was being too dramatic. Thank you so much for your kind words, knowing that there are people that believe me and don't think I brought it all on myself helps me.

So what? Surely the question is whether he had non-consensual intercourse with the girl in question, not whether he was married?

As has been noted, she was of legal age when it comes to sex. Her being 17 years old doesn't change the charges brought against the defendant. The charges would have been exactly the same had she been 19, 25, or 45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

I have the courage to say now that I was raped, I was too drunk to consent and that would have been obvious to anyone who saw me. I can't even remember how I got home, nothing, it's all a blank.

How can you say what would have been obvious to anyone?
    What's to say the other party may not have been in any position to gauge how drunk you were? Two people drunk, one moreso, they have sex and it's automatically rape? You relinquish all responsibility and the person with you assumes all responsibility?

No. I'm stressing the fact that she is a minor because she is a minor. This the legal title for someone under the age of 18 in Ireland. She is not a woman she is a girl of 17 years of age.Her official title in minor. Why would I make up a different title for her?

I have never suggested that he went after a child though I do think him foolish as it could have turned out that she was younger not known to him.This was a huge risk he took. Some 13 & 14 year olds pretend to be 17 or 18.

If we can suggest that girls / women should be careful & not to drink too much or walk alone at night, can we not also say that 27 year old married men should be careful about the age of girls they have sex with. As George says is there no personal responsibility? This man dodged a bullet. She could have lied about her age & he could be in a mess of trouble.

So what?

Having sex with a 17-year-old is not an offence in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Rennaws wrote: »
    If i was the defendant in that case and my name was ever released, I’d be taking a civil case against a number of posters on this thread.

Well that would be an abject waste of time since nothing defamatory was said. Stop trying to see things that aren’t there.

It's quite common for people to be "black out" drunk and nobody they were talking to would realise they were anything more than a bit tipsy or merry.

Hang on a minute, where the hell do you get off jumping down my neck like that?
    Rape should be reported, that isn't in theory because rapists are a danger to other members of society.
    Get down off of your soap box and while you're at it have a rummage for your manners, I think you dropped them somewhere.

Jumping down your neck?

I made an observation, in response to a comment you made telling someone what they "should have" done. I explained that sometimes it's easier said than done, despite knowing in theory that it is the correct thing to do (for the reasons you outline above), in practice, when you're in shock and traumatised, it's not that black and white.

Hardly jumping down your throat so chill out.

So what? Surely the question is whether he had non-consensual intercourse with the girl in question, not whether he was married?

NO!
    He was found not guilty

The question & the thread is about the thong & why the barrister was allowed to show it & make the statement she made.

As has been noted, she was of legal age when it comes to sex. Her being 17 years old doesn't change the charges brought against the defendant. The charges would have been exactly the same had she been 19, 25, or 45.

The man was found not guilty. Why are you bringing up his charges? Or legal age? Let me just point out the only posters commenting on the age of consent seem to be guys trying to stick up for the guy. It's not helping.him. He is not guilty and was never charged with underage sex. You bringing this up is actually dirtying him name.

You aren't really reading the thread at all are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

newmember? wrote: »
    How can you say what would have been obvious to anyone?
    What's to say the other party may not have been in any position to gauge how drunk you were? Two people drunk, one moreso, they have sex and it's automatically rape? You relinquish all responsibility and the person with you assumes all responsibility?
    Lillybloom wrote: »
    It's quite common for people to be "black out" drunk and nobody they were talking to would realise they were anything more than a bit tipsy or merry.

Nullzero, I refer you to these posts. This would be the attitude I'd face if I tried to prosecute.

So what?

Having sex with a 17-year-old is not an offence in Ireland.

If I had a penny for everytime someone posted this on this thread I could buy myself a pint.

Why bring up the age of consent? You are hurting this poor guy by doing so. NO ONE said that he had underage sex. I've read the thread twice & no one has claimed this.

The girl is a minor that doesn't mean that it was underage sex. It's simple really

He is not guilty and was never charged with underage sex. You bringing this up is actually dirtying him name.

This is hilarious, coming from the poster who reminds us at every turn that the complainant was a minor.

Nullzero, I refer you to these posts. This would be the attitude I'd face if I tried to prosecute.

Do you disagree that you can be "black out" drunk and seem merely a bit tipsy to others?

Do you just want the world to agree with everything you say, people have different viewpoints.