Sleeper12 wrote: » There is nothing reported about him that shows he has any cop on at all. 27 years of age I was four years into my first mortgage, self employed and, married with two children.
nullzero wrote: » If you felt what happened was sexual assault (and its sounds like you may well be correct to say that) you should have gone to the Gardai. .
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » Can we be absolutely sure there's not some "activist" who is going to release his details ? There are several posters here who would happily release personal information and sit back and watch the fallout. One has just used the phrase "rape of a minor" - that is the very definition of libellous comment.
neonsofa wrote: » Easier said than done sometimes.
Atlas Rotten Machinist wrote: » Having no cop-on is not a crime, thankfully, or else half the country would be in jail. The jury were also not asked to pass judgment on his maturity, good sense, or whether he had a mortgage, wife, or children. They were asked to decide whether he committed a rape. By the way, the average age of an Irish groom is now 36, so an unmarried 27-year-old is hardly remarkable. And a 17-year-old in Ireland is over the age of consent, so there's no offense there, either.
Cleopatra_ wrote: » I have the courage to say now that I was raped, I was too drunk to consent and that would have been obvious to anyone who saw me. I can't even remember how I got home, nothing, it's all a blank.
nullzero wrote: » That's down to the individual.
Sleeper12 wrote: » I believe he is married as it's been posted that he was cheating on his wife & children. He was found not guilty & yes he is a very lucky man that the court wasn't judging him on stupidity I don't know why everyone feels the need to point out that 17 is above the age to consent. We all know this but that doen't change the fact that she is a minor in this case.
neonsofa wrote: » Yeah exactly. So no point saying what anybody should have done. In theory that's obviously the right course of action but it's not always easy to do and shoulda woulda coulda is all great in hindsight.
Sleeper12 wrote: » Everyones vows include being faithful. It does not matter what religion or lack of religion. Its what marriage is. It never ceases to amaze me how posters on boards will thy to defend the indefensible.
Jack Moore wrote: » Sex with a minor is sex with someone under the age of 17 in this country So how was she a minor
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » It's being pointed out because some posters are stressing "minor" to try and sully the waters and imply that instead of an innocent man who may have cheated on his partner (her concern, not ours) he's actually some kind of paedophile who got lucky.
Sleeper12 wrote: » You do know that everyone under the age of 18 is a minor. Don't confuse this fact with the age of consent. A minor means someone under the age of 18. It has nothing to do with sex. You are a minor under 18 & become an adult when you turn 18. This girl was a minor. Not under the age of consent but a minor all the same
Jack Moore wrote: » We do not live in a world where getting so drunk that one can not control their actions and would pass out and not even notice someone haveing sex with them is safe It should be It could be But it isn’t
Bigbagofcans wrote: » Cleopatra, I'm so so sorry to hear of the assault you went through. I'm so glad you stopped blaming yourself and I hope you find some peace after what you went through The posters in this thread who belittle sexual assault by using phrases such as 'copped a feel' should be ashamed of themselves. I hope you never have to go through such a thing.
Rennaws wrote: » I'm sorry to hear about what happened to you.. The guy sounds like a complete scumbag however the bit in bold above is not always true. People can be in the middle of a black out and appear drunk but otherwise relatively normal as in able to walk and speak etc.. I know because I was like that myself. People would often tell me that I seemed grand while on a night out but I wouldn't remember speaking to them. I recall this coming up in a rape case in the UK where the accuser said they couldn't remember anything yet CCTV showed them walking into the hotel unaided and looking relatively sober.
Candie wrote: » Cleopatra, I'm so sorry that happened to you. You didn't do anything to deserve that, it's the sole fault of the person who decided to hurt you when you couldn't defend yourself. I hope you get some help to deal with this, its a huge deal and a burden you don't have to bear alone.
Sleeper12 wrote: » I believe he is married as it's been posted that he was cheating on his wife & children.
I don't know why everyone feels the need to point out that 17 is above the age to consent. We all know this but that doen't change the fact that she is a minor in this case.
Sleeper12 wrote: » This girl was a minor. Not under the age of consent but a minor all the same
Rennaws wrote: » If i was the defendant in that case and my name was ever released, I’d be taking a civil case against a number of posters on this thread.
nullzero wrote: » Hang on a minute, where the hell do you get off jumping down my neck like that? Rape should be reported, that isn't in theory because rapists are a danger to other members of society. Get down off of your soap box and while you're at it have a rummage for your manners, I think you dropped them somewhere.
Atlas Rotten Machinist wrote: » So what? Surely the question is whether he had non-consensual intercourse with the girl in question, not whether he was married? NO! He was found not guilty The question & the thread is about the thong & why the barrister was allowed to show it & make the statement she made. As has been noted, she was of legal age when it comes to sex. Her being 17 years old doesn't change the charges brought against the defendant. The charges would have been exactly the same had she been 19, 25, or 45.
newmember? wrote: » How can you say what would have been obvious to anyone? What's to say the other party may not have been in any position to gauge how drunk you were? Two people drunk, one moreso, they have sex and it's automatically rape? You relinquish all responsibility and the person with you assumes all responsibility?
Lillybloom wrote: » It's quite common for people to be "black out" drunk and nobody they were talking to would realise they were anything more than a bit tipsy or merry.
Atlas Rotten Machinist wrote: » So what? Having sex with a 17-year-old is not an offence in Ireland.
Sleeper12 wrote: » He is not guilty and was never charged with underage sex. You bringing this up is actually dirtying him name.
Cleopatra_ wrote: » Nullzero, I refer you to these posts. This would be the attitude I'd face if I tried to prosecute.