Soccer scumbaggery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Surprised this didn’t happen at a League of Ireland game. Middle-aged bald men wearing parkas pretending to have a go at each other before a game between two teams of long ball merchants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Surprised this didn’t happen at a League of Ireland game. QUOTE]

Did you even read the story???

Fcuk all to do with rival supporters ! But I suppose it mentioned soccer, so creates a chance for you to have a dig at (troll) soccer lovers that are on this thread ..... Dumb
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

particularly nasty incident my sympathies go out to him....but...is it worthy of being the leading headline on our national TV station??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Feck, im rumbled.

Played all sports, brutal at hurling, not much better at soccer, but i had a lot of mass and was fast, which came in useful in rugby. Zero skill

Bull Hayes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Glad to see the guards are investigating this. This is nothing to do with the sport - most sports have a level of aggression involved which sometimes escalates to a few digs. This incident is something else entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,433 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Necro wrote: »

I mean there's violence attached to most sports because of people being idiots but soccer is literally the worst for violence, racism and hatred in comparison to any other organised team sport.

And it's not even close.

Football worldwide has more of these problems because it has more people who follow it than any other sport.

And it's not even close.

If you had the same amounts of people playing or attending rugby or GAA or whatever regularly, you'd have just the same amount of these kind of incidents.

Considering the absolute multitudes around the world who go to games week in week out you could argue that proportionally football fans are in actual fact amazingly well behaved. I've been to hundreds of games and I've yet to be viciously attacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

It's a bit worrying how rugball peeps can easily let the word scumbag flow of their ohhh so respectful tongue.
    Filthy mouths the lot of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

It's a bit worrying how rugball peeps can easily let the word scumbag flow of their ohhh so respectful tongue.
    Filthy mouths the lot of you.

Is it any different from bogger ball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Arghus wrote: »

If you had the same amounts of people playing or attending rugby or GAA or whatever regularly, you'd have just the same amount of these kind of incidents.

It happened in Ireland so it's fair to compare it to the level of incidents in gaa in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭steves2

I gave up playing junior soccer years ago, were playing teams in the Dublin area. Just wasn't worth the hassle, we played some absolute scumbag teams who'd stop at nothing to win a game. At one game this total header chased the ref around the pitch because he sent him off, game was abandoned. Then at a home game there was a mass brawl after a scrote from the other team was taking a throw. He just stopped, threw the ball down, turned around and started fighting with our subs bench because someone was laughing. It's not confined to soccer at all, to some guys it's what they look forward to at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Macdarack

If you raise your voice or back chat to a ref in rugby, you're gone, and mostly the the captains are the only ones allowed to talk to the ref.
    Fai and the Gaa really need to instill similar policies to their sports, the game can't be played without refs and beating the shiit out of a ref for whatever reason is a disgrace and deserves a lengthy prison sentence and life ban.
    This Idea of surrounding the ref and smothering him expecting a reverse in a decision gauls me, a new disciplinary code drawn up by the refs and the Fai needs to be arranged and followed through with the help of the guards, zero tolerance to these people. For the love of sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭davo2001

A friend of mine was at the game in question, the actions were preformed by a well known family from the area that has "ethic minority status"

His son missed a penalty or something like that and the ref wouldn't let him take it again.

Three of them followed the ref to the car park and beat the ****e out of him. One of the fellow ethic minority lads tried to calm him down after the event and had his car window smashed in with a golf club by the same person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

davo2001 wrote: »

Three of them followed the ref to the car park and beat the ****e out of him. One of the fellow ethic minority lads tried to calm him down after the event and had his car window smashed in with a golf club by the same person.

*clutches pearls

surely this scumbaggery doesnt carry on in golf clubs as well?
    Mother of god, where will this end?
    Royal Cork Yacht Club (Crosshaven to you plebs) better beef up security.

*clutches pearls

surely this scumbaggery doesnt carry on in golf clubs as well?
    Mother of god, where will this end?
    Royal Cork Yacht Club (Crosshaven to you plebs) better beef up security.

Sorry , but your attempt at sarcasm probably wouldn't be of any solace to the amateur referee doing a job (not many have the balls to do, but feel they are better at it than the man in the middle!!) and got assaulted because, some scumbags didn't like his decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,229 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

FanadMan wrote: »
    Is it any different from bogger ball?

Whats bogger ball ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

This is not a laughing matter and soccer in Ireland needs to have a long look at itself.

Whats bogger ball ?

A slighty defamatory term for Gaelic football....... (bog ball) :D

greenspurs wrote: »
    A slighty defamatory term for Gaelic football....... (bog ball) :D

Ah ok . Even though Dublin are the best at it . The irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,874 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Soccer could learn lessons from other sports like Rugby where there is a culture of respecting the referee.

Hopefully the fallout from the latest controversy gets some action from FAI on thinks like longer mandatory bans etc. and soem sort of respect the ref campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Soccer players could learn a hell of a lot from rugby players when it comes to respect towards refs.

and also friendly arm breaking, biting, stamping on people on the floor and eye gouging

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Ah ok . Even though Dublin are the best at it get the lion's share of the funding and best facilities. The irony

Fixed that there so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Soccer could learn lessons from other sports like Rugby where there is a culture of respecting the referee.

Hopefully the fallout from the latest controversy gets some action from FAI on thinks like longer mandatory bans etc. and soem sort of respect the ref campaign.

I've never been a big fan of those. As soon as refs stop being little Hitlers and drama queens who think they cannot be questioned THEN they can be respected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Who calls it soccerball? Or was that meant to be demeaning or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Someone trying to get a reaction.

Must be . People are weird. Always try demean sports they aren't interested in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I've never been a big fan of those. As soon as refs stop being little Hitlers and drama queens who think they cannot be questioned THEN they can be respected.

Questioned on what though? When do refs listen to you ranting at them and then go "you know what, you're right, I'll reverse that decision"? Take the decision and move on.

Refs don't have replays anyway so pretty much what youre saying is refs should not trust their own decisions but instead take players at their word. I can see that working...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I would say actually soccer could learn from all other sports.

Soccer is the outlier.

Any other sport - Boxing, Tennis, Cricket, Baseball, American Football, Basketball and indeed Gaelic Football or Hurling - referees are given way more respect than they get in soccer.

Soccer is the outlier - soccer is the game where the idea of being an example and behaving with decency towards your opponent and the referee has just gone out the window. Whether that be the culture of faffing about on the ground looking for frees, or in hassling the ref at every turn - or at the very top end in selling the World Cup to a place like Qatar - the sport completely lacks leadership and example at the moment.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    I would say actually soccer could learn from all other sports.

Soccer is the outlier.

Any other sport - Boxing, Tennis, Cricket, Baseball, American Football, Basketball and indeed Gaelic Football or Hurling - referees are given way more respect than they get in soccer.

Soccer is the outlier - soccer is the game where the idea of being an example and behaving with decency towards your opponent and the referee has just gone out the window. Whether that be the culture of faffing about on the ground looking for frees, or in hassling the ref at every turn - or at the very top end in selling the World Cup to a place like Qatar - the sport completely lacks leadership and example at the moment.

I know in GAA a free is brought closer for abusing the ref . Would that work in soccer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

The bal would end up in the stands then :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

It's not the sport, it's the participants and their supporters. Mostly of one gender it would appear.

Why do we as a society continue to accept this 'I couldn't help myself, it was the drink/heat of the moment/excitement' excuse for people who choose to act like scum?

Anyone who does not have wee and poo running down their legs is well able to control themselves, whether it is to not rape a young woman wearing some fancy underwear or clatter a referee around the head because they didn't like a decision. They choose not to.