Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soccer scumbaggery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Anyone who does that to a ref should get a very lengthy ban.

In Derry in the 80s in a local summer cup, a goalkeeper chased the ref down a road after the match. He never caught him I don't think, but he got a 15 year ban from local soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

As opposed to friendly arm breaking, biting, stamping on people on the floor and eye gouging that happens in Rugby? A reflection of the standard of a private school education these days?

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Tollartistry shouldn't be tolerated either. The more that happens the more it'll be tollarted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

They should be banned for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

As opposed to friendly arm breaking, biting, stamping on people on the floor and eye gouging that happens in Rugby? A reflection of the standard of a private school education these days?

Soccer players could learn a hell of a lot from rugby players when it comes to respect towards refs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Ah, but there's no malice in a bit of eye gouging, or shoeing
    Buy the chap a few pints in the bar afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

What about the Bog ballers? Worst of the lot - even Ramos looks Corinthian beside the muck-savages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,428 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

NIMAN wrote: »
    Anyone who does that to a ref should get a very lengthy ban.

They should be arrested, charged and imprisoned for either violent assault or
    attempted murder.

And banned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

Very distressing to see a chap injured so badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭engiweirdo

Yet despite the gulf in social class both football sports have a problem with dubious/violent sexual behaviour amongst its participants and justification of same by supporters. Go figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What do you mean lately op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

What about the Bog ballers? Worst of the lot - even Ramos looks Corinthian beside the muck-savages.

Gwan away with that crap! Gaelic football or "Bog Ball" as you call it is tame compared with some of the scum that still follow soccer. Bog Ball and rugby teams go for a few jars after a game. Players and supporters drink and have the craic.

Biggest shame is that there's not enough refs like Pierluigi Collina in Scum Ball (see what I did there?) - if he looked at you in a bad mood, you'd quickly shut up.

Same with Nigel Owens. You just don't argue with him. You always hear respect from the players when he gives a ruling.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Lol because hundreds if not thousands of people have died as a result of Gaelic football hooligans :rolleyes:

I mean there's violence attached to most sports because of people being idiots but soccer is literally the worst for violence, racism and hatred in comparison to any other organised team sport.

And it's not even close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

When rugby has the same levels of participation and support as football and isn't played in just a handful of countries we'll do a meaningful comparison.

Until then, go enjoy your game and I'll enjoy mine. What exactly is it about some rugby fans that they think a big part of being a fan is the need to have a go at football players and fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Isn't there some Autumn friendlies on you should be watching op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 splinterz43

Collie D wrote: »
    When rugby has the same levels of participation and support as football and isn't played in just a handful of countries we'll do a meaningful comparison.

Until then, go enjoy your game and I'll enjoy mine. What exactly is it about some rugby fans that they think a big part of being a fan is the need to have a go at football players and fans?

The smug sense of superiority bestowed upon you in private schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Just to clarify, this happened off the pitch in the car park. This was not "in the heat of the moment over some decision" on the pitch... this will be treated as an assault, a lifetime ban is a given.

All sports have knackers, last week it was GAA lads boxing the heads off each other, this week it's the soccer lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

I was assaulted on the field of play during a match.
    If is not a nice thing to happen. It takes a long time to get over it.
    The league I was refereeing in at the time were a joke, and the coward that struck me because I was sending off his brother didn't show up to the disciplinary hearing.
    He came back playing after a few years.

I hope that ref involved will be okay , and recover physically and mentally.

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Who the hell writes these things!?

The DDSL has warned that clubs will be fined €500 and hit with a six-point deduction if there team are involved in an incident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Should this thread not be in the rugby or GAA section where the posters can hold hands and gleefully play with their superiority complexes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Mullingar town I believe was the team involved. Not overly surprised. It's a fairly rough place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Are people really unable to detect sarcasm from the OP?

Soccer has huge issue with discipline, this is just another case. Of course it's not alone, but you've only to watch the games to see it has the biggest issue.

Best of luck to the ref, hope he recovers.

greenspurs wrote: »
    I was assaulted on the field of play during a match.
    If is not a nice thing to happen. It takes a long time to get over it.
    The league I was refereeing in at the time were a joke, and the coward that struck me because I was sending off his brother didn't show up to the disciplinary hearing.
    He came back playing after a few years.

I hope that ref involved will be okay , and recover physically and mentally.

I was late for a match (soccerball!) one day, ended up togging off with a ref for another match.
    Chatting, i asked him how does he put with the bullsh1t and whining. He just shrugged and said its more or less part of the game now.

I blame the parents and coaches. Kids at a young age learn that disrespecting the ref is ok.

Are people really unable to detect sarcasm from the OP?

Soccer has huge issue with discipline, this is just another case. Of course it's not alone, but you've only to watch the games to see it has the biggest issue.

Best of luck to the ref, hope he recovers.

Feck, im rumbled.

Played all sports, brutal at hurling, not much better at soccer, but i had a lot of mass and was fast, which came in useful in rugby. Zero skill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Troll .......ey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

I know this is about football but you can't ignore the continuous violence at GAA games since day dot. It's only of late that people have started to record it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

As a Football fan I don't see the problem.

It was a utter disgrace and the culprits need to be banned and never step on a field again.

We have violence in a GAA that gets highlighted too, and eventually the Drug Problem In Rugby will rise to the top st some point in future.

But what happens this ref deserves front page coverage. It's just assault for a pastime to most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Meh... amateurs.

In The Netherlands 4 police cars were sent out to a club named Zeeburgia whose Under 17's were playing Winkel U17 and players of the last team locked themselves up in their dressing room, too afraid to leave.

Oh yeah, those were the u17 girls teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Surprised this didn’t happen at a League of Ireland game. Middle-aged bald men wearing parkas pretending to have a go at each other before a game between two teams of long ball merchants.

Surprised this didn’t happen at a League of Ireland game. QUOTE]

Did you even read the story???

Fcuk all to do with rival supporters ! But I suppose it mentioned soccer, so creates a chance for you to have a dig at (troll) soccer lovers that are on this thread ..... Dumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

particularly nasty incident my sympathies go out to him....but...is it worthy of being the leading headline on our national TV station??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Feck, im rumbled.

Played all sports, brutal at hurling, not much better at soccer, but i had a lot of mass and was fast, which came in useful in rugby. Zero skill

Bull Hayes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Glad to see the guards are investigating this. This is nothing to do with the sport - most sports have a level of aggression involved which sometimes escalates to a few digs. This incident is something else entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,879 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Necro wrote: »

I mean there's violence attached to most sports because of people being idiots but soccer is literally the worst for violence, racism and hatred in comparison to any other organised team sport.

And it's not even close.

Football worldwide has more of these problems because it has more people who follow it than any other sport.

And it's not even close.

If you had the same amounts of people playing or attending rugby or GAA or whatever regularly, you'd have just the same amount of these kind of incidents.

Considering the absolute multitudes around the world who go to games week in week out you could argue that proportionally football fans are in actual fact amazingly well behaved. I've been to hundreds of games and I've yet to be viciously attacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

It's a bit worrying how rugball peeps can easily let the word scumbag flow of their ohhh so respectful tongue.
    Filthy mouths the lot of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

It's a bit worrying how rugball peeps can easily let the word scumbag flow of their ohhh so respectful tongue.
    Filthy mouths the lot of you.

Is it any different from bogger ball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Arghus wrote: »

If you had the same amounts of people playing or attending rugby or GAA or whatever regularly, you'd have just the same amount of these kind of incidents.

It happened in Ireland so it's fair to compare it to the level of incidents in gaa in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭steves2

I gave up playing junior soccer years ago, were playing teams in the Dublin area. Just wasn't worth the hassle, we played some absolute scumbag teams who'd stop at nothing to win a game. At one game this total header chased the ref around the pitch because he sent him off, game was abandoned. Then at a home game there was a mass brawl after a scrote from the other team was taking a throw. He just stopped, threw the ball down, turned around and started fighting with our subs bench because someone was laughing. It's not confined to soccer at all, to some guys it's what they look forward to at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Macdarack

If you raise your voice or back chat to a ref in rugby, you're gone, and mostly the the captains are the only ones allowed to talk to the ref.
    Fai and the Gaa really need to instill similar policies to their sports, the game can't be played without refs and beating the shiit out of a ref for whatever reason is a disgrace and deserves a lengthy prison sentence and life ban.
    This Idea of surrounding the ref and smothering him expecting a reverse in a decision gauls me, a new disciplinary code drawn up by the refs and the Fai needs to be arranged and followed through with the help of the guards, zero tolerance to these people. For the love of sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

A friend of mine was at the game in question, the actions were preformed by a well known family from the area that has "ethic minority status"

His son missed a penalty or something like that and the ref wouldn't let him take it again.

Three of them followed the ref to the car park and beat the ****e out of him. One of the fellow ethic minority lads tried to calm him down after the event and had his car window smashed in with a golf club by the same person.

davo2001 wrote: »

Three of them followed the ref to the car park and beat the ****e out of him. One of the fellow ethic minority lads tried to calm him down after the event and had his car window smashed in with a golf club by the same person.

*clutches pearls

surely this scumbaggery doesnt carry on in golf clubs as well?
    Mother of god, where will this end?
    Royal Cork Yacht Club (Crosshaven to you plebs) better beef up security.

*clutches pearls

surely this scumbaggery doesnt carry on in golf clubs as well?
    Mother of god, where will this end?
    Royal Cork Yacht Club (Crosshaven to you plebs) better beef up security.

Sorry , but your attempt at sarcasm probably wouldn't be of any solace to the amateur referee doing a job (not many have the balls to do, but feel they are better at it than the man in the middle!!) and got assaulted because, some scumbags didn't like his decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

FanadMan wrote: »
    Is it any different from bogger ball?

Whats bogger ball ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

This is not a laughing matter and soccer in Ireland needs to have a long look at itself.

Whats bogger ball ?

A slighty defamatory term for Gaelic football....... (bog ball) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

greenspurs wrote: »
    A slighty defamatory term for Gaelic football....... (bog ball) :D

Ah ok . Even though Dublin are the best at it . The irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Soccer could learn lessons from other sports like Rugby where there is a culture of respecting the referee.

Hopefully the fallout from the latest controversy gets some action from FAI on thinks like longer mandatory bans etc. and soem sort of respect the ref campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Soccer players could learn a hell of a lot from rugby players when it comes to respect towards refs.

and also friendly arm breaking, biting, stamping on people on the floor and eye gouging