Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Yes, she played the 'I'm actually a doctor' card and the chap still ate her (of you'll pardon the expression when speaking about a vegan) for lunch.
    He wouldn't let her away with her usual platitudes and half assed opinions. Great radio!

A non-practicing one actually.

I wonder is she keeping up her CME?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Just watched Cutting Edge and when Ciara was asked if she would have a problem with travellers moving in next door she had the neck to say 'No issue at all'. I call BS

fairt play to Dr kelly for taking down the Patriarchy, one white male at a time

You left out “rapist” btw.

Uncharted wrote: »
    "Cackling" Kelly has to be the most hated Newstalk presenter ever.... and that's saying something. She really is an incredibly devisive character.

I can't stand her female biased pontificating, her condescending tone and the daily "I'm a doctor,you know" utterings.

A wretched excuse of a presenter. Uggh.
    :(

You're not allowed criticise "Ciara" on here Uncharted, don't you know that? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

You're not allowed criticise "Ciara" on here Uncharted, don't you know that? :pac:

I'm sorry........

...... and all that good stuff :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭jace_da_face

I. .... I ..... I .... me...... me ..... me...... It’s all about her. Even when she is trying to be somewhat self deprecating, which no doubt she thinks makes her sound, it’s still comes back to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,752 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

"Cackling" Kelly has to be the most hated Newstalk presenter ever.... and that's saying something. She really is an incredibly devisive character.

I can't stand her female biased pontificating, her condescending tone and the daily "I'm a doctor,you know" utterings.

I'm no fan of hers but she's no Dil Wickremasinghe (yes I had to search and copy and paste that name in here).

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

For a moment I thought you were talking about George Hook....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,501 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Very angry man currently on:
    Paying €1220pm rent, commuting Dublin <->NorthEast, cannot afford time/funds to go to doctor, ran politicos from door at recent election, does not believe he'll survive another decade

I. .... I ..... I .... me...... me ..... me...... It’s all about her. Even when she is trying to be somewhat self deprecating, which no doubt she thinks makes her sound, it’s still comes back to her.

yeah I find very annoying, she makes every single thing about her. Her rant about how disorganised and late she always is was borderline psychiatrist couch stuff. I thought she was going to have a meltdown. Everything's got to be about her.

Every text she reads out she makes sure the text starts with "Ciara" this, "Ciara" that, and "love your show". She did the "I'm a doctor" thing again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

zell12 wrote: »
    Very angry man currently on:
    Paying €1220pm rent, commuting Dublin <->NorthEast, cannot afford time/funds to go to doctor, ran politicos from door at recent election, does not believe he'll survive another decade

I liked the segment on the squeezed middle. I'm mortgage free at this stage so I'm not one of them but there are people earning decent wages & yet struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Just watched Cutting Edge and when Ciara was asked if she would have a problem with travellers moving in next she had the neck to say 'No issue at all'. I call BS

Yes, I watched BOC ask that question and I really hoped for once in her life she could be honest but no she headed off down the " I don`t mind if travellers and their caravans move in beside me "

Yeah right, but Ciara don`t you live in leafy Greystones

Whatever vestige of respect I had, its gone now

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

That's what Hook used to do to.

Remember the joke on here that Hook used to invite experts on to his show so he could tell them what he thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

CatFromHue wrote: »

Remember the joke on here that Hook used to invite experts on to his show so he could tell them what he thought.

Who sets out to be a radio or TV "personality" anyway? Clearly you are dealing with people with ridiculously inflated egos.

They may have a national profile but most earn very little for the privilege.

George was a big part of establishing Newstalk and while he could be self important at least he was somewhat different and interesting.

CK sounds like a strict headmistress. Gave her show another chance recently. Nothing has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Who sets out to be a radio or TV "personality" anyway? Clearly you are dealing with people with ridiculously inflated egos.

They may have a national profile but most earn very little for the privilege.

George was a big part of establishing Newstalk and while he could be self important at least he was somewhat different and interesting.

CK sounds like a strict headmistress. Gave her show another chance recently. Personality of a 2x4. Nothing has changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Dick Swiveller

Yes but it was amusing when Hook did it. He was self depreciating a lot of the time. Ciara Kelly just comes across as desperate to be centre of attention. Plus she is not very likeable - whereas Hook was.

Switched over to Virgin 1 for Sara McInerney Sunday Show and shock horror who was the guest presenter today........................Ciara Kelly

Spoke to Peadar Toibin like he was new to politics

Lets say she should stick to being a Doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,077 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Drifter50 wrote: »
    Switched over to Virgin 1 for Sara McInerney Sunday Show and shock horror who was the guest presenter today........................Ciara Kelly

When Sara was hosting Drive Time show on Newstalk, she was ripped to pieces on Boards.

When she was on RTE during the summer, there didn't seem to be as much comment about her at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Dick Swiveller

It's impossible to escape her. I open the Sunday newspaper and she's there. I turn on the television and she's there. I turn on the radio and she's there. It's quite scary.

I like Sara McInerney , she’s quick, researches well, has an attractive voice and laugh , doesn’t talk about herself all the time. Far less reason to be critical of her.

I don’t believe in negativity and tearing people to shreds or making comments for the sake of them . Have to admit I don’t like Ray Darcy’s show and while I might sometimes dip in and out of the thread for a laugh I can’t remember when I last commented on it .
    I’ll comment on Newstalk breakfast sometimes, cos Paul Williams is irritating and inarticulate at times , then other times he can be fine.

But I don’t like Ciara Kelly and her “me , me, me “ “I’m a doctor “ approach.
    I particularly don’t like her PC take on things, whether it’s backing up the promotion of morbid obesity on the front of magazines (and her a doctor !!) , or even more importantly her anti men stance on a weekly if not daily basis.......”it would be better if men stopped raping women “......(than suggest women taking sensible precautions like not running in dark areas with headphones on etc. )

Massive, dangerous and sweeping generalizations really give away her deep seated prejudices against men and stir up this new “toxic masculinity “ ****e that makes women victims of “bad” men.

I like Sara McInerney , she’s quick, researches well, has an attractive voice and laugh , doesn’t talk about herself all the time. Far less reason to be critical of her.

I don’t believe in negativity and tearing people to shreds or making comments for the sake of them . Have to admit I don’t like Ray Darcy’s show and while I might sometimes dip in and out of the thread for a laugh I can’t remember when I last commented on it .
    I’ll comment on Newstalk breakfast sometimes, cos Paul Williams is irritating and inarticulate at times , then other times he can be fine.

But I don’t like Ciara Kelly and her “me , me, me “ “I’m a doctor “ approach.
    I particularly don’t like her PC take on things, whether it’s backing up the promotion of morbid obesity on the front of magazines (and her a doctor !!) , or even more importantly her anti men stance on a weekly if not daily basis.......”it would be better if men stopped raping women “......(than suggest women taking sensible precautions like not running in dark areas with headphones on etc. )

Massive, dangerous and sweeping generalizations really give away her deep seated prejudices against men and stir up this new “toxic masculinity “ ****e that makes women victims of “bad” men.

Yep, I am liking Sara McInerney more and more and respect that she seems to research her subjects properly unlike " Cackling Kelly " as one OP said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Jeffrey Careful Rocker

Yep, I am liking Sara McInerney more and more and respect that she seems to research her subjects properly unlike " Cackling Kelly " as one OP said

she's improved I must say once she got away from the pc bore Chris Donoghue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Stoolcup wrote: »
    Yes but it was amusing when Hook did it. He was self depreciating a lot of the time. Ciara Kelly just comes across as desperate to be centre of attention. Plus she is not very likeable - whereas Hook was.

Hook had a massive ego, loved the sound of his own voice, overinflated opinion of himself, he's the kind of person I'd hate to be stuck talking to. And I'd write that off as just annoying if he didn't veer into dangerous territory trying to make himself the edgy contranian (e.g. spreading fear & doubt about the HPV vaccine).

Kelly also has an ego for sure (that whole "text Ciara" spiel at the start of the show, who talks about themselves in the third person?) but she's the lesser of the two in my view.

Hook had a massive ego, loved the sound of his own voice, overinflated opinion of himself, he's the kind of person I'd hate to be stuck talking to. And I'd write that off as just annoying if he didn't veer into dangerous territory trying to make himself the edgy contranian (e.g. spreading fear & doubt about the HPV vaccine).

Kelly also has an ego for sure (that whole "text Ciara" spiel at the start of the show, who talks about themselves in the third person?) but she's the lesser of the two in my view.

Every single time she reads out a text/tweet she starts with “Ciara “ . Maybe texters actually write “Ciara” as a salutation, maybe they don’t , but imagine if Pat Kenny , Sean Moncrieff or Ivan Yates started every text /tweet with their name...... FFS :eek:

I've commented on this more than once. I absolutely refuse to believe that every single texter includes her name in their text.

It's the same with "you can text Ciara...." or "you can call Ciara on....."; not "you can text the show...." or "you can call the show on.....".

All part of the plan to make her name a "brand" IMO. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,986 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

When Sara was hosting Drive Time show on Newstalk, she was ripped to pieces on Boards.

When she was on RTE during the summer, there didn't seem to be as much comment about her at all.

The problem with her on the radio in the morning and drive time slots was the format for those timeslots didn't suit her, at the time, aggressive interviewing style.

When segments are 3-4 minutes tops having the interviewer constantly trying to grab a very specific soundbite gets tiring and you come away having learned nothing new or informative. Its different on longer focused tv shows where interviews and topics can be discussed for much longer so when an interviewer goes after a guest for a very specific question or topic it doesnt dominate the entire show.

Personally my issue was also she refused to view any topic from another angle, her opinion was always correct and anyone who argued or disagreed with her needed to be unnecessarily harassed for doing so

VinLieger wrote: »
    The problem with her on the radio in the morning and drive time slots was the format for those timeslots didn't suit her, at the time, aggressive interviewing style.

When segments are 3-4 minutes tops having the interviewer constantly trying to grab a very specific soundbite gets tiring and you come away having learned nothing new or informative. Its different on longer focused tv shows where interviews and topics can be discussed for much longer so when an interviewer goes after a guest for a very specific question or topic it doesnt dominate the entire show.

Personally my issue was also she refused to view any topic from another angle, her opinion was always correct and anyone who argued or disagreed with her needed to be unnecessarily harassed for doing so

Fair play to "Ciara" though, she's equally bad on TV as she is on radio.

It's a great pity the entire traveller population don't move next door to her as they'd be welcome there and she'd have no problem with it as she declared on TV last week?

Also, given her previous form, I assume the Foxrock murder and mutilation of a man by a woman wasn't covered on the show today? Needless to say if it had been the other way around it would have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I missed Breakfast but I heard a good but of Moncrieff and Kenny, I haven't heard anything on that murder. Neither I expect Yates to cover it and yet Kelly should because bitter little men can't stand a woman who has an opinion.

I thought she had very good item on sexual abuse of children and adults today. Yes it was not stated at the end of every sentence 'men too' and 'not all men' so most here were probably triggered every 30 seconds but I found it very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Also, given her previous form, I assume the Foxrock murder and mutilation of a man by a woman wasn't covered on the show today? Needless to say if it had been the other way around it would have been.

Ciara has made it clear over the last year or so. Men =attacker and women = victim.

Only women have the right to be feel fear while out in dark remote places even though men are attacked more often than women & as this poor victim now knows men die much more often after being attacked.

meeeeh wrote: »
    I missed Breakfast but I heard a good but of Moncrieff and Kenny, I haven't heard anything on that murder. Neither I expect Yates to cover it and yet Kelly should because bitter little men can't stand a woman who has an opinion.

I thought she had very good item on sexual abuse of children and adults today. Yes it was not stated at the end of every sentence 'men too' and 'not all men' so most here were probably triggered every 30 seconds but I found it very good.

:rolleyes::pac:

Moncrieff is an entertainment show, not a news show btw - as I’m sure you’re fully aware of - and it wouldn’t have been discussed in such a show.