Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭shady acres

I hope he fights against the received wisdom.

I really do. We need another voice.

ya i was only jokin i wouldn't hit golfballs into the sea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Do travellers pay electricity and bin charges?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kerryguy78

Hopefully other politicians will follow suit and speak their minds rather than being ****less that they will say something wrong

Do travellers pay electricity and bin charges?

No

kerryguy78 wrote: »
    No

Marvelous ay

Just throw it over the ditch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,323 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

No, it's not. It's the fault of the Government pandering to a minority who believe they are above the law. The same legislation should apply, but it doesn't, in nearly every case a traveller is involved in. But continue to blame everyone except the people who commit the crime.

I'm out of this thread. It's no longer a discussion.

So the law not being administered is whose fault then?

People will take advantage of laws that are not enforced. That applies to settled or traveller.

Anyhow, sorry you have taken the huff and sorry for spoiling your attempt to demonstrate that there are different laws for travellers, there aren't.

kerryguy78 wrote: »
    Hopefully other politicians will follow suit and speak their minds rather than being ****less that they will say something wrong

what do people think about Casey joining up with renua, i admit i know very little about them, afaik Lucinda set up the party because Fine Gael wouldnt allow her to vote with her conscience,
    i heard an interview with pat the plank kenny and the current leader of Renua, michael leahy, today,
    if they already have the basic infrastructure already there,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

No, it's not an achievement. He's got the money, can afford the platform, the airtime and the avdvisers, he's got a loud voice and he's mouthing off against an easy target. Nothing really difficult. The family is irrelevant. The politics is irrelevant.

Do you really think he'd the same number of votes while campaining an education, HSE, tax and the economy whilst working with an economic budget?! There's not a chance he'd get even close to double figures.

He's a one-trick pony in a small county circus and you're basically telling me he can win the Grand National.

He can though, denial of the fact it could happen is the rock established party's might perish on.
    It's happened in the UK and the US for instance.
    Amazingly people are in denial the likes could happen here, not saying it will, but it could.
    Of course you're right re the importance of his stance on travellers and welfare are only p**s in the wind in the overall scheme of things economically, but a govt here lost a huge majority over water charges, so in perspective a rural vote for candidates promising to sort out their traveller problems could in effect change majorities and and govt participation.
    But its a small side issue in the actual running of the country either economically or socially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

what do people think about Casey joining up with renua, i admit i know very little about them, afaik Lucinda set up the party because Fine Gael wouldnt allow her to vote with her conscience,
    i heard an interview with pat the plank kenny and the current leader of Renua, michael leahy, today,
    if they already have the basic infrastructure already there,

The big issue is, the media will blank it anyway.

What do we do now in relation to new entities in politics.

The big issue is, the media will blank it anyway.

What do we do now in relation to new entities in politics.

what do you think about Renua, did you hear that interview with micheal leahy, it was on dennis o brien fm this morning:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

People will take advantage of laws that are not enforced. That applies to settled or traveller.

Anyhow, sorry you have taken the huff and sorry for spoiling your attempt to demonstrate that there are different laws for travellers, there aren't.

shouting some one down isnt the same as winning an argument , but if you get enough bots around you you will try . some one else posted traveler specific legislation further back but you ignored it too

https://www.exchangehouse.ie/faq_legislationtimeline.php

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/law-to-stop-travellers-occupying-land-without-consent-is-enacted-1.1087107

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/apr/05/government-plans-crackdown-illegal-traveller-sites-housing-minister-review-laws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

And what would be the cost, in extra manpower & resources, to stop all the illegal & antisocial behaviour of one group ? You expect taxpayers to pay even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,006 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

listermint wrote: »
    Admit ?

Have you been following my posts.

Of course they are stuck in a cycle. They can't get employment because people already have bias against them this thread is evidence of it. They turn to criminality because of this. It's an easy transition from zero opportunities to criminality.

The cycle can only be breached through community lead local youth work. Which needs proper funding and not through funding spokes groups like pavee point.

People need to feel their life is worth something. Anyone of us who had that level of self worth would probably be in the same positions in life.

I wouldn't want to be identifiable once I opened my mouth and judged straight away.

How do you think we break this cycle ?

They can get employment. I'm in construction and I've come across quite a few of them on building sites. Not one has lasted any length of time for one reason or another.
    I met one last year working for a prominent landscaping company (dole made him take the position or forfeit his welfare)...he sat on a wall outside most of the time complaining that it was too warm to work. We asked him where he was living. He told us Carlow, and that it was a disgrace that he had to be ready for his lift to dublin at 5.55 a.m every morning.
    He lasted 4 days.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    shouting some one down isnt the same as winning an argument , but if you get enough bots around you you will try . some one else posted traveler specific legislation further back but you ignored it too

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/law-to-stop-travellers-occupying-land-without-consent-is-enacted-1.1087107

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/apr/05/government-plans-crackdown-illegal-traveller-sites-housing-minister-review-laws

your first link is malware

is working fine for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Most Irish people think Ryan Tubridy is an utter tool, and that travellers have a problem with criminality in their community.

I don't think their opinions were changed tonight. It's not really about Peter Casey, it's about the message he represented.

Except it's not most Irish people is it? Because if it was then Casey would have won?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,323 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

mynamejeff wrote: »

:):) That is the same legislation I posted. And it applies to everyone and not just travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭mikeym

He wants to be Taoiseach by 2020.

He reckons the Navy & the Air Corps are not fit for purpose.

What is Peter Casey smoking?

:):) That is the same legislation I posted. And it applies to everyone and not just travellers.

did you read them ?

or are you waiting for eodr to like your comment ?

listermint wrote: »
    Admit ?

Have you been following my posts.

Of course they are stuck in a cycle. They can't get employment because people already have bias against them this thread is evidence of it. They turn to criminality because of this. It's an easy transition from zero opportunities to criminality.

The cycle can only be breached through community lead local youth work. Which needs proper funding and not through funding spokes groups like pavee point.

People need to feel their life is worth something. Anyone of us who had that level of self worth would probably be in the same positions in life.

I wouldn't want to be identifiable once I opened my mouth and judged straight away.

How do you think we break this cycle ?

Oh right.

So it’s the normal working employers fault that 90 year old women are tied up and robbed and beaten?

All because they wouldn’t give the poor lads a job.

Christ I have no words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/garda-probe-after-brawl-breaks-out-on-busy-galway-street-37488878.html

Leos buddies fighting on the streets of Galway today , no end to their contributions all over the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

BBFAN wrote: »
    Except it's not most Irish people is it? Because if it was then Casey would have won?

I think that a high percentage agree with him. I certainly do but he wouldn't make a good president.

BBFAN wrote: »

most irish people with a brain :D

what do you think about Renua, did you hear that interview with micheal leahy, it was on dennis o brien fm this morning:)

Renua will have to ditch the Pro Life issue. That is done and dusted. But many will associate them with that.

Apart from that they are a shoo in for many. Need to get their message across for the central vote who pay for everything but get nothing.

Not an easy gig if the entire media is against you though.

mikeym wrote: »
    He wants to be Taoiseach by 2020.

He reckons the Navy & the Air Corps are not fit for purpose.

What is Peter Casey smoking?

never smoked in his life
    why are thy always making false accusations

NoDrama wrote: »

still a red flag here
    not clicking

never smoked in his life
    why are thy always making false accusations

The cosy media cartels needed a wake up call. That is great, they are giving more votes to Casey now, even though they think people are actually agreeing with them!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

The problem with Renua last time was even though they got 2.2% their vote was spread everywhere. The communist wasters like Coppinger, Murphy etc from AAA-PBP got several seats though with a low vote because they were all in a couple of constituencies. Hard to know what to do to help that.