Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

What about Irish twins, do people get 3 sets of payments there? ;)

You get a jumbo box of condoms and some friendly advice to give her a break!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,474 ✭✭✭kuang1

Zzippy wrote: »
    You get a jumbo box of condoms and some friendly advice to give her a break!

But they'd all get to sit up the front at mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

mfceiling wrote: »
    Casey probably won't get close to 10% of the vote but he's opened up a can of worms right now.
    Working people are starting to get fed up with travellers getting a big helping hand from the state and basically throwing it right back in their face.
    Leo and his "I'll help the person who gets up early in the morning"....I read somewhere that someone on 34k a year will be approx €4.50 a week better off whereas someone on welfare is better off by €5. This must stick in the craw with a sizeable amount of the population.

Work hard every day and pay rent/mortgage and then read about someone who turns down a free home because the council won't provide them with 2 acres and purpose built stables.
    Listen as a mother of 7 shouts down all and sundry that the government won't give her a house beside her kids school and then a few days later she's after shoplifting over €300 worth of clothes from penney's. Not one politician asks the question about her responsibility of bringing 7 kids into the world without any means to provide for then.
    It only took one person with a perception of "power" to say that this is unfair and the wagons were circled, and every politician and newspaper hit him with "racist".
    I'm guessing that when the next general election comes around, the usual suspects will get in but they're going to be asked a few difficult questions when they start ringing doorbells looking for votes.
    And yet the 75 out of the top 100 richest people in the country, declared tax on earnings of less that the national industrial average wage. Yet how much newspaper ink did that little nugget take up compared to the Margaret Cash story. Onwards with the fascination for blaming poor people for being poor, while ignoring the fact we get arse raped by the rich continually. But hey they’re good guys who give money to the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,992 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

stephen_n wrote: »
    And yet the 75 out of the top 100 richest people in the country, declared tax on earnings of less that the national industrial average wage. Yet how much newspaper ink did that little nugget take up compared to the Margaret Cash story. Onwards with the fascination for blaming poor people for being poor, while ignoring the fact we get arse raped by the rich continually. But hey they’re good guys who give money to the GAA.

Oh I don't disagree with you on the rich not paying their share. Credit to the likes of Micheal O'Leary for staying here and paying his full tax.
    These people can easily do this because money makes money and can enable them to hoard this wealth.
    I'm sure most of us don't enjoy getting up early to go to work and pay a lot of tax for very little in return.
    Property tax.
    Motor tax.
    PRSI.
    USC.
    Doctors bills.
    Childcare/Creche
    Dentists.
    School fees.
    Higher than average Insurance premiums.

Then you open the paper and you read about some layabout who turns down a perfectly good council home because "it's not where I want it". Or some eejit who has 40 or 50 previous court convictions strolling out of court without a care in the world, ready for his next great adventure.

There is a subset at the top and the bottom that everyone else looks at and thinks "why do I fcuking bother".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

The cost of the enterprise seems to vary by the second. First class for 40 blips wasn't bad. Hot towel on a train? Mad craic.

The bit about flying the jet around empty during the recession to keep the pilots hours up. Very much sums up the stupidity of government. Rather than schedule those hours for useful flights, they go for the illusion of not using the jet. Gross stupidity.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The bit about flying the jet around empty during the recession to keep the pilots hours up. Very much sums up the stupidity of government. Rather than schedule those hours for useful flights, they go for the illusion of not using the jet. Gross stupidity.

It equally sums up the stupidity of the electorate to be fair - just look at this exact stupid kerfuffle at the moment. They did it for a reason.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    It equally sums up the stupidity of the electorate to be fair - just look at this exact stupid kerfuffle at the moment. They did it for a reason.

In fairness was that ever in doubt?

Not that it will matter but Peter Casey is now second favourite with the bookies.

Anyone else have 2 votes?
    I used both in the last referendum.

kuang1 wrote: »

Ah here keep this to yourself. :pac: We'll have I*na challenging the result for the next 50 years.

I used to until I did something about it. One had a fada in my name, the other didn't.

I liked to ask what way my dad was going to vote and vote twice against that.

Lots of people will be on the register twice (or even more). It is illegal to vote more than once however.

I used to until I did something about it. One had a fada in my name, the other didn't.

Lmao :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Reminds me of a poster I saw in Ranelagh during (I think) the second Lisbon referendum:

"Sinn Fein are against it. Vote Yes."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Reminds me of a poster I saw in Ranelagh during (I think) the second Lisbon referendum:

And SF loooooove Europe now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

errlloyd wrote: »
    And SF loooooove Europe now.

The irony is almost boring at this stage.

Were they furr it before the others were aggin it, or was it the other way around?

Sinn Fein have always been opportunistically populist.

There was a discussion the other day about whether it was worth voting in this election. I would argue now that minimising the % Casey gets is as good a reason as any.

I 100% guarantee you that if his numbers are good we'll see Trump style right wing candidates elected in the next GE.

Lots of people will be on the register twice (or even more). It is illegal to vote more than once however.

I have enough problems being on it once, Wicklow have removed me from the register 5 times.

There was a discussion the other day about whether it was worth voting in this election. I would argue now that minimising the % Casey gets is as good a reason as any.

I 100% guarantee you that if his numbers are good we'll see Trump style right wing candidates elected in the next GE.

At one stage they were for it in the north and against it here, not sure if that’s actually changed. Are they possibly just quietly against it in the Republic now and vocally for it in the North?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

I think Casey’s numbers could be shockingly good, above 15%. He is a protest/anti govt vote at this stage basically and people love that stuff in referenda or presidential elections, Seanad referendum, Lisbon, etc.

Don’t necessarily agree it will translate to seats in next GE, people’s preferences are a lot more committed in general elections, in calm-good economic times incumbency advantage is a huge hurdle to overcome and for independents or new political party it will be very difficult. It will probably inspire a lot of candidates from the same ilk if he does well alright.

Neil3030 wrote: »

Ryanair had a brilliant poster during the Lisbon referendum. I can't find it online but it went as follows:

Vote Yes:
    • For the Economy
    • For Jobs
    • To piss off Sinn Fein and Declan Ganley

Ryanair had a brilliant poster during the Lisbon referendum. I can't find it online but it went as follows:

Vote Yes:
    • For the Economy
    • For Jobs
    • To piss off Sinn Fein and Declan Ganley

That must have been before Michael O’Leary fell out with the EU.

He fell out with the EU? Ryanair were quite active in the anti-Brexit campaign.

He finds some of their rules annoying (particularly the EU261 stuff) but I don't recall seeing anything overtly anti-EU in general from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I have to say I’m impressed by Casey’s campaign.

He’s a total gombeen but he’s run a pretty excellent modern social media campaign. Like a small time Pena Nieto with the constant lies and misdirection

He fell out with the EU? Ryanair were quite active in the anti-Brexit campaign.

He finds some of their rules annoying (particularly the EU261 stuff) but I don't recall seeing anything overtly anti-EU in general from him.

He was waxing lyrical about them blocking his take over attempts of Aer Lingus. Don’t actually think he is anti EU, but has had a fair few run ins with them in the last few years.

Ah ok, I do actually remember that alright. He is who he is, can't put a huge amount of faith into what he says but you can put faith in what he spends money on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,992 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I don't think so Venjur. There's 2 real political parties in ireland and it's always one or the other.

One of the things I found mad was my wife "telling" me to vote FG. The reason was "my family have always been FG".
    My best mate who lives in donegal votes FF because "my father and his father voted FF".

There might be a hunger for change but it will always be FF or FG come polling day.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,393 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

mfceiling wrote: »
    I don't think so Venjur. There's 2 real political parties in ireland and it's always one or the other.

One of the things I found mad was my wife "telling" me to vote FG. The reason was "my family have always been FG".
    My best mate who lives in donegal votes FF because "my father and his father voted FF".

There might be a hunger for change but it will always be FF or FG come polling day.

They basically are the same party at this stage