Nonso & Family - why bother with the legal route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

One of the more distressing things about this, and I am astonished that nobody has even brought it up, but what about the inhumanity of giving the poor child a name like Nonso. He'd be forever known as Nonce-o the Nonce.

Should have changed his name to Biffo as mentioned in the post above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Absolute joke. This country is pathetic.

Wtf is your problem. Thousands of references indicate that this family are valuable contributing members to our society. I'm a huge advocate for much stronger controls on immigration but this decision is absolutely correct.

What are you seeing that most sensible minded people are not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

One of the more distressing things about this, and I am astonished that nobody has even brought it up, but what about the inhumanity of giving the poor child a name like Nonso. He'd be forever known as Nonce-o the Nonce.

Should have changed his name to Biffo as mentioned in the post above.

removed2 wrote: »
    why are all you post questions

You read all 5000+ posts?
    I'm flattered!

There are None so blind as those that cannot see

Cowen, leader of men. A giant in the history of mankind.

Or a Biffo

Probably more the latter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

bubblypop wrote: »
    Why?
    Because a child that has lived here all his life & no doubt identifies as Irish, gets to stay here rather than move him to a foreign land?
    I don't see anything pathetic about that.

I identify as being good looking, it doesn’t mean I am. Essentially he has a mad version of squatters rights in Ireland. Ah sure, he’s here long enough we may as well let him stay. There’s s reason these people skip all of Europe and land straight in Dublin. We’re the softest touch in the world.

Between the knackers turning down those houses in Tipperary and Margaret Cash getting €50,000+ a year in the news again I’m nearing breaking point with this kip of a country this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

Dj Stiggie wrote: »
    Streamline the system? They're clearly a model family that are thought of highly in their community. His brother got a great leaving cert and is studying in UL. This young man inspired his classmates to rally around him and put in a lot more effort for anything than most adults do for their community, let alone teenagers.

Put yourself in their shoes for a second. Their mother was widowed and felt her life in Nigeria was so bad that she left everything and everyone she knew to start a new life in Ireland. As a nation we pine so much for everyone who left, but turn our backs on the people coming here for a better life. Anyone with kids would want the best life possible for their children and this is what she did.

And regarding laws being changed at will, etc. Anyone can start a petition and engage with lawmakers and authorities to make a difference. Most of us just can't be bothered. This is the first I've heard of this family, but I'm glad they get to stay in Ireland.

I’m happy that the family get to stay. They seem like a nice bunch, well integrated, highly motivated, achievers, and are probably a positive contribution to society. That, however, is completely beside the point. If we are to have a fair and functional asylum system, none of that matters. The mother applied for asylum. Having looked into her case, it was, for what ever reason found not to qualify. So therefore they should have been deported within a reasonable timeframe.

What if they were bone idle thickos. Never likely to work a day in their lives? Would you see that as a valid reason to refuse asylum if they were deserving? Do you see how that line of thinking doesn’t, and shouldn’t work?

Maybe you’re conflating economic migrants with asylum seekers. There’s a place for both, but they are very different.

Not to diminish the fella or his family's achievements but when I read the story it was painted that the brother and himself are exceptional.

I googled 1916 scholarships. I was mixing it up with the Easter Week scholarships. All I could find were 1916 bursaries which are available to people accessing university through non-traditional routes

https://ulsites.ul.ie/studentaffairs/1916-bursary-fund-2018-2019

Could plausibly be a shower of chancers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven
    MEGA - Make Éire Great Again

The problem with allowing Nonsos to stay is that it will give out a message to Ismahil Akinades in Nigeria to chance their arm at our asylum system by repeatedly making bogus claims here. Black African are already overrepresented in our unemployment and prison statistics. If we don't reform our asylum system, we're going to end up numerous high crime ghettos like UK, France and Sweden, all the while Koreans and Japanese laugh at us from their low-crime homogeneous societies.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Your Face wrote: »
    'Nonso & Family' sounds like a sitcom.

Leave to Remain sounds like a political satire about Brexit.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Feisar wrote: »
    So for every law we don't like we can start a hearts and minds campaign, good to know.

I drove three hours today to go to Cork and three hours home. If I was caught speeding, ah shur dacent lad earning a crust, sure let him off, trying to get home to the family.

Bollocks, if the system was more efficent he lad wouldn't have had a chance to be 99% Irish.

The mammy sought "asylum" her husbands family weren't nice to her.

Such a load of crap.

Imagine if you were caught speeding and deported to a country you'd never been to before. And that because of where your parents were born. Would you calmly accept that? Would you just feel like 'OK, I'm a lesser Irishman than all my friends because of my family origins. I deserve this' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

bubblypop wrote: »
    Flights?
    I know Irish family that lived in Nigeria for a few years.
    They bought flights.
    Presumably the same flights can be bought Nigeria to Ireland?

There are 0 DIRECT flights from Nigeria to Dublin, meaning that they transited through a second safe country to get here. Not asylum seekers, economic migrants. Why is Ireland so pathetic in sending jokers back to the first safe country they land in?? It’s our right, but there seems to be some stigma about sending them back!! Why are we taking on the legal bills etc that we don’t need to??

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Wtf is your problem. Thousands of references indicate that this family are valuable contributing members to our society. I'm a huge advocate for much stronger controls on immigration but this decision is absolutely correct.

What are you seeing that most sensible minded people are not?

So screw the law of the land of someone is nice?? That’s what’s pathetic. Ireland, land of the bleeding hearts.

Imagine if you were caught speeding and deported to a country you'd never been to before. And that because of where your parents were born. Would you calmly accept that? Would you just feel like 'OK, I'm a lesser Irishman than all my friends because of my family origins. I deserve this' ?

If only we could have a referendum where we, as a people, could decide if a child born here was automatically allowed to stay with their family. Make it legal like.

Oh wait we did. We decided that it was not a reason to be allowed stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Odhinn wrote: »
    That's what satan wants you to think.

Damm foiled again !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Not to diminish the fella or his family's achievements but when I read the story it was painted that the brother and himself are exceptional.

I googled 1916 scholarships. I was mixing it up with the Easter Week scholarships. All I could find were 1916 bursaries which are available to people accessing university through non-traditional routes

https://ulsites.ul.ie/studentaffairs/1916-bursary-fund-2018-2019

Could plausibly be a shower of chancers

They probably have spun it to sound like the older bro is the next Einstein when in reality, It’s just a way of getting into uni through “non traditional” routes.

Whole thing is a joke. They should’ve been deported having been refused after the appeal however many years ago it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Trust boards!

To be fair, the mother landed over here about a decade ago, chanced her arm at asylum and was denied. Presumably for good reason. So it was the mothers fault he grew up here rather than his own country

I am sure that in the intervening period, much of the state and public's money was spent on both their subsistence and legal fees and appeals.

Was she another Pamela? I don't know....maybe she paid for all the appeals herself......

At least they finally got rid of scammer Kunle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

the kid is irish now. not his fault the system is woefully inefficient. don't blame his mother for abusing the asylum process and coming here as an economic migrant either. I do blame a system that entertains piss takers and allows a decade of appeals by which time the child is irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

He’s on the news now

He says he wants to go to America to play basketball !

Wonder will the yanks be as free and easy with their permission to stay as us ?

They will in their...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

the kid is irish now. not his fault the system is woefully inefficient.

Is it though? As far as I know the large majority of initial decisions are given reasonably promptly - it was within six months a few years ago anyway. The delays begin when the lawyers get involved, deliberately dragging things out for years on end....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Feisar

He was two when he arrived, the radio said yesterday they will be able to apply for citizenship, so not Irish. They applied for asylum, it was rejected as was several appeals.
    I've no issue with the lad/family in question however it seems they didn't meet the criteria but sure a bit of hearts and minds sorts it out in the end. Why bother with due process at all.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    He was two when he arrived, the radio said yesterday they will be able to apply for citizenship, so not Irish. They applied for asylum, it was rejected as was several appeals.
    I've no issue with the lad/family in question however it seems they didn't meet the criteria but sure a bit of hearts and minds sorts it out in the end. Why bother with due process at all.

Exactly, we should have an X-Factor style migrant system. If you have a good sob story, can get a few schoolkids behind you you'll have a chance to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jay0109

We either have an immigration and asylum process or we don't. From wanted terrorists in North Africa to families looking for a change of scene from Nigeria, we don't seem to be able to deport any where near the numbers that the system rejects. Of course this is mostly down to the legal profession who have their greedy paws all over the immigration racket and are making millions every year- a real cash cow that they will milk for as long as possible.

This family don't seem to have a very strong story to back up their asylum claim. The system agreed. The appeals process agreed. But they dragged it out as long as they could, aided and abetted by solicitors/barristers. They should have been deported 7 or 8 years ago but they made that difficult.

And now at the whim of a politician who no doubt has an eye on votes in his local constituency, the family get to stay. So 2 fingers to the immigration system that found them to be economic migrants who couldn't be bothered applying for work visas and came via the asylum route.

I hope the same people that campaigned for them to stay won't be complaining in future about politicians pulling strokes or showing favouritism to businesses, local interests over the national good etc ....it all comes from the same well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    nintchdbpict000226456836.jpg?strip=all&w=960

This pic sums up a lot. Emotion is allowed govern things in our world today like never before. It can lead to all kinds of issues down the line. I'm not saying western society has lost the run of itself, however, it is indeed pointed that way.
    Try_harder wrote: »
    The whole school
    Campaigned for him and his family to stay- they are very intelligent and very much an asset to the community

I appreciate every last word you typed there. I'm sure this will work out well for all concerned.

However there is a question beyond all this: can you run a country in this way where emotional appeal behind a particular case can see criteria suspended willy-nilly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Is it though? As far as I know the large majority of initial decisions are given reasonably promptly - it was within six months a few years ago anyway. The delays begin when the lawyers get involved, deliberately dragging things out for years on end....
    Well the legal system that entertains a decade of appeals even after the relevant body has made its decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

Absolute ridiculous nonsense.

They should have been deported years ago, who is responsible for this mess.

I want to retire to Florida, I might chance booking a flight today and just turn up. I can tell the Yanks I am homeless here and afraid of the neighbours.

Do you think they will let me live rent free somewhere and provide all my meals for the next nine years. I am picky about food so I will get onto the Florida Daily if they serve me chips more than once a week.

If I stay ten years then hopefully the locals will get a petition going so I can see out my days playing golf in the Florida heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Delighted at this news. Absolutely ridiculous that proceedings were taken so far. It's great to see that the various petitions and social media campaigns forced an about-turn from the Dept.

He's going to be an asset to this Country - I only wish we could deport of indigenous layabouts instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I see absolutely zero issue with the public having the power to get a review of cases where bureaucracy appears to be steamrolling genuine need.

This parallels in may ways, Rebecca Carter's fight to have her points upgraded.

If we were to stick with the system and the rules, there was no right for her to have her upgrade expedited. But her genuine needs were being overlooked in favour of sticking with the red tape. And a court agreed that was not cool.

Same here; under the rules this kid and his family had no right to stay, but their genuine need was being steamrolled by red tape. And we (as a society) agreed that was not cool.

Can anyone offer a good argument as to why they should have been deported which doesn't boil down to, "because the rules say so"?

I would personally favour grandfather clauses for children of immigrants. That is, any child who's spent at least 5 continuous years of their first eight, living in Ireland, should be entitled to be naturalised. It's crazy that children can grow up in Ireland and then be deported.