Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nonso & Family - why bother with the legal route

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

'Nonso & Family' sounds like a sitcom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

nintchdbpict000226456836.jpg?strip=all&w=960

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

imme wrote: »
    News filtered through today that nonso and his family get to stay in Ireland.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/teenager-fearing-deportation-granted-leave-to-stay-in-ireland-with-his-family-37406304.html

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/1010/1002273-nonso-muojekes/

There is generous coverage in the media centering on Nonso, not much mention of his mother and brother.

Nonso was 2 when his mother came to Ireland with her children and claimed asylum.
    They were denied asylum in 2009.
    They were denied asylum on appeal.

Now as a result of a media Nonso and family have been granted Leave To Remain.
    They will be allowed to apply for Irish citizenship in the coming years.

If you tough out the asylum process, exhaust appeal routes you can still get there thanks to social media.
    Thanks social media, no need to bother with the legal proceeds.

You're just afraid Nonso will up lining out for whatever county Tullamore is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

He’s lived in Ireland 99% of his life. He knows nothing but Ireland. He’s as Irish as any 14 year old born and raised here.

Imagine how terrifying it must be to have the prospect of deportation to a country he has never known. Without any fault of his own.

These circumstances should have been taken into consideration before deportation proceedings were started against the family.

Luckily common scenes has prevailed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

You're just afraid Nonso will up lining out for whatever county Tullamore is in.

Offaly

They tuk r houses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Try_harder wrote: »
    Offaly

Give over you with your county Offaly , there's no such place.

The whole school
    Campaigned for him and his family to stay- they are very intelligent and very much an asset to the community

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

If you tough out the asylum process, exhaust appeal routes you can still get there thanks to social media.

Good for them!

They also wouldn’t have been permitted to stay in Ireland had they not gone through legal proceedings btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

So for every law we don't like we can start a hearts and minds campaign, good to know.

I drove three hours today to go to Cork and three hours home. If I was caught speeding, ah shur dacent lad earning a crust, sure let him off, trying to get home to the family.

Bollocks, if the system was more efficent he lad wouldn't have had a chance to be 99% Irish.

The mammy sought "asylum" her husbands family weren't nice to her.

Such a load of crap.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭removed2

News filtered through today that nonso and his family get to stay in Ireland.
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/teenager-fearing-deportation-granted-leave-to-stay-in-ireland-with-his-family-37406304.html

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/1010/1002273-nonso-muojekes/

There is generous coverage in the media centering on Nonso, not much mention of his mother and brother.

Nonso was 2 when his mother came to Ireland with her children and claimed asylum.
    They were denied asylum in 2009.
    They were denied asylum on appeal.

Now as a result of a media Nonso and family have been granted Leave To Remain.
    They will be allowed to apply for Irish citizenship in the coming years.

heard this on the radio
    huge credit to Nonso classmates,
    that is real politics,
    literal schoolkids getting 22 thousand signatures, lobbying their local minister, charlie flanagan, and getting a result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

Feisar wrote: »
    So for every law we don't like we can start a hearts and minds campaign, good to know.

I drove three hours today to go to Cork and three hours home. If I was caught speeding, ah shur dacent lad earning a crust, sure let him off, trying to get home to the family.

Bollocks, if the system was more efficent he lad wouldn't have had a chance to be 99% Irish.

Such a load of crap.

I think that’s the crux of the issue. If the system was more efficient, there wouldn’t be a problem. The family would have been deported 10 years or more ago.
    The major issue now regarding this family (and probably many others) is that it seems very unfair on the kids to deport them to what is an alien country to them.
    We need to streamline our asylum process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Streamline the system? They're clearly a model family that are thought of highly in their community. His brother got a great leaving cert and is studying in UL. This young man inspired his classmates to rally around him and put in a lot more effort for anything than most adults do for their community, let alone teenagers.

Put yourself in their shoes for a second. Their mother was widowed and felt her life in Nigeria was so bad that she left everything and everyone she knew to start a new life in Ireland. As a nation we pine so much for everyone who left, but turn our backs on the people coming here for a better life. Anyone with kids would want the best life possible for their children and this is what she did.

And regarding laws being changed at will, etc. Anyone can start a petition and engage with lawmakers and authorities to make a difference. Most of us just can't be bothered. This is the first I've heard of this family, but I'm glad they get to stay in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Absolute joke. This country is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Surely the problem here is a system that lets the application and appeals drag out for so long?

The fact that the lad has been here from 2 till nearly adulthood without his status being finalised is one hell of an indictment on how our immigration processes work. I’d be fairly hardline when it comes to illegals being given leave to remain, but even still I’d have massive sympathy for this family. Justice delayed is justice denied, etc., etc.

Guarantee that all applications and appeals will be dealt with and decided within a max of 2 years, and then the emotive appeals such as these won’t have any ground to stand on. Be as strict as possible with the rules, but cut this BS of leaving people hanging for nearly 2 decades

Dj Stiggie wrote: »
    Streamline the system? They're clearly a model family that are thought of highly in their community. His brother got a great leaving cert and is studying in UL. This young man inspired his classmates to rally around him and put in a lot more effort for anything than most adults do for their community, let alone teenagers.

Put yourself in their shoes for a second. Their mother was widowed and felt her life in Nigeria was so bad that she left everything and everyone she knew to start a new life in Ireland. As a nation we pine so much for everyone who left, but turn our backs on the people coming here for a better life. Anyone with kids would want the best life possible for their children and this is what she did.

And regarding laws being changed at will, etc. Anyone can start a petition and engage with lawmakers and authorities to make a difference. Most of us just can't be bothered. This is the first I've heard of this family, but I'm glad they get to stay in Ireland.

How did they get to Ireland without stopping in another safe country?? Any direct transport routes?? Pathetic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Offaly or Nigeria?, Offaly or Nigeria.....

tough call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Give over you with your county Offaly , there's no such place.

That's what satan wants you to think.

I think that’s the crux of the issue. If the system was more efficient, there wouldn’t be a problem. The family would have been deported 10 years or more ago.
    The major issue now regarding this family (and probably many others) is that it seems very unfair on the kids to deport them to what is an alien country to them.
    We need to streamline our asylum process.
    alan shatter started the asylum seekers programme
    a true irish man:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭Odhinn

removed2 wrote: »

Why the sarcasm?

How did they get to Ireland without stopping in another safe country?? Any direct transport routes?? Pathetic.

Flights?
    I know Irish family that lived in Nigeria for a few years.
    They bought flights.
    Presumably the same flights can be bought Nigeria to Ireland?

What does this mean?
    You know there were asylum seekers in Ireland before shatter was minister yes?

Why?
    Because a child that has lived here all his life & no doubt identifies as Irish, gets to stay here rather than move him to a foreign land?
    I don't see anything pathetic about that.

heard this on the radio
    huge credit to Nonso classmates,
    that is real politics,
    literal schoolkids getting 22 thousand signatures, lobbying their local minister, charlie flanagan, and getting a result

Technically he isn't

bubblypop wrote: »
    What does this mean?
    You know there were asylum seekers in Ireland before shatter was minister yes?

why are all you post questions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Nothing like a bit of the Aul subtle inference (not) about Shatter's religion.

Given Shatter was born in Dublin and raised here, I think that makes him Irish.

Nothing like a bit of the Aul subtle inference (not) about Shatter's religion.

Given Shatter was born in Dublin and raised here, I think that makes him Irish.
    exactly
    all irish should read his book promoting degeneracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

tough call.

Ah look. There's no comparison. The Northern part of it has been overrun by feral gangs of pseudo-human animals. 100% against Western education or values. A refuge for a backwards twisted and perverted ideology and way of living. Trying to drive the place even further back to the stone age than it already was. People trying to live there have nothing. Not even hope. Who in their right mind would not seek any possible chance to escape from such a hellhole and get their family to a safe place.

Nigeria on the other hand is probably grand.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

tough call.

Biffo is from Offaly....

Nigeria it is so....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

No problem with this. A popular young chap and seems the family have integrated well into the community and common sense has prevailed. He will likely be a valuable contributor to society by all accounts.

In reality, it should never have got this far. Smacks of some officials just doing something to be seen to be doing something.

Now as for all the non skilled rogues coming to leach of our welfare systems and refuse to integrate and stick with their own, well thats a different story.

One of the more distressing things about this, and I am astonished that nobody has even brought it up, but what about the inhumanity of giving the poor child a name like Nonso. He'd be forever known as Nonce-o the Nonce.

Should have changed his name to Biffo as mentioned in the post above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Wtf is your problem. Thousands of references indicate that this family are valuable contributing members to our society. I'm a huge advocate for much stronger controls on immigration but this decision is absolutely correct.

What are you seeing that most sensible minded people are not?

One of the more distressing things about this, and I am astonished that nobody has even brought it up, but what about the inhumanity of giving the poor child a name like Nonso. He'd be forever known as Nonce-o the Nonce.

Should have changed his name to Biffo as mentioned in the post above.

why are all you post questions

You read all 5000+ posts?
    I'm flattered!

There are None so blind as those that cannot see

Cowen, leader of men. A giant in the history of mankind.

Or a Biffo

Probably more the latter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

Why?
    Because a child that has lived here all his life & no doubt identifies as Irish, gets to stay here rather than move him to a foreign land?
    I don't see anything pathetic about that.

I identify as being good looking, it doesn’t mean I am. Essentially he has a mad version of squatters rights in Ireland. Ah sure, he’s here long enough we may as well let him stay. There’s s reason these people skip all of Europe and land straight in Dublin. We’re the softest touch in the world.

Between the knackers turning down those houses in Tipperary and Margaret Cash getting €50,000+ a year in the news again I’m nearing breaking point with this kip of a country this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

Dj Stiggie wrote: »

I’m happy that the family get to stay. They seem like a nice bunch, well integrated, highly motivated, achievers, and are probably a positive contribution to society. That, however, is completely beside the point. If we are to have a fair and functional asylum system, none of that matters. The mother applied for asylum. Having looked into her case, it was, for what ever reason found not to qualify. So therefore they should have been deported within a reasonable timeframe.

What if they were bone idle thickos. Never likely to work a day in their lives? Would you see that as a valid reason to refuse asylum if they were deserving? Do you see how that line of thinking doesn’t, and shouldn’t work?

Maybe you’re conflating economic migrants with asylum seekers. There’s a place for both, but they are very different.

Not to diminish the fella or his family's achievements but when I read the story it was painted that the brother and himself are exceptional.

I googled 1916 scholarships. I was mixing it up with the Easter Week scholarships. All I could find were 1916 bursaries which are available to people accessing university through non-traditional routes

https://ulsites.ul.ie/studentaffairs/1916-bursary-fund-2018-2019

Could plausibly be a shower of chancers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

The problem with allowing Nonsos to stay is that it will give out a message to Ismahil Akinades in Nigeria to chance their arm at our asylum system by repeatedly making bogus claims here. Black African are already overrepresented in our unemployment and prison statistics. If we don't reform our asylum system, we're going to end up numerous high crime ghettos like UK, France and Sweden, all the while Koreans and Japanese laugh at us from their low-crime homogeneous societies.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Your Face wrote: »
    'Nonso & Family' sounds like a sitcom.

Leave to Remain sounds like a political satire about Brexit.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Feisar wrote: »

Such a load of crap.

Imagine if you were caught speeding and deported to a country you'd never been to before. And that because of where your parents were born. Would you calmly accept that? Would you just feel like 'OK, I'm a lesser Irishman than all my friends because of my family origins. I deserve this' ?

Flights?
    I know Irish family that lived in Nigeria for a few years.
    They bought flights.
    Presumably the same flights can be bought Nigeria to Ireland?

There are 0 DIRECT flights from Nigeria to Dublin, meaning that they transited through a second safe country to get here. Not asylum seekers, economic migrants. Why is Ireland so pathetic in sending jokers back to the first safe country they land in?? It’s our right, but there seems to be some stigma about sending them back!! Why are we taking on the legal bills etc that we don’t need to??

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Wtf is your problem. Thousands of references indicate that this family are valuable contributing members to our society. I'm a huge advocate for much stronger controls on immigration but this decision is absolutely correct.

What are you seeing that most sensible minded people are not?

So screw the law of the land of someone is nice?? That’s what’s pathetic. Ireland, land of the bleeding hearts.

Imagine if you were caught speeding and deported to a country you'd never been to before. And that because of where your parents were born. Would you calmly accept that? Would you just feel like 'OK, I'm a lesser Irishman than all my friends because of my family origins. I deserve this' ?

If only we could have a referendum where we, as a people, could decide if a child born here was automatically allowed to stay with their family. Make it legal like.

Oh wait we did. We decided that it was not a reason to be allowed stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Odhinn wrote: »
    That's what satan wants you to think.

Damm foiled again !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Not to diminish the fella or his family's achievements but when I read the story it was painted that the brother and himself are exceptional.

I googled 1916 scholarships. I was mixing it up with the Easter Week scholarships. All I could find were 1916 bursaries which are available to people accessing university through non-traditional routes

https://ulsites.ul.ie/studentaffairs/1916-bursary-fund-2018-2019

Could plausibly be a shower of chancers

They probably have spun it to sound like the older bro is the next Einstein when in reality, It’s just a way of getting into uni through “non traditional” routes.

Whole thing is a joke. They should’ve been deported having been refused after the appeal however many years ago it was.

Trust boards!

To be fair, the mother landed over here about a decade ago, chanced her arm at asylum and was denied. Presumably for good reason. So it was the mothers fault he grew up here rather than his own country

I am sure that in the intervening period, much of the state and public's money was spent on both their subsistence and legal fees and appeals.

Was she another Pamela? I don't know....maybe she paid for all the appeals herself......

At least they finally got rid of scammer Kunle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

the kid is irish now. not his fault the system is woefully inefficient. don't blame his mother for abusing the asylum process and coming here as an economic migrant either. I do blame a system that entertains piss takers and allows a decade of appeals by which time the child is irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

He’s on the news now

He says he wants to go to America to play basketball !

Wonder will the yanks be as free and easy with their permission to stay as us ?

They will in their...