Would you allow a homeless family live in a mobile home/caravan on your property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

what a great question,---with all those out shouting 'help the homeless they need homes , would they take a person into their home to keep them off the street? iI think not, maybe a few do care but when it would come to the pinch i can't see them doing it, we have 2 very large Priest's houses in our town [sorry i don't know how many priests are in the town] but for sure no more than 2 per house why would they not give up some rooms to the homeless and do God's will to help the poor, No sir they're not having any of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Sewage would be one of my concerns and you could get landed with any type of family.

I have it on good authority that one solution is to shite in da bucket

Or, it's newer version, and if you happen to have one handy, shite in the bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,908 ✭✭✭✭elperello

eh? i know a family who are currently living in such circumstances. its not illegal at all to the best of my knowledge.

Useful article here -

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/homes-and-property/if-i-buy-a-plot-of-land-do-i-need-planning-permission-for-a-caravan-1.3507296

Ah, nooooo.

yes I would have a homeless family live on my property, on the understanding that the occupants would have no addiction problems and have had no criminal record. If a family were in genuine need of a place to stay and they were decent people, then I would be happy to have them stay on my property until such a time that they found something more suitable.

There would be a couple of conditions.

They would have to be garda vetted.

No pets.

Separate utility bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

yes I would have a homeless family live on my property, on the understanding that the occupants would have no addiction problems and have had no criminal record. If a family were in genuine need of a place to stay and they were decent people, then I would be happy to have them stay on my property until such a time that they found something more suitable.

There would be a couple of conditions.

They would have to be garda vetted.

No pets.

Separate utility bills.
    So if someone has a criminal record from 25 years ago **** em. But a person homeless 2 days can get a spot. A bit judgemental no

Yeah, it seems they can get a spot if they meet his requirements (which I agree with). His property, his rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

decky1 wrote: »
    what a great question,---with all those out shouting 'help the homeless they need homes , would they take a person into their home to keep them off the street? iI think not, maybe a few do care but when it would come to the pinch i can't see them doing it, we have 2 very large Priest's houses in our town [sorry i don't know how many priests are in the town] but for sure no more than 2 per house why would they not give up some rooms to the homeless and do God's will to help the poor, No sir they're not having any of it.

You could set an eg and offer a room or even a coach to a homeless person, this could start a movement in the town. Priests and all could become involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I think in a hotel they'd annoy other guests!

Yes, the poster above was very quick to blame the family :eek:

You could set an eg and offer a room or even a coach to a homeless person, this could start a movement in the town. Priests and all could become involved.

easier to put all the priests in one house and let homeless folk use the other... but then empty church houses etc could house all the homeless but it does not happen that way sadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,930 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Graces7 wrote: »
    easier to put all the priests in one house and let homeless folk use the other... but then empty church houses etc could house all the homeless but it does not happen that way sadly

So now we are saying people cant live in a house on their own?

I would have no interest in housing anyone I do not have facilities for. If I had a septic tank that they could somehow link their housing solution into and I had water supplies that were compatible with linking up to them - I might consider it. But I have no way to offer them such facilities at this time - so I would not consider it.

I do however have a small spare house on my land and have been known to house people in need in it on occasion. Most notably a brother and sister orphan duo where the sister was postponing college to work to make ends meet to help the brother finish the leaving and get into college. Not having to pay rent and some facilities made a significant difference to their lives. And lovely people they were too. Friends for life now I think.

So certainly open to helping the homeless and people in similar need - but not in a throw the doors open and let anyone in any situation just land in and hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭garv123

ZX7R wrote: »
    They won't accept emergency accommodation in a hotel because there child ADSD

But it's better for the child to be in a caravan???
    Statements like this make me wonder about the parents intentions in cases like this..

Every child has ADHD (self diagnosed by lazy parents) these days, or else some other form of emotional difficulty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

ZX7R wrote: »
    They won't accept emergency accommodation in a hotel because there child ADSD

But it's better for the child to be in a caravan???
    Statements like this make me wonder about the parents intentions in cases like this..

This.
    The excuses for not taking on what is on offer are many and varied. In my area 4 spanking new houses built for purpose (as part of a bigger estate close to the town centre) were refused by families "on the list" for whatever fanciful reasons.
    Cut the BS.

OP no I wouldn't. Like others, I feel I am contributing well into the pot to help these people out. There has to be a semblance of fairness here; they are not entitled to my property, and I don't have to suffer the inconvenience.

If there had been an earthquake or a hurricane, and all other accommodation was unavailable, then I would consider it on a very temporary basis.

edit : oh, and reading the article it concludes with a quote from Cllr McCarthy saying
    I will help them if they do the right thing. John is a nice lad that deserves to be looked after.

I'm a really nice lady, and I deserve to be looked after too, but I ain't getting nothin' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

There is a family living in a caravan/mobile in a picnic area outside Fermoy. They are due to be evicted Today. They have no where to go and can't accept emergency accommodation in a hotel due to one of the kids ADHD.
    If it was allowed would you allow a family similar to this move into your garden/driveway until they got sorted?
    Same would go for all families living in a small hotel room. Would you allow them live on your driveway in caravan/mobile home until a social house became available?
    Now the family would never be required to enter your house.
    I don't know if you'd get paid.
    I personally don't think I would feel comfortable doing this.
    Sewage would be one of my concerns and you could get landed with any type of family.

Would you allow a homeless family live in a mobile home/caravan on your property?

No. Force the Catholic Church to allow homeless sleep in the abundance of properties that they are sitting on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Not in a million f**king years.

So now we are saying people cant live in a house on their own?

:confused: no one said that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,454 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/politics/former-irish-soldier-homeless-living-13362599

if this girl asked me I would consider it .

She said: “I’ve never tried to live off the country and would love to work seven days a week if I could.

“I do horticultural work when it is available but I am taxed and I can’t afford to rent a home so I feel trapped.

iamwhoiam wrote: »

Another charming poster girl.

"Because I'm taxed I can't afford a home".

So the "free everything now" crowd are angling for no taxes on the rare as hen's teeth occasions they work ????

Perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

There is a family living in a caravan/mobile in a picnic area outside Fermoy. They are due to be evicted Today. They have no where to go and can't accept emergency accommodation in a hotel due to one of the kids ADHD.
    If it was allowed would you allow a family similar to this move into your garden/driveway until they got sorted?
    Same would go for all families living in a small hotel room. Would you allow them live on your driveway in caravan/mobile home until a social house became available?
    Now the family would never be required to enter your house.
    I don't know if you'd get paid.
    I personally don't think I would feel comfortable doing this.

I wouldn’t allow that family, because the husband is a scumbag with a list of convictions as long as your arm. Others, if they were in genuine need, I’d consider it.

Another charming poster girl.

"Because I'm taxed I can't afford a home".

So the "free everything now" crowd are angling for no taxes on the rare as hen's teeth occasions they work ????

Perfect.

The girl is down on her luck and yet you still find no empathy and simply sneer at her problems ?

Yes.

"Down on her luck" - how do you know ?

We don't know the full story and with other similar tales of woe recently, no one asks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Well, I hate to break it to you, Larry, but if Mr. Burns ever wants to see a stranger, he will observe him through a powerful telescope.

Yes.

We don't know the full story and with other similar tales of woe recently, no one asks.

She served her country for eight years, guarding money transfers between banks, helping out in national emergencies and training army cadets.

I think I would prefer to give her a chance rather then sneer and look down on her .But thats me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As I have said before, there is ALWAYS more to these sob stories than they want to reveal.

Their caravan has no running water or electricity and there are two adults and four children living in it. Yet they claim that's better than emergency accommodation with an ADHD child.

Bullsh1t. There's something else. Such as:
    John told Neil Prendeville on Cork's Red FM that the family originally moved into a caravan next to his parents' house after the home they were renting was no longer available.
    When that move became no longer viable they made the decision to move the caravan to the picnic park on the Cork Road in Fermoy.

Whoah, whoah, what? So they were living on his parents land and that "became no longer viable"? What does that mean?

My family is currently living IN my wife's parents' house and while it's temporary and a bit of a struggle, I know for a fact that if we were in need, we could stay for the next decade if we had to.
    What could possibly have changed in their circumstances that a caravan in the garden is "no longer viable"?

I'm going to guess here that the child being difficult, is not the problem. The parents being difficult, is likely the problem. It's why they couldn't stay at his parents, and why emergency accommodation is "not suitable".

I have sympathy for the ex-soldier above, but the mirror seems intent on just writing a "Grr Leo" article rather than any real news. It's all appeal to emotion. A single person will be very far down the list, it's wrong but we know this is the case and it's been like that for decades. However, there's no information on why she's living in her car and not looking for emergency accommodation. And her work situation seems...odd. She's not disabled because she can work, but only works sporadically. We're nearly at full employment, she's not married or pregnant. So what's her barrier to working full-time?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

I'd help out family or close friends in a desperate situation, but never ever a stranger. You'd have no idea what you'd be letting yourself in for.

There is a system in place for people who fall on hard times. Stories like these in newspapers always, always, always have more to them than what you read in quotes. People fall through the cracks and while I have sympathy for anyone having to sleep rough, some situations are just unfixable, no matter how many protests you have about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Yes.

She’s actually willing to work, seems like a decent sort.
    Another thing I would like to bring to your attention is that a year ago when I was down in the Council, one of the Council workers told me, your best bet is to go get yourself pregnant and you should get a house that way.

“That’s not how they should be doing their job.

“He tried to say, I’m not being rude, but to even say something like that with the situation the country is in, bring another life on to the Earth and let that suffer too.

“That’s what he said to me, that was heartbreaking .”

A scrounger would have just got herself pregnant, like Ms.Cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,209 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Depends on the family but most likely not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

She served her country for eight years, guarding money transfers between banks, helping out in national emergencies and training army cadets.

I think I would prefer to give her a chance rather then sneer and look down on her .But thats me .

Was she not paid while doing all that ??
    Where is her family In all this ??

I’m sure if you want to take her into your home and give her a chance the newspaper will pass on your details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,934 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Not in a million years.
    I work hard and saved hard for my property and I'm doing the same again now with an 18 month plan to upgrade to a bigger house.
    And after that will be the same 18 month plan again to get back into the domestic rental market.

If I can work hard 60+ hour weeks at times with nothing to show for it except savings and mortgage approvals why should I subsidise someone else to get what I get but they get it on my dime?? No.

I'm often in the office before 6am even on Sundays and I don't leave until 6 or later most days. And I still can't afford (yet) to live where I want. I hate, despise, abhor, (insert other synonyms here) this notion that if you don't pay your way, oh well "de stahte" should give it to you for free.