Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Garda savagely attacked by youths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,658 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

mynamejeff wrote: »
    you seem very happy for someone else to confront criminals on your behalf but would deny them the means to defend themselves.

Why should people who refuse to abide by the laws of the state be protected by them ?

ps i dont expect proper answer from you so relax

Well I'll give you a simple answer. Justice necessarily exists on a sliding scale and no police force is judge / jury / executioner wrapped into one.

In this scenario, where two Gards are heavily outnumbered why are they rushing in? Hang back, call backup, take photos and follow them if they run off? I'm not happy for Gards to confront criminals in this manner where it comes off as them being poorly trained and prepared - not that it takes away from the good intentions of the Gard directly involved, or means he deserved what happened to him of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Sounds like that gang need a good 6 month suspended sentence and a free house to set them on the right track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Another example of people in Irish society who have no fear or respect for the law of the land. Until scumbags start getting proper sentences these type of instances will happen. Wheter it's a Guard, a rural farmer or innocent person just walking down the street these situations seem to be becoming more common in part due to lack of fear of actual punishment from the courts.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/garda-suffers-severe-facial-injuries-after-savage-teen-assault-37382547.html

Imagine if this was America and they did that to a US Cop ???
    Shot dead, or if survived sent down for FELONY charges.
    Probably for life.

Ireland is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭judestynes

Most definitely. If they physically assault an officer in the states it would be pop pop pop.only a statistic.one less good for nothing scummer around

And the odd"mistake" when the cops walks into the wrong apartment and shoots the occupant. Speaking for myself the last thing I want to see is sidearms on general issue to rank and file gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

While in the city on Dame Street today I witnessed a fist fight between 3 guys in the open, broad daylight. Not a garda to be seen.

(bit embarrassed because tourists were looking at this spectacle as well)

If we refuse to have what I would regard as a proper police force up to normal western standards - and the fact we subsidise scumbags to the extent we do - what do we expect?

There is no real punishment.

BTW I regard this story as an attempted murder.

This is the problem in Dublin right now, there are just f all Garda to be seen.

During the summer on one of the nice hot evenings we were having a few beers in the Church bar in Dublin 1. In the square right beside this were about 20 absolute scum (aged 15 to 40) hanging out and drinking (all day by the state of them). Then the fighting, screaming and what I can barely describe as it was a like a comedy skit happened with one woman throwing herself down a few times pretending to be having a fit. The ambulance was called for her and when it arrived up she got like there wasn't a thing wrong with her. Now there must have been 100 tourists sitting around us also watching this, what kind of image do you think they took away from Dublin?

I couldn't believe they were just allowed to stay there drinking their cans all day.

This went on for an hour, not one Garda walked past that square in that whole time, and this is in reality the City centre (just beside the Jervis centre). How is that possible?

Never mind the fact that ambulance were called out for nothing, the money wasted on that when they could have been saving someone else's life who actually needed help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Well I'll give you a simple answer. Justice necessarily exists on a sliding scale and no police force is judge / jury / executioner wrapped into one.

In this scenario, where two Gards are heavily outnumbered why are they rushing in? Hang back, call backup, take photos and follow them if they run off? I'm not happy for Gards to confront criminals in this manner where it comes off as them being poorly trained and prepared - not that it takes away from the good intentions of the Gard directly involved, or means he deserved what happened to him of course.

Why didn't the Guard use Kung Fu and beat them all back ?

My idea is less fanciful than yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,658 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Danzy wrote: »
    Why didn't the Guard use Kung Fu and beat them all back ?

My idea is less fanciful than yours.

Less fanciful, how? How is bulling in outnumbered ~10 - 2 ever a good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,840 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

judestynes wrote: »
    And the odd"mistake" when the cops walks into the wrong apartment and shoots the occupant. Speaking for myself the last thing I want to see is sidearms on general issue to rank and file gardai.

The fact that the guards are currently expected to patrol the streets where people are stabbed and seriously assaulted on a weekly basis carrying only a stick and a radio is an absolute joke at this stage. The scum are thriving and there’s areas where the guards can’t even go.add to that paramedics and fire fighters getting stoned and abused and I reckon it’s high time every guard was armed and told by their supers not to be sparing the bullets.
    You wouldn’t be long putting manners on the scum if a few of their scum friends were gunned down and disposed of.pop pop pop,pop pop pop.
    The time has come

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

CucaFace wrote: »
    This is the problem in Dublin right now, there are just f all Garda to be seen.

During the summer on one of the nice hot evenings we were having a few beers in the Church bar in Dublin 1. In the square right beside this were about 20 absolute scum (aged 15 to 40) hanging out and drinking (all day by the state of them). Then the fighting, screaming and what I can barely describe as it was a like a comedy skit happened with one woman throwing herself down a few times pretending to be having a fit. The ambulance was called for her and when it arrived up she got like there wasn't a thing wrong with her. Now there must have been 100 tourists sitting around us also watching this, what kind of image do you think they took away from Dublin?

I couldn't believe they were just allowed to stay there drinking their cans all day.

This went on for an hour, not one Garda walked past that square in that whole time, and this is in reality the City centre (just beside the Jervis centre). How is that possible?

Never mind the fact that ambulance were called out for nothing, the money wasted on that when they could have been saving someone else's life who actually needed help.

I was in Dublin during the summer for a weekend and that boardwalk place near the IFSC is like a scene from the zombie apocalypse. Genuinely feared for my life. There was a funny side though when some sort of LGBTQ parade passed waving rainbow flags and one of the scumbags, off his face on something enthusiastically shouted "Up the RA" ....

The fact that the guards are currently expected to patrol the streets where people are stabbed and seriously assaulted on a weekly basis carrying only a stick and a radio is an absolute joke at this stage. The scum are thriving and there’s areas where the guards can’t even go.add to that paramedics and fire fighters getting stoned and abused and I reckon it’s high time every guard was armed and told by their supers not to be sparing the bullets.
    You wouldn’t be long putting manners on the scum if a few of their scum friends were gunned down and disposed of.pop pop pop,pop pop pop.
    The time has come

I share your sentiments my man only thing is I don't trust an garda to limit that philosophy to the scum of the earth. Their record on fire discipline isn't great. With correct training and properly equipped with law enforcement ammunition but given that stab vests are a relitively new piece of kit when other forces were issued them years before an garda I can't see that happening anytime soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Imagine if this was America and they did that to a US Cop ???
    Shot dead, or if survived sent down for FELONY charges.
    Probably for life.

Ireland is a joke.

This has just happened

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2018/1004/1000834-south-carolina-shooting/

Is this what you want Ireland to be? Arm the gardai and they will be shot at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

What needs to happen is life needs to be made very uncomfortable for any criminals in the area, and let it be widely known that they are responsible for the heat. This will force the bigger criminals to keep these scrotes in check.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Simple is a good description of your answer. you seem to misunderstand the reality of the situation on real life.

Do you know that gardai are almost always outnumbered ? goodle garda under resourced and have a read

The stations in dublin city center cover multiple posts minding feud related targets (unarmed uniform gardai btw) they also cover the dublin port area which now has to be covered by those on regular policing rosters. In a city center station you might have a unit of ten or 15 to cover all that . then factor in court attendance those out injured those on other duties and figure how long it would take for say 5 or 6 gardai to get to you while you stand there like a twat waiting.
    should they have to look for back up to deal with some teenagers ? no the teenagers should be afraid of the consequences of being caught doing something wrong. on of those consequences should be that if they attack a police man they should be meet with overwhelming force it that escalates to death due to their own actions then so be it

The time has come

All evidence shows it makes it worse.

I suspect and with good reason by yheir own views that the Guards would fight your pub suggestion to the bitter end.

I've no problem with lethal force being applied and own shooting guns for hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭xckjoo

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Simple is a good description of your answer. you seem to misunderstand the reality of the situation on real life.

Do you know that gardai are almost always outnumbered ? goodle garda under resourced and have a read

The stations in dublin city center cover multiple posts minding feud related targets (unarmed uniform gardai btw) they also cover the dublin port area which now has to be covered by those on regular policing rosters. In a city center station you might have a unit of ten or 15 to cover all that . then factor in court attendance those out injured those on other duties and figure how long it would take for say 5 or 6 gardai to get to you while you stand there like a twat waiting.
    should they have to look for back up to deal with some teenagers ? no the teenagers should be afraid of the consequences of being caught doing something wrong. on of those consequences should be that if they attack a police man they should be meet with overwhelming force it that escalates to death due to their own actions then so be it

But arming them won't change the number of Gardai available. I guess they could just shoot people and move on to the next crime. As long as they aren't expected to do any paperwork after firing their weapon that is. Only 27% of cops in the US ever use their gun while on duty, so not going to make much of dent there.

Also, have you ever met a teenager? Consequences is not something they think about. It's kinda their thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,947 ✭✭✭Feisar

Time has come to be sending in the army with rubber bullets and blast the scum from the streets.

And that worked out well before!

First they came for the socialists...

Less fanciful, how? How is bulling in outnumbered ~10 - 2 ever a good idea?

If the Guards operate in that manner the force would seize up in a day. If they have to wait every time some group acts up then they are neutered beyond basic functioning.

Ten is a group it is normal hourly policing in many parts. Back up,photography, following on foot because the teenagers might be mean.

Danzy wrote: »
    All evidence shows it makes it worse.

I suspect and with good reason by yheir own views that the Guards would fight your pub suggestion to the bitter end.

I've no problem with lethal force being applied and own shooting guns for hunting.

What would you suggest in tackling the ever increasing problem of anti social behavior and violence on the streets?suspended sentences,free legal aid,extra dole,Christmas bonus,free house?because that’s all working out fantastically.

I still can’t get my head around the fact that a bunch of feral scum were able to loot the aldi store in Dublin during the snow and destroy a building in modern day society and the army weren’t drafted in and instructed to riddle them with bullets.this country is well and truly fukd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Scum who will no doubt breed even more scum and so around it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭soups05

I love the reporting on this, "savage beating", "almost lost an eye" "large bruise" since when did they become "horrific injuries ".
    Don't get me wrong, any scum who attacks a garda should be locked up, if they would do that to gardi what would they do to you and me, but the hyperbole seems a bit OTT.

I feel for the garda who was assaulted, I was attacked by two scum like that in my own garden last year, broken jaw, four days in hospital, on going issues. But they still walk the streets, the case is due up soon but I can't really see them going away for long (if at all).

Some call for arming the gardi, I would prefer to be allowed to arm myself. not a gun but maybe a taser,pepper spray etc. Those guys had a knife, we had nothing.

soups05 wrote: »
    I love the reporting on this, "savage beating", "almost lost an eye" "large bruise" since when did they become "horrific injuries ".
    Don't get me wrong, any scum who attacks a garda should be locked up, if they would do that to gardi what would they do to you and me, but the hyperbole seems a bit OTT.

I feel for the garda who was assaulted, I was attacked by two scum like that in my own garden last year, broken jaw, four days in hospital, on going issues. But they still walk the streets, the case is due up soon but I can't really see them going away for long (if at all).

Some call for arming the gardi, I would prefer to be allowed to arm myself. not a gun but maybe a taser,pepper spray etc. Those guys had a knife, we had nothing.

Sorry to hear about what happened to you soup.hope you get justice in court but the way this country is I doubt it.

The hysteria on this post must be a new high.

"Kill them!" "Shoot them!" "Neuter them!" "Forced abortions for all on welfare!"

Well done all! Shining examples of the human race here.

(I've reached a stage where I realize its pointless to offer a counter argument on these threads. Just carry on jerking yourselves off in a frantic frenzy, dreaming of being Robert DeNiro in Taxi Driver, "All the animals come out at night - whores, skunk pussies, buggers, queens, fairies, dopers, junkies, sick, venal. Someday a real rain will come and wash all this scum off the streets.")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

"Kill them!" "Shoot them!" "Neuter them!" "Forced abortions for all on welfare!"

(I've reached a stage where I realize its pointless to offer a counter argument on these threads. Just carry on jerking yourselves off in a frantic frenzy, dreaming of being Robert DeNiro in Taxi Driver, "All the animals come out at night - whores, skunk pussies, buggers, queens, fairies, dopers, junkies, sick, venal. Someday a real rain will come and wash all this scum off the streets.")

I agree that there is a fair bit of hysteria on this thread.
    I'm uncomfortable with the suggestion of state sponsored murder.

However ignoring the fact that these things happen is quite ignorant also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Gatling wrote: »
    All Garda should be given specialist firearm training and every guard should be issued a 9mm firearm

No thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Your Face wrote: »
    I agree that there is a fair bit of hysteria on this thread.
    I'm uncomfortable with the suggestion of state sponsored murder.

However ignoring the fact that these things happen is quite ignorant also.

I think though, that perhaps if we really really tried and put our heads together....that we could come up with something between 'lalalala it's not that bad' and 'kill em!!! kill em all and let God sort them out!!'

What would you suggest in tackling the ever increasing problem of anti social behavior and violence on the streets?suspended sentences,free legal aid,extra dole,Christmas bonus,free house?because that’s all working out fantastically.

Your suggestion is as ridiculous suspended sentences for lads with fifty convictions.

Are you going to force them to carry weapons against their better judgement and experience.

Your most bitter opponents will be the Guards on this issue.

It sounds decisive but is all it is, nothing to do with crime prevention or reduction and for that reason the Guards and others will oppose it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Yeah give the guards guns...and give the public free flak jackets.

Oh and make the guns clearly stamped...so the public will know what station to hand them in to when they find them on the street.

Some have definitely been hitting the crack pipe.

archer22 wrote: »
    Yeah give the guards guns...and give the public free flak jackets.

Oh and make the guns clearly stamped...so the public will know what station to hand them in to when they find them on the street.

It's funny coz it's true.