Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

You want a christmas bonus then work for it! You shouldn't get a bonus for doing sweet FA all year!

Quite right too!!!

OAPs should get it though, but that's it.

I note that you ONLY get it if you've been on the dole for 15 months - so unlucky and only temporarily out of work, sod all - long term scrounging lifer - kerching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

The media are beyond a joke at this stage.

I actually think they are using these white trash people to get people to buy the rags and I include the irish Times in rag description too.

She says hundreds of people complained about people drinking but of course nothing to do with her, it never is. Funny, I have lived in houses all my life and no one ever complained about drinking in my back garden, not even once never mind hundreds of times.

Some poor devils paid lots of money for new houses which back onto social housing near me. The social housing home owners sit drinking by their front doors from 4 PM onwards. They throw their remains of their dinners out the front doors too so the new home owners with their expensive mortgages have to avoid walking in someone elses dinner when they leave their houses. This is done because now disposal of household waste is paid by weight so obviously its cheaper to throw it out your front door or shove plastic bags full of food under the hedges in the local park.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Just saw no Xmas bonus. Thought that would have led to the "Buh MY TAXES" crowd being less whingy.

Fake news. The grey vote is too important.

““I will continue to monitor the financial position and consult with my colleagues and I am hopeful that we will be in a position to pay a Christmas bonus again this year,” she will say”

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/257m-for-christmas-bonus-not-yet-assured-says-regina-doherty-871240.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

pjohnson wrote:
    Just saw no Xmas bonus. Thought that would have led to the "Buh MY TAXES" crowd being less whingy.

Apparently not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Why does your man want a couples house? What about the 6 children?

Maybe he was misquoted and wants a couple of houses. He's being a responsible parent and wants to get the kids names on the housing list as soon as possible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,229 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Fake news. The grey vote is too important.

““I will continue to monitor the financial position and consult with my colleagues and I am hopeful that we will be in a position to pay a Christmas bonus again this year,” she will say”

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/257m-for-christmas-bonus-not-yet-assured-says-regina-doherty-871240.html

Thats just spin . It was a joke bringing in a bonus for people who dont work and shouldnt happen again .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭DChancer

OAPs should get it though, but that's it.

Why?
    That shower are the most spoilt of all, and usually the least needy!

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    You can't apply anywhere. Those are rules with the council's. If you are homeless whatever temporary accommodation you are in is the area you apply too. If you are still confused as I already suggested go to Citizens Advice.

This is one reason for a single housing authority for the whole of Country. Too many councils duplicating work. This single authority would be funded by redirecting funding from homeless charities to the one authority.
    Do we not have something along those lines, in the form of the Housing Agency? What power does this agency have, or what is it's remit if it is not directing councils. From their website it says The Housing Agency was set up in May 2010 to work with and support local authorities, approved housing bodies, and the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government in the delivery of housing and housing services.

Do they have any actual power? The only time I remember them coming into focus was when Conor Skehan rightly called a spade a spade when he said people are gaming the system to increase their chances of jumping up the social housing waiting list.

DChancer wrote: »
    Why?
    That shower are the most spoilt of all, and usually the least needy!

Because they've paid in - my dad worked from age 15.

He paid for a pension, he gets a pension, free travel, medical card, winter fuel allowance, along with the taxes he paid never came close to the total benefit he received from the state through its educating his children, health services, mortgage interest relief or social housing etc

Nobody, regardless of who they are is entitled to expect a free "Christmas Bonus" from the taxpayer!

He paid for a pension, he gets a pension, free travel, medical card, winter fuel allowance, along with the taxes he paid never came close to the total benefit he received from the state through its educating his children, health services, mortgage interest relief or social housing etc

Nobody, regardless of who they are is entitled to expect a free "Christmas Bonus" from the taxpayer!

Not even close dear, not even close.

One the button child on the button.
    Nobody should get extra free money for Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

No it's not. The UN convention on Human rights cites shelter as a human right. Nowhere does it say it must be free, as neither does this. I'm seriously wondering do you actually believe the crap you post or are you just a wind up merchant?

Just curios if the travellers family has demolished their council "shelter" house, do they have a Human right to get a new shelter?
    What does the UN convention say about this?

na1 wrote:
    Just curios if the travellers family has demolished their council "shelter" house, do they have a Human right to get a new shelter? What does the UN convention say about this?

Toddle off and find out for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

BBFAN wrote: »
    Hang on though. The gas thing here is she's looking for a house in Tallaght, not Foxrock. Half the posters on here would turn their noses up at Tallaght.
    Half if not more of the Tallaght population have bought their houses there. Paying mortgages and couldn't afford a 10k car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭stuff.hunter

BBFAN wrote: »
    It's not rocket science. Social housing needs to be built.

The reason for the current problem is that the decision was made 6 or 7 years ago to stop building social housing, the only thing that's going to solve the problem is for the housing to be built.

The irony is that all the ranters don't seem to realise if the government had never made a conscious decision to stop building social housing then the price of property and rent would not be where it's at presently.

social housing, great idea but whos going to pay for it? us, taxed to the bones?

There is zero chance of these apologists actually giving us a plan, ever.

Isn't that the job of those we elect to represent us?

One the button child on the button.
    Nobody should get extra free money for Christmas.

did you mean: nobody who doesnt work, right? :)

only in theory as most of them are money grabbing c*nts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Has anyone in all these pages come up with any sort of solutions for this crisis ?

Please dont say build 10,000 houses .

Well houses has to be part of the solution. Lack of supply is 95% of the problem. You can't really expect any landlord, private or corporate to charge intentionally way less than they could actually charge at current market rate.

I think:
    • The government need to speed up the timescale they have for dedicating public funds / land to building affordable housing.
    • The councils, especially the Dublin councils need a talking to on the importance of building housing right now and the importance of building up 10-20 storeys where it is suitable and if the area is deemed suitable by an area development plan then the DCC should not easily be able to rule against a planning proposal for height reasons.
    • The planning process should be sped up, the new fast-track / strategic-housing development process has helped for eligible developments but it is restricted to developments of 100+ units. Planning times in Dublin for example are much more than in many other EU major cities.
    • Modular housing needs to be seriously considered / invested in. I think the government should bring out grants for developers willing to go modular. Modular housing can mean a house can be manufactored in 8-14 weeks while work at the same time happens on site to bring in utilities, power, paving roads etc. Seriously cutting down the time to build housing and increasing the output. In theory, modular housing can work out significantly cheaper too but only at a very high level of output.
    • Small space requirments - Current minimums for units to rent in Dublin are 40sq.m (Studio), 45sq.m (1-Bed), 73sq.m (2-Bed). I really think these should be reduced by 5 sq.m each and that developments of more affordable/smaller units are encouraged. I'd like to see a greater emphasis of getting a larger supply of affordable studio apartments too, in other cities like NYC there's nearly as much of them as 1-Beds. Fine as long as they are designed well. Studio apartments have a bad name here currently because the Irish-standard for them seems to be that all studios are under the legal sq.m requirements, in spaces that couldn't literally fit a bedroom with your bed in your kitchen and your tv stacked on top of your microwave.

On the point of this topic, I've no great suggestions on how to prevent freeloaders, I've not a massive knowledge of how the social welfare system works here but I guess a similar system to what they have in the Netherlands & Belgium whereby if you are fit to work and on the housing list / dole then you have to take yearly courses / prove you are job-hunting and your social welfare is the biggest in your first year of un-employment and falls every year until year-5 by which time you are only receiving about 50-60% of the Year-1 payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Where's your plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Skelet0n

On her Facebook some lad suggesting she contest the next GE.

I can see the poster now:
    “Vote 4 Mags - 4 a less worser irland”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Skelet0n wrote: »

Everyone deserves a free home forever

Skelet0n wrote: »

I wonder if she’s even registered to vote?

I would very much doubt it.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Everyone deserves a free home forever

I can see her thinking "90 grand salary before tax ? No way am I taking a fecking pay cut"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

She has been posting on Facebook about voting for Gemma O'Doherty so I presume she must be.

I guess she'll vote for SF in the next GE now that her and Mary Lou are best mates. I wonder has she put two-and-two together and worked out that "the council :mad::mad::mad:" who she detests so much is made up of Sinn Fein councillors who hold twice as many seats as any other party.

ShaneC93 wrote: »
    She has been posting on Facebook about voting for Gemma O'Doherty so I presume she must be.

I guess she'll vote for SF in the next GE now that her and Mary Lou are on great terms. I wonder has she put two-and-two together and worked out that "the council :mad::mad::mad:" who she detests so much is made up from Sinn Fein councillors who hold twice as many seats as any other party.

Not without special books and puppets, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

You mean the ones who produced this:-

"Designed to accelerate housing supply in this country, Rebuilding Ireland is tackling our country’s housing shortage. This action-driven plan will result in a dramatic increase in the delivery of homes nationwide. Ambitious and imaginative in its reach, and radical in its approach, this plan will address the needs of homeless people and families in emergency accommodation, accelerate the provision of social housing, deliver more housing, utilise vacant homes and improve the rental sector.
    A significant priority for the Government, this innovative and future-facing plan of action ranges across financing measures, better use of existing homes, new construction and rental sector improvements, while effective methods for delivering on the plan’s stated ambitions will also be refined."

I find it difficult to understand why Sinn Fein are trying to sack the mastermind behind this impressive bit of planning!