Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When was the last time you cried?

• 24-09-2018 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,067 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I can't really remember to be honest.
    I think I might have got a bit teary eyed about a decade ago when I was around 17 but I haven't had any real crying fit for years.
    I wouldn't be into crying about TV programs for example.
    Are you one of these people who cries during TV programs, deaths, at weddings etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

When my last dog died a couple of years ago.

I've cried with laughter many times since but that probably doesn't count.

I wouldn't cry over a TV programme, or at a wedding but deaths of loved ones and dear friends certainly cause tears.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

About 30 minutes ago while watching an old episode of the great British bake off on Netflix.

I am 40 weeks pregnant though so hormones could have something to do with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭valoren

Our daughter was a week old during Christmas 2016. I was giving her a feed in the morning. She started to cough, choke and splutter. It was a combination of being exhausted, the shock and fright that she might choke and feeling like I had been slapped in the face with the responsibility for her life. The thoughts that if anything happened to her that I would never forgive myself, a scary thought and prospect and I lost it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Dog dying here too.

Lovable old bastard he was, still miss him sorely.

This always makes me think of him.

One of my best friends passed away 5 years ago, got teary for that truth be told.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Last Friday night, no reason.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,961 ✭✭✭D3V!L

At my uncles funeral just over a week ago. It takes a lot for me to cry. Also cried when Carrie Fisher died, had a couple of drinks on me though which didn't help.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,758 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

When I was younger and I would think that one day my parents would die, I thought I would be inconsolable and would cry a lot. But my mother was ill when she died and it felt like a relief, obviously feeling very sad, but I was unable to cry, sad as I would never see her again once buried, but I also felt happy for her that she was released from her ailment.
    When my father died, it was similar and he had always said it was worse for us than it would be for him and I didn't cry when he died either, despite absolutely adoring and loving my parents.
    It made think 'am I cold hearted', I did feel like I should cry but was unable to.

Then stupidly I have cried watching a program, and don't ask me why I cried at the last episode of Lost...it seems so wrong when something far more personal and I was unable to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,413 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I caught my foreskin in the zipper of my chinos years ago after having a slash behind a wall while walking home talking to my girlfriend at the time.
    I cried tears if pain , she drunkenly pissed her self laughing at me too .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,409 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I think it was the end of Braveheart when I was in my 20's.

Or two weeks ago because of hayfever. Does that count?

Some random dude on an Internet forum promised a big announcement which got all our hopes up and never followed through on it - haven’t cried so much since that empty safe that took days to open :(

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Baby01032012

Last Friday when my wife confirmed our 7 years of marriage is over.

Ouch

Sorry to hear that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Probably 21 years ago when my father was in hospital a couple of years before he died. I was sittting beside him and he was passed out in the hospital bed almost in a coma like state. I was wondering why it wasn't making me cry. I was worrying about this for some reason so I started thinking about the good times I'd had with him in an attempt to deliberately make myself cry. Suddenly it worked and I started bawling.

My sister said "come on and get a can of Coke or something". I thought she was being nice and was going to buy me a drink as a nice gesture. It turned out she didn't want me crying beside my father in case he could hear me and she didn't even buy me a can of Coke, I had to get it myself.

A couple of years later I had the flu and the same sister tried to convince me that me lying on the couch downstairs was making my father sicker. A couple of weeks later he died and it made me wonder if it was something to do with me.

I may possibly have cried around then but I'm not sure. I definitely did cry the time he was in hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

My 2 kids stayed with their grandparents for 4 weeks over the summer. It was the hardest thing I've ever gone through.

The night they flew back in to Dublin was an emotional rollercoaster, absolute joy and floods of tears.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Yeah books, tv and films cant make me cry (2 films and 1 game came close). My last time was 9 years ago breaking up with an ex.. It was a mutual breakup and thank glad I was able to cry as it would of hurt her more if I didnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,588 ✭✭✭pgj2015

last time for me was over 2 years ago, my best friend was missing for 24 hours, it hit me then that he wasn't coming back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Last week when I had to tax the car.gets me every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

A month ago, my Grandad passed away. A week of tears truth be told between him passing, the funeral, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Pretty regularly to be honest, seeing a therapist to deal with a long repressed abusive childhood. Kinda hard work and not a whole lotta fun :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Twice this year for the first time in years.
    Cancer got the better of the auld fella and the misses miscarried a few months later.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭KaiserLu

The oul lad was very sick last December and January. Couldn’t really walk, was in serious pain. Had to help him to the toilet, clean his stains etc. Never got upset, just did it.

My wedding was a couple of months ago. He made a full recovery, got up and sang the Responsorial Psalm. All the onion juice in my eyes. I’m tearing up even thinking of it now.

He’s a bollocks but he’s my bollocks. Love him to bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,413 ✭✭✭corner of hells

KaiserLu wrote: »
    The oul lad was very sick last December and January. Couldn’t really walk, was in serious pain. Had to help him to the toilet, clean his stains etc. Never got upset, just did it.

My wedding was a couple of months ago. He made a full recovery, got up and sang the Responsorial Psalm. All the onion juice in my eyes. I’m tearing up even thinking of it now.

He’s a bollocks but he’s my bollocks. Love him to bits.

That's a nice post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Last night while watching the season finale of
    OITNB. If Taystee doesn't get justice I will burn the world down.

wexie wrote: »
    Pretty regularly to be honest, seeing a therapist to deal with a long repressed abusive childhood. Kinda hard work and not a whole lotta fun :(

Sorry to hear that wexie.

Not to turn this into a social media confessional, but over the last year or so I have often felt on the verge of tears, without ever crying. Have been told it’s sinus, that it’s anxiety, and that it’s me internalising the constant uncertainty of doing a PhD. Hopefully it lifts soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

About five years ago when my uncle died. I didn't get too upset until I found out it was suicide and for some reason that really got to me, knowing how rough his life was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Like a few on here hadnt cried in years . So far so I couldn't even remember....

But 2 years ago after my dog was attacked by a neighbors bull masfiff and she died a few days later ..... she was getting better but all of a sudden went down hill and died ....was very traumatic , having to tell my 8 year old daughter after I had promised her she was going to be ok .

The two of us had a good blubber. To make it worse we had two dogs , both same age (8 years old) and he was also very down .

The house was a mess .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Joy or sadness?

before the last exam session

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭fattymuatty

I cry all the time, I hate it, especially when I am raging and trying to express myself but end up bawling like an idiot instead. I cried last night, I had been working all day and trying to look after the kids at same time. It was about 11:30pm and I was still packing orders and had about another hours work to do. It was kind of a tired, frustrated cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Haven't cried in years and then 2 years ago I had to get my dog put to sleep and have to say it broke my heart and even on his anniversary it still gets me :(

Then last week on my grandmothers anniversary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Sunday night. I'd horsed down some fairly expensive sea food and about three bottles of more expensive wine from the "finest" section in Tescos alcohol isle.
    It was supposed to be a treat, but before I could even get properly lopsided, my guts started churning and a veritable fire hydrant accident of brown chunks were spewed forth made the ground look like the side of an Indonesian mountain during monsoon season.

I took one look and just broke down. All that money on the ground and I never even got to piss it up against the side of my mates car..
    It was awful, It was the burning indignation of it all that brought me to tears. The sea food I could tolerate losing, but not the vino... Suffice it to say, I would not be done in like this.
    Motivated by the kind of rage that can only be brought on by such a needless waste of my money, I made the 15 minute wobble to Mc Donald's, robbed a straw, returned and made damn sure my mates car got it's shower that night.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

2years ago, when my son turned 4 years old,he got diagnosed with one of the worst mental health disorders under the mental health act.
    When I was told that by the time he reaches his mid thirties that he would hopefully be mentally the same as a 5/6year old...
    Something died inside me that day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Last year during finals week came home to have dinner after long days work, went to get laptop to do some more work but noticed it wasnt in my bag, initially I didn't worry and was just annoyed I had left it back in college.Rang my friend to check my desk and see if it was there. He said it wasn't there, panic set in then..had to very quickly retrace my entire day and go on a mad goose chase off racing around my college on my bike and local park and cafe trying desperately to locate where I might have left it

All of my project work, everything I needed to pass my exams and submit my portfolio were on it, a long years work

Nowhere to be found, all my friends racing around campus trying to help me find it, basically close to tears as I had to accept now it had been stolen by some cnut and Id need to repeat the year

Phoned home in last ditch effort to see if it might be anywhere in the house Id missed, brother picks up 'ah sorry I borrowed your laptop from your bag there an hour ago to print off my boarding pass,forgot to tell you, sorry!'

Burst into tears out of sheer relief and exhaustion and tiredness from so much study and work and so little sleep the last few days, cried for about ten minutes more just to get it out of my system :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Today ... I've a friend on life support in hospital, just waiting for the text from his partner when they turn it off. It's a horrible situation, they've a one year old girl, and the mother lost a previous partner in almost identical circumstances. Life can be so unfair.

Before that ... god, probably 3-4 weeks ago, very good going for me! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

Films, tv or books never make me cry but music does it pretty often. Not just sad music either. More often than not it's something that's so good I cry with happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Joy or sadness?

At 700 euro a year for absolutely nothing I’m going to go with overwhelming sadness

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Yesterday I passed a horse that was in a bad way after what looked like a fall in a part of north Dublin. He was attached to one of those horrible sulky carts with 4 or 5 men standing around him. In fairness it looked like one of them was rubbing his head. Hopefully it wasn't as bad as I imagined but I was crying thinking of the horrible life he has or had.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

When Limerick won the All Ireland, I was a blubbering mess, tears of joy and relief though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

I feel nothing when i see all of the horrible things happening all over the world being shown on the news.. and choke up like a baby when I see something like an ad where the dad is proud of his son for scoring a goal..

Yesterday, Dublin airport.
    firstly landside saying goodbye to family, then airside saying goodbye to boyfriend before we took different flights to different countries!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Morpork

30 minutes ago.

Was checking in online for our first family holiday away when we noticed our son's passport is expired. No time to get a new one. Disaster! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Morpork wrote: »
    30 minutes ago.

Was checking in online for our first family holiday away when we noticed our son's passport is expired. No time to get a new one. Disaster! :(

Make him watch Home Alone a few times and then sneak off without him. Be grand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Morpork wrote: »
    30 minutes ago.

oh no :(

is there anything at all you can do? that's terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,067 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Make him watch Home Alone a few times and then sneak off without him. Be grand!

Don't show him the old man rescuing Kevin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Hadn't cried in years until this year.
    Two of my best lifelong friends died, one in January and the other in July, aged 31 & 32 and another now has cancer.
    2018 has been a horrible year!

31 Yr old died while walking home from the pub and slipped on a gate and got himself impaled and 32 Yr old got herself into drugs and died from an OD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

ZX7R wrote: »
    2years ago, when my son turned 4 years old,he got diagnosed with one of the worst mental health disorders under the mental health act.
    When I was told that by the time he reaches his mid thirties that he would hopefully be mentally the same as a 5/6year old...
    Something died inside me that day...

Jesus..must be hard.wishing you all the luck in the world.x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Baby01032012

Joy or sadness?

No joy mate. I love her and hate that I have hurt her v badly. No joy when I look at my little kids and wonder what the future holds when I move out..or how we’re even going to tell them!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

zoe 3619 wrote: »
    Jesus..must be hard.wishing you all the luck in the world.x

Thank you.
    You just have to live with it.
    He has a twin sister she is healthy,can get difficult for her, not easy to explain to the poor child why her brother is so different and why he is also treated differently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Morpork

wexie wrote: »
    oh no :(

is there anything at all you can do? that's terrible

Unfortunately not. It's our own fault for not checking it earlier.
    Currently planning a trip around Ireland or maybe take the boat over to Scotland.
    We booked the time off so might as well. Luckily we can get some of the money back for the hotel.