Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

This make me sick to the gut and wonder just what is social welfare if it doesn't help those who need genuine help.
    :(

Country needs a good overhaul. Most of it's ran like it's still the 1950s!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭murt101

I have thought hard about typing this many times. I look at this thread and it makes me despair as a taxpayer who once needed help from the social welfare.

Not to long ago my son took his own life. This was followed a few months later by my wife dying suddenly.

With in months I was to be hit by a third bereavement
    At this stage I am both mentally and financially broke, I have nothing left what little savings we accumulated after paying our mortage, bills, college for the wife and son to further their careers and everything else.

Everything I had was used to settle their funeral expenses etc.

I think my bank account had €45.00 in it there was nothing else.

The undertaker suggested I could try the social welfare for some assistance, he was willing to cut his deposit but still needed a €1000.

I nor any of my family had ever been on the social welfare thankfully, so this was a new and disturbing experience.

I didn’t want a handout I was prepared to pay back the money as that was the way we were brought up , to pay your way in life.
    As I worked, it was an emphatic no I was entitled to nothing, but the no came with their condolences.

I am not ashamed to admit I begged but to no avail.

The tax my family paid all the years was no good here.

I ended up having to borrow from friends and others to pay the deposit. A soul destroying experience one that has mentally scarred me. Having to borrow a bit here and there to bury a loved one is a terrible place to be.

I relied on a charity for counselling etc contributing what I could afford as yet again because I work the state don’t provide same if you are lucky enough to be able to find any state counselling.

I am still working paying tax and trying to save for my own funeral expenses as I have no immediate family that could pay for same.

I am convinced that my tax contributions wont pay for me to be buried with my family.

Yet here we have a woman who contributes nothing and probably never will to state walking away with over 50k and a free house.

As a family with over 70yrs combined tax paid I couldn’t get €1000 help to bury a tax paying member of society.

This make me sick to the gut and wonder just what is social welfare if it doesn't help those who need genuine help.

Bernard, I'm very sorry for your losses,, it sounds like you've been deeply affected by these devastating events and I'm just sorry there was no support there when you neded it. It's a very scary thought that it could so easily happen to many of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

"There's no reason to believe that Margaret Cash is a bad mum"

I don't think a good mother chooses to have her children homeless. 🀔

Or publicly State's she's taking her children out of school at primary level (which is illegal )

But cash has her dream job a permanent stay at home mammy popping out babies and cleaning as is the traveller way ,

Just we are all funding her salary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,287 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm not aware of how long she's struggled for. A lot of people here claim to know an awful lot about Margaret Cash, right down to the cost of her outfit, so I'll bow to their expertise on their apparent specialist topic.

Maybe the reason journalists haven't asked about about Margaret Cash's reproductive practices is because it's a really dickish thing to confront somebody with. She's not breaking any law by having a large family; my parents had six children, and that was fairly common in this country until recently.

We didn't turn out to be "feral" or "wasters", and neither were we rich. There's no reason to believe that Margaret Cash is a bad mum, in fact that's a really, really unfair and hurtful thing to suggest about someone that none of us know.

I have no issue with people having kids.
    I know teachers, farmers, nurses, fireman etc all who have over five children. These people however fund there own kids.
    The issue with Margaret is she continued to have children and expected the state to pay for it. She didn't have a blip with or two children. She had seven.
    Everybody knows raising a child is expensive. It isn't a human right. I am in a position now where I'd find it difficult to pay child support/etc. So, I am careful not to get somebody pregnant.
    I can't comment if she's a bad mother or not but I don't see her as the role model some people makes her out to be.
    However the fact that she continued to have children over the years despite her housing position this isn't a good thing in my honest opinion. I know of lots of parents who'd love to have more kids but they don't because it wouldn't be fair on their current kids.
    Maybe that's because she doesn't have to fight for a right to work and raise a family, so why should she protest that? Why would anyone assume that this person doesn't want to better herself, and do well by her children? A good rule of thumb in life, is that people are generally not sinister. I'm sure that Margaret Cash has plenty of ambition, and as I said, I happen to think she'd make a great politician. Which brings me to...

Lads, for the last time, the Presidential reference to Margaret Cash was supposed to be sarcastic. I'm not suggesting she runs for the Presidency. I guess it wasn't an amusing comparison,. but now that it's been clarified for the n'th time, hopefully we can now all move on with our lives.

I suppose I might base it on what I see with people I know and the way she portrays herself either in the media or in videos and I don't see her trying to better herself apart from looking for a house.

Sorry for the confusion about her running for presidency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Bernard what a touching story.

Email it to Regina Doherty, Eoin Ó Broin and see what response you get.

I have said this for years, the entitlement culture is killing our country.

But this cash one is also a criminal,it makes me sick to my stomach that she gets all this help and sympathy while people like yourself get a slap in the face.

It really boils my blood.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Yet those same folk incessantly push for a socialist/communist way of doing things, which, by nature is far more open to cronyism and corruption than the heavily flawed capitalist/neo liberalist way of doing things that we live with today.
    I don't believe that one was/is allowed to laze about in the old USSR or Cuba or China, etc.
    Why do Irish socialists champion the waster lifestyle?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭All Seeing Eye

As I always say “Dead beats are the new Elites” !

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

If Margaret Cash derives her household income from social welfare, then she earns many thousands of euro less than the average industrial wage.
    She doesn't earn a single cent!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

She doesn't earn a single cent!

She’s breeding for the good of Ireland. Are they always saying we need more young people to pay for our pensions when we get older. Though doubt her brood will contribute anything to this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

I have thought hard about typing this many times. I look at this thread and it makes me despair as a taxpayer who once needed help from the social welfare.

Not to long ago my son took his own life. This was followed a few months later by my wife dying suddenly.

With in months I was to be hit by a third bereavement
    At this stage I am both mentally and financially broke, I have nothing left what little savings we accumulated after paying our mortage, bills, college for the wife and son to further their careers and everything else.

Everything I had was used to settle their funeral expenses etc.

I think my bank account had €45.00 in it there was nothing else.

The undertaker suggested I could try the social welfare for some assistance, he was willing to cut his deposit but still needed a €1000.

I nor any of my family had ever been on the social welfare thankfully, so this was a new and disturbing experience.

I didn’t want a handout I was prepared to pay back the money as that was the way we were brought up , to pay your way in life.
    As I worked, it was an emphatic no I was entitled to nothing, but the no came with their condolences.

I am not ashamed to admit I begged but to no avail.

The tax my family paid all the years was no good here.

I ended up having to borrow from friends and others to pay the deposit. A soul destroying experience one that has mentally scarred me. Having to borrow a bit here and there to bury a loved one is a terrible place to be.

I relied on a charity for counselling etc contributing what I could afford as yet again because I work the state don’t provide same if you are lucky enough to be able to find any state counselling.

I am still working paying tax and trying to save for my own funeral expenses as I have no immediate family that could pay for same.

I am convinced that my tax contributions wont pay for me to be buried with my family.

Yet here we have a woman who contributes nothing and probably never will to state walking away with over 50k and a free house.

As a family with over 70yrs combined tax paid I couldn’t get €1000 help to bury a tax paying member of society.

That s a heart breaking story Bernard and thank you for sharing it.

"There's no reason to believe that Margaret Cash is a bad mum"

I don't think a good mother chooses to have her children homeless. 🀔
    A good mother wouldn't breed like a rabbit and would produce only enough kids to live within their means!

Jimmy. wrote: »
    How can her offspring contribute to this country? All they will do is ride the rock and roll train. We’re looking at five council houses needed as they grow up as it is.

Exactly that’s their culture boss

davo10 wrote: »
    You are an idiot.

Never underestimate the willingness of people to want to better themselves. To write off children just because they are disadvantaged is to ignore the determination to succeed.

I can tell by looking at them that they are on the road to no where.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

This is something practical to change the exemption orders for marriage. There is no valid reason I can think of why a teenager would need to get married.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/birth_family_relationships/getting_married/legal_prerequisites_for_marriage.html

Be over 18 years of age or have a Court Exemption Order if this is not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,287 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

This is something practical to change the exemption orders for marriage. There is no valid reason I can think of why a teenager would need to get married.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/birth_family_relationships/getting_married/legal_prerequisites_for_marriage.html

Be over 18 years of age or have a Court Exemption Order if this is not the case.

Not being smart but could a person in the travelling community say it was part of their culture. Which we are meant to recongnise.

davo10 wrote: »
    Never underestimate the willingness of people to want to better themselves. To write off children just because they are disadvantaged is to ignore the determination to succeed.

It's nice to be able to quote a post I agree with!!

I bet there isn't one poster on this thread who hasn't encountered adults who were born in poor families, and have made a better life for themselves than the one they were born into. And very often, it will have been their parents who equipped them with the skills and attitude to do what was not feasible for that parent.

It's a bit distressing to think that there may be young adults in 20 years time or so, coming across archived threads like this, where grown men were discussing their mum and her sexuality. For anyone who's doing that, just imagine if we could peer into your own parents' lives, and tot-up their child benefit, and accuse you of being doomed to become 'feral'.

It's nasty, pure and simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

Bernard I’m very sorry to hear of your losses and the horrible time you’ve been through....

This is what annoys me most about this country, it’s not even just that we pay out non stop for people who contribute nothing, and often contribute nothing in their whole lifetime. It’s that we fail the hardworking people who contribute for their whole lives, and generally only come calling when they really need it cause we’ve spend all the social welfare budget for a year in a few months on people who were never raised to look after their own family! If we could afford to look after everyone, great, we can’t!

Not being smart but could a person in the travelling community say it was part of their culture. Which we are meant to recongnise.

I had a look around the pavee site and the publications they have. I couldn't pin point anything to indicate one way or the other. However many of their documents refer to th e un rights of the child. So I had a look there and they define a child as this:

THE CONVENTION ON THE RIGHTS OF THE CHILD

Guiding principles: general requirements for all rights

Definition of the child (Article 1): The Convention defines a 'child' as a person below the age of 18,
    unless the laws of a particular country set the legal age for adulthood younger. The Committee on the Rights of the Child, the monitoring body for the Convention, has encouraged States to review the age of majority if it is set below 18 and to increase the level of protection for all children under 18.

I'd be interested in hearing theirs (or anyone else's) pro-child marriage justification

I personally don't think good for either children or society, no matter if it's travellers or settled people

It's nice to be able to quote a post I agree with!!

I bet there isn't one poster on this thread who hasn't encountered adults who were born in poor families, and have made a better life for themselves than the one they were born into. And very often, it will have been their parents who equipped them with the skills and attitude to do what was not feasible for that parent.

It's a bit distressing to think that there may be young adults in 20 years time or so, coming across archived threads like this, where grown men were discussing their mum and her sexuality. For anyone who's doing that, just imagine if we could peer into your own parents' lives, and tot-up their child benefit, and accuse you of being doomed to become 'feral'.

Our parents didn’t post pictures on social media of us sleeping on benches in a Garda station just so they could get a free house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

It's a bit distressing to think that there may be young adults in 20 years time or so, coming across archived threads like this, where grown men were discussing their mum

It's more distressing to know that in 20 years we will be discussing the same mother demanding a forever home for her multiple grand children because she got a free forever home and now she wants more for her extended family

Sad but true .

And nobody discussed her sexuality only her lifestyle choices to have more and more kids she cannot afford to house despite being homeless several other times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2018/0921/995307-at-risk-woman-court/
    Type that needs social housing but won’t get it.

Btw Tusla has released 3 x 18 year old men from their care in the past 6 weeks North Tipperary. One is in and out of a homeless shelter Thurles the other two are in B&Bs in Nenagh and Roscrea. Due to a screw up by the DSP one hasn’t got paid his disability allowance in 4 weeks and is only getting €100 SWA when he’s entitled to €198DA. Funny that for girls they’re housed before leaving HSE/Tusla care.

Would we have a homeless unmarried/single mother and seven kids sleeping in a Garda station if the Magdalene laundries/mother and baby homes were still around? Probably not

Would we have a homeless unmarried mother and seven kids sleeping in a Garda station if the Magdalene laundries/mother and baby homes were still around? Probably not

You ll have to elaborate on what you re getting at with this, not sure what point you re making beneath the conjecture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,436 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Dannyriver wrote: »
    You ll have to elaborate on what you re getting at with this, not sure what point you re making beneath the conjecture.

Probably wanting to reopen them. Plenty of support for such an idea from the thread regulars.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Should be ok, inmates don’t have access to the internet except for special circumstances where they are in education and there’s not much chance of that happening eh?

Would we have a homeless unmarried mother and seven kids sleeping in a Garda station if the Magdalene laundries/mother and baby homes were still around? Probably not

Would we have homeless married mother (husband in jail doesn’t make her unmarried) and seven kids sleeping in a Garda station if her family did their duty in looking out for her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,436 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Would we have homeless married mother (husband in jail doesn’t make her unmarried) and seven kids sleeping in a Garda station if her family did their duty in looking out for her?

You could have just said bring them back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Absolutely probably hiding out in the Garda station so as not to be caught by those despicable scum who ran the magdalenes

Those unfortunate girls and women in the laundrys didn't have a choice. They were forced to stay under brutal conditions by, I agree, despicable scum

Ms. Cash choose to stay at the garda station. She is choosing to be homeless.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Probably wanting to reopen them. Plenty of support for such an idea from the thread regulars.

You re kidding me. :eek: