Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

Dannyriver wrote: »
    Realistically what can she do at this stage?

Who would employ her? In the unlikely event of her getting a job, who would pay for the childcare? (Please don’t say the taxpayers)

Some of the language used when discussing her is unpleasant and demeans the poster.

No doubt that will lead to me being called a bleeding heart. Rather that than demean myself or the topic in discussion.

Or worse, in situations such as this you re either with the mob , or you re as detestable as the target of the mob.
    Hilarious. The mob in this paricular story were stood outside the Dial the other day cheering on a parasite with a microphone who was ranting about wanting more free stuff from the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,353 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Well to start with she make sure number 8 doesn't pop out anytime soon.

Other than there's probably very little she can do at the minute but there's no reason for her to be lauded and praised in the manner that some are doing. She's not a pilar of the community standing up for the little guy. She's not someone that young girls should be looking up to. She stands for the sickening entitlement culture in this country that kids growing up should be encouraged to avoid. The choice to live a welfare lifestyle and then flaunt it on scial media should be stamped out. I've no issue with people who are genuinely in need but people like her milk it for all it's worth and then run with hands out demanding more!

100% agree.

Surely its in all our interests to try to get it into peoples heads that if you don't work, have never worked and are unlikely to ever find meaningful work, and struggle to house yourself, then maybe you shouldn't be having 7 kids by the time you're 28.

I know this woman is an extreme example, but I think this rule could equally be applied to those people who pop out a slightly smaller number of kids but who still fit the employment profile.

And don't start with any "we need workers for the future to pay taxes", as there is more than a fair chance that most of her 7 kids will be a net drain on our system during their lives rather than net contributors. Only a matter of time before someone says "how do you know they won't be contributors"......just a wild guess based on previous stats for the last few decades or more.

Hilarious. The mob in this paricular story were stood outside the Dial the other day cheering on a parasite with a microphone who was ranting about wanting more free stuff from the rest of us.

A “mob” suggests a large amount of people. There didn’t appear to be enough (including passers by) there to qualify as a mob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Apparantly Ms.Cash is to speak at the TakeBackTheCity (the group that has been occupying properties in Dublin) event tomorrow with 3,000 set to attend so if you'd like to see a proper mob! Why they've chosen her to speak is another question as I can't see much of the working population or even the homeless (because of tough times / disability / health rather than choice) agreeing with her standpoint.

A “mob” suggests a large amount of people. There didn’t appear to be enough (including passers by) there to qualify as a mob!
    Aw. Here let me help you...
    noun
    a large crowd of people, especially one that is disorderly and intent on causing trouble or violence.
    "a mob of protesters"

Seems to fit. Especially the “disorderly and intent on causing trouble” bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

Where are the rent a mob going to be setting up stall.

I need to get to town but dont want to find myself blocked by these people.

Should I get up early to avoid them. They wont get out of bed till midday so the city should be safe enough till after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Realistically what can she do at this stage?

... .

Pay for her own house

tretorn wrote: »
    Where are the rent a mob going to be setting up stall.

I need to get to town but dont want to find myself blocked by these people.

Should I get up early to avoid them. They wont get out of bed till midday so the city should be safe enough till after that.

Here you go.

“Saturday 22nd September.
    Full list:
    Crumlin - 11am-1pm Jack Potts Bingo at The Star, 391 Kildare Rd, Dublin
    https://www.facebook.com/events/2200655873480887
    Finglas - 11.30 in Finglas Village
    https://www.facebook.com/events/332758627476605/
    Blanchardstown - 11am-1pm outside Lidl Blakestown
    https://www.facebook.com/events/460026401153834/
    Tallaght - 2-6pm, Maldron Hotel/Tallaght Stadium Junction
    https://www.facebook.com/events/1898268856961101/
    UCD - 12pm at UCD Stillorgan Rd Entrance
    https://www.facebook.com/events/250593898933073/
    Fingal - 2pm in Balbriggan
    https://www.facebook.com/events/292459158238592/
    Bray - 11am outside Holy Redeemer on Main St
    https://www.facebook.com/events/1932456513726208/
    Maynooth - 12pm, Town Square
    https://www.facebook.com/events/2210333542579237/
    Louth - 9am on West St in Drogheda
    https://www.facebook.com/events/175894279915561/
    Derry - 1.30pm at Free Derry Corner
    https://www.facebook.com/events/468996233596268/
    Belfast - 11.45 at City Hall
    https://www.facebook.com/events/2183349838595146/
    Sligo - 12.30 - 2.30 on O'Connell St
    https://www.facebook.com/events/2269916966570385/
    Galway - 11am-3pm on Shop St, and 2pm on Eyre Sq
    https://www.facebook.com/events/2220072454941313/
    Cork - 12.30-5pm, Bishop Lucey Park
    https://www.facebook.com/events/281971042415227/
    Waterford - 11.50am at the Clock Tower
    https://www.facebook.com/events/301819523939198/
    Wexford - 11am at The Bullring
    https://www.facebook.com/events/317432825689206/”

I think people's issue is that they are certain media outlets who won't call her out on behavior and if anybody calls her out on it online they are called a troll.
    I don't think anyone is throwing around use of the word 'troll' except perhaps where people are openly discussing this woman's genitalia, or writing-off her young children as wasters.

If people weren't so extreme in their hostility to this woman, there's probably be a lot more room for rational argument. Plenty of things she's said, and much of her behaviour, can absolutely be criticised. I wouldn't blame anyone for being cynical towards her, or for calling her irresponsible. That's fair game at this stage, she's made herself a public figure.

It's the other stuff I mentioned that has people defending her. i.e. defending her from OTT attacks on her body and her kids.
    Aw. Here let me help you...
    noun
    a large crowd of people, especially one that is disorderly and intent on causing trouble or violence.
    "a mob of protesters"

Seems to fit. Especially the “disorderly and intent on causing trouble” bit.
    I swear to God, if boards.ie had been around in 1916, AH would have been overflowing with comments about the 'scum' down in the GPO.

Fcukin' Tom Clarke and his big hipster moustache, causing disarray on the omnibus service.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I don't think anyone is throwing around use of the word 'troll' except perhaps where people are openly discussing this woman's genitalia, or writing-off her young children as wasters.

If people weren't so extreme in their hostility to this woman, there's probably be a lot more room for rational argument. Plenty of things she's said, and much of her behaviour, can absolutely be criticised. I wouldn't blame anyone for being cynical towards her, or for calling her irresponsible. That's fair game at this stage, she's made herself a public figure.

It's the other stuff I mentioned that has people defending her. i.e. defending her from OTT attacks on her body and her kids.

I swear to God, if boards.ie had been around in 1916, AH would have been overflowing with comments about the 'scum' down in the GPO.

Fcukin' Tom Clarke and his big hipster moustache, causing disarray on the omnibus service.

Again your wrong , mostly on this thread and others troll is used to refer to you and a few others such as suggestiong that cash should run for president :-)

Also are you aware that during he immediate aftermath of the the 1916 rising there was general negative feeling towards the rebels ? they were stoned and abused as they were marched to captivity

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Also are you aware that during he immediate aftermath of the the 1916 rising there was general negative feeling towards the rebels ? they were stoned and abused as they were marched to captivity
    I am indeed aware of that. History hasn't looked too favourably on those vegetable-throwers, though, has it?

Suddenly, half the country claims to have had a relative in the GPO. Few people will admit that their Granny was throwing spuds at Padraig Pearse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Harassed ffs!!!

Heard it all now, perhaps she should get up off her lazy arse and contribute SOMETHING for all she takes eh.

Ever contemplated that as an idea ?

Generation snowflake

Likely in the same category suffering from the medical condition lazyitis and entitlement

Hahaha. What the fcuk? That is some mental gymnastics b*lloxology you’ve managed to come out with there.

Those knackers mouthing off about needing more free handouts from the state are comparable to the 1916 fighters of the rising??? Hahahaha!!!

Hahaha. What the fcuk? That is some mental gymnastics b*lloxology you’ve managed to come out with there.
    It's a fact of history, David.

Most Dubliners were opposed to the Rising and were pretty outraged by it. If any of us were alive back then, the overwhelming chances are that we'd have been with the rabble that were throwing vegetables, not supporting the Rebels.

Just saying, that's worth bearing in mind. I am not for a moment comparing occupiers of vacant houses to the men and women behind 1916 -- I'm just saying I suspect that when this crisis is over, history will favour the protesters, as it usually does for those who attempt to improve the conditions of the poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Drawing comparisons between the 1916 rising, where a rag tag group of people took on an empire for what they believed in, and a person who wants a free house for nothing while doing nothing to earn or contribute towards it is fùcking amazing, breathtaking if you will!

Serious gymnastics, round of applause to that poster, 10/10 for suppleness.

I am not for a moment comparing occupiers of vacant houses to the men and women behind 1916 --
    Drawing comparisons between the 1916 rising
    No, please; don't bother reading. I insist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Did Tom have a free house and a fat payment coming in every week sitting on his ass doing nothing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭bernard0368

I have thought hard about typing this many times. I look at this thread and it makes me despair as a taxpayer who once needed help from the social welfare.

Not to long ago my son took his own life. This was followed a few months later by my wife dying suddenly.

With in months I was to be hit by a third bereavement
    At this stage I am both mentally and financially broke, I have nothing left what little savings we accumulated after paying our mortage, bills, college for the wife and son to further their careers and everything else.

Everything I had was used to settle their funeral expenses etc.

I think my bank account had €45.00 in it there was nothing else.

The undertaker suggested I could try the social welfare for some assistance, he was willing to cut his deposit but still needed a €1000.

I nor any of my family had ever been on the social welfare thankfully, so this was a new and disturbing experience.

I didn’t want a handout I was prepared to pay back the money as that was the way we were brought up , to pay your way in life.
    As I worked, it was an emphatic no I was entitled to nothing, but the no came with their condolences.

I am not ashamed to admit I begged but to no avail.

The tax my family paid all the years was no good here.

I ended up having to borrow from friends and others to pay the deposit. A soul destroying experience one that has mentally scarred me. Having to borrow a bit here and there to bury a loved one is a terrible place to be.

I relied on a charity for counselling etc contributing what I could afford as yet again because I work the state don’t provide same if you are lucky enough to be able to find any state counselling.

I am still working paying tax and trying to save for my own funeral expenses as I have no immediate family that could pay for same.

I am convinced that my tax contributions wont pay for me to be buried with my family.

Yet here we have a woman who contributes nothing and probably never will to state walking away with over 50k and a free house.

As a family with over 70yrs combined tax paid I couldn’t get €1000 help to bury a tax paying member of society.

This make me sick to the gut and wonder just what is social welfare if it doesn't help those who need genuine help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

No, please; don't bother reading. I insist!

Its easier to ignore your good points and focus on the poorly made ones tbh. Makes the thread a 2 way street :)

It's a fact of history, David.

Most Dubliners were opposed to the Rising and were pretty outraged by it. If any of us were alive back then, the overwhelming chances are that we'd have been with the rabble that were throwing vegetables, not supporting the Rebels.

Just saying, that's worth bearing in mind. I am not for a moment comparing occupiers of vacant houses to the men and women behind 1916 -- I'm just saying I suspect that when this crisis is over, history will favour the protesters, as it usually does for those who attempt to improve the conditions of the poor.

She's not poor. She said so herself. There is a difference between being homeless and being poor. What agenda do you have that you constantly push the "poor" narrative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

I am indeed aware of that. History hasn't looked too favourably on those vegetable-throwers, though, has it?

Suddenly, half the country claims to have had a relative in the GPO. Few people will admit that their Granny was throwing spuds at Padraig Pearse.
    Probably women from the North Inner city worried about their separation money

I have thought hard about typing this many times. I look at this thread and it makes me despair as a taxpayer who once needed help from the social welfare.

Not to long ago my son took his own life. This was followed a few months later by my wife dying suddenly.

At this stage I am both mentally and financially broke, I have nothing left what little savings we accumulated after paying our mortage, bills, college for the wife and son to further their careers and everything else.

The undertaker suggested I could try the social welfare for some assistance, he was willing to cut his deposit but still needed a €1000.

I nor any of my family had ever been on the social welfare thankfully, so this was a new and disturbing experience.

I didn’t want a handout I was prepared to pay back the money as that was the way we were brought up , to pay your way in life.
    As I worked, it was an emphatic no I was entitled to nothing, but the no came with their condolences.

I ended up having to borrow from friends and others to pay the deposit. A soul destroying experience one that has mentally scarred me. Having to borrow a bit here and there to bury a loved one is a terrible place to be.

I relied on a charity for counselling etc contributing what I could afford as yet again because I work the state don’t provide same if you are lucky enough to be able to find any state counselling.

I am still working paying tax and trying to save for my own funeral expenses as I have no immediate family that could pay for same.

I am convinced that my tax contributions wont pay for me to be buried with my family.

Yet here we have a woman who contributes nothing and probably never will to state walking away with over 50k and a free house.

As a family with over 70yrs combined tax paid I couldn’t get €1000 help to bury a tax paying member of society.

This make me sick to the gut and wonder just what is social welfare if it doesn't help those who need genuine help.

Sorry for your loss.

Sorry for your losses, it is a difficult time. Your post sums up what is wrong with this country. Decent, hardworking, taxpaying people who need an odd dig out when they fall on hard times find it difficult or impossible to get help. Those that made a career out of living off the state know every trick in the book and are handed money left, right and centre and hold their hands out for more.

Bernard0368, sorry for your loss also. There's nothing to argue over in your post, I'm sure it puts plenty in perspective for the rest of us. Even homelessness, as bad as it must be, cannot be compared to the loss of a child. It's shocking that you were treated that way.
    She's not poor. She said so herself. There is a difference between being homeless and being poor. What agenda do you have that you constantly push the "poor" narrative?
    If someone is homeless, they're probably poor. I don't think that's in dispute, but you'd never know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,287 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Unfortunately in life when you end up in the public eye you are going to receive criticism. Some of it is more harsh than others and some of it is uncalled for. Some of it is relevant tough.
    In my experience anybody who questions why did she continue to have children they just get brushed off with. Oh we don't know her circumstances/etc. She's struggled for years and continued to add to her family.
    It's of course Eoghan Murphy(Who I'm not gone on) fault for her not having a house for her family.
    All I every hear her say is I have a right to a house for me and my children. There is no talk of oh I want to live in a society where I can work and raise a family. It's just I want a house.
    She just has no credibility in my opinion. I don't see her as the role model as you see her when you said she could be the next Michael D Higgins.

Bernard0368, sorry for your loss also. There's nothing to argue over in your post, I'm sure it puts plenty in perspective for the rest of us. Even homelessness, as bad as it must be, cannot be compared to the loss of a child. It's shocking that you were treated that way.

If someone is homeless, they're probably poor. I don't think that's in dispute, but you'd never know...

Well Ms. Cash disputes that she's poor

“I never said I was poor. I said I was homeless"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/i-have-been-constantly-begging-for-help-margaret-cash-on-being-homeless-1.3598174?mode=amp

Are you saying she is lying? I think she'd know her own financial situation better than you.

Maybe you just can't believe she is choosing to have her children homeless because she doesn't want to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

According to the cash one .

"I'm not poor I just want a house "

"I am not poor"

(Beaten to it above)

Unfortunately in life when you end up in the public eye you are going to receive criticism. Some of it is more harsh than others and some of it is uncalled for. Some of it is relevant tough.
    In my experience anybody who questions why did she continue to have children they just get brushed off with. Oh we don't know her circumstances/etc. She's struggled for years and continued to add to her family.
    I'm not aware of how long she's struggled for. A lot of people here claim to know an awful lot about Margaret Cash, right down to the cost of her outfit, so I'll bow to their expertise on their apparent specialist topic.

Maybe the reason journalists haven't asked about about Margaret Cash's reproductive practices is because it's a really dickish thing to confront somebody with. She's not breaking any law by having a large family; my parents had six children, and that was fairly common in this country until recently.

We didn't turn out to be "feral" or "wasters", and neither were we rich. There's no reason to believe that Margaret Cash is a bad mum, in fact that's a really, really unfair and hurtful thing to suggest about someone that none of us know.
    All I every hear her say is I have a right to a house for me and my children. There is no talk of oh I want to live in a society where I can work and raise a family. It's just I want a house.
    Maybe that's because she doesn't have to fight for a right to work and raise a family, so why should she protest that? Why would anyone assume that this person doesn't want to better herself, and do well by her children? A good rule of thumb in life, is that people are generally not sinister. I'm sure that Margaret Cash has plenty of ambition, and as I said, I happen to think she'd make a great politician. Which brings me to...
    I don't see her as the role model as you see her when you said she could be the next Michael D Higgins.
    Lads, for the last time, the Presidential reference to Margaret Cash was supposed to be sarcastic. I'm not suggesting she runs for the Presidency. I guess it wasn't an amusing comparison,. but now that it's been clarified for the n'th time, hopefully we can now all move on with our lives.

"There's no reason to believe that Margaret Cash is a bad mum"

I don't think a good mother chooses to have her children homeless. 🀔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Bernard, so sorry for your losses. A powerful and emotional post.