Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tumosan OK for small farm

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

Most tumosans wouldn't have had hard lives, they would be mainly used for regular stockman work, such as topping, moving bales, turning hay and spreading fertilisers. That being said, if i had 20k i wouldn't buy one, as it will deprecate a lot more. If look at massey, Deere or new Holland, as they hold their value

If a tumosan has already lost half its value within the first four years, would the bulk of the depreciation be out of the way?

Also, would a four year old tractor (even a tumosan) have advantages over a twenty year old jd or new Holland etc cause most big brands are still making 20 k even for 1998 from what I see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,469 ✭✭✭emaherx

Think the hattat are nicer but they don't seem to have sold well at all even compared to the tumosan. Lot less dealers

Hattat build tractors for MF and Valtra, they also build some old MF models with Hattat branding. You would think they should sell better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,320 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I'm throwing ArmaTrac into this discussion of Turkish tractors.
    Seemingly designed in house by their own engineers whereas the other crowd build their tractors under license from the super powers.
    They are the tractor division of the Erkunt Group.

I'm throwing ArmaTrac into this discussion of Turkish tractors.
    Seemingly designed in house by their own engineers whereas the other crowd build their tractors under license from the super powers.
    They are the tractor division of the Erkunt Group.

Know absolutely nothing about them, what are they based on?

Themselves seemingly.
    Independent to do what they like a bit like Kubota. That said they were taken over by Indian Mahindra & Mahindra last year.

Themselves seemingly.
    Independent to do what they like a bit like Kubota. That said they were taken over by Indian Mahindra & Mahindra last year.

OK so ArmaTrac use all their own parts?

Are they around tumosan money new?

OK so ArmaTrac use all their own parts?

Are they around tumosan money new?

To both questions I've no idea.

If there's someone at the ploughing maybe they can price them up.

Row 17 Stand 357 according to the Journal.

Online search which is probably as useful as a chocolate teapot.

https://www.mascus.ie/agriculture/used-tractors/armatrac-1104lux/da9km5nf.html

To both questions I've no idea.

If there's someone at the ploughing maybe they can price them up.

Row 17 Stand 357 according to the Journal.

Not looking to buy new, just wondering if all those Turkish brands are similar money?

Had a look inside a hattat once but never seen an ArmaTrac in the flesh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Joe Daly

If a tumosan has already lost half its value within the first four years, would the bulk of the depreciation be out of the way?

Also, would a four year old tractor (even a tumosan) have advantages over a twenty year old jd or new Holland etc cause most big brands are still making 20 k even for 1998 from what I see

Would it last twenty years I wouldn't think so, I had a Zetor out for a couple of days from a local garage we cut down silage with it . It worked well but when I looked at the pros cons of it I decided no I had a new Holland with high hours I need to change it. These type of tractors are grand when you buy but like the old zetor crystels, the old hino lorries they were gone after ten years they were worked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Bazzer007

Cahir 4x4 sell Armatrac/Tumosan tractors. He's a sound lad to deal with and you would get the keenest price possible if you give them a call. Priced a few tractors there before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,469 ✭✭✭emaherx

Joe Daly wrote: »
    Would it last twenty years I wouldn't think so, I had a Zetor out for a couple of days from a local garage we cut down silage with it . It worked well but when I looked at the pros cons of it I decided no I had a new Holland with high hours I need to change it. These type of tractors are grand when you buy but like the old zetor crystels, the old hino lorries they were gone after ten years they were worked out.

Know of plenty of old Zetors that were worked for over 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Its very hard to answer that im afraid, as its hard to know how many people would be willing to buy a 20 year old Tumosan! I have never heard of any horror stories related to the brand though, as i said in the last post a larger farmer that puts out his own slurry or mows his own silage would never have bought one, so they shouldn't have had difficult lives.

I was at the ploughing today, the newer non fiat look a like models have a far nicer cab. The location of the spool levers on the fiat models is in a very awkward location.
    I was surprised though, I overheard 2 different people mistake them for actual Fiats when i waa approaching and leaving the stand. Tumosan has been in Ireland since the early naughties, I would have thought they would have much more brand awareness by now.

emaherx wrote: »
    Know of plenty of old Zetors that were worked for over 30 years.

Just speaking for myself you wouldn't see any old zetors working down here.

Thirty year old zetors are not much cheaper than Ford or mf from that era from what I can see and forty year old crystals are arguably worth more than say a massey 188 from late seventies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Something like this. Think they are 40/50 year old look at the size of the turbo on the Ursus 

Zetor/Ursus

Thirty year old zetors are not much cheaper than Ford or mf from that era from what I can see and forty year old crystals are arguably worth more than say a massey 188 from late seventies.

You are talking about a classic era there, if you know where a zetor crystal is for sale a relation of mine is looking for one to restore down the south east they are all gone, They were worked hard put up big hours used abused.

I'm just going by donedeal, know a guy who restored a crystal three years ago, got 7 k for it.

Did he put much into it, this person I am talking about collects tractors that were on the farm from the grey ferguson they had a crystal but couldn't get one anywhere they were all scraped they were never traded in lads kept them going until they collapsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Saw one sitting on the truck at Crossdoney Tractors in Co. Cavan the other day. Looked ok too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,112 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Nearly all the ones from down that end of the country would have been exported in the last 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

A lot have been exported to eastern europe

Did he put much into it, this person I am talking about collects tractors that were on the farm from the grey ferguson they had a crystal but couldn't get one anywhere they were all scraped they were never traded in lads kept them going until they collapsed.

He did the project for the craic, think he might have cleared about three grand but had it for a year working on and off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

If you restored fiats you'd make more, a clean one is making good money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭Grueller

If you are in the south east Connells of Annagh, agri contractors have one still in use on their fleet.
    There is a very large farmer (in body and acreage) in Carnew that has nothing only zetors. He bought a Massey once and said they could take no hardship at all and went back to zetor but all of his are reasonably modern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭Base price

kevthegaff wrote: »
    If you restored fiats you'd make more, a clean one is making good money
    I've said it before on F&F - if I won the lotto I would get our 1984 880/5DT fully restored along with the IH354 and MF50B. All three are on the button, work every day and the best part is they don't have electronic sensors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭fastrac

Tumosan are meant to be a noisy and bumpy tractor.

Unlike the Fiats they were based on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Who else would question those hours?

~200hrs/yr. Nothing off about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Zetor crystals worked a lot longer than ten years they were still the staple of many contractors in the 90’s and early 00’s which was 25/30 years after its launch.

20silkcut wrote: »
    Zetor crystals worked a lot longer than ten years they were still the staple of many contractors in the 90’s and early 00’s which was 25/30 years after its launch.

I am talking about where I come from never saw them the staple of any contractors around here, the people that bought them used them and worked them hard they lasted about ten years because the trade in value was not great on them.