Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two more victims of "unknown substance" in U.K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

prinzeugen wrote: »
    Why should they release CCTV? They might have info and don't want to spook anyone.

Just like they knew who poisoned Skipral but said nothing in the hope that they would return to Europe and get arrested on an EAW.

I am sure CCTV could emerge of the Russian "tourists" outside Skiprals frontdoor and the usual Putin worshipers would still be looking for "proof".

In that case, maybe the two guys were in the car and they don't want anyone to see that?

The only reason they would not release images of Skipral returning home is to hide something from the public. The British don't want to reveal anything that disproves their version of events.

If they were caught on CTV even in the estate would be enough for me. They have no business walking around in a housing estate. The image we have them is on a main walking road near a shell petrol station.

Sky News is confirming at least one of two people taken ill is a Russian citizen.

https://news.sky.com/story/salisbury-restaurant-cordoned-off-by-police-after-pair-taken-ill-11500197

• Registered Users Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

prinzeugen wrote: »
    Why should they release CCTV? They might have info and don't want to spook anyone.

Just like they knew who poisoned Skipral but said nothing in the hope that they would return to Europe and get arrested on an EAW.

I am sure CCTV could emerge of the Russian "tourists" outside Skiprals frontdoor and the usual Putin worshipers would still be looking for "proof".

This isn't about debate or reason. It's about finding perceived "holes" or "discrepancies" in anything that can attempt to discredit the established version of events in order to promote some kooky unspecified "inside job"

I'll keep repeating it as long as these types of posters keep using it as an approach

It's a game of "whack-a-mole", as soon as something is explained beyond all reason, the conspiracy theorist will just move onto the next and demand people "explain that", and they will keep going until they find something that can't be 100% explained to them. Plus at any point they can play dumb and not accept the explanation. They also have bizarre requirements (access to all the CCTV footage, all the evidence for the case, all the private intelligence - otherwise it's an "inside job")

They will also frequently jump back to issues that have been carefully explained

The "whack-a-mole" technique

The last few pages is that entirely in action. It's all from the playbook of cranks like Alex Jones who use these techniques to just "question" events, i.e. in reality discredit those events to hint at far-fetched conspiracies and "inside jobs"

This is nothing, we haven't even hit full intensity yet, wait till that happens :pac:

A source briefed by the emergency services told the Press Association that medics alerted the police because the symptoms were consistent with Novichok poisoning.

"The ambulance crew at the site took the decision that the symptoms seemed consistent with Novichok poisoning which is why they called their colleagues in the police," the source said.

But the source stressed: "The symptoms of Novhichok poisoning and particular types of narcotic abuse are very similar."

The site is just 300m from the Zizzi outlet where former Russian spy Sergei Skripal and his daughter Yulia ate before collapsing from Novichok poisoning in March.

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/breaking-novichok-fears-salisbury-two-13257883.amp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Sky News is confirming at least one of two people taken ill is a Russian citizen.

https://news.sky.com/story/salisbury-restaurant-cordoned-off-by-police-after-pair-taken-ill-11500197

I wonder if they just arrived from Moscow for a two day trip to see the 123m tall cathedral as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,746 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

The latest incident is not related.
    Police say there is "nothing to suggest that Novichok" was the cause of two people falling ill at a restaurant in Salisbury.

Wiltshire Police declared a major incident after a man in his 40s and a woman in her 30s became ill at Prezzo in High Street on Sunday evening.

Nearby streets were cordoned off "due to recent events" in the city, but restrictions have now been lifted.

Police say they are no longer treating the illness as a major incident.

A Wiltshire Police statement said: "Due to recent events in the city and concerns that the pair had been exposed to an unknown substance, a highly precautionary approach was taken by all emergency services."

The two people affected were taken to Salisbury District Hospital and remain under observation.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Harika

kingc wrote: »
    I highly doubt Russia had anything to do with the situation. What would Russia have to gain by poisoning British civilians? Nothing.
    Now what would the West have to gain by blaming/framing Russia? They could continue the propaganda campaign painting Russia as the enemy and gain public support for military spending and interference in the Middle East. This benefits the richest people in society as they are the biggest investors in war. The war machine rolls on and the sheep are fooled again

Russia is testing the western reaction to after Brexit. How will US, NATO and EU react to such an act? All that happened was some extradition of ambassadors, while e.g. Austria invited Putin to the wedding of their foreign minister.
    For a war, as mentioned before, you won't start a war with a nuclear armed country over the poisoning and death of some citizen.
    And @CheerfulSpring for WTC7, it has already been rock solid established that the Chemtrail-chemicals caused it to collapse.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 kingc

Harika wrote: »
    Russia is testing the western reaction to after Brexit. How will US, NATO and EU react to such an act? All that happened was some extradition of ambassadors, while e.g. Austria invited Putin to the wedding of their foreign minister.
    For a war, as mentioned before, you won't start a war with a nuclear armed country over the poisoning and death of some citizen.
    And @CheerfulSpring for WTC7, it has already been rock solid established that the Chemtrail-chemicals caused it to collapse.

That sounds nonsensical. I don't believe Russia wants a war judging by their actions at the world stage. USA, Britain, France and co are pushing hard to overthrow governments that they cannot dictate and purposefully creating tension and hostilities with their rivals. It seems that people in Ireland and Britain have really fallen for the propaganda campaign making out Russia as the bad guys yet when we look at the countries track records it is clearly the West who have done and continue to do more harm to world peace

• Registered Users Posts: 19,746 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

That sounds nonsensical. I don't believe Russia wants a war judging by their actions at the world stage. USA, Britain, France and co are pushing hard to overthrow governments that they cannot dictate which is the reason for such hostile relations today. It seems that people in Ireland and Britain have really fallen for the propaganda campaign making out Russia as the bad guys

Russia's troll army is very fond of calling a reasonably free press 'propaganda'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

cnocbui wrote: »
    Russia's troll army is very fond of calling a reasonably free press 'propaganda'.

“Troll army” - what the hell is a troll army?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,173 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

That sounds nonsensical. I don't believe Russia wants a war judging by their actions at the world stage. USA, Britain, France and co are pushing hard to overthrow governments that they cannot dictate and purposefully creating tension and hostilities with their rivals. It seems that people in Ireland and Britain have really fallen for the propaganda campaign making out Russia as the bad guys yet when we look at the countries track records it is clearly the West who have done and continue to do more harm to world peace

Da comrade.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 kingc

cnocbui wrote: »

If you don't see that our media is extremely biased then you are already brainwashed. Did you know USA bombed a Doctors Without Borders hospital killing 42 people in 2015? If you didn't you can be forgiven because Irish media didn't show it. Crazy because you would think that is major news but it doesn't fit the agenda so better not to mention it. It is obvious our media is going to be biased towards USA when our country even allows their military to use our airport

You mean
    http://www.thejournal.ie/afghanistan-kunduz-attack-2368119-Oct2015/
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/middle-east/msf-calls-for-commission-on-kunduz-hospital-attack-1.2382133
    https://www.independent.ie/incoming/doctors-without-borders-forced-to-review-presence-in-afghanistan-after-deadly-us-air-strike-31593434.html
    http://www.irishnews.com/news/2016/08/16/news/doctors-without-borders-hospital-hit-in-yemen-air-strike-653928/
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2015/1007/732995-msf-kunduz/

Yeah seems to be put under the carpet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,212 ✭✭✭bullpost

Hmmm - type "kunduz hospital airstrike irish times" into the google machine and you'll see lots of reporting on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Harika wrote: »
    The atrocities committed by the US and it's NATO minions will make the headlines for a few hours or maybe a day at most before being quietly dropped so yes, the "collateral damage" by the good guys is swept under the carpet.
    Heard much about Yemen lately? I guess famine and a cholera epidemic in the 21st century isn't news worthy.

The atrocities committed by the US and it's NATO minions will make the headlines for a few hours or maybe a day at most before being quietly dropped so yes, the "collateral damage" by the good guys is swept under the carpet.
    Heard much about Yemen lately? I guess famine and a cholera epidemic in the 21st century isn't news worthy.

So we have gone from completely ignored to only making the headlines for a day at most in the space of 3 or 4 posts. you guys really do like shifting the goalposts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

It's gloriously profound:)

So we have gone from completely ignored to only making the headlines for a day at most in the space of 3 or 4 posts. you guys really do like shifting the goalposts.

Yeah I was expecting this to happen so put in the news that went over several months but I guess that is not enough as your local reporter didn't come to your door and walk you through the event with pictures and videos.

and btw those articles about the same incident (well except the fourth one which relates to a different incident) were published over a timespan much greater than a day. Its almost like you're just making it up as you go along.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

“Troll army” - what the hell is a troll army?

The concept has been around for a few years. One such one is the Internet Research Agency which has the confusing acronym, IRA.
    The agency has employed fake accounts registered on major social networks,[3] discussion boards, online newspaper sites, and video hosting services to promote the Kremlin's interests in domestic and foreign policy including Ukraine and the Middle East as well as attempting to influence the 2016 United States presidential election. More than 1,000 employees reportedly worked in a single building of the agency in 2015.

Basically, it's a an organisation that pays people to show up in forums saying "whatabout the west", "the west just as bad", "maidan was coup", "why would russia do X", "you don't want war with russia", "antifa are everywhere", "it not russia, it false flag" and other such talking points.

and btw those articles about the same incident (well except the fourth one which relates to a different incident) were published over a timespan much greater than a day. Its almost like you're just making it up as you go along.
    Not at all, I know what I'm talking about.
    A group of civilians get hit in an airstrike by US/NATO and the standard mealy mouthed comments soon follow - "deep regret" .... "a full inquiry" ... and that's about it.
    No outrage at the UN either as Nikki is nowhere to be seen.
    The concept has been around for a few years. One such one is the Internet Research Agency which has the confusing acronym, IRA.
    I got this far:
    The January 2017 report issued by the United States Intelligence Community

A group of civilians get hit in an airstrike by US/NATO and the standard mealy mouthed comments soon follow - "deep regret" .... "a full inquiry" ... and that's about it.

For someone who claim to know what they are one about you do talk some ****e. Why would Nikki be anywhere to be seen? She did not become ambassador to the UN until long after the events in those newspaper reports.

But but ... Nikki cares about babies!

How do the mods tolerate this stuff?

But but ... Nikki cares about babies!

How do the mods tolerate this stuff?

What is to the relevance of nikki haley to events that occurred before she became ambassador to the UN? any chance of an intelligent reponse?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus are back to "it's not fair they did bad stuff but we're not allowed" levels of discussion.

Anyway back to Salisbury, thanks to the two Russian pilgrims and their tainted legacy every case of food poisoning in this area is going to be met with panic. Sightseeing lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

So we've gone from discussing the issue to attacking the posters who you can't debate. Typical fair really. If Cheerful responded in kind to the insults he's received he'd have been banned long ago. Fair play to the lad for not lowering himself.

I got this far:

Reading can be a challenge for a lot of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

Basically, it's a an organisation that pays people to show up in forums saying "whatabout the west", "the west just as bad", "maidan was coup", "why would russia do X", "you don't want war with russia", "antifa are everywhere", "it not russia, it false flag" and other such talking points.
    As paranoid as any CT'er.

What is to the relevance of nikki haley to events that occurred before she became ambassador to the UN?
    She was ambassador when this happened but nice deflection, there has numerous atrocities committed since she became UN ambassador such as this one. Note how the US puts the blame on the terrorists for the civilian deaths and not the dropping of a 500lb bomb on a residential area.
    A Pentagon investigation released on Thursday found that Isis fighters had planted explosives in the house, causing secondary explosions that caused the house to collapse.
    The report said thata US jet dropped a 500lb bomb shortly after 8am, targeting two Isis fighters who had taken up positions on the roof of the the house in the Jadidah neighborhood.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/may/25/us-mosul-airstrikes-deadliest-attack-iraq-2003
    Reading can be a challenge for a lot of people.
    You just believe EVERYTHING you read.

Joshua J wrote: »
    As paranoid as any CT'er.

Are you saying it doesn't exist?